Examiner’s Note
For applicant’s benefit, portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
“The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including non-preferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v.Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) See MPEP 2123.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 23 July, 2026 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claim objections regarding claims 16, 19, 23, 26, and 32 have been overcome in view of the amendment to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument filed 23 July, 2026 has been fully considered but is not persuasive because:
Applicant’s argument:
“The language that has been added to independent claim 16, which substantially corresponds to the language of previously-presented claim 17, recites that a "predefined function comprises calculating a distance between said first person and said first external UWB communication device". Similarly, the language that has been added to independent claims 29 and 34, which substantially corresponds to the language of previously-presented claim 30, recites that a "predefined function comprises calculating a distance between said person and said external UWB communication device."
This language from previously-pending claims 17 and 30 that has been substantially added to independent claims 16, 29, and 34 relates to a particular solution that is provided by the claimed invention. For example, in this regard, paragraph 0030 of the present Application as published states that "[i]n this way, a distance between a person and a UWB-enabled device may be determined in an efficient way, even if the person does not carry a device which can communicate with the controller or with the UWB-enabled device."
Notwithstanding the comments presented in the Office action regarding previously-pending dependent claims 17 and 30, the Applicant respectfully submits that, as best as the Applicant has determined, the above-discussed features added to independent claims 16, 29, and 34 by the amendments herein, are not disclosed by Godet et al. More particularly, in regard to previously-pending dependent claims 17 and 30, the Office action contends that paragraph 0063 and FIG. 1 of Godet et al. disclose that a "distance d' between the portable access device SD and the activation device D is found..." and that paragraph 0061 and FIG. 1 of Godet et al. disclose that a "distance d is calculate..." (see paragraphs 8b and 8f of the Office action).
Nevertheless, the Applicant respectfully submits that the aforementioned portions of Godet et al. do not constitute disclosure of the above-discussed features added to independent claims 16, 29, and 34 based upon the language of previously-pending dependent claims 17 and 30. The aforementioned amended language added to claims 16, 29, and 34 is directed toward a function of calculating a distance between a person and an external UWB communication device. For example, the function can involve calculating a distance between a person who is looking for his or her key and the key itself (see, e, in the present Application, FIG. 4 and paragraph 0048, which states "[a] person 402 moving in a room is looking for an UWB-tagged key 406.").
As best as the Applicant has determined, Godet et al. does not disclose determining a distance between a person and an external UWB communication device. Indeed, Godet et al. does not appear to be concerned with addressing a problem of how to help a person locate an external UWB communication device. Rather, the relied-upon portions of Godet et al. relate to determining each of (a) a first distance (d') between a portable access device SD and an activation device D comprised by a vehicle (V), and (b) a second distance (d) between a person (U) and the vehicle (V) (see, e, FIG. 1, paragraphs 0048, 0061, and 0063 of Godet et al.). Neither of those functions is the same as, or constitutes disclosure of, determining the distance between a person and an external UWB communication device as recited in the Applicant's amended claims 16, 29, and 34.
Therefore, in view of the amendments to independent claims 16, 29, and 34, the Applicant respectfully submits that Godet et al. fails to disclose all of the recited features in each of those claims. Accordingly, Godet et al. does not anticipate any of amended independent claims 16, 29, and 34, and each of those claims is therefore allowable under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) in view of Godet et al.
Additionally, the Applicant respectfully submits that each of the dependent claims of the present Application is also in condition for allowance, for at least the same reasons as the respective independent claim from which each respective dependent claim depends is allowable. More particularly, the Applicant submits that each of dependent claims 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, and 28, as amended herein, includes all of the features recited in amended independent claim 16 and therefore is now allowable for at least the same reasons as amended independent claim 16 is allowable. Also, the Applicant submits that each of dependent claims 31, 32, and 33, as amended herein, includes all of the features recited in amended independent claim 29 and therefore is now allowable for at least the same reasons as amended independent claim 29 is allowable.”
