Response to Amendment
2. This office action has been issued in response to amendment filed on 01/02/2026. Claims 1- 2 and 5 have been amended. Claims 6 and 20 have been canceled. Claims 1-5 and 7-19 are pending, of which claims, of which claim 1, claim 5 and claim 5 are in independent form. Accordingly, this action has been made FINAL.
Response to Argument
3. The Office will maintain nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over copending Application No. 18533554
Based on amended independent claim 1 and claim 5, and based on applicant’s arguments, the 101 rejection for claims 1-5 and 7-19 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-5 and 7-19have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Status of Claims
4. Claims 1-5 and 7-19 are pending, of which claims, of which claim 1, 5 and 19 are in independent form.
Claim Objections
5. As per Claim 1, line 8, recites “USB” - as acronym is likely to change its meaning over the time, thus, it needs to be spelled out at least once in the claim. Appropriate correction is requested.
6. As per Claim 5, line 6, recites “USB” - as acronym is likely to change its meaning over the time, thus, it needs to be spelled out at least once in the claim. Appropriate correction is requested.
The Office's Note:
7. The Office has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim(s), other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the cited passages as taught by the prior art or relied upon by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 5, 7-9, 11-12 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parsons (US 20210011824 – hereinafter Parsons), in view of Partee (US 20140187172 – hereinafter Partee), in view of Olson (US 20140187172 – hereinafter Olson) , and further in view of Chiloyan (US 7,043,664 – hereinafter Chiloyan).
Claim 5 is rejected, Parsons teaches a method for automated flashing and testing of smart speaker devices, comprising:
entering a serial number of a smart speaker device into a computer system, wherein the entering of the serial number of the smart speaker device includes scanning a bar code on the smart speaker device with a scanner (Parsons, para [0030-0035], In one embodiment, the system includes a scanner (not shown in FIG. 1) electrically connected to the plurality of test computers and configured for scanning slot numbers corresponding to RF shielded cabinets 14 or device test chambers 16, and scanning serial numbers of mobile devices…. Then, the user monitor 60 may show an instruction or indication to scan a serial number, e.g. an international mobile equipment identity (IMEI), of the corresponding mobile device to be tested in the device test chamber, which has the scanned slot number. Following the instruction or indication, the scanner may scan a serial number of the corresponding mobile device to be tested, before it is positioned in the device test chamber for testing. After the scanning of the slot number and the serial number, the scanned serial number is associated with the scanned slot number, such that the system knows that which mobile device is tested in which slot or cabinet.);
connecting the smart speaker device to the computer system, via the USB interface(Parsons, para [0029-0030], Each test computer is also connected to the same Wi-Fi network. In one embodiment, each test computer has a processor and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing test software for testing a mobile device positioned in a RF shielded cabinet 14 corresponding to the test computer. The mobile device is wirelessly connected to the test computer, e.g. via the wireless router, and has a test application installed thereon corresponding to the test software. The robot 22 may be configured for performing interaction and manipulation of the mobile device in cooperation with the test application and the test software during the testing.);
automatically recording a result of the flashing firmware and the boot checking into a database of the computer system (Parsons, para [0047-0050], During the automatic testing, for each successful test, the test application sends a pass signal to the test computer, which forwards the pass signal to the main computer, which may display a green check or another indication on the user monitor 60. The user monitor 60 is electrically connected to the test computer and configured for providing and displaying one or more results of the testing of the mobile device 230. After the automatic testing is completed, the test computer may automatically send a result of the testing of the mobile device 230 to the user monitor 60 for display. Failure codes related to the automatic testing will be sent to a database to be stored thereon. The test result can be printed out with a serial number (e.g. IMEI), a bar code associated with the test, and/or a label corresponding to the failure codes.).
