DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20 are all the claims pending in the application. Claims 1-2, 13-15 and 20 are rejected. Claims 3-12 and 16-19 are objected to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Faster R-CNN: Towards Real-Time Object Detection with Region Proposal Networks” by Ren et al. (hereinafter “Ren”).
As to independent claim 1, Ren discloses a model training method (Abstract, Section 3, and Fig. 2 disclose that Ren is directed to a trained deep learning framework called Faster Region-Convolutional Neural Network (Faster R-CNN) comprising a Region Proposal Network (RPN) and Fast R-CNN), comprising: obtaining a first reference bounding box from a first candidate bounding box set (Section 3 discloses that Fast R-CNN inputs a bounding box i from a plurality of k anchor box proposals predicted by the RPN in response to an input image), and obtaining a real bounding box corresponding to the first reference bounding box and a real category of the real bounding box (Section 3 discloses “ground-truth label pi*” and “ground-truth box” ti* for each bounding box i); obtaining a target detection model by inputting the first reference bounding box, the real bounding box and the real category into a model to be trained for an iterative model training until the iterative model training meets a training termination criteria (Section 3 discloses that the trained Faster R-CNN is obtained by training according to a loss function (1) that involves “ground-truth label pi*” and “ground-truth box” ti*, wherein the Fast R-CNN portion inputs the bounding box i predicted by the RPN, wherein Section 4.2 discloses that the training is performed for a fixed number (240 k) “iterations”, such a fixed number indicating a stopping criteria for the iterative training); wherein, the model to be trained comprises a generation sub-model and a determination sub-model; each model training of the iterative model training comprises: performing a prediction based on the first reference bounding box, and obtaining a first prediction bounding box and a first prediction category by the generation sub-model (Section 3 discloses that the anchor bounding box i proposed by the RPN is input to the Fast R-CNN which predicts a label pi and a bounding box ti); generating, by the determination sub-model, a determination result set based on the real bounding box, the first prediction bounding box, the real category, and the first prediction category (Section 3 and equation (1) discloses calculating a loss function based on the set of i bounding boxes and corresponding ground-truth labels pi*, ground-truth boxes ti*, predicted labels pi and predicted bounding boxes ti); wherein the determination result set comprises a first determination result and a second determination result; determining a total loss value of the model to be trained based on the first determination result and the second determination result (Section 3 and equation (1) discloses that the loss function comprises a “classification loss Lcls” based on the ground-truth labels pi* and predicted labels pi, and a “regression loss” Lreg based on ground-truth boxes ti* and predicted bounding boxes ti); and updating model parameters of the generation sub-model and model parameters of the determination sub-model based on the total loss value (Sections 3-4 disclose training the Faster R-CNN model by updating “network weights” according to the loss function).
As to claim 13, Ren further discloses obtaining a second reference bounding box by extracting a target area of an image to be detected; obtaining a second prediction bounding box and a second prediction category of the second reference bounding box by inputting the second reference bounding box into the target detection model; and generating a target detection result of an image to be detected based on the second prediction bounding box and the second prediction category (Sections 3-4 and Fig. 1 discloses that the Faster R-CNN model, once trained, is deployed at “test-time” in which the model inputs an image, the RPN predicts proposal (reference) bounding boxes which are input to the Fast R-CNN which predicts a bounding box and classification label and outputs an image with the bounding box and classification label thereon as a target detection result; see Figs. 5-6 of such test set target detection results).
Independent claim 14 recites a computer device, comprising: a processor; and a storage device storing computer-executable instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor (Section 4.2 of Ren discloses that the model is trained and tested using an “8-GPU implementation”, wherein such graphics processing units require software necessarily stored on a storage device; Abstract and Section 3 of Ren references such “Python code” which “has been made publicly available”) to perform the steps of the method recited in independent claim 1. Accordingly, claim 14 is rejected for reasons analogous to those discussed above in conjunction with claim 1.