Examiner’s response:
With respect to Applicant’s argument that Godet et al. does not disclose determining a distance between a person and an external UWB communication device, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Godet discloses that the distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device D is found by multiplying said flight time tv by the speed of sound c [0063 & FIG. 1]; in what is called the “reflective” phase of presence detection in ultra-wideband (UWB), the distance d is calculate [0061 & FIG. 1]. The distance d’ is between the portable access device SD and the activation device D of the vehicle V obtained during two-way UWB communication mode; and the distance d is between the user U and the activation device D of the vehicle V obtained during reflective UWB mode. Since both the distances d’ and d are measured relative to the same reference point (which is the vehicle V), the system can easily infer the user U and the portable access device SD’s range to one another. The authentication process in Godet implicitly determines a relative distance between the user U and the portable access device SD, in order to ascertain the co-location relationship. To authenticate that the user U is carrying the authorized portable access device SD, the system in Godet necessarily determines said relative distance. Such a determination is necessarily performed to achieve the disclosed authentication process. With respect to Applicant’s argument that “the function can involve calculating a distance between a person who is looking for his or her key and the key itself (see, e, in the present Application, FIG. 4 and paragraph 0048, which states "[a] person 402 moving in a room is looking for an UWB-tagged key 406.")” or “Indeed, Godet et al. does not appear to be concerned with addressing a problem of how to help a person locate an external UWB communication device”, the Examiner would like to note that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Furthermore, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
As each of the dependent claim depends on a rejected independent claim, claims 16, 18-29, and 31-34 remain rejected.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 18 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18 appears to contain a typographical error. For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret that claim 18 depends on claim 16.
Claim 31 appears to contain a typographical error. For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret that claim 31 depends on claim 29.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 23, 28-29, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Godet et al. (WO 2022/162071 A1 previously cited “GODET”).
Examiner’s note: For purpose of citations, the Examiner will use US 2024/0034274 A1 as English translation for WO 2022/162071 A1.
Regarding claim 16, GODET discloses a localization system, comprising:
one or more ultra-wideband, UWB, communication nodes (the ultra-wideband transmission/reception means M1 consist of a transmitter and a receiver [0058])
and a controller operatively coupled to the one or more UWB communication nodes (the means M5 for determining a distance d and the means M6 for calculating a distance d′ may be located on a printed circuit 20 and connected to a microcontroller [0066])
wherein at least one of the UWB communication nodes is configured to perform a first localization operation, wherein said first localization operation is performed in a ranging mode (in the phase of authentication using two-way communication, the activation device further comprises means M6 for calculating the distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device d, based on the calculation of a flight time tv of messages exchanged by said two-way ultra-wideband (UWB) communication between the access device D and the activation device SD. The distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device D is found by multiplying said flight time tv by the speed of sound c [0063])
wherein at least one of the UWB communication nodes is configured to perform a second localization operation, wherein said second localization operation is performed in a radar mode (the activation device D further comprises means M5 for determining a distance d between the user U and the vehicle V. In what is called the “reflective” phase of presence detection in ultra-wideband (UWB), the distance d is calculate [0061]); (the reflective UWB mode, in which the mode of operation resembles that of radar [0078])
wherein the controller is configured to perform a predefined function on an output of the first localization operation (the distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device D is found by multiplying said flight time tv by the speed of sound c [0063]) and an output of the second localization operation (in what is called the “reflective” phase of presence detection in ultra-wideband (UWB), the distance d is calculate [0061])
and wherein the output of the first localization operation is indicative of a position of a first external UWB communication device within a predefined space (in the phase of authentication using two-way communication, the activation device further comprises means M6 for calculating the distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device d, based on the calculation of a flight time tv of messages exchanged by said two-way ultra-wideband (UWB) communication between the access device D and the activation device SD. The distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device D is found by multiplying said flight time tv by the speed of sound c [0063]), wherein the output of the second localization operation is indicative of a position of a first person within said predefined space (the activation device D further comprises means M5 for determining a distance d between the user U and the vehicle V. In what is called the “reflective” phase of presence detection in ultra-wideband (UWB), the distance d is calculate [0061]), and wherein the predefined function comprises calculating a distance between said first person and said first external UWB communication device (the distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device D is found by multiplying said flight time tv by the speed of sound c [0063 & FIG. 1]); (in what is called the “reflective” phase of presence detection in ultra-wideband (UWB), the distance d is calculate [0061 & FIG. 1]).
