DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Thanos et al (US Publication No. 20150229516).
Regarding claim 1, Thanos discloses a system (i.e., 36; a general configuration of a protection and control system 36; see for example fig. 2, para. [0025]), comprising: a first intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]) of an electric power delivery system (i.e., 26; power distribution substations 26; see para. [0025]), wherein the first intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]) is configured to: receive (i.e., the IED configuring device to receive the configuration options selected by the operator for the initial configuration of the IED; see for example fig. 10, para. [0047]) simulated electric power delivery system measurements (i.e., For example, the IED may be coupled to power equipment (e.g., breakers, transformers, switches, motors, or generators) and may be configured to receive measurements (e.g., frequency measurements, voltage measurements, and current measurements) from the power equipment; see para. [0021]) and test configuration settings (i.e., the IED configuration settings may define parameters of the IED 42 relating to product setup, remote resources, grouped elements, control elements, inputs/outputs, transducer inputs/outputs, tests, and the like; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) from a computing device (i.e., 76; The configuration device component 76 of the IED configuring device 62 illustrated in FIG. 3 may be a desktop computer or a portable computing device; see for example fig. 3, para. [0032]); transmit (i.e., to communicate with (e.g., send control commands to and receive measurements from); see para. [0025]) a signal indicative of instructions (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to pause (i.e., the IED configuring device 62 may wait (block 196) for the one or more IEDs 42 in wireless commissioning mode to attempt to connect to the wireless network; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]) normal operation (i.e., to perform measurements (e.g., voltage, current, load, temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc.) pertaining to the operation of the protection and control system 36 that may be reported to the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 2, para. [0029]) to a plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]); transmit (i.e., to communicate with (e.g., send control commands to and receive measurements from); see para. [0025]) a signal (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) comprising the simulated electric power delivery system measurements (i.e., For example, the IED may be coupled to power equipment (e.g., breakers, transformers, switches, motors, or generators) and may be configured to receive measurements (e.g., frequency measurements, voltage measurements, and current measurements) from the power equipment; see para. [0021]) and the test configuration settings (i.e., the IED configuration settings may define parameters of the IED 42 relating to product setup, remote resources, grouped elements, control elements, inputs/outputs, transducer inputs/outputs, tests, and the like; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to each additional intelligent electronic devices (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]) of the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]); transmit (i.e., to communicate with (e.g., send control commands to and receive measurements from); see para. [0025]) a signal indicative of instructions (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to begin a test procedure (i.e., pre-configuring the IED (e.g., prior to deployment) to enable a more simplified IED identification and commissioning process for the operator; see for example fig. 5, para. [0035]) according to the simulated electric power delivery system measurements (i.e., For example, the IED may be coupled to power equipment (e.g., breakers, transformers, switches, motors, or generators) and may be configured to receive measurements (e.g., frequency measurements, voltage measurements, and current measurements) from the power equipment; see para. [0021]) and the test configuration settings (i.e., the IED configuration settings may define parameters of the IED 42 relating to product setup, remote resources, grouped elements, control elements, inputs/outputs, transducer inputs/outputs, tests, and the like; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to each additional intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]) of the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]); receive (i.e., the IED configuring device to receive the configuration options selected by the operator for the initial configuration of the IED; see for example fig. 10, para. [0047]) a signal indicative (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) of test results (i.e., such as measurement logs; see for example para. [0026]) from each additional intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]) of the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]); and transmit (i.e., to communicate with (e.g., send control commands to and receive measurements from); see para. [0025]) a signal indicative of instructions (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to resume (i.e., continues when the operator disposes (block 134) the IED configuring device 62 within wireless range of the IED 42 and allows the IED configuring device 62 to discover the IED when the IED establishes a wireless connection 73 with the IED configuring device 62; see for example fig. 6, [0036]) normal operation (i.e., to perform measurements (e.g., voltage, current, load, temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc.) pertaining to the operation of the protection and control system 36 that may be reported to the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 2, para. [0029]) to the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]).
