DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US20130250236) in view of Parel et al. (US20220071485) and Tanaka et al. (US20080123050).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai teaches an auxiliary staring and imaging focusing device (see Tsai, figs. 3-8, abstract, gaze-fixation aiding and image focusing device), comprising:
an illumination system (fig. 3, the illuminating system 30) having an illumination optical-path (see fig. 3, paragraph [0035], illuminating optical path 39) to project a detection light (paragraph [0035], examination light) to illuminate a fundus (fig. 3, the fundus 22) of a subject's eye (fig. 3, the eye 20);
an imaging system (fig. 3, paragraph [0036] imaging system 40) having an imaging optical-path (fig. 3, optical-path 44) for receiving a reflected light (paragraph [0036], the reflected light pass) and a fundus image (paragraph [0036], the fundus image) of the subject and imaging the reflected light and the fundus image (paragraph [0036], the fundus image) on an image display (fig. 3, the image display 43);
a staring device (paragraph [0037], gaze fixation device), located in the illumination optical-path (39), forming a staring surface provided with staring points (fig. 3-8, the fixation points 53) contrast with a detection light for the subject to watch (see paragraph [0012], a gaze fixation surface formed in the illuminating optical path for the examinee to gaze on and a plurality of fixation points provided on the gaze fixation surface with a contrast being created between the examination light and the fixation points 53); and
a focusing device (paragraph [0012], the focusing device) provided with a split-image screen (figs. 3-8, the split-image screen 52) in the illumination optical-path (fig. 3, the 39), the split-image screen (figs. 3-8, the 52) having a shutter (figs. 3-8, paragraph [0038], light blocking plate 521) with a default size (see figs. 4-8, paragraph [0012] light blocking plate 521 of a predetermined size), and two facing prisms (figs. 4-8, paragraph [0038], two prisms 523) being disposed on the shutter (paragraph [0038], the 521) and a light-transmitting space (figs. 4-8, paragraph [0038], the light-transmissible slit 522) being formed between the two prisms (figs. 4-8, two prisms 523) for a center staring point (paragraph [0039], center of fixation points 53) to pass through (paragraph [0038], the examination light passes through the slit 522); and Tsai further teaches that
wherein the light-transmitting space (paragraph [0038], the 522) is formed by separating the two prisms from the middle of the two prisms (see Tsai, figs. 7-8, paragraph [0038], Tsai teaches two facing prisms 523 arranged in association with light-transmissible slit 522 through which examination light passes and a pair of split prisms 14c and 14d arranged in association with a central slit-like opening 14b; thus, the light-transmitting space 522 is formed by separating the two prisms 523 from the middle of the two prisms 523. Further, the limitations of “formed by separating” in the claim is product by process limitations, and don’t impart any requirement on the product itself other than what is already structurally claimed, See MPEP 2173.05(p) sec. II);
the detection light is an invisible light (see Tsai, paragraph [0041], wherein the examination light is provided by an invisible light source, such as an infrared light source), and the staring point (53) is provided with at least one light-emitting unit (532) that can selectively control lighting or dimming (see Tsai, paragraphs [0041] and [0043], fixation points 53 and light-emitting units 532, and wherein the light-emitting units can be selectively and independently controlled to light or extinguish), the light-emitting unit is set as a light-emitting diode, a lamp, a light bulb or an optical fiber (see Tsai, paragraph [0041], the light-emitting unit 532 can be configured as a light-emitting diode; see also paragraph [0048], wherein the light-emitting units may alternatively be lamp tubes, light bulbs, or optical fibers).
Tsai does not explicitly teach wherein. the two prisms are made of plastic material.
However, Parel teaches the analogous prisms (see Parel, figs. 2A, 2B and 11, prisms 42), and further teaches wherein the two prisms are made of plastic material (paragraph [0143], fig. 2A, the prism(s) 42 may comprise plastics; in particular, Parel teaches that prism 42 is a transparent optical element configured to deviate incident light and that the prism may comprise a material transparent to a desired wavelength of light, the material of prism 42 may comprise plastics such as polymethylmethacrylate PMMA, polystyrene, or polycarbonate).
Therefore, it has been held that where the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is disclosed in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.07, citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Ryco, Inc. v. Ag-Bag Corp., 857 F.2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed. Cir. 1988). See also Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), as cited in MPEP § 2144.07; thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the two prisms material of Tsai to have the two prisms are made of plastic material as taught by Parel for the purpose of reducing the bulk and weight of the prism (Parel, paragraph [0147]).
Tsai does not explicitly teach wherein the light-transmitting space is formed by digging a hole in the middle of the two prisms.
