DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2.Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sogabe et al. (JP 2001036880) in view of Hashimoto et al. (US 20230308831).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Sogabe discloses an audio signal processing method used in an audio signal processing system including a plurality of terminals that output an audio signal (Paragraphs: 0005 and 0045: Sogabe discusses how an audio information transmit from and the stereo audio signal to the personal computers 2b to 2e in each conference room), the method comprises: obtaining localization control information that determines an acoustic image localization position of an own terminal in the audio signal processing system (Paragraphs: 0015, 0019 and 0030: Sogabe discusses how the signal is processed by sound image localization device 16 so that the sound image is localized at a different specific position in each of conference rooms; and how the stereo audio signal whose sound image has been localized at a specific position in the first conference room by the sound image localization device based on the communicated position information); performing localization processing on the audio signal of the own terminal, based on the obtained localization control information (Paragraph:0019, 0030 and 0045: the signal processed by sound image localization device); and outputting the audio signal on which the localization processing has been performed (Paragraphs: 0020-0021: Sogabe discusses how the voice signal of speaker A is played back by the right speaker and the left speaker, and the signal is processed so that the sound image is localized at point P1, which is in the center in front of the listener).
Sogabe discloses the invention set forth above but does not specifically mentioning “processing on the audio signal of the own terminal”
Sogabe however discloses personal computers 2a to 2e that are terminal devices (Sogabe: Paragraphs: 0045 and 0047). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to interpret the personal computers which are also a terminal devices as “own terminal” that can process the audio signal, thus allowing to exchanges audio information as stereo signals, and is characterized in that the stereo signals are sent out with different sound image localization positions depending on the respective conference rooms, and the playback system as disclosed by Sogabe.
Sogabe discloses the invention set forth above but does not specifically point out “the localization control information is generated based on identification information of each terminal”
Hashimoto discloses a system wherein the localization control information is generated based on identification information of each terminal (Paragraphs: 0011, 0174 and 0063: Hashimoto discusses how the sound image localization processing unit of the control unit performs the sound image localization processing on a sound content to be output or generate according to the position of the target (that is, the direction of the user terminal determined from terminals identifier information) of the user; and how the sound image localization processing unit can grasp absolute positions of a plurality of user terminals and generate audio information obtained by performing sound image localization on the position of the virtual sound source. Hashimoto also discusses how a position information acquisition unit configured to acquire pieces of position information of the plurality of user terminals; and a terminal identification information is not limited to the terminal ID, and includes information that can uniquely identify the terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Sogabe, and modify a system wherein the localization control information is generated based on identification information of each terminal, as taught by Hashimoto, thus the position information indicating a position where the content information is provided in association with each other, as discussed by Hashimoto.
Considering claims 4 and 14, Hashimoto discloses the audio signal processing method according to claims 1 and 11, wherein the identification information is unique identification information of each terminal (Paragraphs: 0063 and 0168 Hashimoto discusses uniquely identify the terminal; and how the identification information that uniquely identifies a group is assigned to each group, and a plurality of user IDs, a plurality of user terminal IDs, and the like).
Considering claims 5 and 15, Sogabe discloses the audio signal processing method according to claims 4 and 14, wherein: the plurality of terminals output a video signal; and the identification information is included in the video signal (Paragraphs: 0012, 0030, 0043: Sogabe discusses exchanging video information along with audio information, as in the electronic conferencing system; and how the system sends out stereo signals with different sound image localization positions depending on the conference room, and a playback system that plays back the above audio information from each conference room in its own conference room).
Considering claims 6 and 16, Sogabe discloses the audio signal processing method according to claims 1 and 11, wherein the localization control information is generated based on an attribute of a user of each terminal (Paragraphs: 0011-0013: Sogabe discusses communicating/sending stereo signals with different sound image localization positions depending on the conference room, and a playback system)
Considering claims 7 and 17, Sogabe discloses the audio signal processing method according to claims 1 and 11, further comprising: obtaining space information that shows an acoustic space (Paragraph: 0031: Sogabe discusses how the central processing unit receives the image signals with the respective location information added in the second to fifth conference rooms); and processing to add an indirect sound corresponding to the acoustic space shown by the space information, on the audio signal of the terminal (Paragraphs: 0011 and 0044: Sogabe discusses a conferencing system that compresses and sends out audio information from each conference room, receives compressed audio information sent from other conference rooms, expands it, and plays back the audio information in its own conference room).
