DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 6 – 10, 13 – 16, and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hanser et al. (8,075,008). In regard to claims 1, 8, and 14, Hanser discloses a system comprising a main shaft having an upper portion and a lower portion (Fig. 2, item 124), the upper portion being rotatably coupled to a handle shaft, wherein the main shaft adjusts a height of the handle shaft as the main shaft rotates (Fig. 2, item 130), and a step member providing a stepping surface connected to the lower portion of the main shaft (Figs. 1 and 2, item 113D), wherein the main shaft rotates the step member between a retracted position and an extended position (Figs. 1 and 8).
In regard to claims 2, 9, and 15, Hanser discloses a main support rotatably connected to support the step member, wherein the main support has a first mating surface capable of aligning to a second mating surface on the step member in at least one position (Fig. 1, item 104).
In regard to claims 3, 10, and 16, Hanser discloses a locking mechanism capable of preventing rotation of the main shaft (Figs. 1 and 2, item 130 and 132 & column 4, lines 12 – 20).
In regard to claims 6 and 19, Hanser discloses a rotatable handle connected to the handle shaft opposite to the main shaft (Figs. 1 and 2, item 108).
In regard to claims 7, 13, and, 20, Hanser discloses wherein the step member incorporates a grab handle (Figs. 1 and 2, unnumbered upper portion of item 108).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 – 5, 11 -1 2, and 17 – 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Hanser et al. (8,075,008) discloses a system similar to the instant invention; however Hanser, either alone or in combination, neither discloses nor suggests a system comprising (in regard to claims 4, 11, and 17) a button mechanism in the handle shaft that is capable of operating the locking mechanism, and (in regard to claims 5, 12, and 18) a spring mechanism that rotates the main shaft if rotation of the main shaft is not constrained. These limitations, in combination with each and every other independent claim limitation, are not shown in the currently cited prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Duderstadt (8,678,457) discloses a telescoping grab handle for pickup trucks;
Krishnan et al. (8,919,853) disclose an integrated step and grab-handle system;
Ulrich (10,173,595) discloses a portable truck step;
Ngo (10,994,660) discloses a tailgate assembly with a step;
Ricketts (12,208,771) discloses a tailgate ladder system;
Kuznarik (2006/0261623) discloses a compact truck tailgate.
/JOHN D WALTERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613