DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s filing date of March 15, 2024 is acknowledged.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Claim Amendments and Remarks filed August 26, 2026.
Claims Filing Date
August 26, 2026
Amended
1-3, 11-17
Cancelled
4-10, 18
Pending
1-3, 11-17
Withdrawn
15-17
Under Examination
1-3, 11-14
The applicant argues support for the claim 1 and claim 15 amendments in [0041]-[0043], [0051]-[0053], [0075]-[0079], and Table 1 (paras. spanning pp. 8-9 and pp. 10-11).
Withdrawn Drawings Objections
The following drawing objection is withdrawn due to argument:
Fig. 1 Reference Numeral 5 not being mentioned in applicant’s specification.
The applicant persuasively argues [0065] recites “Cr3C2 hard phase powders 5” (p. 12 para. 2).
The following drawing objection is withdrawn due to specification amendment:
Fig. 1 Reference Numeral 2 not being mentioned in applicant’s specification.
The applicant amended [0065] to recite reference numeral 2 (p. 12 para. 2).
Response to Remarks filed August 26, 2026
Cinca I Luis (US 2022/0098710)
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks p. 14 para. 2 and p. 16 para. 2, filed August 26, 2026, with respect to Cinca I Luis have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Cinca I Luis has been withdrawn.
The applicant persuasively argues amended claim 1 recites the WC having a grain size of from 0.3 um to 0.4 um (p. 14 para. 2), but Cinca I Luis discloses WC average grain size range of 0.5 to 2 um ([0014]), where there is a 20% difference between 0.4 um and 0.5 um (p. 16 para. 2).
Pauty (US 7,490,502)
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks para. spanning pp. 19-20, filed August 26, 2026, with respect to Pauty have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Pauty has been withdrawn.
The applicant argues Pauty discloses a density range from 12.5 g/cm3 to 12.7 g/cm3 (Table 2 Inventive Examples C to F), but amended claim 1 recites a density from 11.2 g/cm3 to 12.2 g/cm3 (Remarks para. spanning pp. 19-20).
Double Patenting
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks p. 22 para. 2 and para. spanning pp. 22-23, filed August 26, 2026, with respect to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection over U.S. Patent No. 12,276,011 have been fully considered and are persuasive. This double patenting rejection has been withdrawn.
The applicant persuasively argues the ‘011 parent discloses WC in a range of 0.5 to 2 um (claim 3), whereas amended claim 1 recites a WC grain size of from 0.3 um to 0.4 um (p. 22 para. 2) and that Claim 1 of ‘011 recites a quotient of WC/an average grain size of the gamma phase of 0.5 to 1.5, but amended claim 1 has a range from 0.18 to 0.47 (0.3/1.65 to 0.4/0.85) (Remarks para. spanning pp. 22-23).
New Grounds
In light of claim amendment and upon further consideration a new grounds of rejection is made over Dubensky (US 5,580,666).
Claim Interpretation
Applicant’s specification at [0024] defines “gamma phase” as a phase constituted of metal carbides, optionally metal nitrides, and/or optionally metal carbonitrides, which is advantageous for grain refinement of the gamma phase with respect to the hard WC containing phase, which optionally may include metal carbides, metal nitrides, and/or metal carbonitrides of any one of or a combination of Ti, Ta, V, Nb, Zr, and Hf.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubensky (US 5,580,666).
