DETAILED ACTION
The Office Action is in response to Amendments filed 06/22/2026.
Claims 1-2, 10-12, and 20 are currently amended.
The objection to claims 1, 2, 11, 12, and 20 have been withdrawn in view of the applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 2, 11, 12, and 20 respectively.
The rejection of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn in view of the applicant’s amendment to claim 10.
The rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn in view of the applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 11, and 20.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8-11, 14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20250007988 A1 hereinafter "Letort" in view of US 20250123813 A1 hereinafter “Singh” in view of US 20180113799 A1 hereinafter "M.V." and further in view of US 20240028312 A1 hereinafter "Gillman"
With regards to claim 1, Letort teaches:
[obtaining, by a device, code generated by a language model-based agent, wherein the code is reusable] to perform an action of a particular type with respect to a computer network; (Letort [0089-91], “Upon receiving the propagated data sets, the other system components may then utilize the same in order to “compute” or perform one or more system services, operations, functions, etc. For example, propagated data sets may be utilized by the AI layer for training and/or inferencing (e.g., deploying one or more machine learning models to generate actionable output, suggestions, predictions, etc.) [generated by a language model-based agent] … The AI layer may include one or more AI/ML modeling engines (collectively referred to as “AI engine” or “AI modeling engine”) configured to generate, train, validate, test, and/or deploy one or more combinations of AI/ML models or algorithms (collectively referred to as “AI models”). The AI modeling engine, via the AI layer, may be operatively coupled to one or more components of the system, such as the SDN automation engine [with respect to a computer network], user devices, etc., and configured to receive, store and analyze data therefrom and in turn, generate instructions to cause the components of the system to initiate and execute one or more actions [code…to perform an action of a particular type]. In some embodiments, the AI modeling engine may also be configured to continually refine its AI models based on, for example, policies, user sentiment, network analytics, and so on”) [Examiner’s Note: A SDN is defined as a Software Defined Network. Instructions that are generated, from an AI model, can be interpreted as code to configure the SDN in response to a specific action.]
Letort teaches to perform an action of a particular type with respect to a computer network but does not teach: obtaining, by a device, code generated by a language model-based agent, wherein the code is reusable
However, in an analogous art Singh teaches obtaining, by a device, code generated by a language model-based agent, (Singh [0046], “The technical solution described here involves the distribution of machine learning-generated source code segments across a holochain network, which allows each member of the holochain network the ability to send and receive various locally selected or created source code segments across the network [obtaining, by a device code generated by a language model-based agent]. By distributing such source code segments, the machine learning model used to generate the source code is able to be trained on at predetermined intervals on newly generated source code segments, their use-cases (in context with other source code segments sequentially prior to or subsequent the newly generated source code), and their scores related to important parameters such as security, performance, scalability, and complexity. Training the machine learning model on these parameters, features, and use-cases provides users of the system the ability to select source code segments highly pertinent to their use cases, with characteristics in-line with the requirements of any given source code.”) wherein the code is reusable (Singh [0109], “The machine learning model operates within the distributed holochain computing environment and in conjunction with the component acquisition engine to facilitate code generation through code reuse. Initially, a search operation is initiated when a user or system 130 requires a specific software component. During this search, the engine scans the distributed environment, typically a code repository or library, to identify code segments that may be relevant to the task. These code segments are often not directly copied but are instead modified to suit the current requirement. However, in some embodiments, the identified code segment is directly copied.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Singh into the teachings of Letort. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate network configuration code from a language model for specified operations, as in Letort, to generate reusable software for iterative software development processes, as in Singh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of sharing generated source code segments across a network to train a learning model in various contexts and generate source code accordingly (Singh [0043]).
