DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “the first and second protrusions are respectively arranged on a first side and a second side, which are opposite to each other, of a protrusion member arranged at positions spaced apart from each other along a length of the bus bar” where it’s unclear if claim 7 means to define additional first and second protrusions spaced apart along a length of the bus bar or is still referencing the first and second protrusions recited in claim 4. As such, the scope of claim 4 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 12 recites “first electrodes” but claim 11 from which claim 12 depends defines “electrodes” also formed at central positions of the first and second groups of battery cells where it’s unclear if the first electrodes are referring to the electrodes of claim 11 or are new electrodes. As such, the scope of claim 12 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 13 recites “first electrodes” but claim 11 from which claim 13 depends defines “electrodes” where it’s unclear if the first electrodes are referring to the electrodes of claim 11 or are new electrodes. As such, the scope of claim 13 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claims 13 and 14 each recited “the bus bar” but claim 9 from which claims 13 and 14 depend defines plural bus bars and as such it’s unclear which bus bar of the plurality of bus bars is being referenced in claims 13 and 14. As such, the scope of claims 13 and 14 cannot be reasonably determined and are rendered indefinite.
Claim 15 recites “the protrusion is provided in pairs formed in the curved sections that face each other” where it’s unclear what is being referenced by “curved sections that face each other” as curved sections that face each other was not previously defined in a claim from which claim 15 depends and given that multiple bus bars are previously defined each with multiple curved sections, it’s unclear which curved sections are being referenced to face each other. As such, the scope of claim 15 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 16 recites “first and second electrodes arranged at a first end of each of the battery cells … and the first and second electrodes are connected to the bus bar” makes it unclear which first and second electrodes of which battery cells are connected to the bus bar. As written claim 16 can be taken as claiming the first and second electrodes of the same battery cell are connected to the same bus bar which would result in a short of the battery cell that can be dangerous. If applicant means the first electrode of one battery and the second electrode of another battery are connected to the bus bar for a series connection, then claim 16 should be clarified to recite such an arrangement. As such, the scope of claim 15 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 16 recites “first and second electrodes arranged at a first end of each of the battery cells are exposed to an outside of the cell holder through first and second electrode holes formed in the cell holder” where it’s not clear if the first and second electrode holes formed in the cell holder are formed for each first and second electrode of each battery cell or if the same first and second electrode holes are for multiple first or second electrodes. As such, the scope of claim 15 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 16 recites “the second electrode is arranged at another end of the battery cell, from among the first and second electrodes” but Fig. 1 of applicants drawings depicts the first electrode (E1) and second electrode (E2) at the same end of the battery, but with the second electrode at an edge relative the central first electrode (E1). It’s not clear if claim 16 means “another end of the battery cell” as an opposite end or as the edge or peripheral area of the same end where the first electrode is disposed. As such, the scope of claim 16 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claims 17-20 are also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 16.
Claim 19 recites “each of the protrusions” where it’s unclear what additional protrusions are being referenced as the claims from which claim 19 depends only recite “a protrusion”. As such, the scope of claim 19 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 20 is also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwag (US 2020/0112007A1).
Regarding claim 1 Kwag discloses a battery pack comprising:
a cell holder to which a plurality of battery cells are assembled ([0050] Fig. 1 see: case 100 including first cover 100a holding plurality of battery cells 10); and
a bus bar assembly comprising a bus bar electrically connecting the plurality of battery cells to each other ([0063], Figs. 2-5 see: first tab plate 110a electrically connecting end portions of battery cells 10a and 10b together), and a protrusion protruding from the bus bar to at least a portion of a thickness of the cell holder ([0070]-[0074], Figs. 2-5 see: first tab plate 110a includes first and second contact portions C1 and C2 protruding toward the first end portions 11 of the first and second battery cells 10a and 10b through terminal holes 101’ in first cover 100a), wherein the plurality of battery cells is arranged on a first side of the cell holder, and the bus bar assembly is located on a second side of the cell holder opposite the first side of the cell holder ([0070]-[0074], Figs. 2-5 see: first tab plate 110a arranged on one side of first cover 100a and battery cells 10 located on an opposite side).
