DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant's communication filed on 03/15/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1 – 20 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1, 17, and 20, these claims are directed to the same process Claims 1, 17, and 20 recite many alternatives, however, the Examiner has reviewed the specification and find insufficient evidence that the specification describes a process and underlying algorithm that performs all the alternatives (for example, see FIG. 7 - 11 for partial sensing mode; see Implementation 1 ([0136] – [0140]): Sensing Limitation 1 for Partial Sensing Window; see Implementation 2 ([0141] – [0144]): Sensing Limitation 2 for Partial Sensing Window; see Implementation 3 ([0145] – [0147]): Sensing Limitation 3 for Partial Sensing Window; see Implementation 4 ([0148] – [0150]): Selection of candidate resource), thus the specification fails to provide adequate written description that performs all the alternatives (see MPEP 2161.01 stated that when the claims define the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the specification does not sufficiently describe how the function is performed or the result is achieved. For software, this can occur when the algorithm or steps/procedure for performing the computer function are not explained at all or are not explained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarily sufficient). Notes that in paragraph [0225], Applicants stated that “this application is not limited to the foregoing specific implementations, and the specific implementations are merely illustrative rather than restrictive”, thus Applicants admitted that no adequate written description that performs all the alternatives.
Claims 2 – 16 and 18 – 19 are also rejected because they directly / indirectly depend to claims 1 and 17, respectively. Notes that claims 2 – 4, 7 – 16, and 18 – 19 also recite many alternatives language and simply restating the function recited in the claims is not necessarily sufficient, thus the specification also fails to provide adequate written description that performs all the alternatives.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 17, 20, and their dependent claims, these claims are directed to the same process. Claims 1, 17, 20, and their dependent claims recite many alternatives, the claims should generally be rejected as indefinite because it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claims. As noted above, the specification fails to describe a process that performs an algorithm that performs all the alternative lists in these claims. The claims are inconsistent with the specification, thus renders the scope of the claims uncertain. Since no algorithm is described that performs all the alternatives, a person of ordinary skill in the art cannot reasonably determine the scope of these claims, therefore these claims are rejected as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1 – 14 and 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (Pub # US 2023/0362815 A1) in view of Yoshioka et al. (hereinafter “Yoshioka”) (Pub # US 2024/0172182 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 17, and 20, Zhao discloses a discontinuous reception–based transmission method, comprising:
determining, by a terminal (see [0003], [0006], [0029] – [0032] for a terminal device include a processor (610 in FIG. 11), and a memory (620 in FIG. 11) configured to store computer instructions executable by the processor), a sensing and/or measurement behavior in a discontinuous reception DRX inactive state according to a resource allocation scheme (see [0057], [0058], [0065], [0076], [0078] for terminal is determining based on allocated channels and time slots or subframe whether to sense in the DRX dormant state, and see [0068] for DRX is referred to as a dormant duration or an Inactive Duration), wherein the resource allocation scheme comprises a partial sensing mode, a full sensing mode (see [0057], [0078], [0079] for partial sensing and full sensing), and/or random selection.
Since the claim is written by alternative language and/or, Zhao does not disclose specifically random selection.
In an analogous art, Yoshioka discloses partial sensing (see Yoshioka, [0008]) and/or random selection (see Yoshioka, [0093] for the terminal randomly selects a resource from the available resource candidates).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Zhao, and add random selection, as taught by Yoshioka, thereby the resources can be flexibly configured and selected, as discussed by Yoshioka (see Yoshioka, [0009]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao in view of Yoshioka disclose wherein the partial sensing mode comprises a first sensing mode, the first sensing mode being a periodic-based partial sensing mode (see Zhao, FIG. 6, FIG. 7, [0065] for selects Y time slots in the resource election window, [0073] discussing partial sensing of the candidate time slots with a partial sensing cycle, i.e., “P”, or see Yoshioka, FIG. 19, [0010], [0124] – [0126] for periodic-based partial sensing); and the determining, by a terminal, a sensing and/or measurement behavior in a DRX inactive state according to a resource allocation scheme comprises: determining, by the terminal, the number and/or positions of sensing occasions for the first sensing mode based on configuration information (see Zhao, [0057], [0058], [0065] discussing configuring the period sensing in general mode without DRX, see [0073], [0075], [0081], [0082], [0096], [0097] determining when to sense in DRX inactive period, or see Yoshioka, [0010], [0094], [0095], [0126] discussing partial sensing the period of sensing is periodic when reservation in the reservation pool is periodic and determining the sensing window from an initial slot and having N number of slots in the pool excluding some and changing the window based upon priority), wherein the configuration information comprises first configuration information and/or second configuration information, the first configuration information is configuration information for the number and/or positions of sensing occasions for the first sensing mode in a case with DRX not configured (see Zhao, [0057], [0058], [0065] discussing configuring the period sensing in general mode without DRX, thus DRX not configured), and the second configuration information is configuration information for the number and/or positions of sensing occasions for the first sensing mode in a case with DRX configured (see Zhao, [0073], [0075], [0081], [0082], [0096], [0097] determining when to sense in