DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: COMPONENT WITH ELASTIC COMPENSATING ELEMENT FOR MOTOR VEHICLE HEADLIGHT
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10,12, 13, 15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seiger, US 2010/0259946 A1 in view of Callens et al., US 2015/0233552 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Seiger discloses “A component for a motor vehicle headlight (1, Fig. 1), the component comprising: a carrier element (6, Fig. 1-3); and a component part (3, Fig. 1-2), wherein the carrier element has a receiving opening (¶ [0026] “O-shaped cutout) configured to receive the component part (seen in Fig. 1 and 3), wherein the receiving opening is delimited by an edge surface (seen in Fig. 3, on the inner surface), wherein the component part can be inserted into the receiving opening along an insertion direction and has a side surface (seen in Fig. 1 and 2), wherein the component part, when inserted into the receiving opening, is arranged relative to the receiving opening in an insertion position in which the side surface of the component part faces the edge surface of the receiving opening (seen in Fig. 1),
wherein, in the insertion position, a first side surface section of the side surface contacts a first edge surface section of the edge surface and a second side surface section of the side surface has a predetermined minimum distance from a second edge surface section of the edge surface (¶ [0015] “free minimum length”) , wherein the carrier element has a support element (7, Fig. 2-3), on which the component part rests at least in sections in the insertion position in order to be secured against displacement along the insertion direction beyond the insertion position (¶ [0026-0027]), wherein the component part has a first temperature in an initial state and a second temperature higher than the first temperature in an operating state (¶ [0003, 0009]), wherein the component is configured to keep the component part in the insertion position in the initial state and in the operating state, and wherein the component has at least one elastic compensating element (5, Fig. 2-3), which is arranged on a section of the second edge surface section of the edge surface opposite the first edge surface section (seen in Fig. 1 and 3), wherein the at least one elastic compensating element connects the second edge surface section of the edge surface to the second side surface section of the side surface of the component part (¶ [0015, 0026] the expansion joint 5 is in contact with the module 3 for it to be adjusted), wherein
the at least one elastic compensating element comprises a … material,
which is configured to apply a compensating force, in response to a thermal deformation of the component part, to the component part , wherein the compensating force acts along a direction opposite a thermal deformation direction of the component part, wherein the foam material forming at least one elastic compensating element is configured in such a way that its effective compensating force holds the component part substantially in the insertion position during a transition from the initial state to the operating state (¶ [0015,0026]).”
However, Seiger does not disclose “the at least one elastic compensating element comprises a foam material”.
Callens discloses a light emitting component with a carrier (27, Fig. 1C) and a component part (18, 20, 22, 23, 25, Fig. 1C), and an elastic compensating element (17, 19, 21, 24, 26, Fig. 1C) that can be made of foam (¶ [0013]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have the elastic compensating element, as taught by Seiger, be made of a foam material, such as taught by Callens. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have the elastic compensating element be made of foam, for it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 2, Seiger in view of Callens discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the at least one elastic compensating element (6) is configured to exert a restoring force opposite to the compensating force (F) on the component part (3) during a transition from the operating state to the initial state in order to hold the component part (3) in the insertion position during a transition from the operating state to the initial state (Seiger, ¶ [0027] “ If the compilation of light module 3 and retaining frame 6 increases in temperature, the expansion joint 5 will increase in temperature to the same or a similar degree. The increase in temperature can cause the light module 3 to tilt relative to the horizontal 4. This tilting can be caused by thermal expansion, either of the light module 3 itself, the retaining frame 6, the headlamp, or the headlamp fixture in the vehicle. Depending on what causes the light module 3 to tilt, the expansion joint 5 serves to compensate the tilting by also expanding in increased temperatures.”).”
