DETAILED ACTION
A. This action is in response to the following communications: Amendment filed: 04/13/2026. This action is made Final.
B. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Xu, Jie (US Pub. 2022/0206741 A1), herein referred to as “Xu”.
As for claims 1, 9 and 17, Xu teaches. A method and corresponding apparatus of claim 9 and program product of claim 17 comprising: a processor; and non-transitory computer readable storage media storing code; a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing code, the code being configured to be executable by a processor to perform operations (par. 26 an electronic device, including a processor, a memory, and a touchscreen having a curved screen, where the touchscreen is used to receive an operation of a user; and the memory is used to store one or more computer programs, and when the computer programs are executed by the processor,);
enabling volume control swiping for a landscape mode and/or a portrait mode of a touchscreen of a computing device (par. 26 in response to the first operation, first prompt information at an operation position corresponding to the first operation, where the first prompt information includes a first prompt identifier used to increase volume, and a second prompt identifier used to decrease the volume; and increasing the volume in response to a second operation when the second operation of the user on the first prompt identifier is received; or decreasing the volume in response to a third operation when the third operation of the user on the second prompt identifier is received);
and in response to detecting a speaker being active during execution of an application on the computing device (par. 104 and 106 speaker and/or other speakers communicated via Bluetooth and the like):
detecting swiping on the touchscreen in a landscape direction during operation of the computing device in the landscape mode (fig. 7a-d; user gestures with a swiping gesture to interact with a volume control displayed on the screen of the touch screen device);
in response to the volume control swiping being enabled for the landscape mode, adjusting a volume setting of the computing device in response to the detected swiping of the touchscreen in the landscape direction (par. 20 changing device from portrait mode to landscape mode; par. 179 volume control is rendered on a different location on the device and user swipes a different direction opposed to when device is in portrait mode to adjust volume);
detecting swiping on the touchscreen in a portrait direction during operation of the computing device in the portrait mode (fig. 7a-d user gestures in portrait mode to adjust volume of speaker); and
in response to volume control swiping being enabled for the portrait mode, adjusting the volume setting of the computing device in response to the detected swiping of the touchscreen in the portrait direction (par. 165 user swiping to adjust volume of the speaker; in addition Examiner notes that the prompt maybe displayed anywhere on the screen for user interaction as suggested throughout the disclosure);
wherein detecting the speaker being active comprises detecting the speaker actively producing sound (par. 104-107; the electronic device has a speaker that take digital signal and produces sound in which a user may interact with this sound and responds to this sound as it is actively being produced by one means of interacting of using a microphone to send/record digital audio signals back to the electronic device; Thus the speaker 170A, also referred to as a “loudspeaker”, is configured to convert an audio electrical signal into a sound signal. The electronic device 100 may listen to music or answer a hands-free call through the speaker 170A; another use case is presented in par. 150 For example, in a scenario in which the user is making a call by using a mobile phone in a folded state, the user thinks that a sound is small, and the volume button needs to be pressed. In this case, the user needs to first unfold the mobile phone to press the volume button on the side, which brings inconvenience to the user. In par. 183 FIG. 14, a user holds a mobile phone with a left hand, and a curved screen of the mobile phone is against an ear of the user. In this scenario, the user thinks that a call sound is small and wants to increase volume, or the user thinks that the call sound is loud and wants to decrease the volume. However, to avoid missing important information from a peer end, it is inconvenient for the user to perform volume adjustment without looking at the screen of the mobile phone. An embodiment of this application provides another volume adjustment manner. Volume is adjusted by sliding on a curved screen. The following describes the manner in detail with reference to FIG. 15(a) to FIG. 15(d).).
As for claims 2 and 10 and 18, Xu teaches. The method of claim 1 and corresponding apparatus of claim 9 and program product of claim 17, wherein the detecting of the speaker of the computing device being active during execution of the application further comprises the detecting of the speaker of the computing device being active during execution of the application and/or detecting of a microphone of the computing device being active during the execution of the application, and wherein the detecting of the swiping on the touchscreen in the landscape direction and/or the portrait direction and subsequent adjusting the volume setting of the computing device are in response to the detecting of the speaker being active and/or the detection of the microphone being active (par. 71 speaker of device that has the touch screen where the user controls the volume and par. 90 not limited to device speaker; par. 106 speaker is separate from touch screen device; par. 12 If both the second prompt information and the third prompt information are volume bars, when a finger of the user slides in the first side area, the progress of the volume bar corresponds to the sliding position of the finger).
