DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that “a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been led away from combining WARRINGTON with the disclosure of LIMANJAYA, as such a combination would frustrate the purpose of WARRINGTON (namely, to have a container having that explicit shape).”
Examiner does not find this persuasive because WARRINGTON shows a bottle having a shape and LIMANJAYA discloses a method of forming bottles that would be suitable for forming the WARRINGTON bottle. The shape of WARRINGTON’s bottle and the LIMANJAYA bottle are similar.
Applicant argues that that WARRINGTON and LIMANJA YA, either alone or in any proper combination, fail to disclose or render obvious at least "wherein an angle between a first line and a second line is equal to or greater than 7°, the first line passing through a center of the opening plane and being orthogonal to a ground contact surf ace of the bottom portion, the second line connecting an intersection point of a vertical line passing through a center of the bulge portion and intersecting with the ground contact surface of the bottom portion and the center of the opening plane,"
Examiner does not find this persuasive because Warrington shows a bottle having a shape that, when formed using blow molding of Limanjaya would result in the claimed angle.
In particular, Warrington shows a generally similar bottle. Limanjaya teaches a method for forming similar bottles by injection stretch blowing. Injection stretch blowing would result in the bulge located central to the eccentricity as illustrated in Fig 3 of Limanjaya.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warrington (US D324495 S) in view of Limanjaya (US 7033535 B1)
In reference to claim 1, Warrington discloses a similar container (see claims, portion copied below)
Warrington does not disclose the container is blow molded with a bulge at the bottom such that an angle is formed as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the particular problem faced by the inventor, containers, Limanjaya discloses blow molding a similar container (see Fig 3, copied below).
Limanjaya teaches to use blow molding to mold a bottle.
Warrington shows a bottle having a shape that, when formed using blow molding of Limanjaya would result in the claimed angle. Injection stretch blowing would result in the bulge located central to the eccentricity as illustrated in Fig 3 of Limanjaya.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to blow mold the container of Warrington using the process of Limanjaya and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
In reference to claim 5 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
The cited art discloses the same structure and meets the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS KRASNOW/Examiner, Art Unit 1744