Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, Species A-I, and Species B-I (Claims 1-7, 9, 12-27, 29, and 30) in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged. The restriction requirement is now made FINAL with Claims 8, 10-11, 28, and 31-59 now withdrawn from further examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claims 2, 4-5, and 15: “serrations” and their respective structural configurations in the claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: In Line 1, the recitation of, “the bristles” should recite, “the plurality of noise-reducing bristles” to provide formal antecedent basis.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: In Line 1, the recitation of, “said noise-reducing bristles” should recite, “said plurality of noise-reducing bristles” to provide formal antecedent basis.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: In Lines 1-2, the recitation of, “the plurality of bristles” should recite, “the plurality of noise-reducing bristles” to provide formal antecedent basis.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: In Line 1, the recitation of, “the plurality of bristles” should recite, “the plurality of noise-reducing bristles” to provide formal antecedent basis.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: In Line 1, the recitation of, “the plurality of bristles” should recite, “the plurality of noise-reducing bristles” to provide formal antecedent basis.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: In Line 3, the recitation of, “the bristles” should recite, “the plurality of noise-reducing bristles” to provide formal antecedent basis.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: In Line 3, the recitation of, “the bristles” should recite, “the plurality of noise-reducing bristles” to provide formal antecedent basis.
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: In Line 3, the recitation of, “the bristles” should recite, “the plurality of noise-reducing bristles” to provide formal antecedent basis.
Claim Interpretation
Throughout the respective claims, the term “velvet” is interpreted in light of the specification which states, “a velvet structure may be distinguished from a serration structure based on the characteristic or average distance between adjacent bristles, average length of the bristles, average flexibility or hardness of the bristles, or average thickness of the bristles.” in Para 68.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 12, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 4, the recitation of, “the damping patches” in Line 1 lacks antecedent basis. For the purposes of prior art examination, the recitation is considered to mean, “the one or more damping patches” and Applicant is suggested to amend the limitation accordingly.
Regarding Claim 12, the recitation of, “the propeller” in Line 1 lacks antecedent basis. For the purposes of prior art examination, the recitation is considered to mean, “the at least one propeller” and Applicant is suggested to amend the limitation accordingly.
Regarding Claim 22, the recitation of, “first plurality of branches” in Line 2 is unclear if this is the same one previously recited in Claim 18. For the purposes of prior art examination, the recitation is considered to mean the same one. Applicant is suggested to amend the limitation to say, “the first plurality of branches”.
**Any and all claims rejected above under 112(b), if rejected with art below under sections 102 and/or 103, is/are rejected as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Callas (US 2007/0231128 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Callas discloses a fan (18, figure 2 also
reproduced above) comprising:
a body section including a casing (30, figure 4 also reproduced above) and at least one propeller (22, figure 3), and
a damping element (see 40, figure 4) coupled to the body section (see figure 4),
wherein the damping element includes a plurality of noise-reducing bristles (fibers 40, figure 4).
Regarding Claim 2, Callas discloses that the bristles are structured as any of serrations and velvet bristles (see velvet structure fibers 40, figure 4).
Regarding Claim 3, Callas discloses that said noise-reducing bristles are distributed in one or more damping patches (see fibers 40 attached via an adhesive on blade tip, Para 24 and figure 4 i.e. forming a patch).
Regarding Claim 6, Callas discloses that the one or more damping patches include only bristles structured as velvet bristles (see figure 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Callas discloses that said at least one propeller includes a propeller edge (24, figure 4) and the plurality of bristles are coupled to the propeller edge (see figure 4).
Regarding Claim 9, Callas discloses that the one or more damping patches are integral to the body section (see Para 24, Line 1, and figure 4).
Regarding Claim 12, Callas discloses that the damping element is attached to the propeller (see figure 4).
Regarding Claim 13, Callas discloses that the plurality of bristles includes any of silicone, a metal, a plastic, a carbon fiber, a bioorganic fiber, a monomer or polymer, and any combinations thereof (see fibers made of carbon fiber 40, Para 22 Lines 3-4).
Regarding Claim 14, Callas discloses that the plurality of bristles have a flexible structure (see flexible bristles, abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 18-20, and 29-30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callas in view of SUN (CN106246478 A).
Regarding Claim 15, Callas discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above but is silent on the plurality of bristles including a plurality of curved serrations.
SUN relates to a denoising device for a fan blade which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and teaches of a blade having a plurality of bristles that include a plurality of curved serrations (see 2, figure 1b also reproduced/annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the bristle configuration of Callas with that of SUN, and have the plurality of bristles include a plurality of curved serrations in order to obtain predictable results of noise reduction.
Regarding Claim 18, Callas discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above but is silent on at least one of the bristles including a stem and a first plurality of branches extending from the stem.
SUN relates to a denoising device for a fan blade which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and teaches of a blade having at least one of the bristles including a stem (3, figure 5 also reproduced below) and a first plurality of branches (see 4, figure 5) extending from the stem (see figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the bristle configuration of Callas with that of SUN, and have at least one of the bristles including a stem and a first plurality of branches extending from the stem in order to obtain predictable results of noise reduction.
Regarding Claim 19, Callas as modified by SUN teaches each of said first plurality of branches forms a first non-zero angle with a longitudinal axis of the stem (see SUN, figure 5).
Regarding Claim 20, Callas as modified by SUN teaches said first non-zero angle is in a range of about 5 degrees to about 175 degrees (see SUN, figure 5).
Regarding Claim 29, Callas as modified by SUN teaches said first plurality of branches is disposed on at least two sides of the stem (see SUN, figure 5).
Regarding Claim 30, Callas as modified by SUN discloses and teaches all of the limitations of Claim 18 as discussed above but is silent on the stem having a tapered profile extending from a base to a tip.
Since applicant has not disclosed that having the stem having a tapered profile extending from a base to a tip solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose above the fact that, for noise reduction, and it appears the stem of SUN would perform equally well to that of Applicant, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the stem of SUN to have a tapered profile extending from a base to a tip for the purposes of noise reduction.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callas in view of SUN, and in further view of Herr et al (US 2008/0166241 A1) hereinafter referred to as Herr.
Regarding Claim 16, Callas as modified by SUN discloses all of the limitations of Claim 15 as discussed above but is silent on the plurality of curved serrations having a length in a range of about 1 millimeter to about 25 millimeters.
Herr relates to a noise-reducing blade bristles (300, figure 6) which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and teaches main parameters influencing the noise reduction properties of the bristles include the length (Para 33), therefore the length of the bristles is a result effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the length of the bristles, and thereby modify the resulting length of the curved serrations of SUN to be a length in a range of about 1 millimeter to about 25 millimeters, since the length of bristles and thereby the length of the curved serrations is a result effective variable which could be optimized through routine experimentation to improve noise reduction of the blade.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 22-27 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 17 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Internet/E-mail Communication
In order to permit communication regarding the instant application via email, Applicant is invited to file form PTO/SB/439 (Authorization for Internet Communications) or include the following statement in a filed document or remarks of a filed response (see MPEP 502.03 Il): Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file. If such authorization is provided, please include an email address in the remarks of a filed response. The examiner’s e-mail address is sabbir.hasan@uspto.gov.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2017/0276117A1 discloses noise reducing structures on blades (see figures 4-6).
/Sabbir Hasan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745