DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to claims filed 3/15/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character 36 has been used to designate both outlet ports and door in Figure 8. Specifically, the door depicted in Figure 8 is labeled as 38 in Figure 7 and described as 38 in the specification filed 3/15/2024.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: second panel 52.
Key to Interpreting this Office Action
For readability, all claim language has been underlined.
Citations from prior art are provided at the end of each limitation in parentheses.
Any further explanations that were deemed necessary by the Examiner are provided at the end of each claim limitation.
The Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner directly if there are any questions or concerns regarding the current Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 recites the limitation of [t]he method according to claim 1; however, claim 1 is a “vehicle,” not a method. This limitation is interpreted as a typographical error and should instead recite “the method according to claim 11.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0207919 A1), hereinafter Kim, in view of Keller et al. (translation of DE 102021130405A1), hereinafter Keller.
Claim 1
Kim discloses the claimed vehicle (see ¶0056, regarding an electric vehicle with a battery pack) comprising:
a battery pack including a housing (see ¶0058-0059, regarding battery pack 1 is disposed in a space formed between upper case 11 and lower case 12);
at least one battery cell located in the housing (see ¶0058-0059, with respect to Figures 1-3, regarding that battery pack 1 includes a plurality of battery cells 21 packaged by the upper case 11 and lower case 12);
at least one sensor positioned in the housing that is configured to generate a signal indicative of a temperature or a pressure within the housing (see ¶0091-0092, with respect to Figure 12, regarding that sensor 22 includes a temperature sensor for detecting the temperature of battery cell 21 and is provided inside the battery pack 1);
a controller in communication with the at least one sensor (see ¶0093, regarding that controller 52 receives data from sensor 22).
Kim further discloses that the housing includes at least one vent (i.e. outlet duct 32) that is configured to permit gases generated by the at least one battery cell to escape the housing (see ¶0063-0064, regarding that outlet duct 32 is provided between upper case 11 and lower case 12 in order to discharge venting gas that is generated by thermal runaway of the battery cell 21 to the outside of the vehicle), and at least one manifold (i.e. discharging channel 32bb) connected to the housing that is in fluid communication with the at least one vent (see ¶0073, regarding that discharging channel 32bb is used as a channel through which fluid flows in the outlet duct 32 so that venting gas generated due to thermal runaway can be discharged to the outside of the vehicle, where second housing 32b is shaped to have a discharging channel 32bb, as described in ¶0067) and configured to direct the gases through an outlet port (see ¶0071, regarding that a through-hole 32bc is formed in a portion where discharging channel 32bb is formed penetrating the second housing 32b).
Kim further discloses a door (i.e. switching wall 32c) is connected at a location that overlaps the outlet port (see Figure 6, depicting switching wall 32c overlaps through-hole 32bc, as described in ¶0070), the door being movable from a closed position that obstructs the outlet port to an open position where the door does not obstruct the outlet port by an actuator (i.e. actuator 32d) in communication with the controller (see ¶0095, regarding that controller 52 controls actuator 32d to open and close the switching wall 32c; ¶0070, regarding the opening and closing of the switching wall 32c, as depicted in Figures 7 and 8).
Kim further discloses that the controller is configured to communicate an instruction to the actuator to move the door from the closed position to the open position based on the signal indicative of the temperature or pressure within the housing received from the at least one sensor (see ¶0093-0096, regarding that when controller 52 identifies a thermal runaway occurs in battery cell 21 based on data received from sensor 22, controller 52 controls actuator 32d to open discharging channel 32bb by rotating switching wall 32c).
While Kim discloses that the battery pack is installed in an electric vehicle (see ¶0056), Kim does not disclose the specific mounting location on the vehicle in which the battery pack is installed, such that the vehicle comprises a skid plate or belly pan located proximate the housing, where the claimed “outlet port” is formed in the skid plate or belly pan, and the claimed “door” is connected to the skid plate or belly pan. However, this particular claimed configuration is known in the art, in light of Keller.
Specifically, Keller teaches vehicle 1 defined as an electric vehicle (similar to the vehicle taught by Kim) comprising a battery module 4 with battery housing 5 (similar to the battery pack including a housing taught by Kim) (see ¶0028-0029, with respect to Figure 1), where pressure equalization element 12 opens when sufficient overpressure is reached in order to cause gas flow 15 (similar to the gases taught by Kim) from battery housing interior 6 through discharge channel 13 to environment 14 (see ¶0033) via outlet opening 30 (similar to the outlet port taught by Kim) (see ¶0037), where the increase is in pressure inside the battery casing is a result of an exothermic reaction of the battery that causes a high temperature (see ¶0003). Kim further teaches that vehicle 1 comprises body 2 which includes skid plate or belly pan located proximate battery housing 5 (see ¶0028, regarding that battery module 4 is arranged in underbody 3 of vehicle 1; ¶0037, regarding underbody 3 includes at least one support 28 that can form part of the structural frame to which battery housing 5 is attached, where underbody 3 is defined as including an underbody covering 29 on the underside of vehicle 1 which can be a metal sheet or plastic plate), such that outlet opening 30 is formed in the skid plate or belly pan (see ¶0037, regarding that the outlet opening 30 is in the underbody panel 29). Thus, by modifying the mounting location of the battery back of Kim to be installed, such that its outlet opening 30 (i.e. “outlet port”) is formed in the underbody of the vehicle (i.e. “skid plate or belly pan”), Kim, as modified by Keller, further teaches that switching wall 32c (i.e. “door”) is connected to the skid plate or belly pan.