However, Tanaka teaches the analogous imaging focusing device (see Tanaka, figs. 7-8, paragraph [0010] The present invention provides a focusing unit, and an ophthalmic photographing apparatus capable of inserting and removing a focusing unit 16 into and from an illumination light path and easily projecting an index onto a fundus), and further teaches wherein the light-transmitting space (Tanaka, fig. 8, opening 14b) is formed by digging a hole (see Tanaka, fig. 8, the opening 14b is a hole) in the middle of the two prisms (see Tanaka, fig. 8, two prisms 14c and 14d; as shown in fig. 8, when viewed from the front, the opening 14b is in the middle of the two prisms 14c and 14d; paragraph [0040], the split prisms 14c and 14d are a pair of prisms that divide the opening 14b in two; further, the limitations of “is formed by digging” in the claim is product by process limitations, and don’t impart any requirement on the product itself other than what is already structurally claimed, See MPEP 2173.05(p) sec. II).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the two prisms of Tsai to dig a hole in the middle of the two prisms as taught by Tanaka for the purpose to provide a known split-image focusing arrangement for transmitting and deflecting respective focusing beams to generate split images for determination of an in-focus condition and easily projecting an index onto a fundus (Tanaka, abstract and paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 3, combination Tsai-Parel-Tanaka discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Tsai (Tsai, figs. 3-8) further teaches wherein the light-transmitting space (the 522) is formed by replacing the middle of the two prisms (523) with a plane (light-transmissible slit 522 having a plane; further, the limitations of “is formed by replacing” in the claim is product by process limitations, and don’t impart any requirement on the product itself other than what is already structurally claimed, See MPEP 2173.05(p) sec. II).
Regarding claim 5, combination Tsai-Parel-Tanaka discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Tsai further teaches wherein the illumination system (fig. 3, 30) is provided with an additional light-emitting unit (paragraphs [0015]-[0016] light-emitting unit) set as a light-emitting diode, a lamp, a light bulb or an optical fiber (see paragraphs [0015]-[0016] as light-emitting diodes, lamp tubes, light bulbs or optical fibers).
Regarding claim 6, combination Tsai-Parel-Tanaka discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Tsai (Tsai, figs. 3-8) further teaches wherein the staring point (53) and the split-image screen (52) are located on the same staring surface (see Tsai fig. 3, the 53 and 52 are located on the same 53 surface), and the staring surface is set as a vertical plane (paragraph [0049], flat vertical plane 57), and the staring point (53) is located at set positions in four directions of up, down, left and right (paragraph [0039], the four fixation points 53 are spaced from the split image screen 52 to locate on an upper, a lower, a left and a right side thereof, respectively) outside the split-image screen (52).
Regarding claim 7, combination Tsai-Parel-Tanaka discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Tsai (Tsai, figs. 3-8) further teaches wherein the staring point (53) and the split-image screen (52) are located on the same staring surface (see Tsai fig. 3, the 53 and 52 are located on the same 53 surface), and the staring surface (paragraph [0050]) is set as a concave surface (concave surface 58) corresponding to the curvature of the human eye (paragraph [0050], the curved surface 58 is corresponding to the human eye curvature), and the staring point (53) is located on the concave surface (58) in four directions of up, down, left and right in front of the split-image screen (paragraph [0050], in four directions of up, down, left and right in front of the split-image screen 52).
Regarding claim 8, combination Tsai-Parel-Tanaka discloses the invention as described in Claim 9 and Tsai (Tsai, figs. 3-8) further teaches wherein the detection light is a visible light (paragraph [0039], visible light), and the staring point (53) is provided with at least one opaque-type light-shielding unit (paragraph [0039], the light-impenetrable zone 54 that blocks).
Regarding claim 9, combination Tsai-Parel-Tanaka discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and Tsai (Tsai, figs. 3-8) further teaches wherein the split-image screen (52) and the staring point (53) jointly form an opaque area (zone 54) blocking the illumination optical-path (39), and a light-transmitting area (the zone 55, paragraph [0039], light-penetrable zone 55 is made of a transparent material 55) is formed by blocks outside the opaque area (zone 54).
Regarding claim 10, combination Tsai-Parel-Tanaka discloses the invention as described in Claim 9 and Tsai (Tsai, figs. 3-8) further teaches wherein (paragraph [0039]) the light-transmitting area (zone 55) is provided with a transparent substrate (paragraph [0039], transparent substrate 551), and the split-image screen (52) is disposed in the center of the transparent substrate (551), and the light-shielding unit (531) is disposed at a set position on the transparent substrate (551) outside the split-image screen (52).
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments filed in the Remarks dated 9/2/2026, see Remarks, pages 5-9, have been considered but are not persuasive.
In the remarks, Applicant argues that:
Tanaka fails to disclose or suggest “the light-transmitting space is formed by separating the two prisms from the middle of the two prisms.” Applicant further relies on Figs. 10A-10C of Tanaka and argues that the two slit images generated by Tanaka approach one another during focusing and are substantially aligned when focusing is completed, whereas Applicant asserts that, according to the presently claimed invention, the two rectangular images remain separated when focusing is completed.
