DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Claim Amendment dated 03/15/2024
2. Claims 1-30 were cancelled.
New claim 31 was added. While there is written descriptive support for the limitations “A composition comprising a population of microcapsules, each microcapsule of the population comprising a core surrounded by a shell, wherein the core is aqueous; wherein the shell is permeable to oligonucleotides and to enzymes…wherein the shell is degradable under biocompatible conditions” at paragraphs [0012], [0077], [0081], [0182] and [0224], of applicants’ published application, i.e., US PG PUB 2024/0360284. However, there is no written descriptive for the limitation “wherein the shell is impermeable to cells” and thus, introduce new matter in violation of 35 USC 112(a) for the reasons set forth below.
New claim 32 is supported at paragraph [0081] of applicants’ published application, i.e., US PG PUB 2024/0360284.
New claims 33 and 37 were added and introduce new matter in violation of 35 USC 112(a) for the reasons set forth below.
New claims 34 and 35 were added and supported at paragraphs [0081], [0098], [0137], [0188] and [0300] of applicants’ published application, i.e., US PG PUB 2024/0360284.
New claim 36 was added which is supported at paragraph [0300] of applicants’ published application, i.e., US PG PUB 2024/0360284.
New claim 38 is supported at paragraphs [0078] and [0110] of applicants’ published application, i.e., US PG PUB 2024/0360284.
New claims 39-46 and 49-50 were added, which are supported paragraphs [0113] and [0300] of applicants’ published application, i.e., US PG PUB 2024/0360284.
New claim 47 is supported at paragraph [0109] of applicants’ published application, i.e., US PG PUB 2024/0360284.
New claim 48 was added, but is not supported by the specification as originally filed for the reasons set forth below.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 35-36, 38, and 46 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to Claim 35: The applicants are advised to replace the claimed phrase “a list comprising” with the proper Markush claim language “the group consisting of” consistent with MPEP section 2173.05 (h).
As to Claim 36: The applicants are advised to place space between “10” and “nm”, and also, “50” and “nm”.
As to Claim 38: The applicants are advised to place space between “1” and “kb”.
As to Claim 46: The applicants are advised to replace the claimed “glycosidase treatment comprises” with the new phrase “glycosidase treatment comprising”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 31-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
New claim 31 recites, among other things, “wherein the shell is impermeable to cells” and new claim 37 recites “wherein the shell is impermeable to cell nuclei”. However, these new limitations fail to satisfy the written description requirement of 35 USC 112(a), since there is no written descriptive support for these phrases in the application as originally filed, see MPEP § 2163. While paragraph [0091] of applicants’ published application, i.e., US PG PUB 2024/0360284 show written descriptive support for “Biological entities (e.g., molecules, cells, viral particles) can be placed within microcapsules during droplet generation and polymer phase separation into core and shell layers”, there is no written descriptive support for the shell being impermeable to cells, much less the cell nuclei.
New claim 33 recites, among other things, “an aqueous sugar”. While there is written descriptive support for an aqueous core at paragraph [0081] of applicants’ published application, i.e., US PG PUB 2024/0360284, there is no original disclosure of an aqueous sugar as recited in the claim. The original specification further does not provide any written descriptive support for the new limitation of claim 48.
Moreover, the applicants do not direct the Examiner to any original disclosure which describes these new limitations.
Additionally, it is noted that since claims 32, 34-36, 38-47, and 49-50 are directly or ultimately dependent on claim 31, they are rejected along with claim 31 because they incorporate all the limitations of claim 31, including those that introduce new matter.
Accordingly, it is deemed that these new limitations introduce new matter in violation of 35 USC 112(a).
Double Patenting
4. Claims 31-32, 34-35, and 37-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13, 16-17, 19-23, and 26-27 of U.S. Patent No. 11,958,947 (hereinafter referred to as “the patent”) in view of Yan et al. (US 2005/0067726).
