DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s “Remarks” filed September 16, 2026. The amendments therein have been thoroughly reviewed and entered. Any previous objection/ rejection not repeated herein has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but are deemed moot in view of the amendments, withdrawn rejections, and new and/or modified grounds for rejection, necessitated by the amendments, discussed below. Applicant's amendment clarifying the claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Drawings
The replacement drawing sheet was received on September 16, 2026 and found acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
A. “moving component” in claim 10 has been interpreted to include elements i-iii below or structural equivalents, wherein each elements i-iii include:
i. “first moving element” 121 in claims 1 has been interpreted by the examiner as including the linear track body 1211, the conveyor 1212, and the track chain 1213 as discussed in applicant’s corresponding US 2025/0128263 (hereinafter ‘263) at para [0033] et seq., or structural equivalents thereof;
ii. “second moving element” 122, in claim 1 has been interpreted by the examiner as including a linear track body (not shown), the conveyor (not shown), and the track chain (not shown) similar to that of the first moving element 121, (see para [0034] et seq. of ‘263) or structural equivalents thereof;
iii. “third moving element” 123 in claim 1 has been interpreted by the examiner including a linear track body (not shown), the conveyor (not shown), and the track chain (not shown) similar to that of the first moving element 121 (see para [0035] et seq. of ‘263); and
iv. “sliding block” 124 (which does not invoke an interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as this limitation provides sufficient structure to perform the recited function and does not include a generic placeholder, see para [0012] et seq. of ‘263);
B. “telescopic component” in claims 1, 6, 9 and 12 has been interpreted by the examiner as including a driving motor 161, and a telescopic element 162 (see para [0048] of applicant’s ‘263),
a. the telescopic element has been interpreted as corresponding to sleeve kit 1621 or structural equivalents thereof (see para [0048] et seq.); and
C. “microtube component” has been interpreted with respect to the method claims 10-13 as including the sealing screw cover 91, the column tube 92, the collection tube 93, and the sample tube 94, or structural equivalents thereof (see para [0045] et seq. of ‘263). Note: this interpretation may be applied to this limitation should applicant positively recite it in the apparatus claims.
(1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 11 recite the telescoping component further comprises a driving motor and a telescoping element is connected to the driving motor. Parent claims 1 and 10, have been amended to include a first motor and a second motor. Thus, appears that driving motor in claims 4 and 11 are already recited in the parent claim. This is confusing and indefinite. The relationship between the “first motor”, “second motor” in claims 1 and 10, and “driving motor” in claim 4 and 11 must be clarified in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo et al., (US 2022/0152608;hereafter “Lo”-already of record) in view of Gwynn et al., (US 2013/0132006; hereinafter “Gwynn”) or Guan et al., (CN 110551712; already of record; herein after “Guan”).
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 13, Lo teaches a moving device and a method of moving the moving device, applied in a nucleic acid extraction system (see para [0003] et seq.) and cooperated with for use with a plurality of microtube components 30, the moving device comprising a workbench (lab bench), a moving component, disposed on the workbench (necessary to function in a lab),
the moving component comprising:
a telescopic component 450, disposed on the moving component corresponding to the first rotating rod 551 electrically connected to the controller (necessary in Lo to operate the moving component), and movable between a first position (see Fig. 12A) and a second position (see Fig. 12B) relative to the first rotating rod (see para [0053] et seq.), wherein, the moving component drives the first rotating rod 551 to move such that the first rotating rod is adapted to be connected with one of the plurality of microtube components (with respect to claim 13 a sealing screw using the rotating rod 551 having a fixing groove that engages the sealing cap to tighten or loosen; see para [0053] et seq.) The first motor drives the first rotating rod to rotate the one of the plurality of microtube components (not shown but necessary to perform the rotating disclosed in para [0053] and shown in Figs. 12A-B).