Regarding claim 2, Thanos discloses the system (i.e., 36; a general configuration of a protection and control system 36; see for example fig. 2, para. [0025]), wherein the simulated power delivery system measurements (i.e., For example, the IED may be coupled to power equipment (e.g., breakers, transformers, switches, motors, or generators) and may be configured to receive measurements (e.g., frequency measurements, voltage measurements, and current measurements) from the power equipment; see para. [0021]) comprise a simulated power delivery system condition (i.e., These measurements may include current differential, directional phase overcurrent, directional neutral overcurrent, negative-sequence overcurrent, undervoltage, overvoltage, and distance protection; see for example fig. 2, para. [0028]) previously recorded (i.e., stored in the memory 52 during operation; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) by the first intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]), the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]), or a combination thereof (i.e., such as sensor measurements (real-time, near real-time or delayed), measurement logs, a status, alarms, alerts, values computed by the equipment 44 such as statistics values, or any combination thereof; see fig. 2, para. [0026]).
Regarding claim 3, Thanos discloses the system (i.e., 36; a general configuration of a protection and control system 36; see for example fig. 2, para. [0025]), wherein the simulated power delivery system condition (i.e., These measurements may include current differential, directional phase overcurrent, directional neutral overcurrent, negative-sequence overcurrent, undervoltage, overvoltage, and distance protection; see for example fig. 2, para. [0028]) comprises a fault condition (i.e., present the data collected to a SCADA system, monitor power equipment 44 for alarm conditions, issue alarms, visually present data to an operator, and provide transparent access to IEDs 42 and/or power equipment 44; see for example para. [0026]).
Regarding claim 4, Thanos discloses the system (i.e., 36; a general configuration of a protection and control system 36; see for example fig. 2, para. [0025]), wherein the fault condition (i.e., present the data collected to a SCADA system, monitor power equipment 44 for alarm conditions, issue alarms, visually present data to an operator, and provide transparent access to IEDs 42 and/or power equipment 44; see for example para. [0026]) comprises an overcurrent condition (i.e., such as directional phase overcurrent, directional neutral overcurrent, negative-sequence overcurrent; see for example fig. 2, para. [0028]).
Regarding claim 5, Thanos discloses the system (i.e., 36; a general configuration of a protection and control system 36; see for example fig. 2, para. [0025]), wherein the intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]) is configured to transmit (i.e., to communicate with (e.g., send control commands to and receive measurements from); see para. [0025]) a signal indicative of instructions (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to enter a test configuration mode (i.e., Once the IED has been preconfigured, the IED may be installed (e.g., in a protection and control system 36 as illustrated in FIG. 2) and then booted (block 124) to operate in wireless commissioning mode; see for example fig. 5 para. [0035]).
Regarding claim 6, Thanos discloses the system (i.e., 36; a general configuration of a protection and control system 36; see for example fig. 2, para. [0025]), wherein each additional intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]) is configured to disable protection communications (i.e., At some later time, the IED configuring device 62 may receive (block 208) an operator indication for the IED configuring device 52 to deactivate automatic discovery mode and may discontinue hosting of the wireless network; see for example fig. 9, para. [0046]), block warnings and alarms (i.e., alarms, alerts for alarm conditions, issue alarms; see for example fig. 2, para. [0026]) associated with the additional intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]), and load (i.e., to enable an installed IED to be commissioned (e.g., initially configured) without physically interacting with the IED; see para. [0022]) the simulated power delivery system measurements (i.e., For example, the IED may be coupled to power equipment (e.g., breakers, transformers, switches, motors, or generators) and may be configured to receive measurements (e.g., frequency measurements, voltage measurements, and current measurements) from the power equipment; see para. [0021]) in response to receiving (i.e., the IED configuring device to receive the configuration options selected by the operator for the initial configuration of the IED; see for example fig. 10, para. [0047]) the signal indicative of instructions (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to enter the test configuration mode (i.e., Once the IED has been preconfigured, the IED may be installed (e.g., in a protection and control system 36 as illustrated in FIG. 2) and then booted (block 124) to operate in wireless commissioning mode; see for example fig. 5 para. [0035]).