Considering claims 8 and 18, Sogabe discloses the audio signal processing method according to claims 7 and 17, further comprising: generating a first audio signal to which the indirect sound is added (Paragraphs: 0011 and 0044: Sogabe discusses a conferencing system that compresses and sends out audio information from each conference room, receives compressed audio information sent from other conference rooms, expands it, and plays back the audio information in its own conference room), and a second audio signal to which the indirect sound is not added (Paragraphs: 0026 and 0047-0048: removing only the audio information of the conference room that has its own sound image localized at a specific position from the audio information received from the central processing unit, and playing back the remaining audio information); and outputting each of the first audio signal and the second audio signal (Paragraph: 0048: playback system that plays back the above audio information from each conference room in its own conference room).
3.Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sogabe et al. (JP 2001036880) in view of Wang et al. (CN108198565) and further in view of in view of Hashimoto et al. (US 20230308831).
Regarding claim 20, Sogabe discloses an audio signal processing system comprising: a plurality of terminals (Paragraphs: 0005 and 0045: Sogabe discusses how an audio information transmit from and the stereo audio signal to the personal computers 2b to 2e in each conference room); wherein: the plurality of terminals is configured to: obtain localization control information that determines an acoustic image localization position of the audio signal processing system (Paragraphs: 0015, 0019 and 0030: Sogabe discusses how the signal is processed by sound image localization device 16 so that the sound image is localized at a different specific position in each of conference rooms; and how the stereo audio signal whose sound image has been localized at a specific position in the first conference room by the sound image localization device based on the communicated position information), perform localization processing on the audio signal obtained by an own terminal, based on the obtained localization control information (Paragraph:0019, 0030 and 0045: the signal processed by sound image localization device), output the first audio signal on which the localization processing has been performed, to the first management device (Paragraphs: 0020-0021: Sogabe discusses how the voice signal of speaker A is played back by the right speaker and the left speaker, and the signal is processed so that the sound image is localized at point P1, which is in the center in front of the listener),
Sogabe discloses the invention set forth above but does not specifically point out “a first management device; and a second management device; and output the second audio signal before the localization processing is performed, to the second management device; the first management device mixes first audio signals outputted from each of the plurality of terminals; and the second management device mixes second audio signals outputted from each of the plurality of terminals”
Wang however discloses a first management device; and a second management device; and output the second audio signal before the localization processing is performed, to the second management device (Paragraphs: 0074 and 0079: Wang discusses how device 2 manages (i.e. a second management device) microphones for mixing; and how the terminal obtains multiple device identifiers that need to be mixed in an environment, generates corresponding device groups based on the device identifiers, and maps the microphones in the same device group to the same environment); the first management device mixes first audio signals outputted from each of the plurality of terminals (Paragraphs: 0040, 0074 and 0079: device 1 manages microphones for mixing (i.e. a first management device); and how the first audio signals of the multiple microphones are mixed and output); and the second management device mixes second audio signals outputted from each of the plurality of terminals (Paragraphs: 0074, 0076 and 0079: Wang discusses how the second audio signals of the microphones corresponding to the top-ranked microphone identifiers are selected and sent to the master device for mixed output).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Sogabe, and modify a system wherein a first management device; and a second management device; and output the second audio signal before the localization processing is performed, to the second management device; the first management device mixes first audio signals outputted from each of the plurality of terminals; and the second management device mixes second audio signals outputted from each of the plurality of terminals, as taught by Wang, thus allowing to reduces the impact of ambient noise on the mix and solves the problem of ambient noise having a greater impact on the mix, as discussed by Wang.
