DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot with respect to the newly amended features and limitations to claims 7, 9-11, 14-16 and 19, which change the scopes of the claims. Therefore, it necessitates a new ground of rejection as detailed in the followings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vajapeyam et al. (Pub. No. US 2016/0261382).
Regarding claim 1. (Currently Amended) Vajapeyam teaches a method (Vajapeyam, the Abstract), comprising:
receiving, by a first wireless device from a second wireless device, via a first link , an acknowledgment message (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, Step 420, pp [55]-[59]: a base station 105b receives an acknowledge message), indicating:
an error in a first data unit being transmitted by the first wireless device to the second wireless device via a second link (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, Step 410, pp [55]-[59]: data transmission with error being detected the UE 115b); and
a third link between the first wireless device and the second wireless device (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, Step 445, pp [55]-[59], [64]: a third link between the UE 115b and the base station 105b); and
based on the acknowledgment message, transmitting, to the second wireless device and via the third link, a second data unit comprising at least part of the first data unit (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, Step 445, pp [55]-[59], [64]: the base station transmits a third link for scheduling a retransmission for the failed transmission).
Regarding claim 9. (Currently Amended) Vajapeyam teaches a method (Vajapeyam, the Abstract), comprising:
transmitting, by a first wireless device to a second wireless device, via a first link, a first data unit (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, Step 420, pp [55]-[59]: a base station 105b receives an acknowledge message);
during transmission of the first data unit, receiving, from the second wireless device and via a second link, an acknowledgment message indicating an error in the first data unit (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, Step 410, pp [55]-[59]: data transmission with error being detected the UE 115b); and
during transmission of the first data unit and based on the acknowledgment message, transmitting, to the second wireless device and via a third link, a second data unit comprising at least part of the first data unit (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, Step 445, pp [55]-[59], [64]: the base station transmits a third link for scheduling a retransmission for the failed transmission).
Regarding claim 16. (Currently Amended) Vajapeyam teaches a method (Vajapeyam, the Abstract), comprising:
determining, by a first wireless device and during reception of a first data unit from a second wireless device via a first link, an error in the first data unit (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, Step 420, pp [55]-[59]: a base station 105b receives an acknowledge message); and
before an end of reception of the first data unit, transmitting to the second wireless device, via a second link, an acknowledgment message (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, Step 410, pp [55]-[59]: data transmission with error being detected the UE 115b), indicating:
the error in the first data unit (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, Step 410, pp [55]-[59]: data transmission with error being detected the UE 115b); and
one or more links between the first wireless device and the second wireless device (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, Step 445, pp [55]-[59], [64]: the base station transmits a third link for scheduling a retransmission for the failed transmission).
Regarding claim 2. (Original) Vajapeyam teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
the acknowledgment message comprises an acknowledgment frame, the first data unit comprises a first physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, pp [40]); and
the second data unit comprises a second PPDU (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, pp [40]).
Regarding claim 3. (Original) Vajapeyam teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first data unit comprises a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU), and wherein the error comprises at least one of:
an error in a physical layer (PHY) header of the PPDU (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, pp [40]); or
an error in a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (MPDU) of the PPDU (Vajapeyam, pp [40], [50]-[51]).
Regarding claim 4. (Original) Vajapeyam teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the acknowledgment message further indicates one or more links other than the third link (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, pp [55]-[59], [64]).
Regarding claim 5. (Original) Vajapeyam teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
the first link corresponds to a first frequency channel (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, pp [55]-[59], [64]);
the second link corresponds to a second frequency channel different from the first frequency channel (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, pp [55]-[59], [64]); and
the third link corresponds to a third frequency channel different from the first frequency channel and different from the second frequency channel (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, pp [55]-[59], [64]).
Regarding claim 6. (Original) Vajapeyam teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting the second data unit concurrently with transmitting the first data unit (Vajapeyam, pp [35], [49], [53).
Regarding claim 7. (Currently Amended) Vajapeyam teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting, to the second wireless device and via the first link, a message in response to the acknowledgment message (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, pp [55]-[59], [64]).
Regarding claim 8. (Original) Vajapeyam teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
monitoring, during transmission of the first data unit, the first link for the acknowledgment message (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, pp [55]-[59], [64]).
Regarding claim 10. (Currently Amended) Vajapeyam teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the acknowledgment message further indicates the third link (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, pp [55]-[59], [64]).
Regarding claim 11. (Currently Amended) Vajapeyam teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the acknowledgment message further indicates a plurality of links comprising the third link, and wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting, to the second wireless device and via the first link, a response message indicating a selection of the third link among the plurality of links (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, pp [55]-[59], [64]).
Regarding claim 12. (Original) Vajapeyam teaches the method of claim 9, wherein:
the first link corresponds to a first frequency channel (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, pp [55]-[59], [64]);
the second link corresponds to a second frequency channel different from the first frequency channel (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, pp [55]-[59], [64]); and
the third link corresponds to a third frequency channel different from the first frequency channel and different from the second frequency channel (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, pp [55]-[59], [64]).
Regarding claim 13. (Original) Vajapeyam teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the first data unit comprises a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU), and wherein the error comprises at least one of:
an error in a physical layer (PHY) header of the PPDU (Vajapeyam, pp [40], [50]-[51]); or
an error in a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (MPDU) of the PPDU (Vajapeyam, pp [40], [50]-[51]).
Regarding claim 14. (Currently Amended) Vajapeyam teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the second data unit comprises a part, of the first data unit, that comprises the error during the transmission of the first data unit (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, pp [40], [55]-[59], [64]).
Regarding claim 15. (Currently Amended) Vajapeyam teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising:
monitoring the first link for the acknowledgment message, during transmission of the first data unit (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, pp [55]-[59], [64]).
Regarding claim 17. (Original) Vajapeyam teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising:
determining, based on link measurements performed by the first wireless device, the one or more links (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, pp [55]-[59], [64]).
Regarding claim 18. (Original) Vajapeyam teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the one or more links are different from at least one of:
the first link, or the second link (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, pp [55]-[59], [64]).
Regarding claim 19. (Currently Amended) Vajapeyam teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising:
receiving, from the second wireless device, during reception of the first data unit and via one of the one or more links, a second data unit comprising at least part of the first data unit (Vajapeyam, Fig. 4, pp [40], [55]-[59], [64]).
Regarding claim 20. (Original) Vajapeyam teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the first data unit comprises a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU), and wherein the error comprises at least one of:
an error in a physical layer (PH Y) header of the PPDU (Vajapeyam, pp [40], [50]-[51]); or
an error in a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (MPDU) of the PPDU (Vajapeyam, pp [40], [50]-[51]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644