Regarding claim 1, Dubensky discloses a low weight cemented carbide punch (tool insert or metal forming die with increased fracture resistance, resistance to tool deformation, and resistance to wear) (1:7-22, 2:46-59, 3:35-54), the low weight cemented carbide punch having a sintered cemented carbide punch composition, the sintered cemented carbide (4:47-48, 5:34-35) punch composition comprising:
a carbide hard phase (3:50 to 4:8, 5:22-41), comprising
tungsten carbide (WC) present in an amount of from about 67 weight percent (wt.%) to about 76 wt.% based on a total weight of the sintered cemented carbide punch composition (first type of hard phase of tungsten carbide between about 50% and about 80%) (5:24-27), and
a gamma phase including at least titanium (Ti) and niobium (Nb) as gamma phase constituents present in an amount of from about 10 wt.% to about 17 wt.% based on a total weight of the sintered cemented carbide punch composition (second type of hard phase selected the group consisting of carbides, nitrides, carbonitrides, carboxynitrides, and combinations thereof of at least two metallic elements from Group IVB (Ti, Zr, Hf), Group VB (V, Nb, Ta), and Group VIB (Cr, Mo, and W) between about 10% and about 50%) (3:61 to 4:3, 5:28-31);
a binder phase including at least cobalt (Co) and chromium (Cr) present in an amount of from about 12 wt.% to about 13 wt.% based on a total weight of the sintered cemented carbide punch composition (metallic binder phase selected from the group consisting of Group VIII elements (Co, Ni, Fe), Group IVB (Cr, Mo, W) and mixtures thereof between about 5% and about 30%) (4:3-5, 5:32-34); and
a balance of carbon (3:50 to 4:8, 5:22-41),
wherein the WC of the low weight cemented carbide punch has a grain size of from 0.3 um to 0.4 um (finer tungsten carbide grains of a number average particle diameter between about 0.10 and about 0.40 micrometers) (5:37-39, 15:38-42, 57-59) and the gamma phase constituents of the low weight cemented carbide punch have a grain size of from 0.85 um to 1.65 um (second type of ultrafine solid solution hard phase constituent having a number average particle diameter of between about 0.01 and about 1.0 micrometers) (3:61-65, 4:35-44, 15:38-42).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Density of the low weight cemented carbide punch being from 11.2 g/cm3 to 12.2 g/cm3 has been considered and determined to recite a function, property, or characteristic of the claimed low weight cemented carbide punch. The prior art discloses a low weight cemented carbide punch that renders obvious that claimed (Dubensky 1:7-22, 2:46-59, 3:35 to 4:8, 4:35-48, 5:22-42, 57-59, 15:38-42), such that the claimed functions, properties, or characteristics naturally flow from the prior art, including density of the low weight cemented carbide punch being from 11.2 g/cm3 to 12.2 g/cm3. In support Dubensky discloses an example with a density that is within the range of that claimed, Example 2 density 12.13 +/- 0.03 g/cm3 (12:19-21).
The limitation of the low weight cemented carbide punch being for manufacturing metal beverage cans has been considered and determined to recite the purpose or intended use of the claimed punch that does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and prior art. The prior art discloses a low weight cemented carbide punch that renders obvious that claimed (Dubensky 1:7-22, 2:46-59, 3:35 to 4:8, 4:35-48, 5:22-42, 57-59, 15:38-42), such that it is capable of performing the intended use recited in the preamble. MPEP 2111.02(II).
Regarding claim 2, Dubensky discloses the low weight cemented carbide punch of claim 1 as cited above, wherein HV30 Vickers hardness of the low weight cemented carbide punch is from 1520 HV30 to 1570 HV30 (hardness ranging between about 1600 and about 2100 Kg/mm2, where about 1600 Kg/mm2 overlaps with or is close to 1570 HV30) (4:48-50). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie of obviousness exists. Alternatively, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are close. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 3, Dubensky discloses the low weight cemented carbide punch of claim 1 as cited above.
Dubensky discloses increased fracture resistance (toughness) (2:46-59).
Fracture toughness of the low weight cemented carbide punch composition being from 10.2 MPa √m to 10.6 MPa √m has been considered and determined to recite a function, property, or characteristic. The prior art discloses a low weight cemented carbide punch that renders obvious that claimed (Dubensky 1:7-22, 2:46-59, 3:35 to 4:8, 4:35-48, 5:22-42, 57-59, 15:38-42), such that the claimed functions, properties, or characteristics naturally flow from the prior art, including fracture toughness of the low weight cemented carbide punch composition being from 10.2 MPa √m to 10.6 MPa √m.
Regarding claim 11, Dubensky discloses the low weight cemented carbide punch of claim 1 as cited above, wherein the gamma phase constituents of the low weight cemented carbide punch have a grain size of from 1.00 um to 1.65 um (second type of ultrafine solid solution hard phase constituent having a number average particle diameter of between about 0.01 and about 1.0 micrometers) (3:61-65, 4:35-44, 15:38-42). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 12, Dubensky discloses he low weight cemented carbide punch of claim 11 as cited above, wherein the gamma phase constituents of the low weight cemented carbide punch have a grain size when sintered of from 1.15 um to 1.65 um (second type of ultrafine solid solution hard phase constituent having a number average particle diameter of between about 0.01 and about 1.0 micrometers) (3:61-65, 4:35-44, 15:38-42). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In the event it is determined that about 1.0 micrometers does not overlap with 1.15 um, then a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are close. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubensky (US 5,580,666) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Pauty (US 7,490,502).
In the event it is determined that the disclosure of Dubensky does not render obvious claim 12, then the below rejection in view of Pauty is disclosed.