The claims of the patent and the present application are directed to composition comprising a plurality (population) of microcapsules each comprising a core surrounded by a shell, wherein the shell is porous and retains nucleic acid of greater than 1 kb, and the microcapsules remain intact (resilient) under polymerase chain reaction thermocycling conditions, and the microcapsules are glycosidase degradable at a pH of 5-9. The claims of the patent and the present application also recite that the shell comprises a crosslinked polysaccharide and modified with a conjugated cross-linking moiety including acryloyl, methacryloyl or combinations thereof, and can also be modified with a conjugated hydrophilicity/hydrophobicity modified moiety is a butyryl moiety. Because the shell materials of the patent and the present application are the same, the shell of the patent would also be capable of being impermeable to cells including cell nuclei and nucleic acids of greater than 1kb, permeable to oligonucleotides and enzymes including protease enzymes, degradable under specific biocompatible conditions, and resilient to protease treatment, cell lysis treatment, nuclease treatment, and thermocycling as required by present claims 31, 34-35, 37-38, and 44-48. The claims of the patent and the present application further recite that circularity of the microcapsules in the composition is about 75% or greater, and the microcapsules’ coefficient of variation is about 30% or less.
However, the claims of the patent do not specify their core as being aqueous or comprising a liquid as required by claims 31 and 32 of the present application.
Nevertheless, Yan et al. teach the use of microcapsules having a core made of an aqueous mixture containing a liquid for the purposes of providing the same with good mechanical strength, e.g., resistance to rupture (Paragraphs [0004] and [0055]).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the microcapsules having a core made of an aqueous mixture containing a liquid taught by Yan et al. in the composition of the patent, with a reasonable expectation of successfully providing the same with good mechanical strength, e.g., resistance to rupture.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 31-32, 34-35, 37-40, 44-47, and 49-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (WO 2019/194543; utilizing US 2021/0017348 as its English Equivalent) in view of Yan et al. (US 2005/0067726).
It is noted that LEE et al. (WO 2019/194543) is used for date purposes only, and all paragraph numbers cited below refer to its English equivalent, namely US 2021/0017348.
As to Claims 31-32, 34-35, 37-40, and 44-47: LEE et al. disclose a composition (Paragraph [0082]), comprising microcapsules (see, for example, title of LEE et al.) comprising a core-shell structure (Paragraph [0009]), wherein the shell is an alginate hydrogel crosslinked with conjugated epigallocatechin gallate dimer (corresponding to the claimed crosslinked polysaccharide modified with a conjugated cross-linking moiety) and molecules of such cross-linking moiety are cross-linked in the hydrogel (Paragraphs [0009], [0025], [0055], and [0096]). Because the shell materials of LEE et al. and the present application are the same, the shell taught by LEE et al. would also be capable of being impermeable to cells including cell nuclei and nucleic acids of greater than 1kb, permeable to oligonucleotides and enzymes including protease enzymes, degradable under specific biocompatible conditions, and resilient to protease treatment, cell lysis treatment, nuclease treatment, and thermocycling as required by claims 31, 34-35, 37-38, and 44-48.
However, LEE et al. do not specify their core as being aqueous or comprising a liquid as required by claims 31 and 32 of the present application.
Nevertheless, Yan et al. teach the use of microcapsules having a core made of an aqueous mixture containing a liquid for the purposes of providing the same with good mechanical strength, e.g., resistance to rupture (Paragraphs [0004] and [0055]).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the microcapsules having a core made of an aqueous mixture containing a liquid taught by Yan et al. in the composition of LEE et al., with a reasonable expectation of successfully providing the same with good mechanical strength, e.g., resistance to rupture.
As to Claims 49 and 50: These claimed properties would have naturally followed from the suggestion of LEE et al. and Yan et al.’s composition since they collectively would have suggested substantially identical or identical composition as those claimed for the reasons set forth above. See MPEP section 2145, II (“The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious”). See also MPEP section 2113.01 “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.”
6. Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (WO 2019/194543; utilizing US 2021/0017348 as its English Equivalent) in view of Yan et al. (US 2005/0067726) as applied to claims 31-32, 34-35, 37-40, 44-47, and 49-50 above, and further in view of Bulgarelli et al. (WO 2019/175017; utilized US 2021/0085590 as its Equivalent).
