DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Upon consideration of the replacement drawings and the amended specification and claims, all previous objections to the disclosure, as well as all claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 1122(b), are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-13 of the Remarks filed 07/01/2026, with respect to Carmel no longer anticipating the amended independent claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly-found prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmel (US 2013/0306763) in view of Castronovo (US 9,463,465).
Regarding Claim 1, Carmel discloses (Figures 1a-c and 12a) a control system for a waste processing apparatus, the control system comprising a controller (control box 16; [0094] lns 3-4) configured to: control an actuator (motor 11b) of the waste processing apparatus to move a shredding device (shredder 2) of the waste processing apparatus into at least a shred position (shown in Figure 1c) in which a vessel (chamber 4) of the shredding device is able to hold liquid ([0085] lns 1-3, [0096] lns 3-6, [0098] lns 2-3: when chamber 4 is fully vertical as shown in Figure 1c, the chamber 4 of shredder 2 is able to hold liquid); control a fluid delivery device (steam generator 10) of the waste processing apparatus to deliver a treatment fluid into the vessel of the shredding device ([0082] lns 12-15: steam is considered to be a treatment fluid as it sterilizes, i.e. treats, the shredded waste); and control a blade arrangement motor (motor 11a) of the waste processing apparatus to drive a blade arrangement (blade assembly 18) of the shredding device at a first speed ([0099] lns 1-2) to perform a shredding function to shred waste within the vessel of the shredding device ([0082] lns 10-12).
Carmel further discloses the controller (control box 16) being configured to control the blade arrangement motor (motor 11a) to drive the blade arrangement (blade assembly 18) at a second speed different from the first speed ([0099] lns 1-2: the speed of the blade arrangement is variable based on the needs of the application), but does not disclose the controller is configured to determine a torque of the blade arrangement motor and that said speed variation control is based on an increase or decrease in the torque. Castronovo teaches (Figures 1 and 6) a waste processing apparatus (machine 1; col. 1 lns 6-8) comprising a blade arrangement motor (drive motor 6) which drives a blade arrangement (cutter 2) at a first speed to perform a shredding function, wherein a torque of the blade arrangement motor is determined, and the blade arrangement motor is controlled to drive the blade arrangement at a second speed different from the first speed, in response to determining an increase or decrease in said torque (col. 6 lns 19-21: when the load on the motor 6, i.e. the torque, is determined to have decreased, the speed at which the cutter 2 rotates is increased). This allows the waste processing apparatus to optimize throughput while still being able to handle heavier shredding loads (col. 6 lns 21-23, 30-32). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller in the control system for a waste processing apparatus disclosed by Carmel such that it is also configured to determine a torque of the blade arrangement motor and control the blade arrangement motor to drive the blade arrangement at a second speed different from the first speed in response to determining an increase or decrease in said torque, as taught by Castronovo, in order to allow the shredder of the waste processing apparatus to handle a variable load and optimize throughput.
Regarding Claim 2, Carmel discloses (Figures 1c and 12a) the controller (control box 16) is configured to receive sensor data from a sensor ([0014] lns 1-5: the magnetic switch is interpreted as a sensor) associated with the vessel (chamber 4), and determine, based on the sensor data, that the vessel is in the shred position (Figure 12a shows an input labeled “Chamb. Angle”, i.e. control box 16 receives data regarding the angle of chamber 4, which determines if it is in the shred position).
Regarding Claim 3, Carmel discloses (Figures 1c and 12a) the controller (control box 16) is configured to, in response to determining that the vessel (chamber 4) is in the shred position (position shown in Figure 1c), control a closure mechanism of the waste processing apparatus to move a closure arrangement (door 6) to close the vessel of the shredding device ([0156] lns 3-5, [0094] lns 3-4, [0143] lns 3-6: control box 16 controls the entire process, including the automatic closing of door 6 in the shred position).
Regarding Claim 4, Carmel discloses (Figures 1c and 12a) the controller (control box 16) is configured to, in response to determining that the vessel (chamber 4) is in the shred position (position shown in Figure 1c), control one or more locking mechanisms of the waste processing apparatus to lock the shredding device (shredder 2) in the shred position ([0139] lns 6-9, [0094] lns 3-4, [0143] lns 3-6: control box 16 controls the entire process, including the automatic locking of door 6 of shredder 2 when chamber 4 is in the shred position).
Regarding Claim 5, Carmel discloses (Figures 1c and 12a) the controller (control box 16) is configured to control the actuator (motor 11b) to move the shredding device (shredder 2) into the shred position ([0085] lns 1-3, [0096] lns 3-6, [0098] lns 2-3: the position shown in Figure 2c is the shred position) in response to receiving an input signal from a user input device of the waste processing apparatus ([0152]-[0153], [0156] lns 3-5: control box 16 moves chamber 4 of shredder 2 to the shred position in response to a user input on a panel of the device).