Regarding claim 7, Thanos discloses the system (i.e., 36; a general configuration of a protection and control system 36; see for example fig. 2, para. [0025]), wherein the intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]) is configured to: determine (i.e., Additionally, the IED 42 may determine the status of contact inputs, virtual inputs, remote inputs, remote double-point status inputs, teleprotection inputs, contact outputs, virtual outputs, remote devices, digital counters, selector switches, flex states, direct inputs, direct devices, direct integer input, teleprotection channel tests, Ethernet switch, and the like; see para. [0027]) respective configuration changes (i.e., When a new IED is installed within a system, such as the protection and control system 36 discussed above, the IED may undergo commissioning, in which the default (e.g., factory installed) IED configuration settings may be updated with IED configuration settings to define the identity and the desired behavior of the IED within the system; see for example para. [0029]) for each additional intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]) of the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]) based on the test results (i.e., such as measurement logs; see for example para. [0026]); and transmit (i.e., to communicate with (e.g., send control commands to and receive measurements from); see para. [0025]) a signal indicative of instructions (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to apply the respective configuration changes (i.e., When a new IED is installed within a system, such as the protection and control system 36 discussed above, the IED may undergo commissioning, in which the default (e.g., factory installed) IED configuration settings may be updated with IED configuration settings to define the identity and the desired behavior of the IED within the system; see for example para. [0029]) to each additional intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]) of the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]).
Regarding claim 8, Thanos discloses the system (i.e., 36; a general configuration of a protection and control system 36; see for example fig. 2, para. [0025]), comprising the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]), wherein the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]) are configured to: receive (i.e., the IED configuring device to receive the configuration options selected by the operator for the initial configuration of the IED; see for example fig. 10, para. [0047]) the signal indicative of instructions (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to pause (i.e., the IED configuring device 62 may wait (block 196) for the one or more IEDs 42 in wireless commissioning mode to attempt to connect to the wireless network; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]) normal operation (i.e., to perform measurements (e.g., voltage, current, load, temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc.) pertaining to the operation of the protection and control system 36 that may be reported to the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 2, para. [0029]) from the first intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]); receive (i.e., the IED configuring device to receive the configuration options selected by the operator for the initial configuration of the IED; see for example fig. 10, para. [0047]) the signal (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) comprising the simulated electric power delivery system measurements (i.e., For example, the IED may be coupled to power equipment (e.g., breakers, transformers, switches, motors, or generators) and may be configured to receive measurements (e.g., frequency measurements, voltage measurements, and current measurements) from the power equipment; see para. [0021]) and the test configuration settings (i.e., the IED configuration settings may define parameters of the IED 42 relating to product setup, remote resources, grouped elements, control elements, inputs/outputs, transducer inputs/outputs, tests, and the like; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) from the first intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]); receive (i.e., the IED configuring device to receive the configuration options selected by the operator for the initial configuration of the IED; see for example fig. 10, para. [0047]) the signal indicative of instructions (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to begin a test procedure (i.e., pre-configuring the IED (e.g., prior to deployment) to enable a more simplified IED identification and commissioning process for the operator; see for example fig. 5, para. [0035]) according to the simulated electric power delivery system measurements (i.e., For example, the IED may be coupled to power equipment (e.g., breakers, transformers, switches, motors, or generators) and may be configured to receive measurements (e.g., frequency measurements, voltage measurements, and current measurements) from the power equipment; see para. [0021]) and the test configuration settings (i.e., the IED configuration settings may define parameters of the IED 42 relating to product setup, remote resources, grouped elements, control elements, inputs/outputs, transducer inputs/outputs, tests, and the like; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) from the first intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]); perform the test procedure (i.e., pre-configuring the IED (e.g., prior to deployment) to enable a more simplified IED identification and commissioning process for the operator; see for example fig. 5, para. [0035]) according to the simulated electric power