In response to Applicant's argument(s) of 1:
First, the rejection does not rely upon Tanaka alone for the entirety of the claimed focusing arrangement. Tsai teaches split-image screen 52 including light-blocking plate 521 having light-transmissible slit 522 and two facing prisms 523 arranged in front of slit 522 (see Tsai, fig. 3 and paragraph [0038]). Tsai further teaches that examination light passes through light-transmissible slit 522 and is changed in direction by the two facing prisms 523 to produce two rectangular image parts on display 43 for determining whether an image is in focus (see Tsai, paragraph [0038]). Tanaka is relied upon for its additional teaching of an ophthalmic split-image focusing arrangement having a slit-like opening 14b and a pair of split prisms 14c and 14d associated with the opening (see Tanaka, Figs. 7–8). Tanaka teaches that the split prisms have opposed directions such that the focusing light is divided into respective directional beams for producing split focusing images. Accordingly, the rejection is based upon the combined teachings of Tsai and Tanaka and does not require Tanaka alone to disclose the entire claimed staring and focusing device. Applicant's reliance on Figs. 10A-10C of Tanaka does not establish a distinction over claim 1. Figs. 10A-10C illustrate different relative positions of the slit images according to the focusing condition. However, claim 1 does not recite that the two rectangular images remain separated when focusing is completed, nor does claim 1 recite a particular spacing, separation distance, or positional relationship between the two rectangular images after focusing is completed. Therefore, even assuming Applicant's characterization of Figs. 10A-10C is correct, the asserted distinction concerning the final positions of the two rectangular images is not commensurate in scope with the limitations actually recited in claim 1. Moreover, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference, but rather what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981).
In the remarks, Applicant argues that:
The cited references fail to solve the alleged problem that the center staring point cannot pass through a conventional narrow light-transmitting slit.
In response to Applicant's argument(s) of 2:
Claim 1 recites “a light-transmitting space being formed between the two prisms for a center staring point to pass through”. Tsai teaches two facing prisms 523 arranged in association with light-transmissible slit 522 (see Tsai, fig. 3 and paragraph [0038]), while Tanaka teaches an ophthalmic split-image focusing arrangement including split prisms 14c and 14d associated with opening 14b (see Tanaka, Figs. 7–8). The rejection relies upon the combined teachings of Tsai and Tanaka for the claimed light-transmitting-space/split-prism arrangement. To the extent Applicant's argument depends upon the light-transmitting space having a particular width, or being wider than a conventional focusing slit, such that the center staring point can pass therethrough, claim 1 does not recite a particular width, dimension, minimum clearance, or dimensional relationship between the light-transmitting space and the center staring point. Accordingly, the alleged dimensional distinction relied upon by Applicant, but not recited in claim 1, does not distinguish the claimed subject matter from the combination relied upon in the rejection..
In the remarks, Applicant argues that:
Tsai and Parel fail to disclose “the detection light is an invisible light, and the staring point is provided with at least one light-emitting unit that can selectively control lighting or dimming, the light-emitting unit is set as a light-emitting diode, a lamp, a light bulb or an optical fiber”.
In response to Applicant's argument(s) of 3:
Tsai expressly teaches these features. Specifically, Tsai teaches that the examination light may be invisible light, such as infrared light (see Tsai, paragraph [0041]). Tsai further teaches fixation points 53 respectively provided with at least one light-emitting unit 532 that can be selectively controlled to light or extinguish (see Tsai, paragraphs [0041] and [0043]). Tsai additionally teaches that light-emitting unit 532 may be configured as a light-emitting diode (LED) (see Tsai, paragraph [0041]) and may alternatively be implemented using lamp tubes, light bulbs, or optical fibers (see Tsai, paragraph [0048]). Tsai further teaches that the fixation points may be independently controlled such that a selected fixation point is illuminated for the examinee to gaze upon, thereby assisting the examinee in directing the eye toward a desired angle (see Tsai, paragraphs [0037] and [0041]–[0043]). Accordingly, Applicant's argument that the cited references fail to disclose an invisible examination light together with a selectively controlled light-emitting fixation point is not persuasive.
In the remarks, Applicant argues that:
According to the claimed arrangement, the staring point remains in the optical path and emits light to allow the subject to focus in a specific direction.
In response to Applicant's argument(s) of 4:
This argument does not distinguish claim 1 from Tsai. Tsai teaches a gaze fixation surface formed in the illuminating optical path and fixation points 53 provided thereon (see Tsai, paragraphs [0037] and [0039]–[0043]). Tsai further teaches independently controlling the light-emitting units of the fixation points such that the examinee gazes toward a selected fixation point, thereby directing the examinee's eye toward a particular angle. Thus, Tsai teaches a fixation/staring arrangement in the illuminating optical path for controlling the direction in which the subject gazes. Applicant's arguments concerning the alleged advantages or results of the claimed arrangement have also been considered. However, patentability is determined based upon the limitations actually recited in the claims. Features or results relied upon in the Remarks but not recited in claim 1 do not further distinguish the claimed subject matter from the applied prior art. Therefore, Applicant's arguments concerning (1) Tanaka Figs. 10A-10C, (2) the alleged separation of the two rectangular images after focusing is completed, (3) passage of the center staring point through the light-transmitting space, and (4) the invisible detection light and selectively controlled light-emitting staring point have been fully considered but do not overcome the rejection.
Accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Tsai in view of Parel and Tanaka is maintained
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Iwanaga (US20060132711) teaches features of instant invention, such as an illumination system having an optical path to project a detection light to illuminate a fundus of a subject's eye (see figs. 1-2 and their descriptions).
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872