This Office Action is in response to the amendments dated June 23, 2025.
Claims 1 and 3-21 are pending.
In response to the December 3, 2025 Pre-Appeal Brief Request and a subsequent January 14, 2026 Pre-Appeal Conference, the September 5, 2025 Final Rejection is withdrawn in view of the presently-presented non-final rejection. Per the November19, 2025 Advisory Action, Applicant is reminded that the amendments to the claims filed on November 5, 2025 are not entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The present rejection(s) reference specific passages from cited prior art. However, Applicant is advised that the rejections are based on the entirety of each cited prior art. That is, each cited prior art reference “must be considered in its entirety”. Therefore, Applicant is advised to review all portions of the cited prior art if traversing a rejection based on the cited prior art.
Claims 1, 3-6, 14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saadat et al. (US PGPUB 2005/0234294 – “Saadat”).
Regarding Claim 1, Saadat discloses:
A medical system (Saadat FIG. 3B, apparatus 10’) comprising:
a plurality of tubes (Saadat FIG. 3B, elements 20a and 20b) arranged about a periphery of an insertion device (Saadat FIG. 3B, elongate tube 12); and
one or more supports (Saadat FIG. 3B, linkages 21a’ and 21b) coupling each of the plurality of tubes to the periphery of the insertion device;
wherein each of the one or more supports is coupled to a respective independently movable control wire (Saadat FIG. 3B, push/pull members 42a and 42b) to move each of the one or more supports in a proximal direction or a distal direction (Saadat paragraph [0037], “Apparatus 10' further comprises proximal push/pull members 42a and 42b coupled to the proximal regions of articulating elements 20a and 20b, respectively, as well as distal push/pull members 44a and 44b coupled to the distal regions of elements 20.”); and
wherein each control wires are configured to push one or more corresponding tubes away from the periphery of the insertion device to an expanded configuration (see Saadat FIG. 3C compared to Saadat FIG. 3B; Saadat paragraph [0044], “in FIGS. 3C, 3E and 4, subsequent advancement of proximal members 42a and 42b relative to housing 14' and distal members 44a and 44b causes long linkages 21a' to slide distally within slot 40 and articulate about hinges 22a.”), wherein movement of the one or more supports in the distal direction transitions the one or more corresponding tubes from a collapsed configuration (Saadat FIG. 3A) to the expanded configuration (Saadat FIG. 3C).
Regarding Claim 3, Saadat discloses the features of Claim 2, as described above.
Saadat further discloses wherein movement of each control wire in the distal direction transitions the one or more corresponding tubes from the collapsed configuration (Saadat FIG. 3A) to the expanded configuration (Saadat FIG. 3C).
Regarding Claim 4, Saadat discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Saadat further discloses wherein the one or more supports bias the plurality of tubes toward the expanded configuration (Saadat FIG. 3C).
Regarding Claim 5, Saadat discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Saadat further discloses wherein, in the expanded configuration, a distal portion of at least one tube of the plurality of tubes is curved or bent radially inward toward a longitudinal axis of the insertion device (Saadat FIG. 3C, showing elements 20a’ and 20b’) bent radially inward toward axis W of elongate body 12).
Regarding Claim 6, Saadat discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Saadat further discloses wherein, in the expanded configuration, proximal portions of the plurality of tubes contact the insertion device (Saadat FIG. 3B, showing elements 20a’ and 20b’ contacting elongate body 12 via linkages 21a’ and 21b).
Regarding Claim 14, Saadat discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Saadat further discloses wherein the plurality of tubes includes two to six tubes, and wherein the plurality of tubes are approximately evenly spaced around the periphery of the insertion device (Saadat FIG. 3B, showing elements 20a and 20b evenly spaced around the periphery elongate tube 12).