Parsons does not explicitly teach
detecting, via the USB interface, the smart speaker device connected to a computer system;
flashing firmware and boot checking the smart speaker device;
automatically recording a result of the flashing firmware and the boot checking into a database of the computer system, wherein the recorded result is associated with the devices model, serial number and firmware version
However, Partee teaches
detecting, via the USB interface, the smart speaker device connected to a computer system(Partee, para [0065-0068 and 103].);
boot checking the smart speaker device (Partee, US 20140187172, para [0031], [0037-0039], para [0053-0055] - boot-up tests and [0062-0063]). Para [0036], Network devices may include media, computing, networks or communications devices including gaming consoles, digital video recorders (DVRs), personal video recorders, cable boxes, and Internet Protocol television (IPTV) devices.);
automatically recording a result of the flashing firmware and the boot checking into a database of the computer system, wherein the recorded result is associated with the devices model, serial number and firmware version (Partee, para [0031], [0037-0039] and [0062-0063]. Para [0051], storing test results. Fig. 21 and para [0159], FIG. 21 is a pictorial representation of a graphical user interface 2100 for testing in accordance with an illustrative embodiment. The graphical user interface 2100 is representative of a number of graphical components, such as windows, screens or graphical segments that may be utilized to present and receive information from the user. The graphical user interface 2100 may include any number of indicators or information. For example, the graphical user interface 2100 may identify the associated residential gateway or network device with a label or other identifier, such as "Gateway 1". The graphical user interface 2100 may also indicate device information, such as serial number, model identification, firmware, and any noted errors.)
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Partee into Parsons to test devices. The testing station is utilized for returned, refurbished, repaired, or new network devices to efficiently perform tests and analysis. The quality control is improved and the testing can be performed at quickly with less expense. The user can quickly insert the residential gateways into the nested platform, thus multiple tests for residential gateways can be carried out efficiently and consistently with a high degree of accuracy for residential gateways, and the costs, time and difficulty can be reduced.as suggested by Partee (See abstract and summary).
Parsons and Partee do not explicitly teach
flashing firmware;
verifying, by executing diagnostic commands, that the smart speaker device boots successfully;
However, Olson teaches
flashing firmware(Olson, fig. 2 and para [0030], At 220, the multimedia management application 106 signals the portable media device 102 to apply the firmware update 114A files. Para [0018-0019], In an embodiment, the firmware 108 is stored in a flash ROM (Read Only Memory) of the portable media device 102. While ROM is "read-only memory," flash ROM can be erased and rewritten because it is actually a type of flash memory. The firmware 108 of the portable media device 102 remains the same unless it is updated or upgraded. Para [0022-0026].)
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Olson into Parsons and Partee to providing a firmware upgrade for a portable media device, where the firmware upgrade includes a version number. The firmware upgrade is associated with an identifier of the portable media device. A computing device is connected to the portable media device for receiving the installed firmware version number and a device identifier from the portable media device. The computing device selectively applies the firmware upgrade to the connected portable media device.as suggested by Olson (See abstract and summary). The Office notes Olson also teaches
connecting the smart speaker device to the computer system, via the USB interface (Olson, fig. 1 and para [0014], Portable media devices 102 are often connected to a personal computing device 104 through a USB connection and managed by a multimedia management application 106 executing on the personal computing device 104. Fig. 2 and para [0021].);
Parsons Partee and Olson do not explicitly teach
verifying, by executing diagnostic commands, that the smart speaker device boots successfully;
However, Chiloyan teaches
verifying, by executing diagnostic commands, that the smart speaker device boots successfully (Chiloyan, US 7,043,664, column 2, line 46 to column 3, line 7, The electronic device also needs a processor or circuit for detecting the status of the firmware. A process is added to the boot code of the device firmware to check whether any portion of the device firmware is corrupt or superseded by a later version. The process preferably performs a check function on the existing firmware and compares the function result with an expected value. Chiloyan, column 2, line 46 to column 3, line 7, Based on the comparison, the boot code stores a status indication of the firmware. When the electronic device is coupled to a host device, the electronic device reports the status of the firmware to the host. Communication between the electronic device and the host device may occur in any fashion, such as over a bus, network, or wireless communication channel.);
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Chiloyan into Parsons, Partee and Olson to replace of portion of firmware stored in rewritable nonvolatile memory e.g. electrically erasable programmable ROM (EEPROM) of electronic device e.g. peripheral device, peer device, network device and portable consumer device such as digital camera, printer, scanner, personal digital assistant (PDA), programmable remote control, asymmetric digital subscriber line (ADSL) modem and wireless access point as suggested by Chiloyan (See abstract and summary).
