DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abraham et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0315139) (pp 22]).
Regarding claim 1. Abraham teaches a method (Abraham, the Abstract), comprising:
receiving, by a first wireless device from a second wireless device, via a first link, an acknowledgment message indicating:
an error in a first data unit being transmitted by the first wireless device to the second wireless device via a second link (Abraham, pp [22]-[25]: multiple data streams are exchanged between a source STA and destination STA where errors are detected from a MPDU); and
a third link between the first wireless device and the second wireless device (Abraham, pp [22]-[25]: multiple data streams are exchanged between a source STA and destination STA where errors are detected from a MPDU); and
based on the acknowledgment message, transmitting, to the second wireless device and via the third link, a second data unit comprising at least part of the first data unit indicated by the error (Abraham, pp [22]-[25]: An acknowledgment may then be sent by the receiver device indicating each MPDU in the first data stream that is received with errors).
Regarding claim 9. Abraham teaches a method (Abraham, the Abstract), comprising:
transmitting, by a first wireless device to a second wireless device, via a first link, a first data unit (Abraham, pp [22]-[25]: multiple data streams are exchanged between a source STA and destination STA where errors are detected from a MPDU);
during transmission of the first data unit, receiving, from the second wireless device and via a second link, a second data unit indicating an error in the first data unit (Abraham, pp [22]-[25]: multiple data streams are exchanged between a source STA and destination STA where errors are detected from a MPDU); and
during transmission of the first data unit and based on the second data unit, transmitting, to the second wireless device and via a third link, a third data unit comprising at least part of the first data unit (Abraham, pp [22]-[25]: An acknowledgment may then be sent by the receiver device indicating each MPDU in the first data stream that is received with errors).
Regarding claim 16. Abraham teaches a method (Abraham, the Abstract), comprising:
determining, by a first wireless device and during reception of a first data unit from a second wireless device via a first link, an error in the first data unit (Abraham, pp [22]-[25]: multiple data streams are exchanged between a source STA and destination STA where errors are detected from a MPDU); and
before an end of reception of the first data unit, transmitting to the second wireless device, via a second link, a second data unit (Abraham, pp [22]-[25]: multiple data streams are exchanged between a source STA and destination STA where errors are detected from a MPDU), indicating:
the error in the first data unit (Abraham, pp [22]-[25]: errors are detected from a MPDU);; and
one or more links between the first wireless device and the second wireless device (Abraham, pp [22]-[25]: multiple data streams are exchanged between a source STA and destination STA where errors are detected from a MPDU).
Regarding claim 2. Abraham teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
the acknowledgment message comprises an acknowledgment frame, the first data unit comprises a first physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) (Abraham, pp [22]-[23]); and
the second data unit comprises a second PPDU (Abraham, pp [22]-[23]).
Regarding claim 3. Abraham teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first data unit comprises a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU), and wherein the error comprises at least one of:
an error in a physical layer (PHY) header of the PPDU (Abraham, pp [22]-[23], [25], [29], [57]); or
an error in a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (MPDU) of the PPDU (Abraham, pp [22]-[23], [25], [29], [57]);
Regarding claim 4. Abraham teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the acknowledgment message further indicates one or more links other than the third link (Abraham, Figs. 7, 8 and 9, pp [87]-[89]: multiple data streams).
Regarding claim 5. Abraham teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
the first link corresponds to a first frequency channel (Abraham, Figs. 7, 8 and 9, pp [87]-[89]: multiple data streams);
the second link corresponds to a second frequency channel different from the first frequency channel (Abraham, Figs. 7, 8 and 9, pp [87]-[89]: multiple data streams); and
the third link corresponds to a third frequency channel different from the first frequency channel and different from the second frequency channel (Abraham, Figs. 7, 8 and 9, pp [87]-[89]: multiple data streams).
Regarding claim 6. Abraham teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting the second data unit concurrently with transmitting the first data unit (Abraham, pp [22]-[23], [25]: concurrent data streams).
Regarding claim 7. Abraham teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting, to the second wireless device and via the first link, a response message to the acknowledgment message (Abraham, Fig. 16, pp [113]-[116]).