delivery system measurements (i.e., For example, the IED may be coupled to power equipment (e.g., breakers, transformers, switches, motors, or generators) and may be configured to receive measurements (e.g., frequency measurements, voltage measurements, and current measurements) from the power equipment; see para. [0021]) and the test configuration settings (i.e., the IED configuration settings may define parameters of the IED 42 relating to product setup, remote resources, grouped elements, control elements, inputs/outputs, transducer inputs/outputs, tests, and the like; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]); transmit (i.e., to communicate with (e.g., send control commands to and receive measurements from); see para. [0025]) the signal indicative (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) of the test results (i.e., such as measurement logs; see for example para. [0026]) to the first intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]); receive (i.e., the IED configuring device to receive the configuration options selected by the operator for the initial configuration of the IED; see for example fig. 10, para. [0047]) the signal indicative of instructions (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to apply the respective configuration changes (i.e., When a new IED is installed within a system, such as the protection and control system 36 discussed above, the IED may undergo commissioning, in which the default (e.g., factory installed) IED configuration settings may be updated with IED configuration settings to define the identity and the desired behavior of the IED within the system; see for example para. [0029]); apply the respective configuration changes (i.e., When a new IED is installed within a system, such as the protection and control system 36 discussed above, the IED may undergo commissioning, in which the default (e.g., factory installed) IED configuration settings may be updated with IED configuration settings to define the identity and the desired behavior of the IED within the system; see for example para. [0029]); and receive (i.e., the IED configuring device to receive the configuration options selected by the operator for the initial configuration of the IED; see for example fig. 10, para. [0047]) the signal indicative of instructions (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to resume (i.e., continues when the operator disposes (block 134) the IED configuring device 62 within wireless range of the IED 42 and allows the IED configuring device 62 to discover the IED when the IED establishes a wireless connection 73 with the IED configuring device 62; see for example fig. 6, [0036]) normal operation (i.e., to perform measurements (e.g., voltage, current, load, temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc.) pertaining to the operation of the protection and control system 36 that may be reported to the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 2, para. [0029]) from the first intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 9, Thanos discloses the system (i.e., 36; a general configuration of a protection and control system 36; see for example fig. 2, para. [0025]), wherein the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]) are configured to perform the test procedure (i.e., pre-configuring the IED (e.g., prior to deployment) to enable a more simplified IED identification and commissioning process for the operator; see for example fig. 5, para. [0035]) simultaneously (i.e., may enable the simultaneous connection of multiple IEDs as wireless clients; see for example fig. 7, para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 11, Thanos discloses a method (i.e., 36; a general configuration of a protection and control system 36; see for example fig. 2, para. [0025]), comprising: receiving (i.e., the IED configuring device to receive the configuration options selected by the operator for the initial configuration of the IED; see for example fig. 10, para. [0047]) simulated electric power delivery system measurements (i.e., For example, the IED may be coupled to power equipment (e.g., breakers, transformers, switches, motors, or generators) and may be configured to receive measurements (e.g., frequency measurements, voltage measurements, and current measurements) from the power equipment; see para. [0021]) and test configuration settings (i.e., the IED configuration settings may define parameters of the IED 42 relating to product setup, remote resources, grouped elements, control elements, inputs/outputs, transducer inputs/outputs, tests, and the like; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) from a computing device (i.e., 76; The configuration device component 76 of the IED configuring device 62 illustrated in FIG. 3 may be a desktop computer or a portable computing device; see for example fig. 3, para. [0032]); transmitting (i.e., to communicate with (e.g., send control commands to and receive measurements from); see para. [0025]) a signal indicative of instructions (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to pause (i.e., the IED configuring device 62 may wait (block 196) for the one or more IEDs 42 in wireless commissioning mode to attempt to connect to the wireless network; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]) normal operation (i.e., to perform measurements (e.g., voltage, current, load, temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc.) pertaining to the operation of the protection and control system 36 that may be reported to the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 2, para. [0029]) to a plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]); transmitting (i.e., to communicate with (e.g., send