Claim 7 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 5, Parsons, Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 5, further comprising automatically detecting the smart speaker device by the computer system(Partee, para [0088] – automatic detection).
Claim 8 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 5, Parsons, Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 5, further comprising:
reading a serial number of the smart speaker device via a connection to the computer system(Partee, para [0065-0068 and 103]); and
comparing the serial number of the smart speaker device entered to the serial number of the smart speaker device read by the computer system to validate the serial number of the smart speaker device(Partee, para [0065-0068 and 103]).
Claim 9 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 5, Parsons, Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 5, wherein performing the flashing firmware to the smart speaker device includes comparing a version of the firmware stored on the computer system to a known latest version of the firmware stored in a database(Partee, para [0072, 108 and 138]. Olson, fig. 2 and para [0023-0026], At 212, the multimedia management application 106 compares the firmware version of the firmware 108 installed on the portable media device 102 to the firmware version obtained from the firmware database 110… If the firmware 108 installed on the portable media device 102 is up to date, the method terminates at 206).
Claim 11 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 9, Parsons, Partee , Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 9, further comprising verifying that the smart speaker device boots properly(Partee, para [115 and 137-138]. para [0053-0055] - boot-up tests. Chiloyan, column 2, line 46 to column 3, line 7, Based on the comparison, the boot code stores a status indication of the firmware. When the electronic device is coupled to a host device, the electronic device reports the status of the firmware to the host. Communication between the electronic device and the host device may occur in any fashion, such as over a bus, network, or wireless communication channel.).
Claim 12 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 9, Parsons, Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 9, further comprising comparing a version of the firmware of the smart speaker device to a version of the firmware flashed to the smart speaker device(Olson, fig. 2 and para [0023-0026], At 212, the multimedia management application 106 compares the firmware version of the firmware 108 installed on the portable media device 102 to the firmware version obtained from the firmware database 110… If the firmware 108 installed on the portable media device 102 is up to date, the method terminates at 206. Para [0008-0010], firmware updates Partee, para [0072, 108 and 138].).
Claim 14 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 5, Parsons, Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 5, wherein connecting the smart speaker device includes connecting one to sixteen smart speaker devices(Partee, para [181 and 191].).
Claim 15 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 5, Parsons, Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 14, wherein the flashing firmware and boot checking of the one to sixteen smart speaker devices is performed simultaneously to each of the one to sixteen smart speaker devices connected to the computer system(Olson, fig. 2 and para [0030], At 220, the multimedia management application 106 signals the portable media device 102 to apply the firmware update 114A files. Para [0018-0019], In an embodiment, the firmware 108 is stored in a flash ROM (Read Only Memory) of the portable media device 102. While ROM is "read-only memory," flash ROM can be erased and rewritten because it is actually a type of flash memory. The firmware 108 of the portable media device 102 remains the same unless it is updated or upgraded. Para [0022-0026]. Partee, para [0072, 108 and 138].).
Claim 16 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 5, Parsons, Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 5, wherein the computer system includes a monitor showing a status of the method for the smart speaker device(Partee, para [0092, 143 and 150].).
Claim 17 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 14, Parsons, Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 14, wherein the computer system includes a monitor showing a status of the method for each of the one to sixteen smart speaker devices(Partee, para [0092, 143 and 150].).
Claim 18 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 5, Parsons, Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 5, wherein the automatically recording the result includes saving a data record including a model and the serial number of the smart speaker device, a version of the flashed firmware, and verification that the smart speaker device booted properly(Partee, para [0065, 0095, 108 and 157].).