Independent claim 20 recites a non-transitory storage medium having instructions stored thereon, when the instructions are executed by a processor of a computer device, the processor is configured to perform a model training method, wherein the method comprises (Section 4.2 of Ren discloses that the model is trained and tested using an “8-GPU implementation”, wherein such graphics processing units require software necessarily stored on a storage medium; Abstract and Section 3 of Ren references such “Python code” which “has been made publicly available”) the steps of the method recited in independent claim 1. Accordingly, claim 20 is rejected for reasons analogous to those discussed above in conjunction with claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of “Region-Based Convolutional Networks for Accurate Object Detection and Segmentation” by Girshick et al. (hereinafter “Girshick”).
As to claim 2, Ren further discloses that the first determination result represents a bounding box similarity of the first prediction bounding box and the real bounding box, and the second determination result represents a category similarity between the first prediction category and the real category (Section 3 and equation (1) discloses that the loss function comprises a “classification loss Lcls” based on the log loss (i.e., lack of similarity) between ground-truth labels pi* and predicted labels pi, and a “regression loss” Lreg based on the difference (i.e., lack of similarity) between ground-truth boxes ti* and predicted bounding boxes ti).
Ren discloses multiple examples of images including multiple objects for which the bounding box and classification label are predicted (See at least Figs. 3, 5, and 6). Accordingly, Ren likely inherently requires that the ground truth bounding boxes are compared with the predicted bounding boxes for objects of the same category or class. Nonetheless, Ren does not expressly disclose this feature. That is, Ren does not expressly disclose that the bounding box similarity is performed when a constraint is met, the constraint is that a category of a target object in the first prediction bounding box is predicted as a target category of the real category by the generation sub-model.
Girshick, like Ren, is directed to a “Region-based Convolutional Network” or R-CNN which inputs an image, extracts region proposals, and performs bounding box regression and classification on the proposals (Abstract and Fig. 1). In fact, Girshick is listed as a co-author on the Ren paper, and the Fast R-CNN component of Ren is derived from the R-CNN model disclosed in Girshick (See cited reference [2] in Ren: “R. Girshick, “Fast R-CNN,”’). Girshick discloses that R-CNN learns a “set of class-specific bounding-box regressors” such that the bounding box is predicted “after scoring each selective search proposal with a class-specific detection SVM” (Section 7.3). That is, R-CNN will only “transform an input proposal P into a predicted ground-truth box G^” when a constraint is met, the constraint is that a category of a target object in the first prediction bounding box is predicted as a target category of the real category by the generation sub-model (Section 7.3 discloses that R-CNN only applies a class-specific bounding box regressor after a proposal has been scored and classified which ensures that the regression loss for a particular class of objects is only ever calculated using proposals matched to ground-truth boxes of that particular class).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ren to enforce a constraint that bounding box regression is conditional upon the predicted class of the object in the bounding box matching the ground-truth class, as taught by Girshick, to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. It is predictable that the proposed modification would have reduced computation considerably since the model would not waste time calculating loss between predicted bounding boxes with objects that don’t match the ground truth class.
Claim 15 recites features nearly identical to those recited in claim 2. Accordingly, claim 15 is rejected for reasons analogous to those discussed above in conjunction with claim 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-12 and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yuan (“Multi-branch Bounding Box Regression for Object Detection”; cited in IDS filed 1/10/25) is directed to a bounding box regression and classification using a multi-branch R-CNN framework. Yuan discloses a backbone convolutional layer that regresses a first bounding box B0 which the framework uses to predict two bounding boxes B1 and D1 and a classification C1. A category cross-modal loss is minimized using classification C1 and its ground truth category, and a distance loss is calculated between the two predicted bounding boxes B1 and D1, wherein the model is trained on those two losses in multiple stages. These teachings are relevant to the broadest reasonable interpretation of the independent claims.
Shen (“Generative Adversarial Learning Towards Fast Weakly Supervised Detection”) is directed to a deep object detection framework using generative adversarial learning. Shen discloses a Surrogator network which inputs an image with region proposals and outputs a classification and a bounding box, a Generator which inputs images and performs bounding box regression thereon, and a Discriminator which distinguishes the “real” bounding boxes generated by the Surrogator from the “fake” bounding boxes generated by the Generator.
Conclusion
/SEAN M CONNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663