Regarding claim 2 Kwag discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of battery cells is arranged on the first side of the cell holder, and the protrusion protrudes from the bus bar located on the second side of the cell holder to at least a portion of the thickness of the cell holder ([0070]-[0074], Figs. 2-5 see: first tab plate 110a includes first and second contact portions C1 and C2 protruding toward the first end portions 11 of the first and second battery cells 10a and 10b through terminal holes 101’ in first cover 100a).
Regarding claim 3 Kwag discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 2, wherein the protrusion passes through the cell holder and is exposed via a lower surface of the cell holder opposite the bus bar ([0070]-[0074], Figs. 2 and 4 see: first and second contact portions C1 and C2 protruding through terminal holes 101’ and are exposed at the other side to contact the first end portions 11 of the first and second battery cells 10a and 10b).
Regarding claim 8 Kwag discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of battery cells are configured such that a column of battery cells are arranged in a column direction and a plurality of columns of battery cells are arranged in a row direction crossing the column direction (See Fig. 1), and the battery cells in columns adjacent to each other in the row direction are alternately arranged with each other at front and rear positions in the column direction (See Fig. 1 columns of first and second battery cells 10a and 10b are staggered).
Claims 1-3, and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee’130 (KR 20220163130A, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1 Lee’130 discloses a battery pack comprising:
a cell holder to which a plurality of battery cells are assembled (Pages 2-3 of translation, Figs. 1-2 see: cell holders 20 having shared holders 200 with a plurality of secondary battery cells 10); and
a bus bar assembly comprising a bus bar electrically connecting the plurality of battery cells to each other (Pages 4 and 7 of translation, Figs. 1-3 and 7 see: bus bars 30 for electrically connecting cells 10), and a protrusion protruding from the bus bar to at least a portion of a thickness of the cell holder (Pages 4 and 7 of translation, Fig. 7 see: wires 60 or 62 protruding from bus bars 30 down through portions of shared holders 200 to contact cells 10 ), wherein the plurality of battery cells is arranged on a first side of the cell holder, and the bus bar assembly is located on a second side of the cell holder opposite the first side of the cell holder (Pages 4 and 7 of translation, Figs. 1, 3-4 see: bus bars 30 arranged on one side of first fixing frame 202a of shared holders 200 and cells 10 extending to a second side of first fixing frame 202a of shared holders 200).
Regarding claim 2 Lee’130 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of battery cells is arranged on the first side of the cell holder, and the protrusion protrudes from the bus bar located on the second side of the cell holder to at least a portion of the thickness of the cell holder (Pages 4 and 7 of translation, Figs. 1, and 7 see: wires 60 or 62 protruding from bus bars 30 down through portions of shared holders 200 to contact cells 10).
Regarding claim 3 Lee’130 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 2, wherein the protrusion passes through the cell holder and is exposed via a lower surface of the cell holder opposite the bus bar (Pages 4 and 7 of translation, Fig. 7 see: wires 60 or 62 protruding from bus bars 30 down through portions of shared holders 200 to contact cells 10).
Regarding claim 8 Lee’130 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of battery cells are configured such that a column of battery cells (10) are arranged in a column direction (Figs. 1-2, y-axis direction) and a plurality of columns of battery cells are arranged in a row direction (Figs. 1-2, x-axis direction) crossing the column direction, and the battery cells (10) in columns adjacent to each other in the row direction are alternately arranged with each other at front and rear positions in the column direction (Figs. 1-2 see: adjacent columns of battery cells 10 extending in the y-axis direction are staggered).
Regarding claim 9 Lee’130 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 8, wherein the bus bar is provided in plural to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells to each other (Figs. 1-2 and 7 see: plurality of bus bars 30 connecting cells 10 together), and the plural bus bars are adjacent to each other in the column direction (Figs. 1-2 and 7 see: bus bars 30 adjacent to each other in the y-axis direction) and each of the bus bars extends between a first group of battery cells arranged in the row direction and a second group of battery cells arranged in the row direction (Figs. 2 and 7 see: each bus bar 30 extends between adjacent rows of cells 10 extending along x-axis direction).