Claim 19 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 5, Parsons, Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium including executable instructions that when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform the steps of flashing firmware and boot checking the smart speaker device and automatically recording the result of claim 5(Olson, fig. 2 and para [0023-0026], At 212, the multimedia management application 106 compares the firmware version of the firmware 108 installed on the portable media device 102 to the firmware version obtained from the firmware database 110… If the firmware 108 installed on the portable media device 102 is up to date, the method terminates at 206s. Partee, para [0031], [0037-0039] and [0062-0063]. Para [0036], Network devices may include media, computing, networks or communications devices including gaming consoles, digital video recorders (DVRs), personal video recorders, cable boxes, and Internet Protocol television (IPTV) devices. Para [0051], storing test results. Please see claim 5.).
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Partee into Parsons to test devices. The testing station is utilized for returned, refurbished, repaired, or new network devices to efficiently perform tests and analysis. The quality control is improved and the testing can be performed at quickly with less expense. The user can quickly insert the residential gateways into the nested platform, thus multiple tests for residential gateways can be carried out efficiently and consistently with a high degree of accuracy for residential gateways, and the costs, time and difficulty can be reduced.as suggested by Partee (See abstract and summary).
9. Claims 1, 3-4, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parsons (US 20210011824 – hereinafter Parsons), in view of Partee (US 20140187172 – hereinafter Partee), in view of Olson (US 20140187172 – hereinafter Olson) , and further in view of Chiloyan (US 7,043,664 – hereinafter Chiloyan) and further in view of Aleksyeyev (US 9442831– hereinafter Aleksyeyev).
Claim 1 is rejected, Parsons teaches a system for automated flashing and testing of smart speaker devices, comprising:
a computer system including, at least one processor, a user interface and a monitor (Parsons, US 20210011824, para [0019], In one embodiment, a disclosed testing system comprises: at least one test computer, a master computer, a robot, and a control system. The test computer drives all the test software and controls the app activity. The master computer communicates with each of the at least one test computer and provides graphic user interface (GUI) for interaction with users. The robot may be a multi-axis robotic system that provides a motion controlled platform with toolbox and/or universal fixture to hold various sizes of mobile devices. The robot may also comprise a robot arm with object manipulation capabilities in addition to other features related to mobile device testing. The control system can comprise a control computer or programmable logic controller, and a compact and modular input/output (I/O) system to drive the robot and onboard I/O modules. Para [0020], An illustrative embodiment of a mobile device testing apparatus 10 is shown in FIG. 1. The methods in the present disclosure can be applied for not only testing mobile devices, but also other electronic devices. The mobile device testing apparatus 10, as shown in FIG. 1, comprises a frame 12, a plurality of device test chambers 16, a plurality of test equipment cabinets 30, a sanity monitor 50, and a user monitor 60 connecting to the master computer. Each of the plurality of device test chambers 16 has a front door 16A and a robot 22 inside the front door 16A for receiving a mobile device for testing.);
a non-transitory storage medium readable by the computer system and storing an application to interface the computer system and a smart speaker device (Parsons, para [0006-0008], a test computer having a processor and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing test software for testing the mobile device; and a user monitor electrically connected to the test computer and configured for providing a result of the testing of the mobile device.); and
a laser scanner to scan a bar code indicating identification data of the smart speaker device(Parsons, para [0030], In one embodiment, the system includes a scanner (not shown in FIG. 1) electrically connected to the plurality of test computers and configured for scanning slot numbers corresponding to RF shielded cabinets 14 or device test chambers 16, and scanning serial numbers of mobile devices…. Then, the user monitor 60 may show an instruction or indication to scan a serial number, e.g. an international mobile equipment identity (IMEI), of the corresponding mobile device to be tested in the device test chamber, which has the scanned slot number. Following the instruction or indication, the scanner may scan a serial number of the corresponding mobile device to be tested, before it is positioned in the device test chamber for testing. After the scanning of the slot number and the serial number, the scanned serial number is associated with the scanned slot number, such that the system knows that which mobile device is tested in which slot or cabinet.).
The Office would like to use prior art Partee to further teach limitation
a smart speaker device (Partee, US 20140187172, fig. 5 and para [0075-0085], a set-top box. Para [0036], Network devices may include media, computing, networks or communications devices including gaming consoles, digital video recorders (DVRs), personal video recorders, cable boxes, and Internet Protocol television (IPTV) devices.)