Regarding claim 23, GODET discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the output of the first localization operation is indicative of positions of one or more external UWB communication devices including said first UWB communication device within the predefined space (the distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device D is found by multiplying said flight time tv by the speed of sound c [0063], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 16), wherein the output of the second localization operation is indicative of positions of one or more persons including said first person within said predefined space (in what is called the “reflective” phase of presence detection in ultra-wideband (UWB), the distance d is calculate [0061], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 16), and wherein the predefined function comprises determining whether the positions of the one or more external UWB communication devices match the positions of the one or more persons (during the authentication phase it is therefore possible to check whether the portable access device SD is indeed near the vehicle V [0080]).
Regarding claim 28, GODET discloses the system of claim 16, wherein at least one of the UWB communication nodes is a dual-mode UWB communication node configured to perform both the first localization operation and the second localization operation (the activation device D switches from the reflective UWB mode to a two-way communication UWB mode [0078]).
Regarding claim 29, GODET discloses a method of operating a localization system, the system comprising one or more ultra-wideband, UWB, communication nodes (the ultra-wideband transmission/reception means M1 consist of a transmitter and a receiver [0058]) and a controller (the means M5 for determining a distance d and the means M6 for calculating a distance d′ may be located on a printed circuit 20 and connected to a microcontroller [0066]), and the method comprising:
performing, by at least one of the UWB communication nodes, a first localization operation, wherein said first localization operation is performed in a ranging mode (in the phase of authentication using two-way communication, the activation device further comprises means M6 for calculating the distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device d, based on the calculation of a flight time tv of messages exchanged by said two-way ultra-wideband (UWB) communication between the access device D and the activation device SD. The distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device D is found by multiplying said flight time tv by the speed of sound c [0063])
performing, by at least one of the UWB communication nodes, a second localization operation, wherein said second localization operation is performed in a radar mode (the activation device D further comprises means M5 for determining a distance d between the user U and the vehicle V. In what is called the “reflective” phase of presence detection in ultra-wideband (UWB), the distance d is calculate [0061]); (the reflective UWB mode, in which the mode of operation resembles that of radar [0078])
performing, by the controller, a predefined function on an output of the first localization operation (the distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device D is found by multiplying said flight time tv by the speed of sound c [0063]) and an output of the second localization operation (in what is called the “reflective” phase of presence detection in ultra-wideband (UWB), the distance d is calculate [0061])
and wherein the output of the first localization operation is indicative of a position of an external UWB communication device within a predefined space (in the phase of authentication using two-way communication, the activation device further comprises means M6 for calculating the distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device d, based on the calculation of a flight time tv of messages exchanged by said two-way ultra-wideband (UWB) communication between the access device D and the activation device SD. The distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device D is found by multiplying said flight time tv by the speed of sound c [0063]), wherein the output of the second localization operation is indicative of a position of a person within said predefined space (the activation device D further comprises means M5 for determining a distance d between the user U and the vehicle V. In what is called the “reflective” phase of presence detection in ultra-wideband (UWB), the distance d is calculate [0061]), and wherein the predefined function comprises calculating a distance between said person and said external UWB communication device (the distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device D is found by multiplying said flight time tv by the speed of sound c [0063 & FIG. 1]); (in what is called the “reflective” phase of presence detection in ultra-wideband (UWB), the distance d is calculate [0061 & FIG. 1]).
