DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed feature as recited in claims 5 and 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, lines 2-3, “a reference signal” has been recited twice. It is unclear whether they are the same or different from each other. If they are the same, the second appearance could be modified as --said reference signal-- or --the reference signal--. If they are different, the second appearance could be modified as –second reference signal--. Claim 9 includes the same ambiguity.
Regarding claim 4, it is unclear whether “a residual signal remaining after noise reduction” recited on line 3 is the same “a residual signal remaining after noise reduction” recited on line 4-5 of claim 1. If they are the same, the appearance in claim 3 could be modified to refer back to the first recitation. If they are different, the appearance in claim 3 could be modified to distinguish from claim 1. Claim 9 includes the same ambiguity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Feng et al. (US 20240203392 A1; hereafter Feng).
Regarding claim 1, Feng discloses (Fig. 4) a method of estimating active noise control (ANC) performance of a vehicle (102) performed by an active noise control (ANC) system, the method comprising:
performing, by a processor (including at least 426; [0078]), ANC by reproducing an acoustic signal (by 410) for reducing noise(e.g., as detected by 104 in Fig. 1) introduced from an outside to an inside of the vehicle (102) through a speaker (110 in Fig. 1, or 410 in Fig. 4), and receiving a residual signal (e(n)) remaining after noise reduction from a microphone (108 in Fig. 1, or 408 in Fig. 4);
generating (by 420) an estimation signal (y
s
^
(n)) for a control signal (y(n)) for controlling output of the speaker (410) such that the acoustic signal is reproduced during the ANC;
generating (by 462) an estimation signal (
D
^
(f)) for original noise (d(n)) before the ANC based on the residual signal (e(n)) and the estimation signal (y
s
^
(n)) for the control signal (y(n)); and
estimating noise reduction performance (464, 466) based on the estimation signal (
D
^
(f)) for the original noise (d(n)) and the residual signal (e(n)).
Regarding claim 2, Feng discloses that the estimation signal (
D
^
(f)) for the original noise (d(n)) is generated by summing (by 462) the residual signal (e(n)) and the estimation signal (y
s
^
(n)) for the control signal (y(n)).
Regarding claim 3, Feng discloses that the estimation signal (y
s
^
(n)) for the control signal (y(n)) is generated by a secondary path model filter (420) on the basis of an output signal (y(n)) of an active filter (426).
Regarding claim 4, Feng discloses that the output signal (y(n)) of the active filter (426) is generated by the active filter (426) based on a reference signal (x(n)) generated by an accelerometer (404, [0038]), a reference signal(x(n)) filtered by the secondary path model filter (420), and a residual signal (e(n)) remaining after noise reduction.
Claims 6-9 correspond to claims 1-4 discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng in view of Tani (US 20240071360 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Feng fails to show the subtraction. Feng teaches a specific type of performance estimation based on calculating a reduction ration ([0041]). One skilled in the art would have expected that other kind of noise reduction performance could be conducted. Tani teaches another type based on the calculation of difference (S55, [103]) of estimation signal for the original noise (signal calculated in S54) and the residual noise (signal calculated in S43). Tani further suggests that the noise reduction performance could be represented by a decibel (dB) ([0105]) which is an unit for sound pressure. This suggestion would have motivated one skilled in the art to perform that calculation in step S55 is based on the sound pressure level of the residual noise and the sound pressure level of the estimation signal for the original noise (S54). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Feng in view of Tani by generating a noise reduction effect based on sound pressure difference in order to be able to inform the user the ANC effect in decibel.
/PING LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695