control commands to and receive measurements from); see para. [0025]) a signal (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) comprising the simulated electric power delivery system measurements (i.e., For example, the IED may be coupled to power equipment (e.g., breakers, transformers, switches, motors, or generators) and may be configured to receive measurements (e.g., frequency measurements, voltage measurements, and current measurements) from the power equipment; see para. [0021]) and the test configuration settings (i.e., the IED configuration settings may define parameters of the IED 42 relating to product setup, remote resources, grouped elements, control elements, inputs/outputs, transducer inputs/outputs, tests, and the like; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to each additional intelligent electronic devices (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]) of the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]); transmitting (i.e., to communicate with (e.g., send control commands to and receive measurements from); see para. [0025]) a signal indicative of instructions (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to begin a test procedure (i.e., pre-configuring the IED (e.g., prior to deployment) to enable a more simplified IED identification and commissioning process for the operator; see for example fig. 5, para. [0035]) according to the simulated electric power delivery system measurements (i.e., For example, the IED may be coupled to power equipment (e.g., breakers, transformers, switches, motors, or generators) and may be configured to receive measurements (e.g., frequency measurements, voltage measurements, and current measurements) from the power equipment; see para. [0021]) and the test configuration settings (i.e., the IED configuration settings may define parameters of the IED 42 relating to product setup, remote resources, grouped elements, control elements, inputs/outputs, transducer inputs/outputs, tests, and the like; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to each additional intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]) of the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]); receiving (i.e., the IED configuring device to receive the configuration options selected by the operator for the initial configuration of the IED; see for example fig. 10, para. [0047]) a signal indicative (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) of test results (i.e., such as measurement logs; see for example para. [0026]) from each additional intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]) of the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]); and transmitting (i.e., to communicate with (e.g., send control commands to and receive measurements from); see para. [0025]) a signal indicative of instructions (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to resume (i.e., continues when the operator disposes (block 134) the IED configuring device 62 within wireless range of the IED 42 and allows the IED configuring device 62 to discover the IED when the IED establishes a wireless connection 73 with the IED configuring device 62; see for example fig. 6, [0036]) normal operation (i.e., to perform measurements (e.g., voltage, current, load, temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc.) pertaining to the operation of the protection and control system 36 that may be reported to the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 2, para. [0029]) to the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]).
Regarding claim 12, Thanos discloses the method (i.e., 36; a general configuration of a protection and control system 36; see for example fig. 2, para. [0025]), wherein the simulated power delivery system measurements (i.e., For example, the IED may be coupled to power equipment (e.g., breakers, transformers, switches, motors, or generators) and may be configured to receive measurements (e.g., frequency measurements, voltage measurements, and current measurements) from the power equipment; see para. [0021]) comprise a simulated power delivery system condition (i.e., These measurements may include current differential, directional phase overcurrent, directional neutral overcurrent, negative-sequence overcurrent, undervoltage, overvoltage, and distance protection; see for example fig. 2, para. [0028]).
Regarding claim 13, Thanos discloses the method (i.e., 36; a general configuration of a protection and control system 36; see for example fig. 2, para. [0025]), wherein the simulated power delivery system condition (i.e., These measurements may include current differential, directional phase overcurrent, directional neutral overcurrent, negative-sequence overcurrent, undervoltage, overvoltage, and distance protection; see for example fig. 2, para. [0028]) comprises a fault condition (i.e., present the data collected to a SCADA system, monitor power equipment 44 for alarm conditions, issue alarms, visually present data to an operator, and provide transparent access to IEDs 42 and/or power equipment 44; see for example para. [0026]).
Regarding claim 14, Thanos discloses the method (i.e., 36; a general configuration of a protection and control system 36; see for example fig. 2, para. [0025]), wherein the fault condition (i.e., present the data collected to a SCADA system, monitor power equipment 44 for alarm conditions, issue alarms, visually present data to an operator, and provide transparent access to IEDs 42 and/or power equipment 44; see for example para. [0026]) comprises an overcurrent condition (i.e., such as directional phase overcurrent, directional neutral overcurrent, negative-sequence overcurrent; see for example fig. 2, para. [0028]).