Regarding claim 34, GODET discloses a computer program comprising executable instructions stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium, which when executed by a localization system cause the localization system to carry out a method (the means M5 for determining a distance d and the means M6 for calculating a distance d′ may be located on a printed circuit 20 and connected to a microcontroller [0066]) comprising:
performing, by at least one of the UWB communication nodes (the ultra-wideband transmission/reception means M1 consist of a transmitter and a receiver [0058]), a first localization operation, wherein said first localization operation is performed in a ranging mode (in the phase of authentication using two-way communication, the activation device further comprises means M6 for calculating the distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device d, based on the calculation of a flight time tv of messages exchanged by said two-way ultra-wideband (UWB) communication between the access device D and the activation device SD. The distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device D is found by multiplying said flight time tv by the speed of sound c [0063])
performing, by at least one of the UWB communication nodes, a second localization operation, wherein said second localization operation is performed in a radar mode (the activation device D further comprises means M5 for determining a distance d between the user U and the vehicle V. In what is called the “reflective” phase of presence detection in ultra-wideband (UWB), the distance d is calculate [0061]); (the reflective UWB mode, in which the mode of operation resembles that of radar [0078])
performing, by the controller, a predefined function on an output of the first localization operation (the distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device D is found by multiplying said flight time tv by the speed of sound c [0063]) and an output of the second localization operation (in what is called the “reflective” phase of presence detection in ultra-wideband (UWB), the distance d is calculate [0061])
and wherein the output of the first localization operation is indicative of a position of an external UWB communication device within a predefined space (in the phase of authentication using two-way communication, the activation device further comprises means M6 for calculating the distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device d, based on the calculation of a flight time tv of messages exchanged by said two-way ultra-wideband (UWB) communication between the access device D and the activation device SD. The distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device D is found by multiplying said flight time tv by the speed of sound c [0063]), wherein the output of the second localization operation is indicative of a position of a person within said predefined space (the activation device D further comprises means M5 for determining a distance d between the user U and the vehicle V. In what is called the “reflective” phase of presence detection in ultra-wideband (UWB), the distance d is calculate [0061]), and wherein the predefined function comprises calculating a distance between said person and said external UWB communication device (the distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device D is found by multiplying said flight time tv by the speed of sound c [0063 & FIG. 1]); (in what is called the “reflective” phase of presence detection in ultra-wideband (UWB), the distance d is calculate [0061 & FIG. 1]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19, 24, and 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GODET, in view of Howard et al. (US 2022/0141624 A1 previously cited “HOWARD”).
Regarding claim 18, GODET discloses (Examiner’s note: What GODET does not disclose is ) the system of claim,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, HOWARD relates to wireless communication devices. Specifically, HOWARD teaches that device 83 can determine which people or objects are in its proximity, or not in its proximity. For example, if device 83 is an adjunct associated with mom's wireless phone, device 80 is attached to the car keys and device 81 is an adjunct associated with her son's telephone, a mom can determine the proximity of her son and her keys. In response to location signals received by the adjunct device 83, the mom can determine whether or not her son and/or the car keys are in her proximity. A proximity application executed by her wireless phone can keep track of which of the devices 80-82 or 84-85 are in range and which are not, present alerts such as audible or visual alerts when a device comes in range or goes out of range, etc. In addition, the use of directional and/or distance information can augment the application to determine a nearest neighboring device or devices, plot estimated positions on a map, etc. [0119].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of GODET to include the teachings of HOWARD, because doing so would enable users to retrieve misplaced belongings, such as their wireless telephones, as recognized by HOWARD. In addition, both of the prior art references, GODET and HOWARD, teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, that is, UWB technology for localization.
Regarding claim 19, GODET/ HOWARD discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the predefined function further comprises determining an orientation of the first person with respect to the first external UWB communication device, and wherein the controller is further configured to generate data for guiding the first person to the position of the first external UWB communication device based on said distance and orientation (a proximity application executed by her wireless phone can keep track of which of the devices 80-82 or 84-85 are in range and which are not, present alerts such as audible or visual alerts when a device comes in range or goes out of range, etc. In addition, the use of directional and/or distance information can augment the application to determine a nearest neighboring device or devices, plot estimated positions on a map, etc. [HOWARD 0119], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 18).
