DETAILED ACTION
1 The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of a new ground(s) of rejection. The amendments to the claims necessitated the new grounds of rejection discussed below.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments as to the Prior arts of record (PARs) not discussing the amended claims limitations, Examiner notes Applicant’s arguments/amendments, however, Examiner disagrees for these reasons: One of the PARs, i.e., Taylor et al (10,440,436) reference, further discloses Applicant’s arguments/amendments; Taylor further discloses that: dynamically rendering one or more graphical overlays may be superimposed over portion of the frame of the live video stream where a selection of a graphical overlay may cause an interactive action relative to one or more items to be performed, furthermore based on the display interface items and the presenter may be displayed simultaneously on the screen, including one or more sellers participate(s), or hosts or producers, to select UI as to which items are being discussed and dynamically rendering the items with various enhancements (see figs.1+, Abstract, [Col.2, line 45-Col.4, line 17, Col.5, line 3-Col.6, line 20, Col.7, line 38-Col.9, line 66 and Col.10, line 3-Col.12, line 1+), which meets the amended claims as claimed “switching the display of the first thumbnail video from depicting the first presenter interacting with the first physical product to depicting the first presenter interacting with the second physical product, wherein the switched first thumbnail video continues to depict the first presenter in the first video stream while the second physical product is being presented, (2) switching the display of the second thumbnail video from depicting a zoomed-in view of the first physical product to depicting a zoomed-in view of the second physical product, the second thumbnail video being a separate camera view from the first thumbnail video, and (3) switching the display of the product drawer from the information associated with the first physical product to information associated with the second physical product in the product drawer” dynamically rendering one or more graphical overlays may be superimposed over portion of the frame of the live video stream where a selection of a graphical overlay may cause an interactive action relative to one or more items to be performed, furthermore based on the display interface items and the presenter may be displayed simultaneously on the screen, including one or more sellers participate(s), or hosts or producers. Hence the amended claims do not overcome the PARs as discussed below. The amendments to the claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection discussed below. This office action is non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DURY et al (2017/0006322) in view of BLOCH et al (2017/0295410) and further in view of TAYLOR et al (10,440,436)
As to claims 1-5, DURY discloses participant rewards in a spectating system and further discloses a method comprising, by an application executing on a first computer system:
accessing, by the application (figs.1-33, Spectating System “SS” UI/API “SS-UI/API”) a plurality of video streams received at the first computer system, wherein the plurality of video streams are captured by a plurality of cameras, respectively, and wherein the plurality of cameras are geographically located at a plurality of different locations; wherein the plurality of video streams comprises at least a first video stream capturing a first presenter (selected players or participants or game controllers) interacting with a first product (descriptive images for particular items, web pages); ([0055-0059], [0069-0074], [0080-0089], [0101-0117], [0190-0192] and [0200-0216], geographical of the event and further indicates on a map players or broadcasters broadcasting the game); SS-UI/API receives live streams and recorded streams from various locations, cameras are located at different locations around the event or at other venues; players or participants and/or game controller interacts with products in the UI to view or replay to order and purchase products;
displaying, by the application, the plurality of video streams as a plurality of respective thumbnail videos in a graphical user interface (GUI) of the application; wherein the thumbnail videos comprise at least a first thumbnail video depicting the first presenter interacting with the first product and a second thumbnail video depicting a zoomed-in view of the first product, and (2) information associated with the first product in a product drawer in the GUI (figs.6A-31, ); ([0055-0059], [0069-0074], [0080-0089], [0101-0117], [0190-0192] and [0200-0216]) players or participants and/or game controller interacts with products in the UI to view or replay to order and purchase products;
detecting, by the application, that the first video stream captures the first presenter interacting with a second product subsequent to interacting with the first product; displaying, by the application in the GUI, (1) the first thumbnail video depicting the first presenter interacting with the second product and the second thumbnail video depicting a zoomed-in view of the second product, and (2) information associated with the second product in the product drawer ([0190-0192], [0200-0216], [0234-0242], [0281-0285] and [0385-0389]) players or participants and/or game controller interacts with products in the UI to view or replay to order and purchase products); access physical items to purchase items or win prizes; generate layout for product placement, ads, etc.