As for claims 3 and 11, Xu teaches. The method of claim 2 and corresponding apparatus of claim 10 and program product of claim 18, wherein enabling the volume control swiping for the landscape mode and/or the portrait mode and detecting the speaker being active and/or detecting the microphone being active disables at least a portion of touchscreen commands responsive to detected swiping the landscape direction and/or the portrait direction (par. 108 microphone; par. 183 disable the onscreen volume control and use the curve of the device to denote where the user gestures at while using vibration in its place instead of graphics).
As for claims 4, 12 and 19, Xu teaches. The method of claim 1 and corresponding apparatus of claim 9 and program product of claim 17, further comprising enabling volume control swiping on the computing device, wherein the enabling of the volume control swiping for the landscape mode and/or the portrait mode is operable in response to the enabling of the volume control swiping (par. 165-167 rendering volume control on device when user gestures/swipes in predetermined area).
As for claims 5, 13 and 20, Xu teaches. The method of claim 1 and corresponding apparatus of claim 9 and program product of claim 17, wherein:
the detecting swiping on the touchscreen in the landscape direction during operation of the computing device in the landscape mode comprises detecting swiping on the touchscreen in the landscape direction in a first landscape direction and wherein the adjusting of the volume setting of the computing device in response to the detected swiping of the touchscreen in the landscape direction comprises increasing the volume setting of the computing device in response to the detecting of the swiping in the first landscape direction; and
the detecting swiping on the touchscreen in the landscape direction during operation of the computing device in the landscape mode comprises detecting swiping on the touchscreen in the landscape direction in a second landscape direction opposite the first landscape direction and wherein the adjusting of the volume setting of the computing device in response to the detected swiping of the touchscreen in the landscape direction comprises decreasing the volume setting of the computing device in response to the detecting of the swiping in the second landscape direction (par. 155 the prompt information for volume interaction in the side area. The prompt information for volume interaction may be displayed in side areas of left and right sides or in a side area of either the left side or the right side of the mobile phone, for example, a side area between a position A and a position D shown in FIG. 5; par. 181 when it is detected that the mobile phone is switched from a portrait mode shown in FIG. 13(a) to a landscape mode shown in FIG. 13(b), a prompt bar 1302 is displayed inwardly (in a direction of a dashed line 1301) from an edge of a side area of the mobile phone. The prompt bar 1302 is used to indicate the interaction area for volume adjustment, and the prompt bar 1302 is on a left side of the side area. Then, refer to FIG. 13(c). The mobile phone automatically moves the prompt bar 1302 in a direction of a dashed line 1303 to a middle position of the side area shown in FIG. 13(d). Then, the prompt bar 1302 moves in a direction of a dashed line 1304 until it disappears, as shown in FIG. 13(e)).
As for claims 6, 14 and 20, Xu teaches. The method of claim 1 and corresponding apparatus of claim 9 and program product of claim 17, wherein:
the detecting swiping on the touchscreen in the portrait direction during operation of the computing device in the portrait mode comprises detecting swiping on the touchscreen in the portrait direction in a first portrait direction and wherein the adjusting of the volume setting of the computing device in response to the detected swiping of the touchscreen in the portrait direction comprises increasing the volume setting of the computing device in response to the detecting of the swiping in the first portrait direction; and
the detecting swiping on the touchscreen in the portrait direction during operation of the computing device in the portrait mode comprises detecting swiping on the touchscreen in the portrait direction in a second portrait direction opposite the first portrait direction and wherein the adjusting of the volume setting of the computing device in response to the detected swiping of the touchscreen in the portrait direction comprises decreasing the volume setting of the computing device in response to the detecting of the swiping in the second portrait direction (par. 155 hen the user performs the touch operation on the curved screen in the side area, the mobile phone displays, in response to the touch operation, the prompt information for volume interaction in the side area. The prompt information for volume interaction may be displayed in side areas of left and right sides or in a side area of either the left side or the right side of the mobile phone, for example, a side area between a position A and a position D shown in FIG. 5; par. 165 As shown in FIG. 7(a), after the thumb of the user slides upward from the position F in a direction of a dashed line 701 to a position of the volume “+” virtual button, a volume bar 702 shown in FIG. 7(b) is displayed, where a volume value of the volume bar 702 is flush with the operation position of the thumb. Then the thumb of the user may continue to slide upward in the direction of the dashed line 703 shown in FIG. 7(c), and the volume may be increased to a level shown in FIG. 7(d)).
