DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 16, 18 and 20 were previously objected to for informalities. The amendments filed 06/24/2026 have successfully addressed these issues. Accordingly, the objection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 11-12, 14-15, 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fannon (US 20050067539).
Regarding claim 1, Fannon teaches an actuation system for coupling with a latch, the system comprising: a housing (60) having a receptacle, the housing containing an actuator arm (62) moveable within an interior of the housing, the actuator arm having a first connection feature (64); a cover plate (30) for installing in the receptacle, the cover plate for aligning (figs. 5-7) the first connection feature with a second connection feature (56); a cable apparatus (22) mounted on the cover plate, the cable apparatus having the second connection feature such that the second connection feature is suitable for engagement with the first connection feature (fig. 6); wherein insertion of the cover plate in the receptacle causes an operative coupling of the cable apparatus with the actuator arm by aligning and mating the first connection feature with the second connection feature (figs. 5-7) while the second connection feature remains movably coupled to the cover plate by a holder (52, 44, 46) depending from an underside of the cover plate (44 and 46 require the cover plate in order to be mounted therefore depend from an underside of the cover plate).
Regarding claim 2, Fannon teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the cover plate visually obscures the mating of the first connection feature with the second connection feature during the insertion of the cover plate in the receptacle (para. 0034).
Regarding claim 3, Fannon teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the cable apparatus (22) has one end of a cable connected to the second connection feature and another end of the cable connected to the latch (20).
Regarding claim 7, Fannon teaches the system of claim 1 further comprising the first connection feature having a tapered wall (cylindrical edges of 64 into the aperture are rounded to mate with the bottom end of 56) for facilitating the alignment of the connection features and their mating.
Regarding claim 8, Fannon teaches the system of claim 1 further comprising the second connection feature having a tapered wall (56 has tapered bottom edges visible in figure 5) for facilitating the alignment of the connection features and their mating.
Regarding claim 9, Fannon teaches the system of claim 1 further comprising the first connection feature is a ring with a corresponding hole (64) and the second connection feature is a pin (56).
Regarding claim 11, Fannon teaches the system of claim 1 further comprising a slot (46) in the holder, such that the slot facilitates lateral movement of the second connection feature with respect to an insertion direction of the cover plate when coming into engagement with the receptacle (para. 0025).
Regarding claim 12, Fannon teaches the system of claim 3, wherein an insertion direction (arrow shown in figure 5) of the cover plate into the receptacle is provided as transverse to an axis of the cable of the cable apparatus (arrow is transverse to cable 22).
Regarding claim 14, Fannon teaches the system of claim 13 further comprising a slot (46) in the holder, such that the slot facilitates lateral movement of the second connection feature with respect to an insertion direction of the cover plate when coming into engagement with the receptacle (para. 0025).
Regarding claim 15, Fannon teaches the system of claim 1 further comprising one or more releasable fasteners (slot 34 fastens 30 to 60) positioned on at least one of the cover plate and the housing.
Regarding claim 17, Fannon teaches the system of claim 1 further comprising at least one of a respective shape and a respective size between the first connection feature and the second connection feature provides for a suitable key and lock configuration for said engagement (figures 5-7).
Regarding claim 18, Fannon teaches the system of claim 17, wherein the mating surface of first connection feature is of a selected shape compatible with a corresponding shape of the mating surface of the second connection feature (figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 19, Fannon teaches the system of claim 17, wherein the mating surface of first connection feature is of a selected size compatible with a corresponding size of the mating surface of the second connection feature (figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 20, Fannon teaches an actuation system for coupling with a latch, the system comprising: a housing (60) supporting an actuator arm (62) moveable relative the housing, the actuator arm having a first connection feature (64) having a first dimension (diameter of aperture 64); a cable apparatus (22) having a second connection feature (56) having a second dimension (diameter of pin 56); a retention mechanism (52, 44, 46) for surrounding the cable to inhibit the cable from sagging into an interior of the housing during connection of the cable apparatus with the housing (para. 0025 and 0033); wherein the first connection feature and the second connection feature are engageable with one another when the first dimension and the second dimension correspond (figs. 5-7) and wherein the first connection feature and the second connection feature are not engageable with one another when the first dimension and the second dimension do not correspond (if the dimensions did not correspond then 56 would not reliably mate with 62).