Regarding claim 24, GODET discloses the system of claim 23,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, HOWARD teaches that in response to location signals received by the adjunct device 83, the mom can determine whether or not her son and/or the car keys are in her proximity. A proximity application executed by her wireless phone can keep track of which of the devices 80-82 or 84-85 are in range and which are not, present alerts such as audible or visual alerts when a device comes in range or goes out of range, etc. [0119].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of GODET to include the teachings of HOWARD, because doing so would enable users to effectively retrieve misplaced belongings, such as their wireless telephones, as recognized by HOWARD.
Regarding claim 31, GODET discloses the method of claim,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, HOWARD teaches that device 83 can determine which people or objects are in its proximity, or not in its proximity. For example, if device 83 is an adjunct associated with mom's wireless phone, device 80 is attached to the car keys and device 81 is an adjunct associated with her son's telephone, a mom can determine the proximity of her son and her keys. In response to location signals received by the adjunct device 83, the mom can determine whether or not her son and/or the car keys are in her proximity. A proximity application executed by her wireless phone can keep track of which of the devices 80-82 or 84-85 are in range and which are not, present alerts such as audible or visual alerts when a device comes in range or goes out of range, etc. In addition, the use of directional and/or distance information can augment the application to determine a nearest neighboring device or devices, plot estimated positions on a map, etc. [0119].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of GODET to include the teachings of HOWARD, because doing so would enable users to retrieve misplaced belongings, such as their wireless telephones, as recognized by HOWARD.
Regarding claim 32, GODET/ HOWARD discloses the method of claim 31, wherein the predefined function further comprises determining an orientation of the person with respect to the external UWB communication device, and wherein the controller further generates data for guiding the person to the position of the external UWB communication device based on said distance and orientation (a proximity application executed by her wireless phone can keep track of which of the devices 80-82 or 84-85 are in range and which are not, present alerts such as audible or visual alerts when a device comes in range or goes out of range, etc. In addition, the use of directional and/or distance information can augment the application to determine a nearest neighboring device or devices, plot estimated positions on a map, etc. [HOWARD 0119], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 31).
Claim(s) 20, 22, 25, 27, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GODET, in view of Mese et al. (US 2022/0301556 A1 previously cited “MESE”).
Regarding claim 20, GODET discloses the system of claim 16, the distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device D is found by multiplying said flight time tv by the speed of sound c [0063], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 16), the output of the second localization operation (in what is called the “reflective” phase of presence detection in ultra-wideband (UWB), the distance d is calculate [0061], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 16)
In a same or similar field of endeavor, MESE relates to techniques for ultra-wideband (UWB) location tracking to perform a voice input operation. Specifically, MESE teaches that the system 100 may include an audio receiver/microphone 195 that provides input from the microphone to the processor 122 based on audio that is detected, such as via a user providing audible input to the microphone. In some examples, the microphone 195 may actually be a microphone array so that a beamforming algorithm can be executed based on input to the array to determine a direction of a source of sound relative to the microphone 195 [0046].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of GODET to include the teachings of MESE, because doing so would prevent unauthorized individuals from easily hacking the devices, gaining access to sensitive electronic data, etc., as recognized by MESE. In addition, both of the prior art references, GODET and MESE, teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, that is, UWB tracking and localization.
Regarding claim 22, GODET, as modified, discloses the system of claim 20,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, MESE teaches that the first device may determine whether the second device is at a location as determined from the UWB location tracking that matches a direction or location of the source of the voice input itself [0069].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of GODET to include the teachings of MESE, because doing so would prevent unauthorized individuals from easily hacking the devices, gaining access to sensitive electronic data, etc., as recognized by MESE.
Regarding claim 25, GODET/ MESE discloses the system of claim 23, wherein the controller is further configured to authenticate the external UWB communication device (the activation device D sends a UWB message to the portable access device SD, including an authentication request [GODET 0078]).