Sogabe in view of Wang discloses the invention set forth above but does not specifically point out “the localization control information is generated based on identification information of each terminal”
Hashimoto discloses a system wherein the localization control information is generated based on identification information of each terminal (Paragraphs: 0011, 0174 and 0063: Hashimoto discusses how the sound image localization processing unit of the control unit performs the sound image localization processing on a sound content to be output or generate according to the position of the target (that is, the direction of the user terminal determined from terminals identifier information) of the user; and how the sound image localization processing unit can grasp absolute positions of a plurality of user terminals and generate audio information obtained by performing sound image localization on the position of the virtual sound source. Hashimoto also discusses how a position information acquisition unit configured to acquire pieces of position information of the plurality of user terminals; and a terminal identification information is not limited to the terminal ID, and includes information that can uniquely identify the terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Sogabe and Wang, and modify a system wherein the localization control information is generated based on identification information of each terminal, as taught by Hashimoto, thus the position information indicating a position where the content information is provided in association with each other, as discussed by Hashimoto.
4.Claim(s) 2-3, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sogabe et al. (JP 2001036880) in view of Hashimoto et al. (US 20230308831) and further in view of Tsuji et al. (US 20210176581)
Considering claims 2 and 12, Sogabe in view of Hashimoto fails to disclose claims 2 and 12. Tsuji however discloses the audio signal processing method according to claims 2 and 12, wherein: the localization control information includes information that determines left and right localization positions; and the localization processing includes panning processing (Paragraphs: 0044 and 0255: determination of the localization position of the sound image of the sound of content for output of the left and right channels; and how it is possible to easily set the panning to localize the sound image at a specific position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Sogabe and Hashimoto, and modify a system wherein the localization control information includes information that determines left and right localization positions; and the localization processing includes panning processing, as taught by Tsuji, thus allowing the localization position of stereo image to determined easily, as discussed by Tsuji.
Considering claims 3 and 13, Tsuji further discloses the audio signal processing method according to claims 1 and 11, wherein: the localization control information includes information that determines a three-dimensional localization position; and the localization processing includes binaural processing (Paragraphs: 0127 and 0129: Tsuji discusses how in the video in the three-dimensional space, it is needed to specify the localization position of the sound image; and how a three-dimensional space such as a room where the content is reproduced).
5.Claim(s) 9-10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sogabe et al. (JP 2001036880) in view of Hashimoto et al. (US 20230308831) and further in view of Wang et al. (CN108198565)
Considering claims 9 and 19, Wang further discloses the audio signal processing method according to claims 1 and 11, further comprising: processing to add an ambient sound, on the audio signal of the terminal (Paragraphs: 0052-0053 and 0057: Wang discusses summation method to estimate the environmental noise of the current environment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Sogabe and Hashimoto, and modify a system wherein processing to add an ambient sound, on the audio signal of the terminal, as taught by Wang, thus allowing to perform smoothing processing on amplitudes corresponding to the multiple first audio signals, as discussed by Wang.
Considering claim 10, Wang further discloses the audio signal processing method according to claim 9, wherein the ambient sound is different for each of the plurality of terminals (Paragraphs: 0079 and 0086: Wang discusses calculating the ambient noise of the current environment separately, without affecting each other).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicants argued, the prior arts of the record fail to disclose “the localization control information is generated based on identification information of each terminal”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The newly found art (Hashimoto et al.) discloses how the sound image localization processing unit of the control unit performs the sound image localization processing on a sound content to be output or generate according to the position of the target (that is, the direction of the user terminal determined from terminals identifier information) of the user; and how the sound image localization processing unit can grasp absolute positions of a plurality of user terminals and generate audio information obtained by performing sound image localization on the position of the virtual sound source. Hashimoto also discusses how a position information acquisition unit configured to acquire pieces of position information of the plurality of user terminals; and a terminal identification information is not limited to the terminal ID, and includes information that can uniquely identify the terminal (Hashimoto: Paragraphs: 0011, 0174 and 0063). Therefore, the prior arts of the newly found art disclose the argued claims limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
YOSEF K. LAEKEMARIAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2651
/YOSEF K LAEKEMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691