DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner has thoroughly reviewed applicant’s arguments but firmly believes the cited reference to reasonably and properly meet the claimed limitations i.e. that “wherein the data schema includes two or more CICs”. Examiner respectfully direct the Application to Fig. 5, Schaff et al where discloses that receiving (501) a first signaling message for a special service call that indicates a special service number. The special service number is processed (502) to determine (505) a first carrier identity and a responsible organization (RespOrg) for a routing database system. The RespOrg is processed to select (503) a second carrier identity. A second signaling message is transferred (504) that indicates second carrier identity to a communication node which processes the second carrier identity to route the special service call to the RespOrg.
In col. 2, lines 47-67, Schaff et al discloses that call processing system 130 processes the special service number to determine a first carrier identity and an organization identity for a responsible organization. The first carrier identity may correspond to a Carrier Identification Code (CIC) for the wireless or wireline communication network that receives the special service call (the originating network) or some other technique for conveying the identity of a communication enterprise. The responsible organization is responsible for a routing database system for the special service number. The organization identity could be a RespOrg corresponding to the responsible organization or some other technique for conveying the identity of the responsible organization. The routing database system could be a service control point (SCP), application server, computer system, and the like. Call processing system 130 then processes the organization identity for the responsible organization to select a second carrier identity. The second carrier identity may correspond to a CIC for the responsible organization, a wireless or wireline communication network, or may correspond to some other technique for conveying the identity of a communication enterprise and systems may indicate the first CIC or select a second CIC base on the RespOrg.
Additionally, the examiner has given the claim language its broadest reasonable interpretation. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant always has the opportunity to amend the claims during prosecution, and broad interpreted by the examiner reduces the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969).
Therefore, the previous rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vigen (US 10116803 B1) in view of Schaff et al (US 9247043 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Vigen discloses, a telecommunications network comprising:
at least one application server for receiving communications from a plurality of telecommunication networks, the at least one application server comprising instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor (col. 4, lines 50-67), perform the operations of:
receiving, from an end office, an incoming communication comprising a dialed telephone number associated with a client of the telecommunications network and without a carrier identification code (col. 5, lines1-24, col. 6, lines 6-21, TF number);
obtaining the dialed telephone number from the incoming communication (col. 5, lines1-24, col. 6, lines 6-21);
requesting information from a CIC data source (col. 5, lines 1-24, col. 6, lines 6- 21, the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number);
receiving a data schema associated with the dialed telephone number (col. 5, lines 1-24, col. 6, lines 6-25, the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number. The routing server also queries an auxiliary routing database for a routing code or a plurality of routing codes, such as additional CIC(s) or Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) of the
target telephony station, the routing server obtains CICs associated with the TF call, the routing server routes the TF call);
analyzing the data schema (col. 5, lines 1-24, col. 6, lines 6-40, and col. 8, lines 16-26, determining how to route the TF call and routing the TF call to an access tandem or VoIP Service Provider that will forward the call over a network to the target telephony station and the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number. The routing server also queries an auxiliary routing database for a routing code or a plurality of routing codes, such as additional CIC(s) or Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) of the target telephony station);
determining a CIC to associate with the dialed telephone number based on the analysis of the data schema, wherein the determined CIC is determined based on two or more factors in the data schema (col. 5, lines 1-24, col. 6, lines 6-40, determining how to route the TF call and routing the TF call to an access tandem or VoIP Service Provider that will forward the call over a network to the target telephony station and the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number. The routing server also queries an auxiliary routing database for a routing code or a plurality of routing codes, such as additional CIC(s) or Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) of the target telephony station);;
identifying a destination device of the client of the telecommunication network based at least on the dialed telephone number and the determined CIC, the destination device in communication with at least one of the plurality of telecommunication networks (col. 5, lines 1-24, col. 6, lines 6-40, determining how to route the TF call and routing the TF call to an access tandem or VoIP Service Provider that will forward the call over a network to the target telephony station and the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number. The routing server also queries an auxiliary routing database for a routing code or a plurality of routing codes, such as additional CIC(s) or Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) of the target telephony station); and
transmitting the incoming communication to the destination device of the client of the telecommunication network through the at least one of the plurality of telecommunication networks (col. 5, lines 1-45, col. 6, lines 6-40, col. 7, lines, 52-62, determining how to route the TF call and routing the TF call to an access tandem or VoIP Service Provider that will forward the call over a network to the target telephony station and the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number. The routing server also queries an auxiliary routing database for a routing code or a plurality of routing codes, such as additional CIC(s) or Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) of the target telephony station).
Vigen does not specifically disclose, wherein the database schema includes two or more CICs.