Regarding Claim 6, Carmel discloses (Figures 1c and 12a) the controller (control box 16) is configured to control the fluid delivery device (steam generator 10) to deliver a predefined amount of treatment fluid into the vessel (chamber 4) of the shredding device ([0101] lns 1-3: the amount of steam corresponding to the given temperature and pressure conditions is interpreted as a predefined amount of treatment fluid).
Regarding Claim 7, Carmel discloses (Figures 1a-c, 3a, and 12a) the controller (control box 16) is configured to control the blade arrangement motor (motor 11a) to control the rotation speed and/or rotation direction of the blade arrangement ([0109] lns 3-7, [0094] lns 3-4, [0143] lns 3-6: control box 16 controls the entire process, including the rotation speed/direction of the blade assembly 18).
Regarding Claim 8, Carmel discloses (Figures 1a-c, 3a, and 12a) the controller (control box 16) is configured to control the blade arrangement motor (motor 11a) to alternate between different rotation directions ([0016] lns 2-13, [0109] lns 3-7).
Regarding Claim 10, with reference to the combination of Carmel and Castronovo, Castronovo teaches (Figures 1 and 6) in response to determining that the torque of the blade arrangement motor (drive motor 6) has decreased below a first threshold torque value, the blade arrangement motor is controlled to drive the blade arrangement (cutter 2) at the second speed which is greater than the first speed (col. 6 lns 19-21: when the load on the motor 6, i.e. the torque, is determined to have decreased, the speed at which the cutter 2 rotates is increased). When Carmel is modified by Castronovo, control box 16, i.e. the controller, is configured to perform this function.
Regarding Claim 11, Carmel discloses (Figure 12a) the controller (control box 16) is configured to control the shredding device (shredder 2) to terminate the shredding function after a predefined shredding time has elapsed ([0099] lns 1-4).
Regarding Claim 13, Carmel discloses (Figures 1b and 12) the controller (control box 16) is configured to: control the actuator (motor 11b) to move the shredding device (shredder 2) into an emptying position ([0085] lns 1-3, [0096] lns 3-6; emptying position shown in Figure 1b) in which waste can be emptied out of the vessel (chamber 4) of the shredding device ([0106] lns 1-3), and control a conveying means to move said waste into a waste bin ([0094 lns 3-4: control box 16 controls the entire process; [0106] lns 1-3: chamber 4 being rotated to its unloading position is interpreted as a conveying means).
Regarding Claim 14, Carmel discloses (Figures 1a-c and 12a) a waste processing apparatus comprising: a shredding device (shredder 2) comprising a blade arrangement (blade assembly 18) and a vessel (chamber 4) for holding waste and treatment fluid during processing ([0082] lns 2-4, 12-15: steam is considered to be a treatment fluid as it sterilizes, i.e. treats, the shredded waste); a blade arrangement motor (motor 11a) configured to drive the blade arrangement of the shredding device to perform a shredding function to shred waste within the vessel ([0015] lns 1-7); an actuator (motor 11b) configured to move the shredding device into a shred position (shown in Figure 1c) in which the vessel is able to hold liquid ([0085] lns 1-3, [0096] lns 3-6, [0098] lns 2-3: when chamber 4 is fully vertical as shown in Figure 1c, the chamber 4 of shredder 2 is able to hold liquid); and a fluid delivery device (steam generator 10) configured to deliver a treatment fluid into the vessel of the shredding device ([0082] lns 12-15). The aforementioned combination of Carmel and Castronovo teaches (Carmel Figures 1a-c and 12a) a control system as defined in Claim 1 (see discussion above), wherein the controller (control box 16) of the control system is communicatively coupled to the shredding device (shredder 2), the blade arrangement motor (motor 11a), the actuator (motor 11b) and the fluid delivery device (steam generator 10; [0094] lns 3-4, [0143] lns 3-6: control box 16 control the entire process and thus is communicatively coupled to all the components of the waste processing apparatus).
Regarding Claim 15, Carmel discloses (Figure 1c) the actuator comprises a motor (motor 11b) configured to rotate the shredding device (shredder 2) into at least the shred position ([0085] lns 1-3, [0096] lns 3-6, [0098] lns 2-3).
Regarding Claim 16, Carmel discloses (Figures 1a-c, 3a, and 12a) the controller (control box 16) of the control system is configured to control the blade arrangement motor (motor 11a) to control a rotation direction of the blade arrangement ([0109] lns 3-7, [0094] lns 3-4, [0143] lns 3-6: control box 16 controls the entire process, including the rotation speed/direction of the blade assembly 18).
Regarding Claim 18, with reference to the combination of Carmel and Castronovo, Castronovo teaches (Figures 1 and 6) in response to determining that the torque of the blade arrangement motor (drive motor 6) has decreased below a first threshold torque value, the blade arrangement motor is controlled to drive the blade arrangement (cutter 2) at the second speed which is greater than the first speed (col. 6 lns 19-21: when the load on the motor 6, i.e. the torque, is determined to have decreased, the speed at which the cutter 2 rotates is increased). When Carmel is modified by Castronovo, control box 16, i.e. the controller, is configured to perform this function.