The combination of Letort and Singh does not teach: determining, by the device, one or more parameters to execute the code in a testing environment;
performing, by the device, wherein the validation assessment comprises executing the code with the one or more parameters in the testing environment to assess whether execution of the code causes performance of actions of the particular type;
However, in an analogous art M.V. teaches determining, by the device, one or more parameters (M.V. [0047], “The JAR file may be used to extract all the classes and functions of the API. The source code may be parsed using program splicing techniques to identify the code flow, identify the atomicity of the variables, and derive an approximate order of function execution. This may facilitate an understanding of the call flow for the application, including the starting points and control flows for the application's data. Based on the JAR and source code analysis, a partial model for the application may be generated. The partial model, for example, may be a file identifying each function call and providing certain “annotations” or “comments” specifying additional information about each function (e.g., the annotations of FIGS. 3B and 3C), as explained further throughout this disclosure [determining, by the device, one or more parameters].”) to execute the code in a testing environment;
performing, by the device, wherein the validation assessment comprises executing the code with the one or more parameters in the testing environment (M.V. [0090-92], “FIG. 5 illustrates an example software container environment 500. The model generation and testing functionality described throughout this disclosure may be used to generate models for testing applications that are implemented in containerized environments, such as containerized microservices applications or application programming interfaces (APIs) used by those applications. [performing, by the device, wherein the validation assessment comprises executing the code] … For example, a software container may package everything required to run a particular software component, such as the code, software libraries, APIs, configuration, files, runtime environment, and any other associated tools or applications. Software containers enable applications to be migrated across various infrastructures and environments without any modifications or environment-specific configurations [with the one or more parameters]. For example, applications can be migrated to or from local workstations, development servers, test environments [in the testing environment], and/or production environments. Software containers also enable applications to be developed using the best programming languages and tools for each application, without any internal conflicts from the requirements of different applications. Many inefficiencies of software development and deployment are eliminated with software containers, such as time spent configuring development and production environments, concerns about inconsistencies between development and production environments, and so forth. Software containers also avoid locking developers into any particular platform, software technology, and/or vendor.”) to assess whether execution of the code causes performance of actions of the particular type; (M.V. [0106-107], "For example, the partial model may identify the classes and functions of the API or application, along with the function control flow, parent functions, function input criteria, and/or function validation criteria. Accordingly, a model graph for the application may then be generated using the partial model. For example, the model graph may include nodes representing each function, with edges between nodes to represent the control-flow of the functions. The model graph may also identify the input criteria and validation criteria for each function. The flowchart may then proceed to block 710 to test the application using the model graph. For example, the model graph may enable model-based testing of the application, which may involve automated testing of the application using test cases generated from the model graph [performing, by the device, a validation assessment of the code]. For example, the model graph may be used to generate inputs to the functions (e.g., based on the function input criteria), execute the functions using the generated inputs and according to the identified control-flow, and determine whether the output of each function is valid (e.g., using the output validation criteria) [to assess whether execution of the code causes performance of actions of the particular type].") [Examiner's Note: By testing the code with validation criteria that corresponds with input criteria, the passage defines a validation assessment. If a tested function meets the validation criteria, then the application or API would be able to perform an action of its specified type.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of M.V. into the teachings of Letort in view of Singh. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate network configuration code from a language model for specified operations, as in Letort, to generate reusable software for iterative software development processes, as in Singh, while using the generated code to facilitate testing and validation in a designated environment, as in M.V. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of automating the generation of various tests under a test model that covers several use cases and testing environments (M.V. [0044]).
The combination of Letort, Singh, and M.V. does not teach: making, by the device and based on the validation assessment, the code available to the language model-based agent to perform a subsequent action of the particular type.
However, in an analogous art Gillman teaches making, by the device and based on the validation assessment, the code available to the language model-based agent to perform a subsequent action of the particular type. (Gillman [0080], "the methods and systems described herein may combine the functionality of a machine learning engine that can encode and generate machine learning models with characteristics selected based on characteristics of a user-specified task [to perform a subsequent action of the particular type] and/or user-specified data with the functionality of a large learning model trained to generate executable code for use in performing additional tasks on the output of the generated machine learning models and with the functionality of the machine learning engine to evaluate and validate the generated code and then execute the generated code. A machine learning engine with functionality for interacting with a large language model to generate and execute validated computer code to perform user-specified task described in a natural language (in contrast to, for example, a computer language) provides a technical improvement over conventional systems [making, by the device and based on the validation assessment, the code available to the language model-based agent].") [Examiner's Note: if the particular task/action is called upon the LLM will execute previously validated software that has been provided when outputs are evaluated as in Gillman]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Gillman into
the teachings of Letort in view of Singh and further in view of M.V. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate network configuration code from a language model for specified operations, as in Letort, to generate reusable software for iterative software development processes, as in Singh, while using the generated code to facilitate testing and validation for further LLM use, as in M.V., and providing the validated code for future LLM code generation use, as in Gillman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of analyzing user-specified data in order to identify useful features required in task completion for influencing future machine learning prediction accuracy (Gillman [0029]).