In Kim, gases generated by a battery pack are directed through an outlet port via operation of a door based on a detected temperature. In Keller, gases generated by a battery pack are directed through an outlet port via operation of a pressure equalization element based on a detected pressure. However, it is the configuration of providing the outlet port as part of the skid plate or belly pan of a vehicle that is modified by Keller; therefore, the additional elements and their associated operations do not influence this combination.
Since the systems of Kim and Keller are directed to the same purpose, i.e. directing gases generated by a battery pack through an outlet port, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle of Kim to further include a skid plate or belly pan located proximate the housing, such that the outlet port is formed in the skid plate or belly pan, in the same manner that the outlet opening of Keller is provided in the underbody of a vehicle, such that the door of Kim is connected to the skid plate or belly pan, with the predictable result of directly passing the gas flow into the vehicle’s surroundings through the outlet opening and thus, preventing the gas from concentrating within the subfloor of the vehicle (¶0018 of Keller).
Claims 2 and 12
Kim further discloses that the at least one sensor is a temperature sensor configured to generate the signal indicative of the temperature within the housing (see ¶0091-0092, with respect to Figure 12, regarding that sensor 22 includes a temperature sensor for detecting the temperature of battery cell 21 and is provided inside the battery pack 1), as discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 3 and 13
Keller further teaches a pressure sensor positioned in expansion housing interior 23 in combination with battery housing 5 (similar to the housing taught by Kim) that is configured to generate the signal indicative of the pressure within the battery housing 5 (see ¶0002, regarding that battery module is equipped with a pressure equalization element designed to open at a predetermined overpressure inside the battery housing; ¶0033). Given that the pressure in expansion housing interior 23 is the same as the pressure in battery housing 5 (see ¶0033), and expansion housing interior 23 is connected to battery housing 5 (see Figure 1), the expansion housing interior 23 and battery housing 5 may be reasonably interpreted as “housing” similar to Kim. Further, the pressure equalization element may be reasonably interpreted as a “sensor,” due to its response to real-time pressure data.
Claims 9 and 19
Kim further discloses that when the door is in the open position (i.e. switching wall 32c opens through-hole 32bc), the door is configured as a shield that prevents or at least substantially minimizes the gases passing through the outlet port from travelling in a predetermined direction (see ¶0071, regarding that when switching wall 32c opens through-hole 32bc, discharging channel 32bb is opened during thermal runaway, where the venting gas is discharged to the outside of the vehicle, as described in ¶0068; ¶0048, regarding that Figure 8 represents the state of the outlet duct during thermal runaway). The “predetermined direction” is taught as a direction towards the interior of the vehicle, due to the cooling channel 32ba being closed by switching wall 32c in Figure 8.
Claims 10 and 20
Kim further discloses that when the door is in the closed position that obstructs the outlet port (i.e. switching wall 32c closes through-hole 32bc), the door is configured to prevent the outlet port from becoming clogged (see ¶0071, regarding that when switching wall 32c closes through-hole 32bc, cooling channel 32ba is opened during the normal state, where air returning from cooling the battery cell 21 is discharged into the interior of the vehicle and circulated, as described in ¶0068; ¶0047, regarding that Figure 7 represents the state of the outlet duct during a normal state in a battery pack). Closing the through-hole 32bc inherently prevents through-hole 32bc from becoming “clogged” by anything that may enter through discharging channel 32bb.
Further, Kim, as modified by Keller, further teaches that when in the “closed position,” the door is configured to improve aerodynamic properties of the vehicle, due to the “outlet port” being formed in the underbody of the vehicle (i.e. “skid plate or belly pan”), thus providing a substantially uniform surface when closed.
Claim 11
The combination of Kim and Keller teach the claimed method, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 4, 5, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Keller, and in further view of Dittmann et al. (US 2024/0313334 A1), hereinafter Dittmann.
Claims 4 and 14
The combination of Kim and Keller does not specifically teach that the door includes a first panel attached to the skid plate or belly pan, the first panel including an opening that is aligned with the outlet port. However, it would be capable of instant and questionable demonstration to include a “panel” attached to the underbody of the vehicle, in light of Dittmann.
Specifically, Dittmann teaches an emergency degassing device 32 that includes flap 34 rotatably mounted around pivot axis 36 (similar to the door taught by Keller) (see ¶0043, with respect to Figures 2 and 3), such that when flap 34 is in the open position, outflowing gas 28 from battery cells is directed obliquely downwards in the direction of the ground on which the motor vehicle 10 is currently located (see ¶0042), similar to the combination of Kim and Keller. Dittmann further teaches that emergency degassing device 32 includes a first panel attached to underrun protection 29 on which channel wall 28b is provided (similar to the skid plate or belly pan taught by Keller), the first panel including an opening that is aligned with outlet opening 30 (similar to the outlet port taught by Kim) (see ¶0040-0043, with respect to Figures 2 and 3). The “first panel” is depicted as an unlabeled panel in Figures 2 and 3 that is connected to seal 42.