Regarding Claim 16, Saadat discloses:
A medical system (Saadat FIG. 3B, apparatus 10’) comprising:
an inner tube (Saadat FIG. 3B, elongate tube 12); and
a plurality of outer tubes (Saadat FIG. 3B, elements 20a’ and 20b’);
wherein each of the plurality of outer tubes is coupled to a distal portion of the inner tube via a movable support (Saadat FIG. 3B, linkages 21a’ and 21b);
wherein each movable support is configured to push a distal portion of a corresponding outer tube radially away from a longitudinal axis of the inner tube such that the distal portion of the corresponding outer tube is spaced away from the inner tube (see Saadat FIG. 3B compared to Saadat FIG. 3A); and
wherein each movable support is coupled to a control wire to separately move each movable support relative to the inner tube (Saadat FIG. 3B, push/pull members 42a and 42b; Saadat paragraph [0037], “Apparatus 10' further comprises proximal push/pull members 42a and 42b coupled to the proximal regions of articulating elements 20a and 20b, respectively, as well as distal push/pull members 44a and 44b coupled to the distal regions of elements 20.”), wherein distal movement of each control wire causes a corresponding movable support to push on the distal portion of a corresponding outer tube (see Saadat FIG. 3C compared to Saadat FIG. 3B; Saadat paragraph [0044], “in FIGS. 3C, 3E and 4, subsequent advancement of proximal members 42a and 42b relative to housing 14' and distal members 44a and 44b causes long linkages 21a' to slide distally within slot 40 and articulate about hinges 22a.”).
Regarding Claim 17, Saadat discloses the features of Claim 16, as described above.
Saadat further discloses wherein, in a configuration in which the distal portion of at least one outer tube is radially away from the longitudinal axis of the inner tube (Saadat FIG. 3C), the distal portion of the at least one outer tube is curved or bent radially inward toward the longitudinal axis of the inner tube (Saadat FIG. 3C, showing elements 20a’ and 20b’ bent radially inward toward axis W of elongate body 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saadat et al. (US PGPUB 2005/0234294 – “Saadat”).
Regarding Claim 7, Saadat discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
A first embodiment of Saadat, as presented in Saadat FIG. 3B does not explicitly disclose a control system, including an adaptor and a controller, wherein the adaptor is configured to receive a portion of a medical device received in a tube of the plurality of tubes.
A second embodiment of Saadat, presented in Saadat FIG. 7, discloses a control system, including an adaptor (Saadat FIG. 7, lumen 74b) and a controller (Saadat FIG. 7, cable 84b; Saadat paragraph [0053], “Electrical wires, e.g., for powering and transmitting signals to/from the visualization element, are disposed within cable 84b”),wherein the adaptor is configured to receive a portion of a medical device (Saadat FIG. 7, visualization element 88) received in a tube (Saadat FIG. 7, second steerable shaft 82b; Saadat paragraph [0048], “Electrical wires, e.g., for powering and transmitting signals to/from the visualization element, are disposed within cable 84b.“) of the plurality of tubes.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the visualization element in the second embodiment of Saadat with the medical system disclosed by the first embodiment of Saadat. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of a medical system capable of visualizing operations of an associated medical instrument (see visualization element 88 viewing grasper tool 90 in Saadat FIG. 7).
Claims 8-13, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saadat et al. (US PGPUB 2005/0234294 – “Saadat”) in view of Honda et al. (US PGPUB 2008/0294003 – “Honda”).
Regarding Claim 8, Saadat discloses the features of Claim 7, as described above.
Saadat does not explicitly teach wherein the adaptor includes a base and a slider that is movable relative to the base, and wherein the slider includes a receiving portion configured to receive the portion of the medical device.
Honda teaches wherein the adaptor includes a base (Honda FIG. 6, base body 31) and a slider (Honda FIG. 7, slider 55) that is movable relative to the base, and wherein the slider includes a receiving portion (Honda FIG. 7, holding plates 33a) configured to receive the portion of the medical device.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Honda’s adaptor base and slider with Saadat’s medical system. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such a combination in order to give the endoscope the capability of precisely positioning the insertion/medical device during use.
Regarding Claim 9, Saadat in view of Honda teach the features of Claim 8, as described above.