With regards to claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Letort further teaches wherein the particular type of the action corresponds to one or
more troubleshooting steps for a particular issue in the computer network. (Letort [0087-
88], "The types of data and information collected from these external sources may include, for
example, customer order data, customer billing data, user relationship and interaction data,
images, user personal identifiable information (PII) (e.g., customer name, location, employer,
etc.) and other network authoritative data, configuration data relating to hardware, software,
systems, facilities, personnel, etc. such as cloud onramp configuration information [for a
particular issue in the computer network], routing tables (e.g., locations, latency between
locations, price of connection, etc.), as well as unstructured data (e.g., provided via user devices
or external systems) such as user-created documents, vendor scripting documentation, training
information (e.g., service descriptions, training videos, presentations, etc.), user guides, network
service requests, resolution/troubleshooting guides [to one or more troubleshooting steps] and
documentation, communication service provider (CSP) onramp information, user configuration
data, telemetry data, and so on. The external data may also include user feedback, responses,
sentiments (e.g., positive or negative), input, etc. collected, for example, via user devices... The
operations may include any number of pre-processing functions such as, for example, labeling,
annotating, filtering, formatting, normalizing, cleansing (e.g., removing noise, discarding
corrupt, duplicate or incomplete data, etc.), scaling, resolving missing data values, performing
"ETL" operations (i.e., extracting, transforming and/or loading the data from any number of sources to a data warehouse or other unified data repository), and so on, to prepare the data for
use by other components or services of the system. In some aspects, the pre-processing may
include monitoring the data collection layer and/or any of the pre-processing functions (e.g.,
labeling, annotating, etc.) [wherein the particular type of the action corresponds] to confirm
compliance with business rules and metrics, to generate reports (e.g., notating non-compliance),
to generate alerts (e.g., responsive to interruptions to data streams or other processing issues),
etc.")
With regards to claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Letort further teaches wherein the device performs the validation assessment in
accordance with one or more constraints specified via a user interface. (Letort [0123-125],
"As noted above, the portal 1206 may interact with the API 1205 to provide an interface for the
user 1203 to configure a customized SDN. The portal 1206 may also be configured to provide an
interactive GUI 1206a through which the user 1203 may submit information to configure the
customized SDN. It is through this interactive GUI 1206a that the user 1203 may access and
interact with the chat-bot generated by the AI layer 1220 In some embodiments, the policies
may be user-defined, system-defined or a combination thereof. For example, a user-defined
policy may be based on user-defined parameters, such that adjustments to model weights may be
initiated to comply with the user-defined policy. In another example, the system may infer a
policy based on prior user interactions or tendencies. Output generated by the AL models
(adjusted according to optimization policies) may then be used in topology discovery, routing
calculations, bandwidth allocation, intelligent allocation of services, service re-routing, service
distribution predictions, fault predictions, resource adjustments, etc.")
