DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noel (US 2008/0217937).
Noel discloses a vehicle front structure comprises a fender flange (20) that is part of a front fender panel (10) and that projects inward in a vehicle width direction from an upper edge of an aesthetic surface (12) of the front fender panel (10), as shown in Figure 1. An object component (22) is disposed lower than the fender flange (20) in a vehicle vertical direction, as shown in Figure 1. The object component (22) has a fastening portion, as shown in Figure 1.
A bracket (24) connects the fender flange (20) and the object component (22), as shown in Figure 1. The bracket (24) includes a bend portion (32,36,41) that extends in a first direction, outward, in the vehicle width direction and then bends to extend in an opposite direction, inward, in the vehicle width direction as the bracket (24) continues upward, as shown in Figure 1. The lower branch (36) extends outward and the upper branch (32) extends inward, as shown in Figure 1. Lower portion (36) extends in the first direction and the upper portion (32) extends in the opposite direction, as shown in Figure 1. The fastening portion is fastened to the bracket (24) at element (38), as shown in Figure 1. The bracket (24) forms a closed space with itself. The bracket (24) does not form a closed space with the object component (22) when viewed from the front of the vehicle, as shown in Figure 1.
In reference to claim 7, the bracket (24) includes a bent portion formed by elements (32,36,41) and a second bent portion (44,46,47), as shown in Figure 1. This meets the limitation of a plurality of bent portions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noel (US 2008/0217937) in view of JP 2020082859.
Noel discloses the bracket (24) includes a bend portion (32,36,41) that extends in a direction toward one side in the vehicle width direction while extending toward a vehicle-upward side and then turns back in a direction toward an opposite side in the vehicle width direction while extending toward the vehicle upward side. The lower branch (36) extends outward and the upper branch (32) extends inward, as shown in Figure 1.
However, Noel does not disclose the object component is a lamp unit and the fastening portion is a lamp stay.
JP 2020082859 teaches a lamp unit (33) with a lamp stay (43) is erected from an upper face of the lamp unit (33), as shown in Figure 4. The lamp stay (43) is attached to a bracket (50). The bracket (50) is attached to a flange (44) of the fender (11), as shown in Figures 1-4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach a lamp unit to the bracket of Noel through a lamp stay erected from an upper face of the lamp unit, as taught by JP 2020082859, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide a headlight for driving at night that connects to existing structure to minimize parts and weight.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has argued Noel does not disclose the newly claimed limitations of claim 1. The examiner disagrees because the bracket does not form a closed shape with the object component when viewed from the front of the vehicle, as shown in Figure 1. The bracket has a closed shape without the object component.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 June 8, 2026