Regarding claim 3, Seiger in view of Callens discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the component part and the carrier element are configured in such a way that in the initial state, the minimum distance is greater than a temperature-related relative change in length of the component part along at least one thermal expansion direction, which is oriented orthogonally to the insertion direction and lies within a main plane defining the receiving opening (seen in Seiger, Fig. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 4, Seiger in view of Callens discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “in the insertion position, the component part is inserted in the receiving opening in such a way that in the initial state, the minimum distance along the entire second edge surface section of the edge surface of the receiving opening is substantially the same (seen in Seiger, Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 5, Seiger in view of Callens discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the receiving opening (4) is configured as a through hole formed in the carrier element (Seiger, seen in Fig. 3)”
Regarding claim 6, Seiger in view of Callens discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the support element has at least two supporting projections, wherein the at least two supporting projections extend in the direction of a centre of the receiving opening, wherein in the insertion position, the component part contacts the at least two supporting projections in such a way that a complete penetration of the component part through the receiving opening is blocked (Seiger, 7, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Seiger in view of Callens discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the component part has a first material, which has a first thermal expansion coefficient, and the carrier element has a second material, which has a second thermal expansion coefficient different from the first thermal expansion coefficient such that during a transition from the initial state to the operating state, the thermal expansion of the component part is different, in particular greater, than the thermal expansion of the carrier element (Seiger, ¶ [0016, 0027] ).”
Regarding claim 8, Seiger in view of Callens discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the foam material comprises a material, which has a minimum adhesive force between the edge surface of the receiving opening and/or the side surface of the component part, wherein the minimum adhesive force enables adhesion of the foam material to the edge surface and/or to the side surface at least against the force of gravity (seen in Callens Fig. 1C, the material is bonded with adhesives to the surfaces (¶ [0013]), and for it to function as taught, it has to be enough to overcome gravity).”
Regarding claim 10, Seiger in view of Callens discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the second edge surface section of the edge surface has a recess in which the at least one elastic compensating element is accommodated at least in sections (seen in Seiger, Fig. 3, the corner of the opening is a recess and the compensating element is accommodated there).”
Regarding claim 12, Seiger in view of Callens discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “A motor vehicle headlight, comprising a component according to claim 1 (Seiger, ¶ [0001]).”
Regarding claim 13, Seiger discloses “A method for producing a component , wherein the method has the following steps:
a) providing a component (1, Fig. 1) , comprising a carrier element (6, Fig. 1-3) and a component part (3, Fig. 1-2) inserted therein, wherein the carrier element has a receiving opening (¶ [0026] “O-shaped cutout”) configured to receive the component part, wherein the receiving opening is delimited by an edge surface (seen in Fig. 1-3), wherein the component part has a side surface and can be inserted into the receiving opening along an insertion direction (seen in Fig. 1-3), wherein the component part has a first temperature in an initial state and a second temperature higher than the first temperature in an operating state, wherein the component is configured to keep the component part in the insertion position in the initial state and in the operating state (¶ [0003, 0009]) ;
b) applying, by means of a feed device (implied due to the assembly), at least one elastic compensating element (5, Fig. 2-3) to a second edge surface section of the edge surface of the receiving opening, wherein the at least one elastic compensating element comprises a … material, … and
c) inserting the component part into the receiving opening, along the insertion direction, into an insertion position, wherein, in the insertion position, a first side surface section of the side surface contacts a first edge surface section of the edge surface opposite the second edge surface section and a second side surface section of the side surface has a predetermined minimum distance from the second edge surface section of the edge surface (seen in Fig. 1-2), wherein, in the inserted state, the at least one elastic compensating element connects the second edge surface section of the edge surface of the receiving opening to the second side surface section of the component part, wherein the carrier element has a support element (7, Fig. 1-3), on which the component part rests at least in sections in the insertion position in order to be secured against displacement along the insertion direction beyond the insertion position, wherein the … material is configured to apply a compensating force, in response to a thermal deformation of the component part, to the component part, wherein the compensating force acts along a direction opposite a thermal deformation direction of the component part, wherein the material forming the at least one elastic compensating element is configured in such a way that its effective compensating force holds the component part, in the insertion position during a transition from the initial state to the operating state (¶ [0015,0026-0027).”
However, Seiger does not disclose the elastic compensating element is a foam material and wherein the foam material is in a plastic state during application by means of the feed device and hardens after its application in order to form the at least one elastic compensating element.