With regards to claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Letort further teaches wherein the code when executed accesses an application
programming interface of a network controller. (Letort [0074], "FIG. 10 schematically
illustrates an example of the schematics of a software-defined network (SDN) automation
engine. The SDN automation engine facilitates a customer to create a software-defined network
of virtual network devices (e.g., one or more virtual controllers 800 and/or one or more virtual
gateways 900) on the physical infrastructure of system 300. In some implementations, the SDN
automation engine 1001 makes a Representational State Transfer (REST) Application
Programming Interface (API) 1002 available to a customer's application to configure a software-
defined network. In some implementations, the SDN automation engine 1001 may provide a
portal 1004 for a customer 1003 to configure the software-defined network. In an embodiment,
the portal 1004 communicates with the SDN automation engine via the REST API 1002. When a
customer configures the software-defined network, the SDN automation engine may interact
with SDN resource managers 1005a, 1005b, 1005c, SDN resource managers 1005a, 1005b,
1005c, run as a process on an operating system installed on the "bare-metal" hardware
resources 1007a, 1007b, 1007c, of a sub-zone. The sub-zone may be within a Cloud
Exchange or a Cloud PoP. SDN resource managers 1005a, 1005b, 1005c, (see also, e.g.,
FIGS. 8 and 9) instantiate and/or deploy virtual network devices 1006a")
With regards to claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Letort further teaches wherein language model-based agent uses a large language
model (LLM) to generate the code. (Letort [0100-1010], "To do this, the conversational layer
may invoke natural language processing (NLP) to interpret the input, and a converter to convert
the interpreted input into the one or more commands. In some embodiments, the one or more
commands may include network device commands, orchestration layer commands, commands
for external (e.g., third party) systems or tools, and the like. In some embodiments, the one or
more commands may be used to gather data or initiate changes, whether based on user/customer
input or automatically by orchestration features of the system. The NLP may itself comprise
executing one or more of the ensemble LLMs discussed above, for example … For example, a
command to return and display information to which the conversational layer has access may be
processed directly by the conversational layer. On the other hand, a command for creating or
modifying a software defined network (SDN) may be transmitted to the system's SDN
automation engine, for example, for further processing and execution. Notably, while the
conversational layer may be utilized to invoke certain actions, such as generating notices,
triggering orchestration, running scripts, etc., execution of such actions may occur within other
system layers (e.g., the Al layer).")
Claims 11, 14, and 18-19 are directed to an apparatus, comprising: one or more network
interfaces; (Letort FIG. 4) a processor coupled to the one or more network interfaces and
configured to execute one or more processes; and a memory configured to store a process that is
executable by the processor (Letort FIG. 8) corresponding to the method limitations as disclosed
in claims 1, 4, and 8-9 respectively. Thus, claims 11, 14, and 18-19 are rejected for the same
reasons set forth in claims 1, 4, and 8-9.
Claim 20 is directed to a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing
program instructions corresponding to the method limitations as disclosed in claim 1. Thus,
claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Letort in view of Singh in view of M.V. in view of Gillman, as applied to claims 1 and 11 respectively, and further in view of US 20240338306 A1 hereinafter "Waxman".
With regards to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
The combination of Letort, Singh, M.V.,and Gillman teaches wherein the device makes the code available to the language model-based agent but does not teach [wherein the device
makes the code available to the language model-based agent] by storing it in a database of
validated code accessible by the language model-based agent
However, in an analogous art Waxman teaches [...] by storing it in a database of
validated code accessible by the language model-based agent (Waxman [0043], "At 312, the
source code of the API is validated using the test(s). For example, a test script may be
automatically executed to verify each function of the API and the compatibility of the API with
one or more selected environments Each newly solved error can be stored in a database [by
storing it in a database of validated code] for future use by the machine learning model to enable
future automatic solution implementations [accessible by the language model-based agent].")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Waxman into
the teachings of Letort in view of Singh in view of M.V. and further in view of Gillman. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate network configuration code from a language model for specified operations, as in Letort, to generate reusable software for iterative software development processes, as in Singh, while using the generated code to facilitate testing and validation for further LLM use, as in M.V., and providing the validated code for future LLM code generation use, as in Gillman, by storing the generated and validated code into a database for future reference, as in Waxman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of providing a deployment mechanism that can store API versions and transmittal of validated APIs specified to particular environments (Waxman [0029]).
Claim 12 is directed to an apparatus corresponding to the method limitations as disclosed
in claim 2. Thus, claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 2.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Letort in
view of Singh in view of M.V. in view of Gillman, as applied to claims 1 and 11 respectively, and further in view of US 20200371902 A1 hereinafter "Mangione-Tran".
With regards to claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
The combination of Letort, Singh, M.V., and Gillman teaches the validation assessment but does not teach: wherein the device performs the validation assessment when the code is not similar to previous code validated for use by the language model- based agent.
