Detailed Action
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abedini (US 2024/0324063 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Abedini discloses a method comprising:
configuring, by a base station (BS), a user equipment (UE) (see configured regarding UE [0010], Network node [0013], inter alia) with a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX)/discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (see DRX or DTX) defined by including a DTX/DRX periodicity, a DTX/DRX starting slot or offset (see [0101], “the offset may correspond to a time period that is between the end of the inactive period of the DRX/DTX cycle of the network node 110 and the start of the next active period of the connected mode DRX/DTX cycle of the UE ”), and a DTX/DRX active period, the configuration defining repeating active and inactive periods of the cell (see [0109] active period 610 and an inactive period 615 that repeat), wherein a subset of PDCCH occasions is defined within at least one of the inactive periods (see [0109] “A subset of the resources used for monitoring the RAR may be within the cell DRX/DTX inactive period”); and
enabling or disabling, by the BS, the cell DTX/DRX configuration at the UE (see enable [0097]).
Regarding 9 and 17, Abedini discloses a method and a user equipment (UE) comprising:
a processor (see [0266], processor); and
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that,
when executed (see non-transitory CRM [0295]), cause the processor to:
receive a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX)/discontinuous reception (DRX)
configuration from a base station (BS) (see DRX/DTX fig. 5 from Network Node 110), wherein the cell DTX/DRX configuration is defined
by includes a DTX/DRX periodicity (see [0042], “periodicity associated with the DRX or DTX cycle of the network node”), a DTX/DRX starting slot or offset, and a DTX/DRX
active period (see [0101], “the offset may correspond to a time period that is between the end of the inactive period of the DRX/DTX cycle of the network node 110 and the start of the next active period of the connected mode DRX/DTX cycle of the UE ”), the configuration defining repeating active and inactive periods of the cell (see [0109] active period 610 and an inactive period 615 that repeat),
wherein a subset of PDCCH occasions is defined within at least one of the inactive periods (see [0109] “A subset of the resources used for monitoring the RAR may be within the cell DRX/DTX inactive period”);
receive, from the BS, a signal to enable or disable the cell DTX/DRX configuration
at the UE (see enable [0097]); and enable or disable the cell DTX/DRX configuration at the UE based on the signal (see enable [0097]).
Regarding claim 2, Abedini discloses the method of claim 1, wherein enabling or disabling the cell DTX/DRX configuration comprises enabling a cell DTX configuration, wherein in an inactive period of the cell DTX configuration, the UE is configured to suspend monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (see PDDCH [0092] regarding DRX/DTX config).
Regarding claims 3 & 11, Abedini discloses the methods of 1 and 9, wherein enabling or disabling the cell DTX/DRX configuration comprises enabling a cell DRX configuration, wherein in an inactive period of the cell DRX configuration, the UE is configured to suspend configured grant (CG)-physical uplink
shared channel (PUSCH) (see configured grant PUSCH signals [0105] and scheduled request signals [0105]) transmissions and suspend scheduling request (SR) transmissions (see configured grant PUSCH signals [0105] and scheduled request signals [0105]).
Regarding claims 4 & 12, Abedini discloses the methods of 1 and 9, wherein, in an inactive period of the cell DTX/DRX configuration, the UE is configured to suspend (see [0105], “restrictions may be applied ”) at least one of periodic and semi-persistent channel state information (CSI) measurements, beam management procedures, and periodic and semi- persistent CSI reports (see simi-persistent scheduling and channel state information [0105]).
Regarding claims 5 & 13, Abedini discloses the methods of 1 and 9, wherein a message exchange between the UE and the
BS for a random access channel (RACH) procedure continues through an inactive period of the
cell DTX/DRX configuration (see RACK [0108]).
Regarding claims 6 & 14, Abedini discloses the methods of 5 and 13, wherein, in the inactive period of the cell DTX/DRX
configuration, the UE monitors a PDCCH for a random access response (RAR) or a contention
resolution message of the RACH procedure (see RAR and RACH in [0109]).
Regarding claim 10, Abedini discloses the method of claim 9, wherein enabling or disabling the cell DTX/DRX configuration comprises enabling a cell DTX configuration at the UE, and further comprising: suspending monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in an inactive period of the cell DTX configuration (see PDDCH [0092] regarding DRX/DTX config).
Regarding claim 18, Abedini discloses the UE of claim 17, wherein:
in enabling or disabling the cell DTX/DRX configuration, the instructions cause the
processor to enable a cell DTX configuration at the UE, and the instructions further cause the
processor to suspend monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in an inactive
period of the cell DTX configuration (see PDCCH [0093] and inactive); or
in enabling or disabling the cell DTX/DRX configuration, the instructions cause the
processor to enable a cell DRX configuration at the UE, and the instructions further cause the
processor to suspend configured grant (CG)-physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see configured grant PUSCH signals [0105] and scheduled request signals [0105])
transmissions and scheduling request (SR) transmissions (see configured grant PUSCH signals [0105] and scheduled request signals [0105]) in an inactive period of the cell DRX
configuration; or
the instructions further cause the processor to suspend at least one of periodic and semi-
persistent channel state information (CSI) measurements, beam management procedures, and
periodic and semi-persistent CSI reports in an inactive period of the cell DTX/DRX configuration (see Channel state information and semi-persistent [0105]).
Regarding claim 19, Abedini discloses the UE of claim 17, wherein:
a message exchange between the UE and the BS for a random access channel (RACH)
procedure continues through an inactive period of the cell DTX/DRX configuration (see RACH regarding DRX/DTX inactive period [0109]); or
the instructions further cause the processor to monitor periodic occasions in an inactive
period of the cell DTX/DRX configuration for data with low latency requirements, wherein the
periodic occasions comprise PDCCH occasions or uplink (UL) wake-up signal occasions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8, 15-16 & 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to K. WILFORD SHAHEED whose telephone number is (469) 295-9175. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9 am-6pm; CST; ALT Friday. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The examiner’s Supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965, where attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful.
/KHALID W SHAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643