Honda further teaches wherein the controller is coupled to the adaptor (Honda FIG. 6, electrical cable 30a connected to control apparatus 20), and wherein the controller automatically controls the movement of the slider relative to the base (Honda paragraph [0085], “When receiving the instruction signal, the control apparatus 20 supplies electric power to the motor-driven treatment instrument open/close apparatus 30 via the electrical cable 30a, and rotates the motor 36 of the motor-driven treatment instrument open/close apparatus 30 in the predetermined direction”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Honda’s controller and adaptor with Saadat’s system. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such a combination in order to provide the endoscope with electro-mechanical control over the positioning of the insertion/medical device, thus removing/reducing the need for manual manipulation of the insertion/medical device by the user.
Regarding Claim 10, Saadat discloses the features of Claim 7, as described above.
Saadat does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is coupled to the insertion device to automatically control one or more operations of the insertion device.
Honda teaches wherein the controller is coupled to the insertion device to automatically control one or more operations of the insertion device (Honda FIG. 4, motor-driven treatment instrument advance/retract apparatus 40, sheath 52; Honda paragraph [0083], “when the operation lever 46a of the operation instruction portion 46 is tilted in the forward or backward direction (the direction of the index "Advance" or "Retract") of the operation instruction portion 46, the corresponding instruction signal is supplied to the control apparatus 20 (see FIG. 1) via the signal cable 45a. When receiving the instruction signal, the control apparatus 20 supplies electric power to the motor-driven treatment instrument advance/retract apparatus 40 via the electrical cable 40a, and rotates the motor 44 (see FIG. 7) in the motor-driven treatment instrument advance/retract apparatus 40 in the predetermined direction”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Honda’s controller with Saadat’s medical system. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such a combination in order to enable the endoscope with electronic control over the degree and orientation of insertion of the insertion/medical device, thus removing/reducing the need for manual control of the movement operation of the insertion/medical device by the user.
Regarding Claim 11, Saadat discloses the features of Claim 7, as described above.
Saadat does not explicitly disclose wherein the adaptor includes a plurality of actuators, a plurality of motors, and a plurality of rotatable members coupled to the plurality of motors.
Honda teaches wherein the adaptor includes a plurality of actuators (Honda FIG. 7, rack 35 and slider 55), a plurality of motors (Honda FIG. 6, motor 36 and FIG. 7, motor 38), and a plurality of rotatable members (Honda FIG. 6, pinion gear 36a and FIG. 7, transmission gear 39) coupled to the motors.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Honda’s actuators, motors, and rotatable members with Saadat’s system. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such a combination in order to enable the endoscope with electro-mechanical control over the positioning of the insertion/medical device, thus removing/reducing the need for manual manipulation of the insertion/medical device by the user.
Regarding Claim 12, Saadat in view of Honda teach the features of Claim 11, as described above.
Honda further teaches wherein each actuator of the plurality of actuators is configured to be coupled to a handle of a corresponding medical device (Honda FIG. 7, rack 35 and slider 55 coupled to handle 53 of treatment instrument 50), and
wherein the plurality of motors and the plurality of rotatable members are configured to rotate and/or translate the medical device when the medical device is coupled to the corresponding actuator of the plurality of actuators (Honda paragraph [0086], “the rack 35 is linearly moved forward or backward’; Honda paragraph [0093], “the rotating motor 38 rotates the gear 39 in the predetermined direction, so as to thereby rotate the sheath 52 of the treatment instrument 50 inserted in the treatment instrument channel of the endoscope”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Honda’s actuators, motors, and rotatable members with Saadat’s system. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such a combination in order to provide the endoscope with the capability of electro-mechanical control over the positioning of the insertion/medical device, thus removing/reducing the need for manual manipulation of the insertion/medical device by the user.
Regarding Claim 13, Saadat in view of Honda teach the features of Claim 7, as described above.
Honda further teaches wherein the adaptor includes a coupling mechanism with a base (Honda FIG. 6, base body 31) and a slider (Honda FIG. 7, slider 55) that is movable relative to the base and along a track (Honda FIG. 7, rack 35) of the base, wherein the base includes a base knob (Honda FIG. 7, ring pressing portion 32) proximal of the track and configured to be coupled to a main body of a handle (Honda FIG. 7, handle 53) of the medical device, and wherein the slider includes two slider knobs (Honda FIG. 7, slider pressing portion 33 and finger hold ring 54) configured to be coupled to a movable body of the handle of the medical device.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Honda’s adaptor with Saadat’s system. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such a combination in order to enable the endoscope with the ability to quickly, efficiently, and securely couple the medical device to the control mechanism (see paragraph [0066] of Honda, “the handle portion 53 of the treatment instrument 50 may be surely [sic] held in such a way that the outer diameter of the ring pressing portion 32 is set to be slightly smaller than the inner diameter of the finger hook ring 54 and that an elastic tube is made to cover the outer circumference of the ring pressing portion 32”).