It is noted that Bulgarelli et al. (WO 2019/175017) is used for date purposes only, and all paragraph cites below refer to its Equivalent, namely US 2021/0085590.
The disclosures with respect to LEE et al. and Yan et al. in paragraph 5 are incorporated here by reference. However, they do not specify the core as being an aqueous sugar as required by present claim 33.
Nevertheless, Bulgarelli et al. disclose employing microcapsules having a core including a slurry of sugar or sugar alcohols (corresponding to the claimed aqueous sugar core) to obtain advantages (Paragraphs [0014] and [0105]).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the microcapsules having a core comprising the claimed aqueous sugar taught by Bulgarelli et al. in the composition suggested by LEE et al. and Yan et al., with a reasonable expectation of successfully obtaining advantages.
7. Claims 36 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (WO 2019/194543; utilizing US 2021/0017348 as its English Equivalent) in view of Yan et al. (US 2005/0067726) as applied to claims 31-32, 34-35, 37-40, 44-47, and 49-50 above, and further in view of Mikkelsen et al. (US 2018/0105808).
The disclosures with respect to LEE et al. and Yan et al. in paragraph 5 are incorporated here by reference. However, they do not specify as their shell comprising pores having a particular diameter as required by claim 36. They also do not specifically mention that their microcapsules harbor a cell lysate constituent as required by present claim 48.
Nevertheless, Mikkelsen et al. disclose the use of microcapsules with porous shells that also harbor cell lysate constituent, wherein any pore size being sufficiently small to retain nucleic acid fragments of a desired size (Paragraphs [0157], [0162] and [0301]).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the microcapsules with porous shells that also harbor cell lysate constituent with pores sufficiently small, inclusive of those presently claimed, to retain nucleic acid fragments of a desired size as suggested by Mikkelsen et al.
8. Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (WO 2019/194543; utilizing US 2021/0017348 as its English Equivalent) in view of Yan et al. (US 2005/0067726) as applied to claims 31-32, 34-35, 37-40, 44-47, and 49-50 above, and further in view of Soon-Shiong et al. (US 5,700,848).
The disclosures with respect to LEE et al. and Yan et al. in paragraph 5 are incorporated here by reference. However, they do not specifically mention using acryloyl as a cross-linking moiety as required by claim 41.
However, Soon-Shiong et al. disclose the use of acryloyl chloride as a cross-linking moiety to prepare alginate-based microcapsules having advantageous properties (Col. 1, lines 13-25, Col. 2, lines 60-67 and Col. 8, lines 10-40).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ acryloyl chloride as a cross-linking moiety taught by Soon-Shiong et al. in the composition suggested by LEE et al. and Yan et al., with a reasonable expectation of successfully preparing alginate-based microcapsules having advantageous properties.
9. Claims 42 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (WO 2019/194543; utilizing US 2021/0017348 as its English Equivalent) in view of Yan et al. (US 2005/0067726) as applied to claims 31-32, 34-35, 37-40, 44-47, and 49-50 above, and further in view of Goldstein et al. (US 2017/0071865).
The disclosures with respect to LEE et al. and Yan et al. in paragraph 5 are incorporated here by reference. However, they do not specifically mention modifying the shell with a conjugated hydrophilicity/hydrophobicity-modifying moiety, i.e., butyryl moiety, as required by present claims 42 and 43.
Nevertheless, Goldstein et al. disclose the use of microcapsules having a shell comprising butyryl moieties (corresponding to the claimed conjugated hydrophilicity/hydrophobicity-modifying moiety) to impart a protecting effect (Paragraphs [0015]-[0016] and [0142]).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the microcapsules comprising a shell with the claimed conjugated hydrophilicity/hydrophobicity-modifying moiety, i.e., butyryl moiety, taught by Goldstein et al. in the composition suggested by LEE et al. and Yan et al., with a reasonable expectation of successfully imparting a protecting effect.
Correspondence
/HANNAH J PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764