DRX inactive period (DRX on duration, DRX off duration, thus DRX configured); and performing, by the terminal, sensing and/or measurement in the DRX inactive state based on the number and/or positions of sensing occasions for the first sensing mode in a case with DRX configured (see Zhao, [0073], [0075], [0081], [0082], [0096], [0097] for performing sensing during the DRX dormant/on duration or (inactive/configured) in P sensing cycle); or, wherein the determining, by a terminal, a sensing and/or measurement behavior in a DRX inactive state according to a resource allocation scheme comprises: determining, by the terminal based on configuration information, the number and/or positions of sensing occasions in a case with DRX configured, wherein the configuration information comprises configuration information for the number and/or positions of sensing occasions; and performing, by the terminal, sensing and/or measurement in the DRX inactive state based on the determined number and/or positions of sensing occasions in a case with DRX configured.
Regarding claim 3, Zhao in view of Yoshioka disclose wherein the configuration information is predefined by a protocol, configured by a network, preconfigured by the network, indicated by the network, configured by the terminal, preconfigured by the terminal, or indicated by the terminal; or, wherein the number and/or positions of sensing occasions configured in the configuration information is the number and/or positions of sensing occasions in the DRX inactive state (see Zhao, [0073], [0075], [0081], [0082], [0096], [0097] for performing sensing during the DRX dormant/on duration or (inactive/configured) in P sensing cycle); or, wherein the number and/or positions of sensing occasions configured in the configuration information is determined from the 1st sensing occasion in the DRX inactive state; or, wherein the number and/or positions of sensing occasions configured in the configuration information are determined starting from a first moment used as a reference point, wherein the first moment is a resource selection trigger time, the P-th slot in candidate slots for resource selection, or a resource reporting time, P being a positive integer greater than or equal to 1.
Regarding claim 4, Zhao in view of Yoshioka disclose wherein the 1st sensing occasion is determined forward using a first moment as a reference point, wherein the first moment is a resource selection trigger time, the P-th slot in candidate slots for resource selection, or a resource reporting time, P being a positive integer greater than or equal to 1 (see Zhao, [0073], [0075], [0081], [0082], [0096], [0097] for performing sensing during the DRX dormant/on duration or (inactive/configured) in P sensing cycle or see Yoshioka, [0093] – [0095], [0126] where the sensing begins a slot configured for the resource pool); or, wherein remaining sensing occasions configured in the configuration information other than the 1st sensing occasion comprise a sensing occasion in a DRX active state and a sensing occasion in the DRX inactive state.
Regarding claim 5, Zhao in view of Yoshioka disclose wherein the number and/or positions of sensing occasions configured in the configuration information are determined forward starting from the first moment (see Yoshioka, FIG. 19, [0093] – [0095], [0126] where the sensing begins a slot configured for the resource pool). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Zhao in order to provide the resources can be flexibly configured and selected, as discussed by Yoshioka (see Yoshioka, [0009]).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao in view of Yoshioka disclose performing, by the terminal, sensing and/or measurement on a second sensing occasion, wherein the second sensing occasion is a sensing occasion in a DRX active state and prior to the sensing occasion configured in the configuration information (see Zhao, [0073], [0075], [0081], [0082], [0096], [0097] determining when to sense in DRX inactive period, or see Yoshioka, [0093] – [0095], [0126] where the sensing begins a slot configured for the resource pool, and see FIG. 14 and FIG. 17, where the sensing window starts prior to the slot configured in the resource pool).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao in view of Yoshioka disclose wherein the partial sensing mode is a first sensing mode, the first sensing mode being a periodic-based partial sensing mode; and the determining, by a terminal, a sensing and/or measurement behavior in a DRX inactive state according to a resource allocation scheme comprises at least one of the following: performing sensing on N sensing occasions nearest to a first moment (see Yoshioka, [0095], [0126] discussion the sensing window starts at To base upon the resource pool and begins just after at a slot n-To and slots are eliminated based upon power measurements, thus nearest the first moment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Zhao in order to provide the resources can be flexibly configured and selected, as discussed by Yoshioka (see Yoshioka, [0009]); performing sensing on N sensing occasions nearest to the first moment in the DRX inactive state; and performing sensing on only N sensing occasions nearest to the first moment in the DRX inactive state in each DRX cycle; wherein the number of sensing occasions of the terminal, communication link, or communication group satisfies a first criterion, the first criterion being less than a first threshold and/or greater than a second threshold; the number of sensing time units of the terminal, communication link, or communication group satisfies a second criterion, the second criterion being less than a third threshold and/or greater than a fourth threshold; a ratio or difference between the number of sensing occasions in the DRX inactive state and the number of sensing occasions in a DRX active state for the terminal, communication link, or communication group satisfies a fifth threshold; or a ratio or difference between the number of sensing occasions in the DRX inactive state and the total number of sensing occasions in a DRX cycle satisfies a sixth threshold; a minimum interval between every two sensing occasions is greater than or equal to a seventh threshold, and/or a maximum interval is less than or equal to an eighth threshold; and a minimum interval between every two sensing occasions in the DRX inactive state is greater than or equal to a seventh threshold, and/or a maximum interval is less than or equal to an eighth threshold; wherein N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1.
