DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2023095817 (to Taichi et al.) – cited on IDS.
With respect to claims 1 and 6, Taichi teaches a cell pouch/(packaging material) for a secondary battery/(power storage) (para. [0076]) comprising:
an inner resin layer/(polypropylene composite film) (para. [0076]);
a barrier layer/(aluminum foil); and
an outer resin layer/(PET-BO / adhesive / ONy) (para. [0076]),
wherein the inner resin layer, the barrier layer, and the outer resin layer are
sequentially laminated (para. [0076]),
wherein the inner resin layer/(polypropylene composite film) (para. [0076]) comprises an aluminum adhesive layer/(laminate layer), a core layer/(base layer), and a sealing layer/(seal layer) sequentially laminated (see claim 1),
wherein propylene ethylene rubber (PER) contents of the aluminum adhesive
layer, the core layer, and the sealing layer are respectively X, Y, and Z, with 0
≤X+Y+Z≤30%, 0≤X≤20%, and 0≤Y≤30%, where is a factor inversely proportional
to an electrolyte resistance, and Y is a factor proportional to a formability – (Table 1 - Example 6, wherein PER is present in the laminate layer at 5% (represented by X), and in the base layer at 15% (represented by Y), and in the seal layer at 0% (represented by Z), which satisfies the instantly claimed conditions above ([0032], and claims 2-3).
With respect to claims 3 and 8, Taichi teaches wherein the outer resin layer/(PET-BO / adhesive / ONy) (para. [0076]) comprises a first outer resin layer/(ONy) and a second outer resin layer/(PET-BO) sequentially laminated.
With respect to claims 4 and 9, Taichi teaches wherein a first surface treatment/(chemical conversion treatment) layer is formed between the inner resin layer/(polypropylene composite film) (para. [0076]) and the barrier layer/(aluminum foil) (since the aluminum foil is chemically treated on both sides) (para. [0076]), and a second surface treatment/(chemical conversion treatment) layer is formed between the barrier layer/(aluminum foil) (since the aluminum foil is chemically treated on both sides) and the first outer resin layer/(ONy) (para. [0076]).
With respect to claims 5 and 10, Taichi teaches wherein a first adhesive layer is formed between the second surface treatment layer (since the aluminum foil is chemically treated on both sides) and the first outer resin layer/(ONy) (para. [0076]), and a second adhesive layer is formed between the first outer resin layer/(ONy) and the second outer resin layer/(PET-BO) (para. [0076]).
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2023095817 (to Taichi et al.), as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of JP 5481765 (hereinafter JP’765) – cited on IDS.
With respect to claims 2 and 7, Taichi discloses all claim limitations as set forth above including wherein an electrolyte peeling strength is (10 N/15mm) (para. [0079]) which is equal to 1000 (gf/15mm) and therefore touches the instantly claimed range of 1000 (gf/15mm) or more. Taichi fails to teach wherein a limit forming depth of the cell pouch is 7.0 mm or more.
JP’765 teaches a battery packaging material having a limit forming depth of 7 mm (claim 1), which touches the instantly claimed range of 7.0 mm or more, in order to provide an optimal limit forming depth of the cell pouch/packaging material.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to provide a limit forming depth of 7.0 mm in the cell pouch of Taichi, as taught by JP’765, in order to provide an optimal limit forming depth.
Conclusion
/KAITY V CHANDLER/ 9/12/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725