Regarding claims 4-6, 8, 11, 12, Lo teaches the telescopic component further comprises: a driving motor (box element above rod 551) and a telescopic element 553, wherein the rod 551 axially connected to the first motor, and the telescopic element 553 is connected to the driving motor; see Figs 12A-B. Lo teaches the telescopic element 553 is disposed outside of the first rotating rod 551, and the telescopic element 553 is not in contact with the first rotating rod 551 (see Figs. 12A-B). The telescopic element includes comprises a sleeve kit 552, and the sleeve kit is sleeved around an outer side of the first rotating rod 551 (see Figs. 12A-B).
Specifically, Lo teaches at FIG. 5 a schematic diagram illustrating a microtube operating system 1 according to one embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment, the microtube operating system 1 also includes an operating component 150 in addition to the column container 110, the sealing cap 120, and the collecting tube 130 of the microtube assembly 10 described above. The operating component 150 is configured to fix the sealing cap 120, and the operating component 150 screws the sealing cap 120 on the end of the column container 110 to seal the opening 112 or detaching the sealing cap 120 from the column container 110 in a rotating manner. In this embodiment, as shown in FIG. 5, the operating component 150 is a robot arm 151. In practice, the robot arm 151 may be multi-axis, rotatable and include a clamping structure (such as a 2-finger or 3-finger gripper). The clamping structure of the robot arm 151 can be designed according to the shape of the sealing cap 120.configured to move the microtubes (see para [0043] throughout the system. Lo also discloses a plurality of rotating rods 561. See FIG. 13 which is an exploded diagram illustrating the microtube operating system 6 according to one embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment, the microtube operating system 6 includes a plurality of revolving rods 651, and the revolving rods 651 are arranged in a raw. Furthermore, the revolving rods 651 can be configured on one moving device, and the revolving rods 651 can be rotated simultaneously or separately. Therefore, the microtube operating system 6 can seal, disassemble and move the microtube assembly 60 simultaneously, thereby improving efficiency and reducing time cost. It should be noted that the numbers of the revolving rods of the microtube operating system are not limited to six in the figure, and the number of the revolving rod can be one, two, three, four, five or more than six.
Lo does not explicitly teach a gantry comprising a second moving element, disposed on the first moving element and movable on the first moving element; a third moving element, disposed on the second moving element and movable on the second moving element; and a sliding block, disposed on the third moving element and movable on the third moving element, wherein the controller element is disposed on the sliding block moving component and electrically connected to the moving component; the first motor, disposed on the sliding block moving component and electrically connected to the controller element; a first rotating rod, axially connected to the first motor; a second motor, disposed on the sliding block moving component and electrically connected to the controller element; a second rotating rod, axially connected to the second motor. However, these types of x-y-z gantry systems are well known in the analytical art. Gwynn teaches a nucleic acid extraction system comprising the typical x-y-z moving components in Fig.15A-D. Similarly, Guan teaches a nucleic acid extraction system comprising the typical x-y-z moving components in Fig.6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have substituted the operating component 150 in Lo with the gantry system of Gwynn or Guan since they are multi-axis, rotatable and microtube moving elements which are known to provide reliable positioning of tube over a workbench. This is merely a routine and predictable and simple substitution of robotic arm in Lo with a gantry system of Gwynn or Guan where the combination of familiar elements in the gantry system with predictable results. The applicant is advised that the Supreme Court recently clarified that a claim can be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of known elements was obvious to try. In this regard, the Supreme Court explained that, "[w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill in the art has a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp." An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of the case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. Furthermore, the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR Int'l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 Sup. Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007) and see MPEP § 2143.
Regarding claim 9, modified Lo teaches a centrifuge device (see par [0038]), disposed corresponding to the moving device such that a microtube rack of the centrifuge device is within a movement range of the first rotating rod and the second rotating rod and electrically connected to the moving device. It is well known that centrifuge devices comprise a main body; a rotary motor, disposed on the main body; a rotating disk, axially connected to the rotary motor; and a microtube rack, pivotally connected to the rotating disk.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
E-mail communication Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
/P. Kathryn Wright/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798