Regarding claim 8, Zhao in view of Yoshioka disclose wherein the first moment is a resource selection trigger time, the P-th slot in candidate slots for resource selection, or a resource reporting time, P is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and the number and/or positions of sensing occasions are determined forward from the first moment (see Yoshioka, [0095], [0126] discussion the sensing window starts at To based upon the resource pool and begins just after at a slot n-To and slots are eliminated based upon power measurements). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Zhao in order to provide the resources can be flexibly configured and selected, as discussed by Yoshioka (see Yoshioka, [0009]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao in view of Yoshioka disclose wherein a value of at least one of N, the first threshold, the second threshold, the third threshold, the fourth threshold, the fifth threshold, the sixth threshold, the seventh threshold, and the eighth threshold is related to at least one of the following parameters: power saving mode (see Yoshioka, [0007], [0095], [0100], [0112], [0126] discussion power saving mode based on random resource selection and partial sensing). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Zhao in order to provide the resources can be flexibly configured and selected, as discussed by Yoshioka (see Yoshioka, [0009]), resource allocation scheme, DRX cycle, DRX on duration, DRX inactive state duration, transmission period of data packet, battery power level, priority of data or service, and first measurement quantity, wherein the first measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: QoS of a system, carrier, BWP, resource pool, user, or connection group, channel occupancy ratio, channel usage, channel busy ratio, channel blocking ratio, channel blocking amount, channel idle ratio, channel idle amount, the number of ACKs, the number of successful data packet transmissions, success rate of data packet transmission, the number of NACKs, the number of failed data packet transmissions, failure rate of data packet transmissions, the number of discontinuous transmissions DTXs, the number of missing detections, and the number of false detections.
Regarding claim 10, Zhao in view of Yoshioka disclose wherein the partial sensing mode is a second sensing mode, and when the second sensing mode is a contiguous partial sensing mode (see Yoshioka, FIG.17, [0105] - [0109], [0117], [0118] showing Periodic-Based Partial Sensing and Contiguous Partial Sensing operation, i.e., second sensing mode). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Zhao in order to provide the resources can be flexibly configured and selected, as discussed by Yoshioka (see Yoshioka, [0009]), a sensing window or sensing duration for the second sensing mode is less than or equal to a ninth threshold, or a sensing window or sensing duration for the second sensing mode in the DRX inactive state is less than or equal to a tenth threshold.
Regarding claim 11, Zhao in view of Yoshioka disclose wherein a value of at least one of the ninth threshold and the tenth threshold is related to at least one of the following parameters: power saving mode, resource allocation scheme, DRX cycle, DRX on duration, DRX inactive state duration, transmission period of data packet, battery power level, priority of data or service, and first measurement quantity, wherein the first measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: QoS of a system, carrier, BWP, resource pool, user, or connection group, channel occupancy ratio, channel usage, channel busy ratio, channel blocking ratio, channel blocking amount, channel idle ratio, channel idle amount, the number of ACKs, the number of successful data packet transmissions, success rate of data packet transmission, the number of NACKs, the number of failed data packet transmissions, failure rate of data packet transmissions, the number of discontinuous transmissions DTXs, the number of missing detections, and the number of false detections (see Zhao, [0092], [0100] – [0103], [0123] – [0133, [0167] – [0169] setting many different thresholds based upon battery, energy, quality, service type, size of resource pool).