receiving, via the GUI, a first user selection of two or more video streams of the plurality of video streams, wherein the two or more video streams depict two or more respective presenters (game players, controllers, selected participants) interacting with real-world objects captured by two or more respective cameras; receiving, via the GUI, a second user selection of one layout of a plurality of layouts, wherein the selected layout is configured to integrate the two or more video streams depicting two or more respective presenters interacting with real-world objects captured by two or more respective cameras; selecting, by the application based on the first user selection, the at least one video stream two or more video streams for broadcasting, ([0055-0059], [0063-0074], [0080-0089], [0101-0117] and [0200-0216]); SS-UI/API targets game metadata and broadcast content to fans or groups spectators; further discloses players of games and game controllers or presenters; receives feedbacks of specific interactions to generate target streams to fans or groups of viewers based on profile, preferences and other information for participants (players, broadcasters, and/or spectators), streams may be input from one or more broadcast devices that may be composite and stream the AV inputs to SS-UI/API; the inputs to the SS-UI/API may indicate a particular location or area and particular time within the game timeline of the event being broadcast; SS-UI/API further indicates on a map, locations of players broadcasting the game or event; generates GUI for fans or groups with various thumbnails;
integrating, by the application, the at least one selected video streams into the selected layout; and transmitting, by the application, the at least one selected video streams integrated into the selected layout to a first server, wherein the transmission of the at least one selected video stream integrated into the selected layout to the first server triggers broadcasting the at least one selected video streams integrated into the selected layout to a second computer system by the first server; displaying, by the application, a preview of the broadcast video stream in the GUI of the application, wherein the plurality of video streams comprise at least a first video stream associated with a first presenter and a second video stream associated with a second presenter and wherein the first video stream is captured by a first camera associated with the first presenter, and wherein the second video stream is captured by a second camera associated with the second presenter ([0055-0059], [0069-0074], [0080-0089], [0101-0117], [0158-0168], [0200-0216] and [0228-0232]); SS-UI/API integrates streams, broadcast the streams with audio, text chats and/or voice chat, social media, etc., thumbnails and various panes and overlays: images, video clips, etc.; participants (players, broadcasters, and/or spectators), streams may be input from one or more broadcast devices that may be composite and stream the AV inputs to SS-UI/API; the inputs to the SS-UI/API may indicate a particular location or area and particular time within the game timeline of the event being broadcast; SS-UI/API further indicates on a map, locations of players broadcasting the game or event; generates GUI for fans or groups with various thumbnails; the first user selection comprises a first video stream and a second video stream;
the selected layout comprises a first pane and a second pane; and integrating the at least one selected video stream into the selected layout comprises associating the first video stream with the first pane and the second video stream with the second pane and transmitting the at least one selected video stream integrated into the selected layout to a second server, wherein the transmission of the at least one selected video stream integrated into the selected layout to the second server triggers the second server to transmit a notification to a third computer system ([0055-0059], [0069-0074], [0080-0089], [0101-0117], [0158-0168], [0200-0216] and [0228-0232]); SS-UI/API integrates streams, broadcast the streams with audio, text chats and/or voice chat, social media, etc., thumbnails and various panes and overlays: images, video clips, etc.; participants (players, broadcasters, and/or spectators), streams may be input from one or more broadcast devices that may be composite and stream the AV inputs to SS-UI/API; the inputs to the SS-UI/API may indicate a particular location or area and particular time within the game timeline of the event being broadcast; SS-UI/API further indicates on a map, locations of players broadcasting the game or event; targets specific generates GUI based on profile, preference to fans or groups with various thumbnails.
