DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. 20170201871) in view of Jung et al. (Pub. No. 20230292326).
- With respect to claims 1 and 11, Ryu teaches a method for use in a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (e.g. UE in Fig. 1), the method comprising: receiving paging occasion (PO) monitoring indication information in first downlink control information (DCI) (e.g. par. 137 discloses “the UE can receive a broadcast signal of system information and paging information by monitoring a paging signal at a specific paging occasion for each UE-specific paging DRX cycle”); determining a first PO, wherein the first PO is based on a WTRU-identity (WTRU-ID) for the WTRU (e.g. par. 276 discloses paging occasion based on RNTI of UE); monitoring, based on the PO monitoring indication information, for second DCI in the first PO (e.g. Fig. 12 discloses UE monitoring during paging cycle for DCI; par. 137); receiving the second DCI in the first PO (e.g. fig. 12 discloses DCI in paging occasion); and receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission based on the second DCI (see par. 244, 273, 275 discloses PDSCH based on DCI). Ryu implicitly fails to discloses first DCI for PO monitoring indication information and second DCI. Jung teaches the first DCI for PO monitoring indication information (see abstract discloses “the first DCI format indicates whether the apparatus is to monitor for paging DCI of a second DCI format”, par. 5-6) and second DCI (see claim 16 discloses “monitor for paging DCI of the second DCI format in a paging period based on the detected first DCI format”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement steps of transmitting first and second DCI for monitoring indication and second DCI into Ryu’s invention for better experiences to end users in communication.
- With respect to claims 2, 12, Ryu teaches wherein the PDSCH transmission includes a paging message (par. 273 discloses paging message on PDSCH).
- With respect to claims 3, 13, Ryu teaches wherein the first PO is within a paging frame (PF) (see par. 288 where paging frame include more PO) and wherein the PO monitoring indication information is received prior to the first PO (e.g. the SIB discloses prior to paging occasion).
- With respect to claims 4, 14, Ryu teaches not monitoring a second PO, prior to the first PO, based on the PO monitoring indication information (e.g. idle state where the UE not monitor or sleep).
- With respect to claims 5, 15, Ryu teaches wherein the PO monitoring indication information includes a WTRU group index for a WTRU group, wherein the WTRU is part of the WTRU group, and wherein the monitoring of the PO is further based on the WTRU group index (e.g. group UEs for group messaging see par. 528-535 and each PO for each UE as par. 277).
- With respect to claims 6, 16, Ryu teaches wherein the WTRU group is one of a number of WTRU groups and wherein the WTRU group index is based on the WTRU-ID and the number of WTRU groups (e.g. Fig. 1 shows Node B, eNodeB and service provider with group UE with different ID).
- With respect to claims 7, 17, Ryu teaches wherein the first DCI is scrambled by a WTRU group specific radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (e.g. par. 275) and the second DCI is scrambled by a paging RNTI (P-RNTI) (e.g. par. 273 discloses P-RNTI).
- With respect to claims 8, 18, Ryu teaches monitoring for the first DCI in a first search space, wherein the first search space is a common search space; and monitoring for the second DCI in a second search space, wherein the second search space is within the first PO (e.g. the PDCCH for SIB see par. 244; par. 273-276 discloses PDCCH for P-RNTI and RNTI).
- With respect to claims 9-10 and 19-20, Ryu teaches the WTRU-ID is an RNTI allocated for the WTRU (e.g. par. 275-276 discloses RNTI is for UE ).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
. Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471