Regarding claim 12, Zhao in view of Yoshioka disclose configuring a candidate resource set for a first data packet to be related to a candidate resource set for a second data packet, wherein the first data packet and the second data packet are packets of different processes, and the second data packet is a data packet of an existing process (see Zhao, [0058], [0060] for switching resources based upon packet arrival, and see Yoshioka, FIG. 16 for packet arrival, see [0100] – [0103] discussing that when the terminal has a packet (i.e., “first packet”) to transmit, is performs a priority based transmission scheme determining if packets (i.e., “second packet”) being sent by other mobiles, thus different process, take priority and the channels are therefore preempted, the mobile then changes the candidate resource set for sensing); and the configuring the candidate resource set for the first data packet comprises at least one of the following: configuring the candidate resource set for the first data packet such that a sensing window corresponding to the first data packet and a sensing window corresponding to the second data packet at least partially overlap or are spaced apart for less than a preset value (see Yoshioka, FIG. 16); and configuring the first L slots in the candidate resource set for the first data packet such that the sensing window corresponding to the first data packet and the sensing window corresponding to the second data packet at least partially overlap or are spaced apart for less than a preset value; or, wherein the method further comprises: triggering or switching, by the terminal, a resource selection or resource allocation scheme (see Zhao, [0058] for switching resources based upon packet arrival. and see Yoshioka, [0095], [0097] for the terminal is switching its resource selection based upon threshold and power measurement value). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Zhao in order to provide the resources can be flexibly configured and selected, as discussed by Yoshioka (see Yoshioka, [0009]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao in view of Yoshioka disclose wherein the terminal triggers or switches the resource selection or resource allocation scheme in a case that at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: at least one of sensing and/or measurement duration, sensing and/or measurement duration in the DRX inactive state, continuous sensing and/or measurement duration, continuous sensing and/or measurement duration in the DRX inactive state, the number of measurements, and the number of times of switching from a sleep state to a wake-up state reaches a preset threshold; at least one of a battery level, a power level, a power saving mode, a DRX cycle, a DRX on duration, a DRX inactive state duration, a transmission period of data packet, and a first measurement quantity reaches a preset threshold (see Zhao, [0092], [0100] – [0103], [0123] – [0133, [0167] – [0169] setting many different thresholds based upon battery, energy, quality, service type, size of resource pool), wherein the first measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: QoS of a system, carrier, BWP, resource pool, user, or connection group, channel occupancy ratio, channel usage, channel busy ratio, channel blocking ratio, channel blocking amount, channel idle ratio, channel idle amount, the number of ACKs, the number of successful data packet transmissions, success rate of data packet transmission, the number of NACKs, the number of failed data packet transmissions, failure rate of data packet transmissions, the number of discontinuous transmissions DTXs, the number of missing detections, and the number of false detections; a transmission type of a service received by the terminal is broadcast or groupcast (see Zhao, [0055], [0114], [0174] performs sensing based upon service type); and at least one of the number of pieces of control information received by the terminal in the DRX inactive state, the number of reserved resources, and a ratio of reserved resources is less than a preset threshold (see Zhao, [0062], [0116], [0176] discussing number of reserved resources, logical channels, ratio of reserved resources).
Regarding claim 14, Zhao in view of Yoshioka disclose wherein a value of the preset threshold is related to at least one of the following parameters: power saving mode, resource allocation scheme, DRX cycle, DRX on duration, DRX inactive state duration, transmission period of data packet, battery power level, priority of data or service, and first measurement quantity, wherein the first measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: QoS of a system, carrier, BWP, resource pool, user, or connection group, channel occupancy ratio, channel usage, channel busy ratio, channel blocking ratio, channel blocking amount, channel idle ratio, channel idle amount, the number of ACKs, the number of successful data packet transmissions, success rate of data packet transmission, the number of NACKs, the number of failed data packet transmissions, failure rate of data packet transmissions, the number of discontinuous transmissions DTXs, the number of missing detections, and the number of false detections (see Zhao, [0092], [0100] – [0103], [0123] – [0133, [0167] – [0169] setting many different thresholds based upon battery, energy, quality, service type, size of resource pool, and see Yoshioka, FIG. 16, [0050], [0094], [0101], [0126] for the sensing in the window can be the number of time slots, the subframe, the BWP, packet arrival or delay, etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Zhao in order to provide the resources can be flexibly configured and selected, as discussed by Yoshioka (see Yoshioka, [0009]).
