DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 15, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “low” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as there is no reference so any voltage is low voltage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chinese Patent No. CN218456114 to Wang (A machine translation is enclosed with this action and referred to herein).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, the Wang patent teaches a battery box assembly, comprising: a metallic skeleton 3; an insulative inner layer coupled with the metallic skeleton, the insulative inner layer 5 facing an inner space defined by the metallic skeleton; and an insulative outer layer coupled with the metallic skeleton, the insulative outer layer 5 facing outwardly from the metallic skeleton. See Figs. 1-3 and translation that says the metal 3 is covered on both sides by the layer 5 on both sides which would be the inside and outside of the skeleton 3.
Regarding claim 2, a set of inner walls 2022 disposed within the inner space and coupled with the insulative inner layer, the set of inner walls separating the inner space into multiple cavities. See Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 14, the insulative outer layer includes a polymeric coating constructed and arranged to electrically and thermally insulate the inner space. See translation of Wang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 9, 10, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese Patent No. CN218456114 to Wang in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,660,236 to Kondo et al.
Regarding claims 3 and 18, the Wang patent teaches the set of inner walls separates the inner space into a set of battery cavities constructed and arranged to house respective sets of battery modules. See Figs. 1-3 and translation.
However, the Wang patent lacks a specific teaching that there is a component cavity constructed and arranged to house a set of electrical components configured to transfer power to and from the sets of battery modules.
The Kondo patent teaches a battery box having battery cells 33 and components 34 inside of the battery box. See Fig. 16.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the subject invention to modify the Wang patent to have a component cavity constructed and arranged to house a set of electrical components configured to transfer power to and from the sets of battery modules as taught by Kondo, as it would have been combining known prior art elements using known methods to provide the predictable result of providing a way to seal electrical components in a box to prevent debris from damaging the components that have to work with the battery cells and save in packaging on the vehicle.
Regarding claim 4, the insulative outer layer defines a bottom and a set of exterior walls that extend from the bottom; and wherein the battery box assembly further comprises: a lid constructed and arranged to couple with the set of exterior walls, wherein the lid, the bottom, and the set of exterior walls enclose the inner space when the lid is coupled with the set of exterior walls. See Figs. 1-3 of Wang.
Regarding claim 5, the Wang and Kondo preferences teaches at least two battery cavities; and wherein the set of inner walls includes a first inner wall and a second inner wall, the first inner wall separating the at least two battery cavities from each other, the second inner wall separating the component cavity from the set of battery cavities.
However, they do not explicitly teach the second inner wall extending further from the bottom than the first inner wall to inhibit airflow between the component cavity and the set of battery cavities.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the subject invention to modify the Wang and Kondo devices to have the second inner wall extending further from the bottom than the first inner wall to inhibit airflow between the component cavity and the set of battery cavities, as it would have been combining known prior art elements using known methods to provide the predictable result of sealing off parts of the box from other parts to allow for increased rigidity.
Regarding claim 9, the combined device of the Wang and Kondo references teach all of the elements of the claim, except for the explicit teaching the lid, the bottom, and the exterior walls are constructed and arranged to form a watertight enclosure for the inner space when the lid is coupled with the set of exterior walls; and wherein the battery box assembly further comprises: a pressure release assembly constructed and arranged to reduce pressure within the inner space while the lid is coupled with the set of exterior walls.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the subject invention to modify the Wang and Kondo devices to have the lid, the bottom, and the exterior walls are constructed and arranged to form a watertight enclosure for the inner space when the lid is coupled with the set of exterior walls; and wherein the battery box assembly further comprises: a pressure release assembly constructed and arranged to reduce pressure within the inner space while the lid is coupled with the set of exterior walls, since the Wang patent already teaches an enclosed battery box and the fact that it is watertight and has a pressure release assembly is combining known prior art elements using known methods to provide the predictable result of a water tight sealed box that is well known in the art.
Regarding claim 10, the Kondo patent teaches a set of mounting members disposed within the compartment cavity, the set of mounting members being constructed and arranged to mount the set of electrical components, the set of electrical components including at least a motor controller 34. See Fig. 16.
Regarding claim 13, the Kondo patent teaches an electrical connections port 32 coupled with the insulative outer layer, the electric connection port being constructed and arranged to provide access to the set of electrical components. See Fig. 16.
Claim(s) 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2022/0306222 to Deckard et al. in view of Chinese Patent No. CN218456114 to Wang
Regarding claims 15 and 19, the Deckard publication teaches an off-road vehicle having a frame; an electric motor coupled with one or more ground engaging members; and a battery box assembly disposed over the frame and constructed and arranged to provide power to the electric motor. Figs. 19-27 and paragraphs 0104-0116.
However, the Deckard publication lacks a specific teaching of the battery box having a metal skeleton and insulative layers.
The Wang patent teaches a battery box assembly, comprising: a metallic skeleton 3; an insulative inner layer coupled with the metallic skeleton, the insulative inner layer 5 facing an inner space defined by the metallic skeleton; and an insulative outer layer coupled with the metallic skeleton, the insulative outer layer 5 facing outwardly from the metallic skeleton. See Figs. 1-3 and translation that says the metal 3 is covered on both sides by the layer 5 on both sides which would be the inside and outside of the skeleton 3.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the subject invention to modify the Deckard publication to have the battery box construction as taught by Wang, as it would have been combining known prior art elements using known methods to provide the predictable result of providing a battery box that is robust and prevents debris from getting to the battery cells.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2022/0306222 to Deckard et al. in view of Chinese Patent No. CN218456114 to Wang U.S. Patent No. 9,660,236 to Kondo et al.
Regarding claim 16, the Deckard and Wang references teach the battery box assembly further includes: a set of inner walls disposed within the inner space and coupling with the insulative inner layer, the set of inner walls separating the inner space into (i) a set of battery cavities constructed and arranged to house respective sets of battery modules.
However, the Wang patent lacks a specific teaching that there is a component cavity constructed and arranged to house a set of electrical components configured to transfer power to and from the sets of battery modules.
The Kondo patent teaches a battery box having battery cells 33 and components 34 inside of the battery box. See Fig. 16.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the subject invention to modify the Deckard and Wang references to have a component cavity constructed and arranged to house a set of electrical components configured to transfer power to and from the sets of battery modules as taught by Kondo, as it would have been combining known prior art elements using known methods to provide the predictable result of providing a way to seal electrical components in a box to prevent debris from damaging the components that have to work with the battery cells and save in packaging on the vehicle.
The combined Deckard, Wang and Kondo device lacks a specific teaching wherein the set of battery cavities are disposed closer to a center of the off-road vehicle than the component cavity to provide the sets of battery modules closer to the center of the off-road vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the subject invention to modify the Deckard, Wang and Kondo device to have wherein the set of battery cavities are disposed closer to a center of the off-road vehicle than the component cavity to provide the sets of battery modules closer to the center of the off-road vehicle, since this would be mass centralization which is well known in the art of vehicles that allows for the center of gravity to be closer to the center of the vehicle to allow for more balanced handling.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chinese Patent No. CN217903274 to Liao et al. teaches a battery box.
Chinese Patent No. CN210073941 to Gu et al. teaches a battery box.
/JUSTIN HOLMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655