Regarding claim 10 Lee’130 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 9, wherein each of the first and second groups of battery cells comprises battery cells in odd-numbered columns and battery cells in even-numbered columns which are alternately arranged in the row direction (Fig. 2 see: each row of cells 10 includes alternately arranged cells 10 of the columns extending in the y-direction).
Regarding claim 11 Lee’130 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of bus bars extends in a zigzag pattern (Figs. 1-3 and 7 see: bus bars 30 have a wavy (zigzag) pattern) while forming curved sections around outer circumferential surfaces of electrodes respectively formed at central positions of the first and second groups of battery cells (Figs. 1-3 and 7 see: bus bars 30 curve around the circumference of cap assembly 102 (electrode) of each cell 10).
Regarding claim 12 Lee’130 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 11, wherein the curved sections surround outer circumferential surfaces of first electrodes respectively formed at central positions of the first and second groups of battery cells or surround outer circumferential surfaces of first electrode holes respectively formed in the cell holder to expose the first electrodes (Figs. 2-4 see: curves of bus bars 30 surround the circumference of cap assembly 102 and openings formed by insertion part 204 of the shared holders 200).
Regarding claim 13 Lee’130 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 11, wherein the curved sections adjacent to each other along a length of the bus bar surround an outer circumferential surface of a first electrode at a rear position and an outer circumferential surface of a first electrode at a front position, which are opposite to each other in the column direction, among the outer circumferential surfaces of the first electrodes of the first and second groups of battery cells (Figs. 2-4 see: adjacent curves of bus bars 30 surround the circumference of cap assembly 102 of each of a front and rear positioned cell 10).
Regarding claim 14 Lee’130 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 11, wherein the protrusion is arranged in each of the curved sections of the bus bar (Figs. 1, and 7 see: wires 60 or 62 protruding from bus bars 30 at their curved portions).
Regarding claim 15 Lee’130 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 14, wherein the protrusion is provided in pairs formed in the curved sections that face each other and surround the electrode of each of the plurality of battery cells (Pages 4 and 7 of translation, Fig. 7 see: wires 60 or 62 protruding from bus bars 30 in pairs at the curved sections surrounding the cells 10 and their respective cap assembly 102).
Claims 1-3, and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee’131 (KR 20220163131A, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1 Lee’131 discloses a battery pack comprising:
a cell holder to which a plurality of battery cells are assembled (Pages 2-3 of translation, Figs. 1-2 see: holder 20 with common holders 200 holding secondary battery cells 10); and
a bus bar assembly comprising a bus bar electrically connecting the plurality of battery cells to each other (Pages 4-5 of translation, Figs. 1-4 and 8 see: first bus bar 30 (or second bus bar 32 with 320a, 322a) electrically connecting to cells 10 by first connection portion 30a or second connection portion 30b), and a protrusion protruding from the bus bar to at least a portion of a thickness of the cell holder (Pages 4-5 of translation, Figs. 1-4 and 8 see: either of first connection portion 30a or second connection portion 30b protruding from first bus bar 30 (or second bus bar 32 with 320a, 322a) down into common holders 200 to contact the cells 10), wherein the plurality of battery cells is arranged on a first side of the cell holder, and the bus bar assembly is located on a second side of the cell holder opposite the first side of the cell holder (Pages 4-5 of translation, Figs. 1-4 and 8 see: first bus bar 30 extends over a top surface of common holders 200 and cells 10 extend to an opposite second surface).