Regarding claim 15, Thanos discloses the method (i.e., 36; a general configuration of a protection and control system 36; see for example fig. 2, para. [0025]), wherein the intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]) is configured to transmit (i.e., to communicate with (e.g., send control commands to and receive measurements from); see para. [0025]) a signal indicative of instructions (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to enter a test configuration mode (i.e., Once the IED has been preconfigured, the IED may be installed (e.g., in a protection and control system 36 as illustrated in FIG. 2) and then booted (block 124) to operate in wireless commissioning mode; see for example fig. 5 para. [0035]).
Regarding claim 16, Thanos discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (i.e., 62; IED configuring device 62; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) comprising computer-executable instructions (i.e., 76; configuration device component 76; see for example fig. 3, para. [0031]) that, when executed, are configured to cause data processing circuitry (i.e., 84; processor 84 that is configured to execute one or more instructions stored in the memory 86 to control operations of the configuration device component 76; see for example fig. 3, para. [0032]) to perform operations (i.e., to perform measurements (e.g., voltage, current, load, temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc.) pertaining to the operation of the protection and control system 36 that may be reported to the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 2, para. [0029]) comprising: transmitting (i.e., to communicate with (e.g., send control commands to and receive measurements from); see para. [0025]) simulated electric power delivery system measurements (i.e., For example, the IED may be coupled to power equipment (e.g., breakers, transformers, switches, motors, or generators) and may be configured to receive measurements (e.g., frequency measurements, voltage measurements, and current measurements) from the power equipment; see para. [0021]) and test configuration settings (i.e., the IED configuration settings may define parameters of the IED 42 relating to product setup, remote resources, grouped elements, control elements, inputs/outputs, transducer inputs/outputs, tests, and the like; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to an intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]) to cause the intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]) to: transmit (i.e., to communicate with (e.g., send control commands to and receive measurements from); see para. [0025]) a signal indicative of instructions (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to pause (i.e., the IED configuring device 62 may wait (block 196) for the one or more IEDs 42 in wireless commissioning mode to attempt to connect to the wireless network; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]) normal operation (i.e., to perform measurements (e.g., voltage, current, load, temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc.) pertaining to the operation of the protection and control system 36 that may be reported to the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 2, para. [0029]) to a plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]); transmit (i.e., to communicate with (e.g., send control commands to and receive measurements from); see para. [0025]) a signal (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) comprising the simulated electric power delivery system measurements (i.e., For example, the IED may be coupled to power equipment (e.g., breakers, transformers, switches, motors, or generators) and may be configured to receive measurements (e.g., frequency measurements, voltage measurements, and current measurements) from the power equipment; see para. [0021]) and the test configuration settings (i.e., the IED configuration settings may define parameters of the IED 42 relating to product setup, remote resources, grouped elements, control elements, inputs/outputs, transducer inputs/outputs, tests, and the like; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to each additional intelligent electronic devices (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]) of the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]); transmit (i.e., to communicate with (e.g., send control commands to and receive measurements from); see para. [0025]) a signal indicative of instructions (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to begin a test procedure (i.e., pre-configuring the IED (e.g., prior to deployment) to enable a more simplified IED identification and commissioning process for the operator; see for example fig. 5, para. [0035]) according to the simulated electric power delivery system measurements (i.e., For example, the IED may be coupled to power equipment (e.g., breakers, transformers, switches, motors, or generators) and may be configured to receive measurements (e.g., frequency measurements, voltage measurements, and current measurements) from the power equipment; see para. [0021]) and the test configuration settings (i.e., the IED configuration settings may define parameters of the IED 42 relating to product setup, remote resources, grouped elements, control elements, inputs/outputs, transducer inputs/outputs, tests, and the like; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) to each additional intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]) of the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]); and receive (i.e., the IED configuring device to receive the configuration options selected by the operator for the initial configuration of the IED; see for example fig. 10, para. [0047]) a signal indicative (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) of test results (i.e., such as measurement logs; see for example para. [0026]) from each additional intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]) of the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]).