As for claims 7 and 15, Xu teaches. The method of claim 1 and corresponding apparatus of claim 9, wherein the detected swiping in the landscape direction and/or the detected swiping in the portrait direction exclude: detecting swiping on a scroll bar displayed on the touchscreen; detecting swiping on an application control display on the touchscreen; and detecting swiping on an edge of the touchscreen designated for control of the computing device (par. 139 For example, the notification manager is configured to notify download completion, provide a message notification, and the like. The notification manager may alternatively be a notification that appears in a top status bar of the system in a form of a graph or a scroll bar text, for example, a notification of an application running on the background or a notification that appears on the screen in a form of a dialog window. For example, text information is displayed in the status bar, an announcement is produced, the electronic device vibrates, or an indicator light blinks).
As for claim 8, Xu teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein:
in response to the volume control swiping being enabled for the landscape mode and disabled for the portrait mode and operation of the touchscreen in the portrait mode, detecting swiping on the touchscreen in the landscape direction results in no change to the volume; and/or
in response to the volume control swiping being enabled for the portrait mode and disabled for the landscape mode and operation of the touchscreen in the landscape mode, detecting swiping on the touchscreen in the portrait direction results in no change to the volume (Par. 180 To prevent a mis operation by a finger when the mobile phone is in a landscape mode, the mobile phone may identify whether the mobile phone is in a portrait mode or a landscape mode by using a gyroscope sensor and a gravity sensor. When the mobile phone detects a switch from a portrait mode to a landscape mode, the interaction area for volume adjustment on the side is automatically switched to a top side area or a bottom side area when the mobile phone is in a landscape mode, and is in a middle area of the side area, so that an area prone to accidental touch in the top-left corner and the top-right corner can be avoided).
(Note:) It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant provided further clarification on the interpretation of the claim language and pointed out how the proposed amendment might overcome the prior art relied upon. The Examiner notes that the discussion of the prior art rejection along with the proposed amendments will require further consideration and an updated search.
A1. Applicant argues that Xu does not teach wherein detecting the speaker being active comprises detecting the speaker actively producing sound.
R1. Examiner does not agree, after further reconsideration is its found that there is detection of the speaker is being actively producing sound and interaction with said electronic device is only being made because of said detection.
In paragraphs 104-107, Xu teaches the electronic device has a speaker that take digital signal and produces sound in which a user may interact with this sound and responds to this sound as it is actively being produced by one means of interacting of using a microphone to send/record digital audio signals back to the electronic device; Thus the speaker 170A, also referred to as a “loudspeaker”, is configured to convert an audio electrical signal into a sound signal. The electronic device 100 may listen to music or answer a hands-free call through the speaker 170A; another use case is presented in paragraph 150 For example, in a scenario in which the user is making a call by using a mobile phone in a folded state, the user thinks that a sound is small, and the volume button needs to be pressed. In this case, the user needs to first unfold the mobile phone to press the volume button on the side, which brings inconvenience to the user. In paragraph 183 FIG. 14, a user holds a mobile phone with a left hand, and a curved screen of the mobile phone is against an ear of the user. In this scenario, the user thinks that a call sound is small and wants to increase volume, or the user thinks that the call sound is loud and wants to decrease the volume. However, to avoid missing important information from a peer end, it is inconvenient for the user to perform volume adjustment without looking at the screen of the mobile phone. An embodiment of this application provides another volume adjustment manner. Volume is adjusted by sliding on a curved screen. The following describes the manner in detail with reference to FIG. 15(a) to FIG. 15(d).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquires
/NICHOLAS AUGUSTINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178 May 13, 2026