Regarding claim 2 Lee’131 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of battery cells is arranged on the first side of the cell holder, and the protrusion protrudes from the bus bar located on the second side of the cell holder to at least a portion of the thickness of the cell holder (Pages 4-5 of translation, Figs. 1-4 and 8 see: first bus bar 30 (or second bus bar 32 with 320a, 322a) extends over a top surface of common holders 200 and cells 10 extend to an opposite second surface with connection portion 30a and second connection portion 30b protruding from first bus bar 30 down into common holders 200 to contact the cells 10).
Regarding claim 3 Lee’131 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 2, wherein the protrusion passes through the cell holder and is exposed via a lower surface of the cell holder opposite the bus bar (Pages 4-5 of translation, Figs. 1-4 and 8 see: connection portion 30a and second connection portion 30b (or 320a, 322a) protruding from first bus bar 30 (or 32a) down into common holders 200 and exposed to contact the cells 10.
Regarding claim 8 Lee’131 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of battery cells are configured such that a column of battery cells are arranged in a column direction (Figs. 1-3, y-direction) and a plurality of columns of battery cells are arranged in a row direction (Figs. 1-3, x-direction) crossing the column direction, and the battery cells (10) in columns adjacent to each other in the row direction are alternately arranged with each other at front and rear positions in the column direction (Figs. 1-3 see: columns of cells 10 are alternative at front and rear positions).
Regarding claim 9 Lee’131 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 8, wherein the bus bar is provided in plural to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells to each other (Figs. 1-4 see: plurality of first bus bars 30 and second bus bars 32), and the plural bus bars are adjacent to each other in the column direction (Fig. 2 see: bus bars 30, 32 arranged along the column y-direction) and each of the bus bars extends between a first group of battery cells arranged in the row direction and a second group of battery cells arranged in the row direction (Fig. 2, see: first bus bars 30 arranged between rows of cells 10 in the x-direction).
Regarding claim 10 Lee’131 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 9, wherein each of the first and second groups of battery cells comprises battery cells in odd-numbered columns and battery cells in even-numbered columns which are alternately arranged in the row direction (see Fig. 2 of cells 10 alternately arranged in the row x-direction).
Regarding claim 11 Lee’131 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of bus bars extends in a zigzag pattern (Figs. 2-4 see: first bus bars 30 approximate zigzag patterns extending in the x-direction) while forming curved sections around outer circumferential surfaces of electrodes respectively formed at central positions of the first and second groups of battery cells (Figs. 2-4 see: first bus bars 30 have curved sections at 30a and 300a around the circumferences of cap assembly 102 of cells 10).
Regarding claim 12 Lee’131 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 11, wherein the curved sections surround outer circumferential surfaces of first electrodes respectively formed at central positions of the first and second groups of battery cells or surround outer circumferential surfaces of first electrode holes respectively formed in the cell holder to expose the first electrodes (Figs. 2-4 see: first bus bars 30 have curved sections at 30a and 300a around the circumferences of cap assembly 102 of cells 10 and at openings of second insert portion 2042).
Regarding claim 13 Lee’131 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 11, wherein the curved sections adjacent to each other along a length of the bus bar surround an outer circumferential surface of a first electrode at a rear position and an outer circumferential surface of a first electrode at a front position, which are opposite to each other in the column direction, among the outer circumferential surfaces of the first electrodes of the first and second groups of battery cells (Figs. 2-4 see: first bus bars 30 have curved sections at 30a and 300a around the circumferences of cap assembly 102 of cells 10 along its length).
Regarding claim 14 Lee’131 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 11, wherein the protrusion is arranged in each of the curved sections of the bus bar (Figs. 2-4 see: first bus bars 30 have curved sections at 30a and 300a which also include the downwardly protruding portions of 30a and 30b).
Regarding claim 15 Lee’131 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 14, wherein the protrusion is provided in pairs formed in the curved sections that face each other and surround the electrode of each of the plurality of battery cells (Figs. 2-4 see: first bus bars 30 have curved sections facing each other to surround cells 10 and both including downwardly protruding portions of 30a and 30b).