Regarding Claim 15, Saadat discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Saadat does not explicitly disclose wherein the insertion device includes a visualization device positioned at a distal end of the insertion device.
Honda teaches wherein the insertion device includes a visualization device positioned at a distal end of the insertion device (Honda FIG. 1, control apparatus 20; Honda paragraph [0060] “control apparatus 20 shown in FIG. 1 is provided with…a signal processing circuit (not shown)…The signal processing circuit performs: processing for generating a drive signal for driving an image pickup device (not shown) such as a CCD provided at the distal end portion of the endoscope”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Honda’s visualization device with Saadat’s system. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide visualization capability to Saadat’s system.
Regarding Claim 18, Saadat discloses the features of Claim 16, as described above.
A first embodiment of Saadat, as presented in Saadat FIG. 3B, does not explicitly disclose an adaptor configured to receive a portion of a medical device received in an outer tube of the plurality of outer tubes.
A second embodiment of Saadat, as presented in Saadat FIG. 7, discloses an adaptor (Saadat FIG. 7, lumen 74b) configured to receive a portion of a medical device (Saadat FIG. 7, visualization element 88) received in an outer tube (Saadat FIG. 7, second steerable shaft 82b) of the plurality of outer tubes.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the visualization element in the second embodiment of Saadat with the medical system disclosed by the first embodiment of Saadat. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of a medical system capable of visualizing operations of an associated medical instrument (see visualization element 88 viewing grasper tool 90 in Saadat FIG. 7).
Saadat does not explicitly disclose wherein the adapter includes:
a base and a slider configured to move relative to the base, and wherein the slider includes two knobs configured to be coupled to a movable body of the medical device; and
at least one actuator configured to be coupled to a handle of the medical device, a motor, and a rotatable member coupled to the motor.
Honda teaches wherein the adaptor includes:
a base (Honda FIG. 6, base body 31) and a slider (Honda FIG. 7, slider 55) configured to move relative to the base, and wherein the slider includes two knobs (Honda FIG. 7, slider pressing portion 33 and finger hold ring 54) configured to be coupled to a movable body (Honda FIG. 7, sheath 52 of treatment instrument 50 shown in Honda FIG. 8) of the medical device; and
at least one actuator (Honda FIG. 7, rack 35) configured to be coupled to a handle (Honda FIG. 7, handle 53 of treatment instrument 50) of the medical device, a motor (Honda FIG. 6, motor 36 ), and a rotatable member (Honda FIG. 6, pinion gear 36a) coupled to the motor.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Honda’s adaptor base and slider with Saadat’s medical system. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such a combination in order to give the endoscope the capability of precisely positioning the insertion/medical device during use.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saadat et al. (US PGPUB 2005/0234294 – “Saadat”) in view of Kucharski et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0035277 – “Kucharski”).
Regarding Claim 19, a first embodiment of Saadat discloses:
A method, comprising:
positioning a platform device (Saadat FIG. 3C, apparatus 10’) at a treatment site (Saadat FIG. 13B, stomach S), wherein the platform device includes an inner tube (Saadat FIG. 3B, showing labeled elongate tube 12 that is also in Saadat FIG. 3C) and a plurality of outer tubes (Saadat FIG. 3C, elements 20a’ and 20b’) arranged about a periphery of the inner tube;
transitioning one or more outer tubes of the plurality of outer tubes to an expanded configuration in which a distal portion of the one or more outer tubes is further radially away from the periphery of the inner tube (Saadat FIG. 3C, showing elements 20a’ and 20b’ extending radially away from the periphery of the elongate tube 12 introduced in Saadat FIG. 3B);
wherein transitioning the one or more outer tubes to the expanded configuration includes separately pushing one or more control wires (Saadat FIG. 3C, push/pull members 42a and 42b) distally to separately extend each of one or more movable supports (Saadat FIG. 3C, linkages 21a’ and 21b) distally,
and wherein extending each of the one or more movable supports distally pushes the distal portion of one or more corresponding outer tubes of the plurality of outer tubes away from the periphery of the inner tube to the expanded configuration (Saadat FIG. 3C, showing linkages 21a’ and 21b pushing elements 20a’ and 20b’ away from the periphery of the elongate tube 12, introduced in Saadat FIG. 3B, in the expanded configuration).