Regarding claim 17, Thanos discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium (i.e., 62; IED configuring device 62; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]); comprising computer-executable instructions (i.e., 76; configuration device component 76; see for example fig. 3, para. [0031]) wherein the instructions (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) that, when executed (i.e., 76; configuration device component 76; see for example fig. 3, para. [0031]), are configured to cause data processing circuitry (i.e., 84; processor 84 that is configured to execute one or more instructions stored in the memory 86 to control operations of the configuration device component 76; see for example fig. 3, para. [0032]) to perform operations (i.e., to perform measurements (e.g., voltage, current, load, temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc.) pertaining to the operation of the protection and control system 36 that may be reported to the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 2, para. [0029]) comprising: causing the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]) to enter a test configuration mode (i.e., Once the IED has been preconfigured, the IED may be installed (e.g., in a protection and control system 36 as illustrated in FIG. 2) and then booted (block 124) to operate in wireless commissioning mode; see for example fig. 5 para. [0035]).
Regarding claim 18, Thanos discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium (i.e., 62; IED configuring device 62; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]); comprising computer-executable instructions (i.e., 76; configuration device component 76; see for example fig. 3, para. [0031]), wherein the test configuration mode (i.e., Once the IED has been preconfigured, the IED may be installed (e.g., in a protection and control system 36 as illustrated in FIG. 2) and then booted (block 124) to operate in wireless commissioning mode; see for example fig. 5 para. [0035]) causes the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]) to disable communication protections (i.e., At some later time, the IED configuring device 62 may receive (block 208) an operator indication for the IED configuring device 52 to deactivate automatic discovery mode and may discontinue hosting of the wireless network; see for example fig. 9, para. [0046]), block warnings and alarms (i.e., alarms, alerts for alarm conditions, issue alarms; see for example fig. 2, para. [0026]) associated with the additional intelligent electronic device (IED) (i.e., 42; such as intelligent electronic devices IEDs 42; see para. [0025]), and load (i.e., to enable an installed IED to be commissioned (e.g., initially configured) without physically interacting with the IED; see para. [0022]) the simulated power delivery system measurements (i.e., For example, the IED may be coupled to power equipment (e.g., breakers, transformers, switches, motors, or generators) and may be configured to receive measurements (e.g., frequency measurements, voltage measurements, and current measurements) from the power equipment; see para. [0021]).
Regarding claim 19, Thanos discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium (i.e., 62; IED configuring device 62; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]); comprising computer-executable instructions (i.e., 76; configuration device component 76; see for example fig. 3, para. [0031]), wherein the instructions (i.e., The illustrated IED 42 also includes one or more controllers 66 that are capable of sending control signals to one or more pieces of power equipment 44 based on instructions received from the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 3, para. [0029]) that, when executed (i.e., 76; configuration device component 76; see for example fig. 3, para. [0031]), are configured to cause data processing circuitry (i.e., 84; processor 84 that is configured to execute one or more instructions stored in the memory 86 to control operations of the configuration device component 76; see for example fig. 3, para. [0032]) to perform operations (i.e., to perform measurements (e.g., voltage, current, load, temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc.) pertaining to the operation of the protection and control system 36 that may be reported to the management device 38 via the access point 40; see for example fig. 2, para. [0029]) comprising: causing the plurality of additional intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) (i.e., more IEDs 42; see for example fig. 9, para. [0045]) to perform the test procedure (i.e., pre-configuring the IED (e.g., prior to deployment) to enable a more simplified IED identification and commissioning process for the operator; see for example fig. 5, para. [0035]) simultaneously (i.e., may enable the simultaneous connection of multiple IEDs as wireless clients; see for example fig. 7, para. [0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.