Regarding claim 16 Lee’131 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 1, wherein first and second electrodes arranged at a first end of each of the battery cells (Page 3 of translation, Figs. 1-4 and 6 see: cap assembly 102 and case 100 form a positive terminal and a negative terminal of the secondary battery cell 10) are exposed to an outside of the cell holder through first and second electrode holes formed in the cell holder (Figs. 1-4, 6, and 8 see: cap assembly 102 and case 100 are exposed through upper openings in common holders 200 to contact the portions 30a or 30b of the bus bars 30), and the first and second electrodes are connected to the bus bar (Figs. 1-4 see: cap assembly 102 and case 100 connected to portions of 30a and 30b of bus bars 30), and the second electrode is arranged at another end of the battery cell, from among the first and second electrodes (Page 3 of translation, Figs. 1-4 see: case 100 arranged at circumferential edge or ends of cell 10).
Regarding claim 17 Lee’131 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 16, wherein the first and second electrode holes are formed at a central position of the first end of the battery cell and a peripheral position thereof around the central position, respectively Figs. 3-4, 6, and 8 see: openings are provided at a peripheral position of cell 10 to allow contact to 30a and at a central area over cell 10 to allow contact to 30b).
Regarding claim 18 Lee’131 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 16, wherein the cell holder comprises assembling ribs to surround outer circumferential surfaces of the battery cells and guide assembling positions of the battery cells (Pages 3-4 of translation, Figs. 3-4 see: common holders 200 include fixing frame portion 202 with insertion portions 204 around the circumference of cells 10), and the second electrode hole is formed between the first electrode hole and the assembling rib in a radial direction of the battery cell from the central position to the peripheral position of the battery cell (Figs. 3 and 6 see: opening provided at a peripheral position of cell 10 to allow contact to 30a is between the opening for allowing contact to 30b and a side surface of 204).
Regarding claim 19 Lee’131 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 18, wherein each of the protrusions is arranged together with the second electrode hole between the first electrode hole and the assembling rib (Figs. 3 and 6 see: 30a is likewise provided between opening for allowing contact to 30b and a side surface of 204).
Regarding claim 20 Lee’131 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 19, wherein the protrusion is formed at first and second angular positions that face each other with the first electrode hole therebetween (Figs. 3 and 6 see: 30a formed at angular positions considered “facing each other” with openings for 30b therebetween), and the second electrode hole is formed at a third angular position that equally divides an angle between the first and second angular positions (Figs. 3 and 6 see: opening for 30b provided equally between openings for 30a and thus considered to form a third angular position that equally divides an angle between the first and second angular positions).
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeong et al (US 2015/0079445).
Regarding claim 1 Jeong discloses a battery pack comprising:
a cell holder to which a plurality of battery cells are assembled ([0038], Figs. 1-3 see: battery holders 120 with plurality of unit cells 110); and
a bus bar assembly comprising a bus bar electrically connecting the plurality of battery cells to each other ([0038], Figs 1-3 see: electrode tabs 130 and busbars 140 providing series-parallel connections for cells 110), and a protrusion protruding from the bus bar to at least a portion of a thickness of the cell holder ([0041], [0047], Fig. 3 see: welding parts 126 protruding from electrode tabs 130 protruding into battery holders 120 in insertion part 124 where 126, 130 and 140 are integrally welded together), wherein the plurality of battery cells is arranged on a first side of the cell holder, and the bus bar assembly is located on a second side of the cell holder opposite the first side of the cell holder (Figs. 1-4 see: electrode tabs 130 and busbars 140 located on one upper side of battery holders 120 with unit cells 110 protruding through to a second side).
Regarding claim 2 Jeong discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of battery cells is arranged on the first side of the cell holder, and the protrusion protrudes from the bus bar located on the second side of the cell holder to at least a portion of the thickness of the cell holder.
Regarding claim 4 Jeong discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 1, wherein the bus bar comprises a first surface facing the cell holder and a second surface opposite the cell holder (Fig. 3 see: electrode tabs 130 which are functionally busbars connecting cells 110 in parallel have one face toward the holder 120 and one surface facing away), and the protrusion comprises:
a first protrusion protruding from the first surface toward the cell holder by a depth (Fig. 3 see: welding part 126); and
a second protrusion protruding from the second surface by a height away from the cell holder (Fig. 3 see: busbar 140 protrudes by a height above the ).