Since the systems of Kim and Dittmann are directed to the same purpose, i.e. opening a door installed on a vehicle for directing gases generated by a battery through an outlet port, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the door of Kim to include a first panel attached to the skid plate or belly pan, the first panel including an opening that is aligned with the outlet port, in the same manner that Dittmann depicts a panel attached to an underrun protection provided with a channel wall and aligned with an outlet opening, with the predictable result of providing a means for attachment to the channel wall that may provide sealing functions when closed (¶0043 of Dittmann).
Claims 5 and 15
Dittmann further teaches that emergency degassing device 32 (similar to the door taught by Kim) that includes a second panel (i.e. flap 34) attached to the first panel by a hinge (see ¶0043, with respect to Figures 2 and 3, regarding flap 34 is rotatably mounted around pivot axis 36). Attachment of flap 34 to “first panel” is shown in Figures 2 and 3.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Keller and Dittmann, and in further view of Ramm et al. (US 2021/0261329 A1), hereinafter Ramm.
Claims 6 and 16
The combination of Kim, Keller, and Dittmann does not further teach a first coil spring is wound around the hinge that is configured to bias the second panel away from the outlet port. However, Kim teaches the use of stopper 32aa and hook 32ab to maintain switching wall 32c (similar to the “second panel” taught by Dittmann) (see ¶0076-0077, with respect to Figure 8) away from through-hole 32bc (i.e. “outlet port”) (see ¶0071), such that the switching wall 32c must rotate with a force stronger than the elasticity of the hook 32ab (see ¶0076); therefore, it would be reasonable to incorporate a spring in Kim to decrease the actuator’s power requirements for providing a force stronger than the elasticity of the hook, in light of Ramm.
Specifically, Ramm teaches a lid 6 (similar to the second panel taught by the combination of Kim and Dittmann) configured to open and close via hinge axle 52 (similar to the hinge taught by Kim) (see ¶0046, with respect to Figure 2), such that a first coil spring (i.e. coil springs 34, 40) is wound around hinge axle 52 that is configured to bias lid 6 away from the closed position (similar to the outlet port taught by Kim) (see ¶0050; Figure 6, depicting coil springs 34, 40 wrapped around hinge axle 52; ¶0015).
In Kim and Dittmann, the system is associated with a door for directing gases generated by a vehicle battery through an outlet port. In Ramm, the system is associated with a lid of a waste bin. However, it is the known technique of biasing a surface away from a closed position using a spring wound around a hinge that is modified by Ramm; therefore, the particular purpose of the system does not influence this combination.
Since the systems of Kim and Ramm are directed to the same purpose, i.e. opening a door to an enclosure provided on a hinge, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kim, Keller, and Dittmann, so as to further include a first coil spring is wound around the hinge that is configured to bias the second panel away from the outlet port, in the same manner that a spring coil of Ramm is mounted around a hinge axle to bias a lid away from a closed position, with the predictable result of reducing the forces required to open a lid of an enclosure (¶0050 of Ramm).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claims 7 and 17, the closest prior art of record, Kim, Keller, and Dittmann, taken alone or in combination, does not teach that the second panel includes a latching mechanism having a latch that is pivotably attached to the second panel and configured to pass through the outlet port and mate with the skid plate to maintain the door in the closed position, in light of the overall claim.
Specifically, Dittmann teaches a flap-side contact flange 38a on which flap 34 rests when in a closed position (see ¶0043), such that there is no “latching mechanism” provided on flap 34 (i.e. “second panel”). Further, the hook 32ab and stopper 32aa of Kim may be reasonably interpreted as a “latching mechanism;” however, the latching mechanism of Kim is not “pivotably attached to the second panel and configured to pass through the outlet port and mate with the skid plate to maintain the door in the closed position,” as claimed. While types of latches that include rotatable elements are known in the art (e.g., rotary latches), the particular claimed configuration in which the latch is “pivotably attached to the second panel,” so as to “mate with the skid plate,” in light of the overall claim, is not known in the art. This claimed feature in light of the overall claim would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Claims 8 and 18 are objected to for incorporating the allowable subject matter of claims 7 and 17 by dependency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Specifically, Okada et al. (US 2021/0288378 A1) teaches the controlled operation of a gas discharge valve in response to a detected pressure and temperature of a battery pack (see abstract) positioned below the floor panel of a vehicle (see ¶0033), Hadler (US 2023/0135353 A1) teaches a battery system integrated into an underbody construction of the vehicle with venting chambers provided in case of a thermal runaway (see ¶0027), and Maltisotto (US 2024/0034411 A1) teaches the arrangement of a gas outlet opening in an underbody protection apparatus of a vehicle (see ¶0013).
/SARA J LEWANDROSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3661