However, in an analogous art Mangione-Tran teaches wherein the device performs the
validation assessment when the code is not similar to previous code validated for use by the
language model- based agent (Mangione-Tran [0054-56], "The illustrated process 450 also involves the TCP server 352 identifying (block 460) a set of software files 462 that have been
modified since the previous software testing. In some embodiments, identifying the set of
modified software files 462 may include comparing two versions of a software file, such as a
recent version of the software file and a previously validated version of the software file
[previous code validated for use]. In certain embodiments, to determine whether a software file
has been modified, a comparison may be made between the value of the last modified field 382
of a software file listed in the software table 372 and the value of the timestamp field 396 of
related test results in the test results table 376. For the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 5,
identifying the set of modified software files may involve creating a new record in the modified
software table 402, and for each software file that is determined to have been modified since the
previous preflight verification, a Boolean value of true may be stored in the corresponding
software changed field (e.g., software ID#1 changed field 412, software ID#2 changed field 414,
etc.) of the modified software table 402 [when the code is not similar]. In certain embodiments,
correlating may involve the use of a ML component, such as an ANN, a SVM, a restricted
Boltzmann machine, Bayesian networks, a genetic algorithms, or another suitable ML
component [by the language model-based agent]. For the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 5, correlating involves populating the test case cluster ID field 416 for the record of the modified software table 402 created in block 460, which establishes a relationship between certain clusters of test cases and certain groups of modified software files Additionally, prior to a software
merge, the software developer may desire extensive software testing that provides a high level of
confidence that the software modifications during development did not introduce any
regressions.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mangione-
Tran into the teachings of Letort in view of Singh in view of M.V. and further in view of Gillman. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate network configuration code from a language model for specified operations, as in Letort, to generate reusable software for iterative software development processes, as in Singh, while using the generated code to facilitate testing and validation for further LLM use, as in M.V., and providing the validated code for future LLM code generation use, as in Gillman, and evaluating the software with the language model for validation upon determination of differences, as in
Mangione-Tran. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these
teachings for the purpose of prioritizing test cases when there is a higher likelihood of regression
as a result of modified software files (Mangione-Tran [0027]).
Claim 13 is directed to an apparatus corresponding to the method limitations as disclosed
in claim 3. Thus, claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 3.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Letort in
view of Singh in view of M.V. in view of Gillman, as applied to claims 1 and 11 respectively, and further in view of US 20250238629 A1 hereinafter "Malkiel".
With regards to claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
The combination of Letort, Singh, M.V., and Gillman teaches the validation assessment but does not teach: [wherein performing the validation assessment comprises:] using, by the device, an output of the code from its execution in the testing environment as input to additional code configured to perform a reverse of the action of the particular type; and
determining, by the device, whether an output of the additional code matches
the one or more parameters.
However, in an analogous art Malkiel teaches [...] using, by the device, an output of
the code from its execution in the testing environment as input to additional code
configured to perform a reverse of the action of the particular type; and
determining, by the device, whether an output of the additional code matches
the one or more parameters. (Malkiel [0291-293], "204 language model hallucination
detection functionality (also referred to as hallucination detection functionality 204 or
functionality 204), e.g., software or specialized hardware which performs or is configured to
perform steps 304 forward, 304 backward [using, by the device, an output of the code from its
execution in the testing environment as input to additional code configured to perform a reverse
of the action of the particular type], 306, and 312, or steps 802, 804, 806, 808, 902, 904, and
812, or steps 802, 804, 806, 808, 810, and 812, or any software or hardware which performs or is
configured to perform a novel method 1000 or a computational machine learning model 132
hallucination detection functionality activity first disclosed herein 206 computationally detect
hallucinated content in output 136 of a machine learning model 132, e.g., by performing at least
a forward traversal, a backward traversal (a.k.a. back traversal), and comparing a distance based
on question vectors resulting from the back traversal to a threshold 208 hallucinated content in
output 136 of a machine learning model 132, i.e., content which is contrary to validated retrieved
context 448, or is internally logically inconsistent with itself, or states as a fact the existence of
an event or item or being which does not actually exist (or did not exist at the relevant time), or is deemed false by a court or other legal authority or by society generally or by peer-reviewed
scientific consensus, or is described as false or misleading by a majority of the parties who rely
on it; also referred to as hallucination or fabrication or as content that is false, that lacks truth,
that lacks veracity, or lacks fidelity [and determining, by the device, whether an output of the
additional code matches the one or more parameters]") [Examiner's Note: Upon backwards
traversal Malkiel teaches a detection of hallucinated/invalid content if the code does NOT match
the one or more parameters]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Malkiel into
the teachings of Letort in view of Singh in view of M.V. and further in view of Gillman. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate network configuration code from a language model for specified operations, as in Letort, to generate reusable software for iterative software development processes, as in Singh, while using the generated code to facilitate testing and validation for further LLM use, as in M.V., and providing the validated code for future LLM code generation use, as in Gillman, and executing a backwards traversal to confirm the logic/output for validation detection, as in Malkiel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of providing hallucination detection technology based on internal testing using backwards traversal in response to a prompt to do so (Malkiel [0032]).