Regarding claim 12, Dubensky discloses the low weight cemented carbide punch of claim 11 as cited above.
Pauty discloses a sintered cemented carbide com position (1:13-67, 2:35-42), wherein the gamma phase constituents of the low weight cemented carbide punch have a grain size when sintered of from 1.15 um to 1.65 um (0.5-5 um) (3:26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant invention in the low weight cemented carbide punch of Dubensky to include a gamma phase constituent of 0.5 to 5 um to give better properties (Pauty 2:35-42) such as high hardness to reach a high wear resistance (Pauty 3:60-64). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claim 13, Dubensky in view of Pauty discloses the low weight cemented carbide punch of claim 12 as cited above, wherein the gamma phase constituents of the low weight cemented carbide punch have a grain size of 1.30 um to 1.65 um (0.5-5 um) (Pauty 3:26). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claim 14, Dubensky in view of Pauty discloses the low weight cemented carbide punch of claim 13 as cited above, wherein the gamma phase constituents of the low weight cemented carbide punch have a grain size of from 1.45 um to 1.65 um. (0.5-5 um) (Pauty 3:26). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Related Art
Ouchterlony (US 2005/0211016).
Ouchterlony discloses a sintered cemented carbide composition ([0001], [0010]), comprising: a carbide hard phase ([0025]-[0035]), comprising tungsten carbide (WC) in an amount of from about 67 weight percent (wt.%) to about 76 wt.% based on a total weight of the sintered cemented carbide punch composition (about 76-81 wt%) ([0028]), and a gamma phase including at least titanium (Ti) and niobium (Nb) as gamma phase constituents in an amount of from about 10 wt.% to about 17 wt.% based on a total weight of the sintered cemented carbide punch composition (TaC+TiC+NbC about 8-13 wt%) ([0014]-[0016], [0025]-[0027], [0029]); a binder phase including at least cobalt (Co) and chromium (Cr) in an amount of from about 12 wt.% to about 13 wt.% based on a total weight of the sintered cemented carbide punch composition (10-12 wt% Co, < 1 wt% Cr) ([0013], [0024], [0030]); and a balance of carbon ([0024]-[0030]).Ouchterlony also discloses 1450 to 1650 HV ([0036]) and a WC grain size when sintered from about 0.4-1.5 um ([0035]).
Carpenter (US 2013/0247641)
Carpenter discloses a sintered cemented carbide punch composition ([0001]-[0008], [0010], [0034]-[0035]), comprising: a carbide hard phase ([0008]-[0014]), comprising tungsten carbide (WC) in an amount of from about 67 weight percent (wt.%) to about 76 wt.% based on a total weight of the sintered cemented carbide punch composition (50 to less than 70 wt%) ([0011], [0016], [0029]), and a gamma phase including at least titanium (Ti) as a gamma phase constituent in an amount of from about 10 wt.% to about 17 wt.% based on a total weight of the sintered cemented carbide punch composition (15 to 30 wt% TiC) ([0008], [0011], [0015], [0029]); a binder phase including at least cobalt (Co) and chromium (Cr) in an amount of from about 12 wt.% to about 13 wt.% based on a total weight of the sintered cemented carbide punch composition (12 to 20 wt% Co+Ni with Cr) ([0008], [0011], [0017]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]); and a balance of carbon ([0008], [0011], [0029]). Carpenter also discloses 1250-1550 HV30 ([0043]), a WC grain size when sintered suitably of 0.8-1.5 um and in one embodiment a size less than 1 um ([0013]), and gamma phase constituents having a grain size when sintered from 1-5 um ([0014]).
Wakashima (JP H03-258424 machine translation)
Wakashima discloses a cemented carbide with 4-12% Co, 0.16-0.48% Cr, 6-20% TaC (gamma phase), and balance WC, where the WC and TaC have an average grain size of 2 um or less (pp. 1-2).
Shimada (US 5,068,149)
Shimada discloses a cemented carbide with 4 to 35% binder phase of Co having a crystal grain size of 5 to 400 um, a hard dispersed phase, and a WC balance having an average crystal grain size of 0.2 to 1.5 um (1:40-68).
Wang (CN 111378860 machine translation)
Wang discloses a WC-Co cemented carbide having a WC average grain size of 0.2 to 0.6 um ([0002]) of 83 to 96%, 3 to 15% Co binder phase, and grain growth inhibitor of 0.3 to 3% Cr3C2, 0.15 to 0.35% VC, and 0.04 to 0.20% Ti(CN) ([0030]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/STEPHANI HILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1735