DURY generates and overlays products or game related images and descriptive data as discussed above ([0190-0192], [0200-0216], [0231-0242], [0281-0285], [0361-0375] and [0385-0389]) players or participants and/or game controller interacts with products in the UI to view or replay to order and purchase products); access physical items to purchase items or win prizes; generate layout for product placement, ads, etc. BUT appears silent as to thumbnail video depicting presenter(s) interacting with product(s) and thumbnail(s) video depicting a zoomed-in view product(s), in the product drawer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, BLOCH discloses symbiotic interactive video and further discloses content manipulation that enables users browsing webpages with streaming thumbnails or other clips to interact with products to further zoom-in and zoom-out of the products as desired (figs.1-6, Abstract, {0003-0004], [0015-0018], [0029-0033] and [0039-0048]).
Hence it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of BLOCH into the system of DURY to provide or generate additional enhancement to the displayed product or GUI to enable users to interact respective GUI to generate additional enhancement for other users to interact as desired
DURY as modified by BLOCH, appears silent as to responsive to detecting the shift responsive to detecting the shift, concurrently and/or dynamically rendering additional enhancements or as claimed:
switching the display of the first thumbnail video from depicting the first presenter interacting with the first physical product to depicting the first presenter interacting with the second physical product, wherein the switched first thumbnail video continues to depict the first presenter in the first video stream while the second physical product is being presented, (2) switching the display of the second thumbnail video from depicting a zoomed-in view of the first physical product to depicting a zoomed-in view of the second physical product, the second thumbnail video being a separate camera view from the first thumbnail video, and (3) switching the display of the product drawer from the information associated with the first physical product to information associated with the second physical product in the product drawer.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, TAYLOR discloses sync interactive content with live video streams and further discloses responsive to an indications or interactions, shift concurrently and/or dynamically rendering additional enhancements or as claimed: switching the display of the first thumbnail video from depicting the first presenter interacting with the first physical product to depicting the first presenter interacting with the second physical product, wherein the switched first thumbnail video continues to depict the first presenter in the first video stream while the second physical product is being presented, (2) switching the display of the second thumbnail video from depicting a zoomed-in view of the first physical product to depicting a zoomed-in view of the second physical product, the second thumbnail video being a separate camera view from the first thumbnail video, and (3) switching the display of the product drawer from the information associated with the first physical product to information associated with the second physical product in the product drawer (figs.1+, Abstract, [Col.2, line 45-Col.4, line 17, Col.5, line 3-Col.6, line 20, Col.7, line 38-Col.9, line 66 and Col.10, line 3-Col.12, line 1+), dynamically rendering one or more graphical overlays may be superimposed over portion of the frame of the live video stream where a selection of a graphical overlay may cause an interactive action relative to one or more items to be performed, furthermore based on the display interface items and the presenter may be displayed simultaneously on the screen, including one or more sellers participate(s), or hosts or producers, to select UI as to which items are being discussed and dynamically rendering the items with various enhancements
Hence it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of TAYLOR into the system of DURY as modified by BLOCH to generate additional enhancement to the displayed product based on a host or presenter and further direct user(s) to a desired host or presenter currently displaying the items or products to enable direct interactions with the host or presenter as desired.
As to claims 6-10, DURY further discloses wherein the notification indicates the at least one selected video stream; wherein the notification is configured to be displayed as a highlight to a thumbnail video corresponding to the at least one selected video stream on the third computer system and where the overview comprises an image associated with the product ant various information associated with the product ([0080-0089], [0101-0117], [0158-0168], [0200-0216] and [0228-0232]); the metadata incudes broadcast related items associated with the event and other products; SS-UI/API integrates streams, broadcast the streams with audio, text chats and/or voice chat, social media, etc., thumbnails and various panes and overlays: images, video clips, etc.; participants (players, broadcasters, and/or spectators), streams may be input from one or more broadcast devices that may be composite and stream the AV inputs to SS-UI/API;
Claims 11-14 are met as previously discussed in claims 1-5.
As to claims 15-17, the claimed one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage medium…” is composed of the same structural elements that were discussed in claims 1-5.
Claim 18 met as previously discussed in claims 6-10.
As to claims 19-20, the claimed a system…” is composed of the same structural elements that were discussed in claims 1-5.
Conclusion
/ANNAN Q SHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424
ANNAN SHANG