In the same field of endeavor, Schaff et al discloses, wherein the database schema includes two or more CICs (col. 3, lines 16-60, translation of a CIC based on a RespOrg code. The communication switching system receives the special service call indicating a special service number, here 1-800-yyy-xxxx. The special service number is then processed to determine a corresponding RespOrg code of ABCD. Once determined, the RespOrg is then used to select a second CIC of 1234. In alternative examples, other systems may already indicate the first CIC and/or the RespOrg along with the special service number when transferring the call to the communication switching system.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Vigen by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the communication switching system routes the toll-free call to respective destination based on the resulting carrier identification code (CIC). The communication switching system routes the special service call to the entity based on the selected carrier identity as taught by Schaff et al.
Regarding claims 2, 13, Vigen discloses, wherein the incoming communication is a toll-free communication (col. 5, lines 1-45, col. 6, lines 6-40, determining how to route the TF call and routing the toll-free call and also see claim 1).
Regarding claims 3, 14, Vigen discloses, wherein the determined CIC is associated with a first network of the plurality of telecommunication networks (fig. 3, (col. 5, lines 1-45, col. 6, lines 6-40, determining how to route the TF call and routing the TF call to an access tandem or VoIP Service Provider that will forward the call over a network to the target telephony station and the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number. The routing server also queries an auxiliary routing database for a routing code or a plurality of routing codes, such as additional CIC(s) or Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) of the target telephony station and also see claim 1).
Regarding claims 4, 16 Vigen discloses, wherein the determined CIC is determined based at least on an originating area for the incoming communication (col. 5, lines 1-45, col. 6, lines 6-40, determining how to route the TF call and routing the TF call to an access tandem or VoIP Service Provider that will forward the call over a network to the target telephony station and the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number. The routing server also queries an auxiliary routing database for a routing code or a plurality of routing codes, such as additional CIC(s) or Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) of the target telephony station and also see claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Vigen discloses, wherein the determined CIC is determined based at least on a typical percent allocation (col. 4, lines 1-7, The ingress CO could route the non-TF call locally through its own switch to the target telephony station if such target telephony station is local and serviced by the ingress CO. Alternately the ingress CO could send the non-TF call via a sector tandem to another CO located in the same local access and transport area (“LATA”) in which the caller is located for delivery to the target telephony station if the target telephony station is located in such LATA. For a long distance non-TF call the ingress CO sends the non-TF call via an access tandem to a CO outside of the LATA for delivery to the target telephony station and also see claim 1).
Regarding claims 6, 11, 17 Vigen discloses, wherein the determined CIC is determined based at least on a local access and transport area (LATA) or zone-based information (col. 4, lines 1-7, col. 5, lines 1-45, col. 6, lines 6-40, The ingress CO could route the non-TF call locally through its own switch to the target telephony station if such target telephony station is local and serviced by the ingress CO. Alternately the ingress CO could send the non-TF call via a sector tandem to another CO located in the same local access and transport area (“LATA”) in which the caller is located for delivery to the target telephony station if the target telephony station is located in such LATA. For a long distance non-TF call the ingress CO sends the non-TF call via an access tandem to a CO outside of the LATA for delivery to the target telephony station and also see claim 1).
Regarding claims 8, 10, Vigen discloses, a feature server of a telecommunications network comprising:
a network interface to receive a plurality of incoming communications from a plurality of telecommunication networks, at least one incoming communication, received from an end office, comprising a dialed telephone number associated with a client of the telecommunications network and without a carrier identification code (col. 5, lines1-24, col. 6, lines 6-21, TF number);
a processing device to: obtain the dialed telephone number from the incoming communication (col. 5, lines 1-24, col. 6, lines 6- 21, the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number);
request information from a CIC data source associated with the dialed telephone number (col. 5, lines 1-24, col. 6, lines 6- 21, the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number);
receive a data schema associated with the dialed telephone number (col. 5, lines 1-24, col. 6, lines 6-25, the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number. The routing server also queries an auxiliary routing database for a routing code or a plurality of routing codes, such as additional CIC(s) or Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) of the
target telephony station, the routing server obtains CICs associated with the TF call, the routing server routes the TF call);
analyze the data schema; determine a CIC to associate with the dialed telephone number based on the analysis of the data schema, wherein the determined CIC is determined based on two or more factors in the data schema (col. 5, lines 1-24, col. 6, lines 6-25, the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number. The routing server also queries an auxiliary routing database for a routing code or a plurality of routing codes, such as additional CIC(s) or Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) of the
target telephony station, the routing server obtains CICs associated with the TF call, the routing server routes the TF call);
associate the determined CIC with the at least one incoming communication, and wherein the processing device is in communication with a routing table database comprising a correlation of the dialed telephone number and the determined CIC from the at least one incoming communication with a destination device of the client of the telecommunication network (col. 5, lines 1-24, col. 6, lines 6-25, the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number. The routing server also queries an auxiliary routing database for a routing code or a plurality of routing codes, such as additional CIC(s) or Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) of the
target telephony station, the routing server obtains CICs associated with the TF call, the routing server routes the TF call);
identify the destination device of the client of the telecommunication network based at least on the dialed telephone number and the determined CIC (col. 5, lines 1-24, col. 6, lines 6-25, the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number. The routing server also queries an auxiliary routing database for a routing code or a plurality of routing codes, such as additional CIC(s) or Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) of the
target telephony station, the routing server obtains CICs associated with the TF call, the routing server routes the TF call); and
a transmitting component for transmitting the at least one incoming communication to the destination device of the client of the telecommunication network through at least one of the plurality of telecommunication networks (col. 5, lines 1-24, col. 6, lines 6-25, the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number. The routing server also queries an auxiliary routing database for a routing code or a plurality of routing codes, such as additional CIC(s) or Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) of the
target telephony station, the routing server obtains CICs associated with the TF call, the routing server routes the TF call).