The first embodiment of Saadat, shown in Saadat FIG. 3C, does not explicitly disclose delivering one or more medical devices to the treatment site through one or more of the plurality of outer tubes.
A second embodiment of Saadat, shown in Saadat FIG. 7, discloses delivering one or more medical devices (Saadat FIG. 7, visualization element 88) to the treatment site through one or more of the plurality of outer tubes (Saadat FIG. 7, second steerable shaft 82b).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the visualization element in the second embodiment of Saadat with the medical system disclosed by the first embodiment of Saadat. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of a medical system capable of visualizing operations of an associated medical instrument (see visualization element 88 viewing grasper tool 90 in Saadat FIG. 7).
Saadat does not explicitly disclose wherein a first outer tube of the plurality of outer tubes is differently sized from a second outer tube of the plurality of outer tubes.
Kucharski teaches wherein a first outer tube (Kucharski FIG. 3, side working channel 28) of the plurality of outer tubes is differently sized from a second outer tube of the plurality of outer tubes (Kucharski paragraph [0062], “it is contemplated that more than one working channel can be included. When multiple working channels are employed, they may be…different sizes”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kucharski’s multiple side channels with the platform device disclosed by Saadat. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of a method/platform device capable of simultaneously handling different sizes of auxiliary tools.
Regarding Claim 20, Saadat in view of Kucharski teach the features of Claim 19, as described above.
Saadat further discloses repositioning, replacing, removing, or manipulating the platform device or the one or more medical devices (Saadat FIG. 13B; Saadat paragraph [0064], “Visualization element 30 may, for example, be positioned on one or more of the articulating elements 20 to provide direct visualization during endoluminal positioning of apparatus 10”).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saadat et al. (US PGPUB 2005/0234294 – “Saadat”) in view of Kucharski et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0035277 – “Kucharski”) and Fujikura (US PGPUB 2008/0281155 – “Fujikura”).
Regarding Claim 21, Saadat in view of Kucharski teach the features of Claim 19, as described above.
Saadat in view of Kucharski do not explicitly teach wherein the first outer tube has a different color or a different identifying label than the second outer tube.
Fujikura teaches wherein the first outer tube has a different color or a different identifying label than the second outer tube (Fujikura FIG. 3, side tubes 78, 88, 98; Fujikura paragraph [0090], “the tubes 78, 88, 98 may be made different in their…colors”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fujikura’s coloring with the method taught by Saadat in view of Kucharski. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of a method that allows the side tubes to be readily identified so that their connectors are proper for connecting to an external resource/device (see Fujikura paragraph [0090]).
Response to Arguments
In the December 3, 2025 Pre-Appeal Brief Conference Request, Applicant asserts that Saadat et al. (US PGPUB 2005/0234294 – “Saadat”) fails to teach or suggest the features in Claim 19 of:
transitioning the one or more outer tubes to the expanded configuration includes separately pushing one or more control wires distally to separately extend each of one or more movable supports distally, and
extending each of the one or more movable supports distally pushes the distal portion of one or more corresponding outer tubes of the plurality of outer tubes away from the periphery of the inner tube to the expanded configuration.
The rejection of Claim 19 was based on Saadat. However, the rejection had a typographical error, in which Saadat FIG. 3B, instead of Saadat FIG. 3C, was cited for teaching wherein extending each of the one or more movable supports distally pushes the distal portion of one or more corresponding outer tubes of the plurality of outer tubes away from the periphery of the inner tube to the expanded configuration.
The present non-final Office Action corrects this typographical error.
Conclusion
JIM BOICE
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
/JAMES EDWARD BOICE/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
03/28/2026