Regarding claim 8. Abraham teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
monitoring, during transmission of the first data unit, the first link for the acknowledgment message (Abraham, Fig. 16, pp [113]-[116]).
Regarding claim 10. Abraham teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the second data unit further indicates the third link (Abraham, Figs. 7, 8 and 9, pp [87]-[89]: multiple data streams).
Regarding claim 11. Abraham teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the second data unit further indicates a plurality of links comprising the third link, and wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting, to the second wireless device and via the first link, a response message indicating a selection of the third link among the plurality of links (Abraham, Figs. 7, 8 and 9, pp [87]-[89]: multiple data streams).
Regarding claim 12. Abraham teaches the method of claim 9, wherein:
the first link corresponds to a first frequency channel (Abraham, Figs. 7, 8 and 9, pp [87]-[89]: multiple data streams);
the second link corresponds to a second frequency channel different from the first frequency channel (Abraham, Figs. 7, 8 and 9, pp [87]-[89]: multiple data streams); and
the third link corresponds to a third frequency channel different from the first frequency channel and different from the second frequency channel (Abraham, Figs. 7, 8 and 9, pp [87]-[89]: multiple data streams).
Regarding claim 13. Abraham teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the first data unit comprises a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU), and wherein the error comprises at least one of:
an error in a physical layer (PHY) header of the PPDU (Abraham, pp [22]-[23], [25], [29], [57]); or
an error in a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (MPDU) of the PPDU (Abraham, pp [22]-[23], [25], [29], [57]).
Regarding claim 14. Abraham teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the third data unit comprises a part, of the first data unit, that comprises the error during the transmission of the first data unit.
Regarding claim 15. Abraham teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising:
monitoring the first link for the second data unit, during transmission of the first data unit (Abraham, Figs. 7, 8 and 9, pp [87]-[89]: multiple data streams).
Regarding claim 17. Abraham teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising:
determining, based on link measurements performed by the first wireless device, the one or more links (Abraham, Figs. 7, 8 and 9, pp [87]-[89]: multiple data streams).
Regarding claim 18. Abraham teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the one or more links are different from at least one of:
the first link, or the second link (Abraham, Figs. 7, 8 and 9, pp [87]-[89]: multiple data streams).
Regarding claim 19. Abraham teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising:
receiving, from the second wireless device, during reception of the first data unit and via one of the one or more links, a third data unit comprising at least part of the first data unit (Abraham, Figs. 7, 8 and 9, pp [87]-[89]: multiple data streams).
Regarding claim 20. Abraham teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the first data unit comprises a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU), and wherein the error comprises at least one of:
an error in a physical layer (PH Y) header of the PPDU (Abraham, pp [22]-[23], [25], [29], [57]); or
an error in a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (MPDU) of the PPDU (Abraham, pp [22]-[23], [25], [29], [57]).
References related but not used in the rejection above
Kim et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0353887), teaches a method and device for transmitting a frame including error check bits for a header in a wireless LAN are disclosed. The method for transmitting a frame in a wireless LAN can comprise the steps of: generating, by an STA, a frame to be transmitted to an AP; and transmitting, by the STA, the frame to the AP, wherein the frame is an A-MPDU, the A-MPDU includes an A-MPDU header subframe and an A-MPDU subframe, the A-MPDU header subframe includes a first MPDU, the A-MPDU subframe includes a second MPDU, the first MPDU, as an MPDU, includes a first MAC header, expect for a MAC body, and the second MPDU, as an MPDU, can include the MAC body and a second MAC header.
Vermani et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0140942) teaches methods, devices and systems for interpreting reserved bits and values associated with different releases of a wireless communication protocol. A wireless communication device may determine whether to terminate or continue reception of a physical layer protocol convergence protocol (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU) if it detects a reserved bit in the physical layer preamble set to an unsupported value (such as a value different than what is defined by a version or release of the wireless communication protocol supported by the wireless communication device). A wireless communication device may determine whether to terminate or continue reception of a PPDU if it detects a field in the physical layer preamble set to a reserved value (such as defined by a version or release of the wireless communication protocol supported by the wireless communication device).
Conclusion
/HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644