Vigen does not specifically disclose, wherein the database schema includes two or more CICs.
In the same field of endeavor, Schaff et al discloses, wherein the database schema includes two or more CICs (col. 3, lines 16-60, translation of a CIC based on a RespOrg code. The communication switching system receives the special service call indicating a special service number, here 1-800-yyy-xxxx. The special service number is then processed to determine a corresponding RespOrg code of ABCD. Once determined, the RespOrg is then used to select a second CIC of 1234. In alternative examples, other systems may already indicate the first CIC and/or the RespOrg along with the special service number when transferring the call to the communication switching system.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Vigen by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the communication switching system routes the toll-free call to respective destination based on the resulting carrier identification code (CIC). The communication switching system routes the special service call to the entity based on the selected carrier identity as taught by Schaff et al.
Regarding claim 12, Vigen discloses, a method for operating a telecommunications network, the method comprising:
receiving an incoming communication, from an end office, at an application server for receiving communications from a plurality of telecommunication networks, the incoming communication comprising a dialed telephone number associated with a client of the telecommunications network and without a carrier identification code (col. 5, lines1-24, col. 6, lines 6-21, TF number);
obtaining the dialed telephone number from the incoming communication (col. 5, lines 1-24, col. 6, lines 6- 21, the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number);
requesting information from a CIC data source associated with the dialed telephone number (col. 5, lines 1-24, col. 6, lines 6- 21, the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number);
receiving a data schema associated with the dialed telephone number, wherein the data schema includes two or more CICs associated with the dialed telephone number (col. 5, lines 1-24, col. 6, lines 6-25, the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number. The routing server also queries an auxiliary routing database for a routing code or a plurality of routing codes, such as additional CIC(s) or Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) of the
target telephony station, the routing server obtains CICs associated with the TF call, the routing server routes the TF call);
analyzing the data schema (col. 5, lines 1-24, col. 6, lines 6-25, the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number. The routing server also queries an auxiliary routing database for a routing code or a plurality of routing codes, such as additional CIC(s) or Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) of the
target telephony station, the routing server obtains CICs associated with the TF call, the routing server routes the TF call);
determining one of the two or more CICs to associate with the dialed telephone number based on the analysis of two or more factors in the data schema; associating the determined CIC with the incoming communication (col. 5, lines 1-24, col. 6, lines 6-25, the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number. The routing server also queries an auxiliary routing database for a routing code or a plurality of routing codes, such as additional CIC(s) or Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) of the
target telephony station, the routing server obtains CICs associated with the TF call, the routing server routes the TF call);
identifying a destination device of the client of the telecommunication network based at least on the dialed telephone number and the determined CIC, the destination device in communication with at least one of the plurality of telecommunication networks (col. 5, lines 1-24, col. 6, lines 6-25, the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number. The routing server also queries an auxiliary routing database for a routing code or a plurality of routing codes, such as additional CIC(s) or Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) of the
target telephony station, the routing server obtains CICs associated with the TF call, the routing server routes the TF call); and
transmitting the incoming communication to the destination device of the client of the telecommunication network through the at least one of the plurality of telecommunication networks (col. 5, lines 1-24, col. 6, lines 6-25, the routing server determines the call is a TF call, the routing server queries the SMS/800 database via a SCP 410. The SMS/800 database, via the SCP, returns to the routing server the CIC associated with the TF number. The routing server also queries an auxiliary routing database for a routing code or a plurality of routing codes, such as additional CIC(s) or Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) of the
target telephony station, the routing server obtains CICs associated with the TF call, the routing server routes the TF call).
Vigen does not specifically disclose, wherein the database schema includes two or more CICs.
In the same field of endeavor, Schaff et al discloses, wherein the database schema includes two or more CICs (col. 3, lines 16-60, translation of a CIC based on a RespOrg code. The communication switching system receives the special service call indicating a special service number, here 1-800-yyy-xxxx. The special service number is then processed to determine a corresponding RespOrg code of ABCD. Once determined, the RespOrg is then used to select a second CIC of 1234. In alternative examples, other systems may already indicate the first CIC and/or the RespOrg along with the special service number when transferring the call to the communication switching system.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Vigen by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the communication switching system routes the toll-free call to respective destination based on the resulting carrier identification code (CIC). The communication switching system routes the special service call to the entity based on the selected carrier identity as taught by Schaff et al.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643