Wherein the non-transitory storage medium stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the computer system to automatically perform: (i) detecting a smart speaker device connected via a USB interface (Partee, para [0053-0055].)
the non-transitory storage medium further stores a traceability record including device identification data, firmware version, and boot verification status in a centralized database(Partee, para [0065, 0095, 108 and 157]. Partee, para [0031], [0037-0039], para [0053-0055] - boot-up tests and [0062-0063]. Para [0051], storing test results. Fig. 21 and para [0159], FIG. 21 is a pictorial representation of a graphical user interface 2100 for testing in accordance with an illustrative embodiment. The graphical user interface 2100 is representative of a number of graphical components, such as windows, screens or graphical segments that may be utilized to present and receive information from the user. The graphical user interface 2100 may include any number of indicators or information. For example, the graphical user interface 2100 may identify the associated residential gateway or network device with a label or other identifier, such as "Gateway 1". The graphical user interface 2100 may also indicate device information, such as serial number, model identification, firmware, and any noted errors.);
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Partee into Parsons to test devices. The testing station is utilized for returned, refurbished, repaired, or new network devices to efficiently perform tests and analysis. The quality control is improved and the testing can be performed at quickly with less expense. The user can quickly insert the residential gateways into the nested platform, thus multiple tests for residential gateways can be carried out efficiently and consistently with a high degree of accuracy for residential gateways, and the costs, time and difficulty can be reduced.as suggested by Partee (See abstract and summary).
Parsons and Partee do not explicitly teach
(ii) validating firmware version against a database of authorized versions, (iii) flashing updated firmware to the smart speaker device, and (iv) verifying successful boot of the smart speaker device;
wherein the executable instructions include commands to set and reset diagnostic access flags on each smart speaker device to ensure secure operation after flashing;
wherein the computer system validates the firmware version against a remote database of authorized versions prior to flashing;
a USB hub configured to connect at least one smart speaker device to the computer system
However, Olson teaches
(ii) validating firmware version against a database of authorized versions(Olson, US 20080052698, fig. 2 and para [0023-0026], At 212, the multimedia management application 106 compares the firmware version of the firmware 108 installed on the portable media device 102 to the firmware version obtained from the firmware database 110. ),
(iii) flashing updated firmware to the smart speaker device(Olson, fig. 2 and para [0030], At 220, the multimedia management application 106 signals the portable media device 102 to apply the firmware update 114A files. Para [0018-0019], In an embodiment, the firmware 108 is stored in a flash ROM (Read Only Memory) of the portable media device 102. While ROM is "read-only memory," flash ROM can be erased and rewritten because it is actually a type of flash memory. The firmware 108 of the portable media device 102 remains the same unless it is updated or upgraded.);
wherein the computer system validates the firmware version against a remote database of authorized versions prior to flashing(Olson, fig. 2 and para [0023-0026], If the firmware 108 installed on the portable media device 102 is up to date, the method terminates at 206.)