Regarding claim 6 Jeong discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 4, wherein the first and second protrusions are located at positions of the bus bar facing each other (Fig. 3 see: busbar 140 and welding part 126 located on opposite sides of electrode tabs 130 “facing each other”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee’131 (KR 20220163131A, reference made to attached English machine translation) as applied to claims 1-3 and 8-20 above, and further in view of Stone et al (US 2016/0301148).
Regarding claim 4 Lee’131 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 1, wherein the bus bar comprises a first surface facing the cell holder and a second surface opposite the cell holder (Figs. 2-4), and the protrusion comprises:
a first protrusion protruding from the first surface toward the cell holder by a depth (Figs. 2-4 see: one of 30a and 30b protruding into the holder 200) but Lee’131 does not explicitly disclose a second protrusion protruding from the second surface by a height away from the cell holder.
Stone discloses a battery pack including a protrusion having a protrusion portion protruding away from a battery holder (Stone, [0030], [0067]-[0069], Figs. 2-11 see: interconnector 200 having a support member 201 with protrusions 211 protruding away from cover 600 and support structure 620) where Stone teaches these protrusions can provide cooling to the interconnect or the cells to which the interconnect is attached (para [0030]).
Stone and Lee’131 are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the battery pack of Lee’131 in view of Stone such that the protrusion comprises a second protrusion protruding from the second surface by a height away from the cell holder as in Stone ([0030], [0067]-[0069], Figs. 2-11 see: interconnector 200 having a support member 201 with protrusions 211 protruding away from cover 600 and support structure 620) as Stone teaches these protrusions can provide cooling to the interconnect or the cells to which the interconnect is attached (para [0030]).
Regarding claim 6 modified Lee’131 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 4, wherein the first and second protrusions are located at positions of the bus bar facing each other (Stone, Fig. 10 see: protrusions 211 are provided on opposing side of base 201a from support member 201 which protruded downwards from base 201a with protrusions 211 and support member 201 considered facing each other).
Regarding claim 7 modified Lee’131 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 4, and by the modification of Lee’131 with Stone, the first and second protrusions are respectively arranged on a first side and a second side, which are opposite to each other, of a protrusion member arranged at positions spaced apart from each other along a length of the bus bar.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee’131 (KR 20220163131A, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of Stone et al (US 2016/0301148) as applied to claims 1-4 and 6-20 above, and further in view of Ahn (US 2022/0140454).
Regarding claim 5 modified Lee’131 discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the depth of the first protrusion is the same as the height of the second protrusion.
Ahn discloses a battery pack with a protrusion having a first protrusion and a second protrusion where the depth of the first protrusion is the same as the height of the second protrusion (Ahn, [0049], [0081] Figs. 2-4 and 9 see: first and second connection tabs T1 and T2 having equivalent height or depth protruding from opposing sides of circuit board C).
Ahn and Lee’131 are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the battery pack of Lee’131 in view of Ahn such that Lee’131 further comprises a protrusion with a first protrusion and a second protrusion where the depth of the first protrusion is the same as the height of the second protrusion as in Ahn ([0049], [0081] Figs. 2-4 and 9 see: first and second connection tabs T1 and T2 having equivalent height or depth protruding from opposing sides of circuit board C) to provide connection to detection circuitry as in Ahn (Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
PARK et al (US 2021/0151835) discloses battery back busbar members 5 (Fig. 1) having a conductive plate 52 (Fig. 6, para [0059]) with a plurality of upper deformation protrusions 54a protruding upward and a plurality of lower deformation protrusions 54b protruding downward at the same height and depth.
Bae (US 2019/0348661) discloses a battery pack with a cell holder (first cover 120) with first and second holes for exposing edge and central electrodes of battery cells (Fig. 2).
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726