Regarding claim 16, Zhao in view of Yoshioka disclose wherein the determining, by a terminal, a sensing and/or measurement behavior in a DRX inactive state according to a resource allocation scheme comprises: performing, by the terminal, sensing and/or measurement in a corresponding sensing slot during re-evaluation or preemption checking (see Zhao, [0058], [0060] for switching resources based upon packet arrival, and see Yoshioka, FIG. 16 for packet arrival, see [0100] – [0103] discussing that when the terminal has a packet (i.e., “first packet”) to transmit, is performs a priority based transmission scheme determining if packets (i.e., “second packet”) being sent by other mobiles, take priority and the channels are therefore preempted); or, wherein the partial sensing mode comprises a second sensing mode, the second sensing mode being contiguous partial sensing, and the determining, by a terminal, a sensing and/or measurement behavior in a DRX inactive state according to a resource allocation scheme comprises: in a case that a sensing window is larger than a minimum sensing window of the second sensing mode, performing, by the terminal, sensing and/or measurement in M most recent slots within the sensing window, M being a size of the minimum sensing window in the second sensing mode, or M is equal to a first preset time minus a processing time, the processing time being an SCI processing time and/or a data packet preparation time; wherein the minimum sensing window is predefined by a protocol, configured by a network, preconfigured by the network, indicated by the network, configured by the terminal, preconfigured by the terminal, or indicated by the terminal; or, wherein the determining, by a terminal, a sensing and/or measurement behavior in a DRX inactive state according to a resource allocation scheme further comprises: in a case that a minimum sensing window or a minimum candidate slot is indicated as predefined by a protocol, configured by a network, preconfigured by the network, indicated by the network, configured by the terminal, preconfigured by the terminal, or indicated by the terminal, performing, by the terminal, sensing and/or measurement in a corresponding sensing slot, wherein the sensing slot comprises a sensing slot corresponding to a sensing mode triggered by a current packet and/or a sensing slot corresponding to a sensing mode triggered by an existing data packet.
Regarding claim 18, Zhao in view of Yoshioka disclose wherein the partial sensing mode is a first sensing mode, the first sensing mode being a periodic-based partial sensing mode; and when determining a sensing and/or measurement behavior in a DRX inactive state according to a resource allocation scheme (see Zhao, FIG. 6, FIG. 7, [0065] [0073] for selects Y time slots in the resource election window, partial sensing on part of the candidate time slots with a partial sensing cycle P), the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform at least one of the following: performing sensing on N sensing occasions nearest to a first moment (see Yoshioka, [0095], [0126] discussion the sensing window starts at To base upon the resource pool and begins just after at a slot n-To and slots are eliminated based upon power measurements, thus nearest the first moment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Zhao in order to provide the resources can be flexibly configured and selected, as discussed by Yoshioka (see Yoshioka, [0009]); performing sensing on N sensing occasions nearest to the first moment in the DRX inactive state; and performing sensing on only N sensing occasions nearest to the first moment in the DRX inactive state in each DRX cycle; wherein the number of sensing occasions of the terminal, communication link, or communication group satisfies a first criterion, the first criterion being less than a first threshold and/or greater than a second threshold; the number of sensing time units of the terminal, communication link, or communication group satisfies a second criterion, the second criterion being less than a third threshold and/or greater than a fourth threshold; a ratio or difference between the number of sensing occasions in the DRX inactive state and the number of sensing occasions in a DRX active state for the terminal, communication link, or communication group satisfies a fifth threshold; or a ratio or difference between the number of sensing occasions in the DRX inactive state and the total number of sensing occasions in a DRX cycle satisfies a sixth threshold; a minimum interval between every two sensing occasions is greater than or equal to a seventh threshold, and/or a maximum interval is less than or equal to an eighth threshold; and a minimum interval between every two sensing occasions in the DRX inactive state is greater than or equal to a seventh threshold, and/or a maximum interval is less than or equal to an eighth threshold; wherein N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1.
Regarding claim 19, Zhao in view of Yoshioka disclose wherein the first moment is a resource selection trigger time, the P-th slot in candidate slots for resource selection, or a resource reporting time, P is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and the number and/or positions of sensing occasions are determined forward from the first moment (see Yoshioka, FIG. 19, [0093] – [0095], [0126] where the sensing begins a slot configured for the resource pool). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Zhao in order to provide the resources can be flexibly configured and selected, as discussed by Yoshioka (see Yoshioka, [0009]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if overcome 112 rejection above and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MONG-THUY T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645