Regarding claim 27, GODET/ MESE discloses the system of claim 25, wherein authenticating the external UWB communication device comprises an authentication via data transfer between the controller and the external UWB communication device through a UWB communication channel or another communication channel established between one of the UWB communication nodes and said external UWB communication device (the activation device D sends a UWB message to the portable access device SD, including an authentication request. A check is then made as to whether the identifier returned by the portable device SD corresponds to an identifier pre-recorded by the vehicle V and previously paired with the latter [GODET 0078]).
Regarding claim 33, GODET discloses the method of claim 29, the distance d′ between the portable access device SD and the activation device D is found by multiplying said flight time tv by the speed of sound c [0063], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 16), the output of the second localization operation (in what is called the “reflective” phase of presence detection in ultra-wideband (UWB), the distance d is calculate [0061], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 16)
In a same or similar field of endeavor, MESE teaches that the system 100 may include an audio receiver/microphone 195 that provides input from the microphone to the processor 122 based on audio that is detected, such as via a user providing audible input to the microphone. In some examples, the microphone 195 may actually be a microphone array so that a beamforming algorithm can be executed based on input to the array to determine a direction of a source of sound relative to the microphone 195 [0046].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of GODET to include the teachings of MESE, because doing so would prevent unauthorized individuals from easily hacking the devices, gaining access to sensitive electronic data, etc., as recognized by MESE.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GODET, in view of MESE, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2017/0133011 A1 previously cited “CHEN”).
Regarding claim 21, GODET/ MESE discloses the system of claim 20, wherein said data derived from the audio signal comprise a spoken command (the system 100 may include an audio receiver/microphone 195 that provides input from the microphone to the processor 122 based on audio that is detected, such as via a user providing audible input to the microphone [MESE 0046], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 20)
In a same or similar field of endeavor, CHEN teaches that the intended voice command may include a device identifier associated with the first target computing device. For example, the user may state the name of the device that the user wishes to interact with [0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of GODET to include the teachings of CHEN, because doing so would avoid redundancies and conflicts in executing the command, thereby improving system efficiency, as recognized by CHEN. In addition, both of the prior art references, GODET and CHEN, teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, that is, using voice command for computing device(s).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GODET, in view of MESE, and further in view of Kincaid et al. (US 2023/0010267 A1 previously cited “KINCAID”).
Regarding claim 26, GODET/ MESE discloses the system of claim 25,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, KINCAID teaches that if the UWB accessory device 106 determines, in block 410, that the authentication was not successful (e.g., based on an improper credential), the method 400 advances to block 412 in which the access control system 100 handles the error using any suitable technique or mechanism. For example, in some embodiments, the access control system 100 may generate an audit, alert, and/or alarm related to the unsuccessful authentication [0068].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of GODET to include the teachings of KINCAID, because doing so would improve system security, as recognized by KINCAID. In addition, both of the prior art references, GODET and KINCAID, teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, that is, UWB ranging system for wireless device(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Daoura et al. (US 2015/0356861 A1 newly cited) is considered pertinent art for the disclosure overall, and in particular the details of addressing the problem of finding small, lost objects in within a room or house as well as at a distance. The system 30 may also monitor when an object, pet or person enters or leaves a predetermined range with respect to the control apparatus 37. For example, another tracking device 32 has a cord or chain 36 connecting via a key ring hole to and object, a collar of a pet, to an article of a person's clothing, surrounding a wrist of a small child or an Alzheimer patient. The control apparatus 37 sets one or more alerts depending upon the distance between the control apparatus 37 and the tracking device 32. If a parent were shopping with a small child, the parent may program the control apparatus 37 to issue one or more alerts depending upon the distance between the child wearing tracking device 32 and parent carrying the control apparatus 37.
Webb (US 2023/0053019 A1 previously cited) is considered pertinent art for the disclosure of an accessible and usable mobile device application that integrates with a technology network designed to increase an ability to orient, locate and travel within indoor and outdoor physical environments independently, safely, and securely for people with sensory disabilities and the aging population who have visual, hearing, mobility, and/or cognitive disabilities.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Hailey R Le/Examiner, Art Unit 3648 August 6, 2026
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648