DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3-15-2024 and 8-21-2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 7, 18 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claims 6, 7, 18 and 19, reference is made to an iterative estimation. This renders the claims indefinite as there is no iteration performed on the sparse matrix in claims 1 and 13. Further clarification on the iteration is required.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-9, 11-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansour, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0129025, published April 27, 2023 in view of Chi, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0072640, published March 7, 2019.
As per claims 1, 9 and 13, Mansour discloses a radar system comprising:
a plurality of transmitter modules configured to transmit radar signals; a plurality of receiver modules (Mansour, ¶15);
and a controller configured to: encode radar signals, cause the plurality of transmitter modules to transmit the plurality of radar signals as transmitted signals, receive, using the plurality of receiver modules, reflections of the transmitted signals reflected by at least one object to generate signals based on the received reflections as observed signals, wherein a sparse matrix defines a relationship between the plurality of transmitter codes and values of the observed signals (Mansour, ¶59 and 65-66);
execute a sparse recovery method to determine the sparse matrix, which is associated with distance estimates based on the observed signals, using the predefined code dictionary and the observed signals (Mansour, ¶100),
estimating an attribute of the at least one object using the sparse matrix (Mansour, ¶100),
and transmitting the attribute of the at least one object to a vehicle driver assistance system (Mansour, ¶101).
Mansour fails to disclose using code division multiplexed signals.
Chi teaches use of CDMA signals (¶31).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use coded signals, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Mansour. Examiner submits that it is well within the skill of an ordinary person in the art to determine what transmission signals to use.
As per claims 2 and 14, Mansour as modified by Chi discloses the radar system of claim 1, wherein the predefined code dictionary includes a code dictionary matrix configured as a circulant matrix wherein each column in the code dictionary matrix is a circularly shifted version of a first column of the code dictionary matrix (Chi, ¶38).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use a circulant matrix dictionary, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Mansour and Chi. Examiner submits that it is well within the skill of an ordinary person in the art to determine how a coding scheme should be arranged.
As per claims 4, 11 and 16, Mansour as modified by Chi further discloses the radar system of claim 1, wherein the sparse recovery method includes at least one of an Iterative Shrinkage Thresholding Algorithm (ISTA), Approximate Message Passing (AMP) algorithm, and an Alternating Direction Method of Multipliers (ADMM) (Mansour, ¶52).
As per claims 5, 12 and 17 Mansour as modified by Chi further discloses the radar system of claim 4, wherein the ISTA, FISTA, or ADMM algorithm are configured to execute a predetermined model to determine the sparse matrix, wherein the predetermined model is trained using unfolded versions of the at least one of the ISTA, FISTA, and ADMM algorithm (Mansour, ¶52).
As per claims 6 and 18, Mansour as modified by Chi further discloses the radar system of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to execute Doppler processing and Doppler compensation before iteratively estimating the sparse matrix and before estimating the attribute of the at least one object (Mansour, ¶74 and Chi, ¶44).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use doppler processing in order to gain the well-known advantage of detecting object movement.
As per claims 7 and 19, Mansour as modified by Chi further discloses the radar system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to perform Doppler processing of the observed signals after iteratively estimating the sparse matrix (Mansour, ¶74 and Chi, ¶44).
As per claims 8 and 20, Mansour as modified by Chi further discloses the radar system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to, in parallel, execute the sparse recovery method on signals received simultaneously from each of the receiver modules (Mansour, ¶138).
Claim(s) 3, 10 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansour and Chi as applied to claims 1, 9 and 13 above, and further in view of Gogna, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0026348, published January 28, 2021.
As per claims 3, 10 and 15, Mansour as modified by Chi discloses the system of claim 1 but fails to disclose the use of LASSO.
Gogna teaches LASSO in autonomous vehicle control (¶93).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use LASSO in order to gain the benefit of using an existing and well-known method.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646