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Olson into Parsons and Partee to providing a firmware upgrade for a portable media device, where the firmware upgrade includes a version number. The firmware upgrade is associated with an identifier of the portable media device. A computing device is connected to the portable media device for receiving the installed firmware version number and a device identifier from the portable media device. The computing device selectively applies the firmware upgrade to the connected portable media device.as suggested by Olson (See abstract and summary). The Office notes Olson also teaches
Wherein the non-transitory storage medium stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the computer system to automatically perform: (i) detecting a smart speaker device connected via a USB interface (Olson, para [0004]. Fig. 2 and para [0021]. Olson, fig. 1 and para [0014], Portable media devices 102 are often connected to a personal computing device 104 through a USB connection and managed by a multimedia management application 106 executing on the personal computing device 104. Fig. 2 and para [0021].);
Parsons, Partee and Olson do not explicitly teach
(iv) verifying successful boot of the smart speaker device;
However, Chiloyan teaches
(iv) verifying successful boot of the smart speaker device (Chiloyan, US 7,043,664, column 2, line 46 to column 3, line 7, The electronic device also needs a processor or circuit for detecting the status of the firmware. A process is added to the boot code of the device firmware to check whether any portion of the device firmware is corrupt or superseded by a later version. The process preferably performs a check function on the existing firmware and compares the function result with an expected value. Chiloyan, column 2, line 46 to column 3, line 7, Based on the comparison, the boot code stores a status indication of the firmware. When the electronic device is coupled to a host device, the electronic device reports the status of the firmware to the host. Communication between the electronic device and the host device may occur in any fashion, such as over a bus, network, or wireless communication channel.);
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Chiloyan into Parsons, Partee and Olson to replace of portion of firmware stored in rewritable nonvolatile memory e.g. electrically erasable programmable ROM (EEPROM) of electronic device e.g. peripheral device, peer device, network device and portable consumer device such as digital camera, printer, scanner, personal digital assistant (PDA), programmable remote control, asymmetric digital subscriber line (ADSL) modem and wireless access point as suggested by Chiloyan (See abstract and summary).
Parsons, Partee, Olson and Chiloyan do not explicitly teach
wherein the executable instructions include commands to set and reset diagnostic access flags on each smart speaker device to ensure secure operation after flashing;
However, Aleksyeyev teaches
wherein the executable instructions include commands to set and reset diagnostic access flags on each smart speaker device to ensure secure operation after flashing(Aleksyeyev, US 9442831, column 2, line 21 to 32, the simple boot flag data structure might be utilized to determine when to run diagnostic tests during boot and/or to determine whether to configure hardware resources for devices. Column 8, line 38 to 52, If bit 202B is set, the simple boot flag processing module 142 will set bit 202C, described below, to one to inform other components to run a diagnostic test on the computer 100. Column 8, line 53 to 63, Bit 202C indicates whether or not to run diagnostic tests on the computer 100. As described above, the simple boot flag processing module 142 sets the bit 202C based on the state of bit 202B at the beginning of POST, or by the operating system during the previous boot. If set at the beginning of POST, bit 202C must remain set to allow the operating system to request diagnostic boots. If set during POST, the system firmware 140, option ROMs, and operating systems should run diagnostic tests. );
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Aleksyeyev into Parsons and Partee, Olson, Chiloyan to test program code for processing simple boot flag data structure stored on computer as suggested by Aleksyeyev (See abstract and summary).
Claim 3 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 1, Parsons, Partee, Olson, Chiloyan and Aleksyeyev teach the system of claim 1, wherein the computer system is configured to flash firmware to and boot check the smart speaker device(Olson, US 20080052698, fig. 2 and para [0023-0026], At 212, the multimedia management application 106 compares the firmware version of the firmware 108 installed on the portable media device 102 to the firmware version obtained from the firmware database 110. Olson, fig. 2 and para [0030], At 220, the multimedia management application 106 signals the portable media device 102 to apply the firmware update 114A files. Para [0018-0019], In an embodiment, the firmware 108 is stored in a flash ROM (Read Only Memory) of the portable media device 102. While ROM is "read-only memory," flash ROM can be erased and rewritten because it is actually a type of flash memory. The firmware 108 of the portable media device 102 remains the same unless it is updated or upgraded. Partee, para [0031], [0037-0039], para [0053-0055] - boot-up tests and [0062-0063]. Para [0098], The process may begin with the user 1002 retrieving a set-top box for testing (step 1006). The set-top box may be tested as part of returns, replacement, refurbishment, or repair process or other procedure that may require verification of the functionality of the set-top box. Para [0036], Network devices may include media, computing, networks or communications devices including gaming consoles, digital video recorders (DVRs), personal video recorders, cable boxes, and Internet Protocol television (IPTV) devices.).