Claim 15 is directed to an apparatus corresponding to the method limitations as disclosed
in claim 5. Thus, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 5.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Letort in
view of Singh in view of M.V. in view of Gillman, as applied to claims 1 and 11 respectively, and further in view of US 20250138502 A1 hereinafter "Patel".
With regards to claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
The combination of Letort, Singh, M.V., and Gillman does not teach: wherein the language model-based agent uses the code to perform the subsequent action in lieu of generating new code to do so.
However, in an analogous art Patel teaches wherein the language model-based agent
uses the code to perform the subsequent action in lieu of generating new code to do so.
(Patel [0076], "The generative AI component model 226 can reference these customer-specific
libraries in connection with generating control code recommendations (or recommendations for
control code edits) so that all recommended control code conforms to the customer's in-house
standards in terms of control program formatting, program documentation standards, variable
naming conventions, AOIs or instructions used, UDTs, etc. The generative AI component 210
can also reuse prewritten code stored in these libraries 306 where appropriate to satisfy the
functional requirements specified by the user's prompt.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Patel into the
teachings of Letort in view of Singh in view of M.V. and further in view of Gillman. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate network configuration code from a language model for specified operations, as in Letort, to generate reusable software for iterative software development processes, as in Singh, while using the generated code to facilitate testing and validation for further LLM use, as in M.V., and providing the validated code for future LLM code generation use, as in Gillman, and reusing validated software instead of generating new software to meet user specifications, as in Patel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of ascertaining the requirements of the system in order to generate appropriate responses accordingly from an AI component (Patel [0044]).
Claim 16 is directed to an apparatus corresponding to the method limitations as disclosed
in claim 6. Thus, claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 6.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Letort in
view of Singh in view of M.V. in view of Gillman, as applied to claims 1 and 11 respectively, and further in view of US 12056255 B1 hereinafter "Mystetskyi"
With regards to claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
The combination of Letort, Singh, M.V., and Gillman does not teach: providing, by the device, performance metrics regarding use of the code by the language model-based agent to a user interface for review by a user.
However, in an analogous art Mystetskyi teaches providing, by the device, performance metrics regarding use of the code by the language model-based agent to a user interface for review by a user. (Mystetskyi Column 38 Lines 1-10, "In some disclosed embodiments, the intermediate platform is configured to validate code modifications. Code modifications may include updates and/or patches for a code (e.g., associated with performance, security, privacy, compatibility, and/or any other interest for changing a code), added and/or removed features, changes (e.g., improvements) to a user interface, and/or any other change and/or revision made to a code. For example, code modifications may include code changes that were performed during the wrapping thereof by the intermediate platform. Validating code modifications may include examining, testing, emulating, and/or simulating an altered code (or a portion thereof) to confirm and/or verify that changes made to the code avoid violating one or more rules included in a configuration for a serverless environment.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mystetskyi
into the teachings of Letort in view of Singh, in view of M.V., and further in view of Gillman. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate network configuration code from a language model for specified operations, as in Letort, to generate reusable software for iterative software development processes, as in Singh, while using the generated code to facilitate testing and validation for further LLM use, as in M.V., and providing the validated code for future LLM code generation use, as in Gillman, and providing performance metrics to an interface for user review, as in Mystetskyi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of comparing estimated outputs to their trained desired outputs to evaluate and train a machine learning algorithm to the user's desired parameters (Mystetskyi Column 10 Lines 25-45)
Claim 17 is directed to an apparatus corresponding to the method limitations as disclosed
in claim 7. Thus, claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 7.