Regarding claim 21, Fannon teaches the actuation system of claim 20, wherein the retention mechanism (52, 44, 46) continues to support the cable after connection and guides movement of the cable during operation of the actuator arm (para. 0033 and figs. 5-8).
Regarding claim 22, Fannon teaches the actuation system of claim 20, wherein the retention mechanism comprises a slot (46) for receiving the cable to inhibit the cable from sagging into the interior of the housing during insertion of the cover plate into the receptacle (slot 46 holds end of cable and with the assistance of 52 prevents sagging during installation per para. 0033).
Regarding claim 23, Fannon teaches the actuation system of claim 20, wherein the retention mechanism comprises a slot (46) for receiving the cable to allow side to side movement of the cable during operation of the actuator arm (para. 0025, restricts lateral movement).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fannon (US 20050067539) in view of Cumbo (US 20220341223 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Fannon teaches the system of claim 1 however does not explicitly teach further comprising the first connection is a pin and the second connection feature is a ring with a corresponding hole.
Fannon does teach wherein the first connection feature is a ring with a corresponding hole (64) and the second connection feature is a pin (56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to reverse the parts of Fannon to include the first connection feature as a pin and the second connection feature as a ring with a hole. A simple reversal of parts is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and therefore does not provide patentable significance. Reversing the parts of Koestler does not affect the function of the door lock and therefore Fannon’s invention is fully capable of functioning with the reversed arrangement. This ruling was upheld in case law supporting the reversal of parts [In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955)].
Regarding claim 24, Fannon teaches the system of claim 3, further comprising a retention mechanism (52, 44, 46) for surrounding the cable; wherein the retwention mechanism comprises a slot for receiving the cable to inhibit the cable from sagging into the interior of the housing during connection of the cover plate with the housing (para. 0025 and 0033).
Fannon does not explicitly teach wherein the first connection feature comprises a pin and the second connection feature is a ring with a corresponding hole for receiving the pin.
Fannon does teach wherein the first connection feature is a ring with a corresponding hole (64) and the second connection feature is a pin (56); wherein the first connection feature (now 56 after substitution) comprises a tapered wall for facilitating alignment of the connection features and their mating (bottom edges of 56 are tapered).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to reverse the parts of Fannon to include the first connection feature as a pin and the second connection feature as a ring with a hole. A simple reversal of parts is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and therefore does not provide patentable significance. Reversing the parts of Koestler does not affect the function of the door lock and therefore Fannon’s invention is fully capable of functioning with the reversed arrangement. This ruling was upheld in case law supporting the reversal of parts [In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955)].
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fannon (US 20050067539) in view of Cumbo (US 20220341223 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Fannon teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first connection feature is positioned on the actuator arm (handle pawl), such that the actuator is located remote to the latch.
Cumbo teaches a similar vehicle latch release system utilizing a motorized actuator (102) located remote to the latch.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Fannon with those of Cumbo in order to utilize an electric motor to actuate the latch instead of a manual handle. Utilizing an electric motor allows for an automated function which can be actuated remotely if desired rather than having to manually actuate a handle. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, Fannon in view of Cumbo teach the system of claim 4, wherein the actuator is mounted adjacent the housing (please note the actuator is provided in the same location as the manual actuator of Fannon visible in figure 1 which is adjacent the housing).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fannon (US 20050067539) in view of Woo (US 20190345744 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Fannon teaches the system of claim 15 however does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more releasable fasteners comprise resilient tabs for coupling with corresponding slots.
Woo teaches a similar system utilizing a resilient tab (62) and corresponding slot (64) as a releasable fastener.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Fannon with those of Cumbo in order to utilize a resilient tab and slot to fasten the cover plate to the housing. Utilizing resilient tabs and slots are a reliable and simple method to couple two components and the usage of such is well known in the art. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendments filed to the independent claims, the applicant asserts that Fannon fails to disclose “while the second connection feature remains movable coupled to the cover plate by a holder depending from an underside of the cover plate”. The examiner disagrees and points to the updated rejection above citing the element 52 which aids in supporting the cable even after it is in an assembled state as cited in paragraphs 0025 and 0033. The cable remains movable engaged with 52 in the assembled position and therefore satisfies the newly amended limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.E.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675