Callens discloses a light emitting component with a carrier (27, Fig. 1C) and a component part (18, 20, 22, 23, 25, Fig. 1C), and an elastic compensating element (17, 19, 21, 24, 26, Fig. 1C) that can be made of foam (¶ [0013]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have the elastic compensating element, as taught by Seiger, be made of a foam material, such as taught by Callens. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have the elastic compensating element be made of foam, for it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 15, Seiger in view of Callen discloses the invention of claim 13, as cited above, and further discloses “the second edge surface section of the edge surface of the receiving opening has a recess, wherein the feed device is configured, in order to form the at least one elastic compensating element according to step b), to insert the plastic foam material into the recess (seen in Seiger, Fig. 3, the corner of the opening is a recess and the compensating element is accommodated there).”
Regarding claim 17, Seiger in view of Callen discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the foam material is elastic and curable (Callen, ¶ [0013]).”
Regarding claim 18, Seiger in view of Callen discloses the invention of claim 4, as cited above, and further discloses “the minimum distance is defined as an orthogonal distance between the second side surface section of the side surface of the component part and the second edge surface section of the edge surface of the receiving opening (seen in Seiger Fig. 1-2, there is a minimum distance between the component part and the opening edge).
Regarding claim 19, Seiger in view of Callen discloses the invention of claim 6, as cited above, and further discloses “the at least two supporting projections are arranged on opposite sides of the receiving opening (seen in Seiger Fig. 3, the supporting projections 7 are opposing).
Regarding claim 20, Seiger in view of Callen discloses the invention of claim 13, as cited above, and further discloses “the foam material of the at least one elastic compensating element applied in step (b) is elastic and curable (Callen, ¶ [0013]).”
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seiger in view of Callen and further in view of Kim, US 2023/0055879 A1.
Regarding claim 16, Seiger in view of Callen discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, except “the component part is a DMD element.”
Kim discloses a vehicle headlight that uses a DMD element (¶ [0004]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have the headlight, as taught by Seiger, use a DMD element, such as taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a DMD element for performing a high-resolution advanced driving beam (ADB) function which can avoid dazzling oncoming drivers (Kim, ¶ [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9, 11, 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 9 recites, inter alia, A component for a motor vehicle headlight with a carrier element and a component element, and the carrier element has a foam elastic compensating element that acts along a direction opposite a thermal deformation direction of the component part, wherein the foam material forming at least one elastic compensating element is configured in such a way that its effective compensating force holds the component part substantially in the insertion position during a transition from the initial state to the operating state, and “the carrier element has at least one insertion opening, which is arranged on an outer surface of the carrier element facing away from the edge surface of the receiving opening and extends from the outer surface to the edge surface, wherein the at least one elastic compensating element can be inserted via the insertion opening towards the component part, wherein the foam material is configured in such a way that it can be introduced into the insertion opening in a feed state with a feed device, wherein the foam material is plastic before and during feeding and can be hardened after feeding, wherein the hardened foam material forms the at least one elastic compensating element.”
The references of record do not teach or suggest the aforementioned limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify those references to include such limitations.
Claim 11 recites, inter alia, A component for a motor vehicle headlight with a carrier element and a component element, and the carrier element has a foam elastic compensating element that acts along a direction opposite a thermal deformation direction of the component part, wherein the foam material forming at least one elastic compensating element is configured in such a way that its effective compensating force holds the component part substantially in the insertion position during a transition from the initial state to the operating state, and “the second edge surface section of the edge surface has a further elastic compensating element at each of two opposite further sections, wherein the two further sections of the second edge surface section each have a recess in which a further elastic compensating element is accommodated at least in sections, or each have a further insertion opening, via which foam material can be fed to form the elastic compensating elements.”
The references of record do not teach or suggest the aforementioned limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify those references to include such limitations.
Claim 14 is allowed for similar reasons as claim 9
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Erbe, US 9482842 B2 discloses an optical assembly mount with thermal dependent force compensation
Erbe et al., US 2015/0055233 A1 discloses an optical assembly mount
Sato, US 2011/0096314 A1 discloses an optical assembly mount that accounts for different linear expansion coefficients
/MICHAEL CHIANG/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/TRACIE Y GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875