Response to Arguments
In the Response, Applicant Argues:
Letort does not teach or suggest obtaining code generated by a language model-based
agent, wherein the code is reusable to perform an action of a particular type with respect to a
computer network. Letort is directed to an SDN/cloud provisioning system that may use an AI
layer, conversational agent, and SDN automation engine to receive input and generate commands
or initiate actions for configuring an SDN. Letort, Abstract. Letort describes converting user
input into commands or otherwise orchestrating SDN operations. Id., para. [0100]. This process
can include pre-processing (e.g., labeling, annotating) and storing data for use by components of
the system, and the components can utilize the processed data to "compute" or perform services,
operations, or functions. Id., para. [0089]. Pre-processing data does not teach or suggest
obtaining code generated by a language model-based agent, wherein the code is reusable to
perform an action of a particular type with respect to a computer network. As described in
paragraphs [0086]-[0087], the described data can include internal data (e.g., manuals, FAQs,
training content, video content, etc.) and external data (inventory systems, customer relationship
systems, customer data, configuration data, user guides, etc.). The described data does not cover
or suggest reusable code. Letort therefore does not teach or suggest obtaining code generated by
a language model-based agent, wherein the code is reusable to perform an action of a particular
type with respect to a computer network.
Examiner’s Response:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection describes a method or system that is capable of generating software for network applications, as in Letort, wherein the machine learning model is capable to generating reusable software for the system to receive and perform an action of a particular type with respect to a computer network.
In the Response, Applicant Argues:
M.V. does not remedy the deficiencies of Letort. M.V. is directed to model generation for
model-based application testing, including generating control-flow information, identifying
function information, and generating a model graph for testing an application. M.V., Abstract.
M.V. does not teach or suggest obtaining and validating reusable code generated by a language
model-based agent for performing actions with respect to a computer network. Nor does M.V.
teach making such validated code available to a language model-based agent for a subsequent
action of the same particular type. M.V. describes software applications using software
containers (analogous to shipping containers) that package software components to ensure that it
runs in any environment. Id., para. [0091]. However, this shipping container implementation is
an encapsulation of an entire software application. This is distinct from a reusable code snippet
that is reusable to perform an action of a particular type, and M.V. does not teach or suggest
"performing, by the device, a validation assessment of the code, wherein the validation assessment comprises executing the code with the one or more parameters in the testing
environment to assess whether execution of the code causes performance of actions of the
particular type."
Examiner’s Response:
With respect to the applicant’s argument “However, this shipping container implementation is an encapsulation of an entire software application. This is distinct from a reusable code snippet that is reusable to perform an action of a particular type, and M.V. does not teach or suggest "performing, by the device, a validation assessment of the code, wherein the validation assessment comprises executing the code with the one or more parameters in the testing environment to assess whether execution of the code causes performance of actions of the particular type” Examiner asserts that the container is used as a testing environment configured with one or more parameters. Using generated test cases the system will be able to determine a validation criteria and assess whether the output meets said validation criteria thereby performing a validation assessment to determine if the task meets the required performance of actions of a specified type.
In the Response, Applicant Argues:
Gillman also does not cure the deficiencies of Letort and M.V. Gillman is directed to
generating and executing computer code using a natural language description of a data
manipulation to be performed on a data set. Gillman, Abstract. Even if Gillman involves
generated code in the context of data manipulation, Gillman does not teach or suggest the
claimed reusable-code method in the context of a language model-based agent performing
actions with respect to a computer network. In particular, Gillman does not teach obtaining and
validating reusable code and then making validated code available to the language model-based
agent to perform a subsequent action of the same particular type. Gillman describes a machine
learning engine that generates code to perform a user-specified task in paragraph [0080], but
Gillman does not teach any mechanism for making code available (e.g., storing for later user) for
subsequent actions. Gillman does not teach or suggest "making, by the device and based on the
validation assessment, the code available to the language model-based agent to perform a
subsequent action of the particular type" as recited in claim 1.
Examiner’s Response:
With respect to the applicant’s argument “Gillman does not teach obtaining and
validating reusable code and then making validated code available to the language model-based agent to perform a subsequent action of the same particular type” Examiner respectfully disagrees. The machine learning engine allows for generation and execution of code for tasks which is eventually validated. When a user specifies the tasks then the generated code that has been validated will be provided accordingly.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.V.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2191 /WEI Y MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2191