Regarding Claim 19, Carmel discloses (Figures 1a-c and 12a) a method of controlling a waste processing apparatus, the method comprising: controlling an actuator (motor 11b) of the waste processing apparatus to move a shredding device (shredder 2 with chamber 4) of the waste processing apparatus into a position (shown in Figure 1c) in which the shredding device is able to hold liquid ([0085] lns 1-3, [0096] lns 3-6, [0098] lns 2-3: when chamber 4 is fully vertical as shown in Figure 1c, the chamber 4 of shredder 2 is able to hold liquid); controlling a fluid delivery device (steam generator 10) of the waste processing apparatus to deliver a treatment fluid into the shredding device ([0082] lns 12-15: steam is considered to be a treatment fluid as it sterilizes, i.e. treats, the shredded waste); controlling a blade arrangement motor (motor 11a) of the waste processing apparatus to drive a blade arrangement (blade assembly 18) of the shredding device at a first speed ([0099] lns 1-2) to perform a shredding function to shred waste within the shredding device ([0082] lns 10-12); and controlling the blade arrangement motor to drive the blade arrangement at a second speed different from the first speed ([0099] lns 1-2: the speed of the blade arrangement is variable based on the needs of the application).
Carmel does not disclose a step of determining a torque of the blade arrangement motor or that the blade arrangement motor is controlled to drive the blade arrangement at the second speed in response to an increase or decrease in the torque thereof. Castronovo teaches (Figures 1 and 6) a method of controlling a waste processing apparatus (machine 1; col. 1 lns 6-8) comprising: controlling a blade arrangement motor (drive motor 6) of the waste processing apparatus to drive a blade arrangement (cutter 2) at a first speed to perform a shredding function, determining a torque of a blade arrangement motor, and controlling the blade arrangement motor to drive the blade arrangement at a second speed different from the first speed, in response to determining an increase or decrease in said torque (col. 6 lns 19-21: when the load on the motor 6, i.e. the torque, is determined to have decreased, the speed at which the cutter 2 rotates is increased). This allows the waste processing apparatus to optimize throughput while still being able to handle heavier shredding loads (col. 6 lns 21-23, 30-32). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of controlling a waste processing apparatus disclosed by Carmel such that it is also comprises steps of determining a torque of the blade arrangement motor and controlling the blade arrangement motor to drive the blade arrangement at a second speed different from the first speed in response to determining an increase or decrease in said torque, as taught by Castronovo, in order to allow the shredder of the waste processing apparatus to handle a variable load and optimize throughput.
Regarding Claim 20, Carmel discloses (Figures 1a-c and 12a) a computer-readable medium ([0220] lns 1-7) comprising instructions which, when executed by a processor ([0176] lns 4-5), cause the processor to: control an actuator (motor 11b) of a waste processing apparatus to move a shredding device (shredder 2 with chamber 4) of the waste processing apparatus into a position (shown in Figure 1c) in which the shredding device is able to hold liquid ([0085] lns 1-3, [0096] lns 3-6, [0098] lns 2-3: when chamber 4 is fully vertical as shown in Figure 1c, the chamber 4 of shredder 2 is able to hold liquid); control a fluid delivery device (steam generator 10) of the waste processing apparatus to deliver a treatment fluid into the shredding device ([0082] lns 12-15: steam is considered to be a treatment fluid as it sterilizes, i.e. treats, the shredded waste); and control a blade arrangement motor (motor 11a) of the waste processing apparatus to drive a blade arrangement (blade assembly 18) of the shredding device at a first speed ([0099] lns 1-2) to perform a shredding function to shred waste within the shredding device ([0082] lns 10-12).
Carmel further discloses the processor being caused to control the blade arrangement motor (motor 11a) to drive the blade arrangement (blade assembly 18) at a second speed different from the first speed ([0099] lns 1-2: the speed of the blade arrangement is variable based on the needs of the application), but does not disclose the processor being caused to determine a torque of the blade arrangement motor and that said speed variation control is based on an increase or decrease in the torque. Castronovo teaches (Figures 1 and 6) a waste processing apparatus (machine 1; col. 1 lns 6-8) comprising a blade arrangement motor (drive motor 6) which drives a blade arrangement (cutter 2) at a first speed to perform a shredding function, wherein a torque of the blade arrangement motor is determined, and the blade arrangement motor is controlled to drive the blade arrangement at a second speed different from the first speed, in response to determining an increase or decrease in said torque (col. 6 lns 19-21: when the load on the motor 6, i.e. the torque, is determined to have decreased, the speed at which the cutter 2 rotates is increased). This allows the waste processing apparatus to optimize throughput while still being able to handle heavier shredding loads (col. 6 lns 21-23, 30-32). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the instructions of the computer-readable medium disclosed by Carmel such that the processor, when executing the instructions, is caused to determine a torque of the blade arrangement motor and control the blade arrangement motor to drive the blade arrangement at a second speed different from the first speed in response to determining an increase or decrease in said torque, as taught by Castronovo, in order to allow the shredder of the waste processing apparatus to handle a variable load and optimize throughput.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERESA A GUTHRIE/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/BOBBY YEONJIN KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725