Claim 4 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 1, Parsons, Partee, Olson, Chiloyan and Aleksyeyev teach the system of claim 1 that automatically performs detecting, validating, flashing, boot checking, and recording data when clearing and updating the smart speaker device(Olson, fig. 2 and para [0030], At 220, the multimedia management application 106 signals the portable media device 102 to apply the firmware update 114A files. Para [0018-0019], In an embodiment, the firmware 108 is stored in a flash ROM (Read Only Memory) of the portable media device 102. While ROM is "read-only memory," flash ROM can be erased and rewritten because it is actually a type of flash memory. The firmware 108 of the portable media device 102 remains the same unless it is updated or upgraded. Para [0023-0026]. . Partee, para [0031], [0037-0039], para [0053-0055] - boot-up tests and [0062-0063]. Para [0051], storing test results.).
Claim 10 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 5, Parsons, Partee, Olson, Chiloyan and Aleksyeyev teach the method of claim 5, wherein performing the flashing firmware to the smart speaker device includes setting access flags on the smart speaker device to place the smart speaker device into a diagnostic mode(Aleksyeyev, US 9442831, column 2, line 21 to 32, the simple boot flag data structure might be utilized to determine when to run diagnostic tests during boot and/or to determine whether to configure hardware resources for devices. Column 8, line 38 to 52, If bit 202B is set, the simple boot flag processing module 142 will set bit 202C, described below, to one to inform other components to run a diagnostic test on the computer 100. Column 8, line 53 to 63, Bit 202C indicates whether or not to run diagnostic tests on the computer 100. As described above, the simple boot flag processing module 142 sets the bit 202C based on the state of bit 202B at the beginning of POST, or by the operating system during the previous boot. If set at the beginning of POST, bit 202C must remain set to allow the operating system to request diagnostic boots. If set during POST, the system firmware 140, option ROMs, and operating systems should run diagnostic tests. Partee, para [115 and 137-138].).
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Aleksyeyev into Parsons and Partee, Olson, Chiloyan to test program code for processing simple boot flag data structure stored on computer as suggested by Aleksyeyev (See abstract and summary).
Claim 13 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 10, Parsons, Partee , Olson, Chiloyan and Aleksyeyev teach the method of claim 10, further comprising resetting access flags on the smart speaker device to restrict access to the smart speaker device(Partee, para [157-158]. Aleksyeyev, US 9442831, column 2, line 21 to 32, the simple boot flag data structure might be utilized to determine when to run diagnostic tests during boot and/or to determine whether to configure hardware resources for devices. Column 8, line 38 to 52, If bit 202B is set, the simple boot flag processing module 142 will set bit 202C, described below, to one to inform other components to run a diagnostic test on the computer 100. Column 8, line 53 to 63, Bit 202C indicates whether or not to run diagnostic tests on the computer 100. As described above, the simple boot flag processing module 142 sets the bit 202C based on the state of bit 202B at the beginning of POST, or by the operating system during the previous boot. If set at the beginning of POST, bit 202C must remain set to allow the operating system to request diagnostic boots. If set during POST, the system firmware 140, option ROMs, and operating systems should run diagnostic tests.).
10. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parsons (US 20210011824 – hereinafter Parsons), in view of Partee (US 20140187172 – hereinafter Partee), in view of Olson (US 20140187172 – hereinafter Olson) , and further in view of Chiloyan (US 7,043,664 – hereinafter Chiloyan) and further in view of Fischer (US 20180115733– hereinafter Fischer).
With respect to claim 2, Parsons, Partee, Olson and Chiloyan do not explicitly teach all limitations of claim 2.
However, Fisher teaches
Claim 2 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 1, Parsons , Partee , Olson, Chiloyan and Fisher teach the system of claim 1, the USB hub is configured to connect one to sixteen smart speaker devices to the computer system (Fischer, US 20180115733, para [0125], The serial bus interface 808 generally provides a serial connection for the media stick 800. The serial bus interface 808 may be a USB™ interface with support for a USB™ 2.0 hub. The serial bus interface 808 may provide a power connection for the media stick 800.).
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Fisher into Parsons and Partee, Olson, Chiloyan to interface between a source media device, a destination media device and wireless speakers.as suggested by Fisher (See abstract and summary).
Inquiry
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUY KHUONG T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199