DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/15/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). A certified copy of this document has been placed in the file wrapper. As such, the effective filing date of the instant application is considered 03/29/2023, coinciding with the filing date of the European application to which foreign priority was requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moran (US20070124037, referred to as Moran).
Regarding claim 1: Moran discloses: An energy recovery system for a vehicle, the energy recovery system comprises a Kinetic Energy Recovery System (“KERS”) for connecting to a propulsion shaft of the vehicle, an internal energy storage device configured to receive and store energy from the KERS, and ([0008] a hybrid-electric vehicle has all or part of the vehicle propulsion power supplied by an electric motor and has an on board electric energy storage to assist the primary power unit during vehicle acceleration power requirements. The energy storage unit can be charged from available excess primary power and/or braking regeneration energy supplied from the electric motor/generator during electromagnetic braking deceleration.) a processing circuitry configured to cause distribution of energy from the internal energy storage device to the propulsion shaft of the vehicle and/or at least one non-propulsion battery for the vehicle based on an energy level of the non-propulsion battery. ([0026] With reference to FIG. 1A, an embodiment of a series hybrid-electric drive system 100 with electrically powered accessories 110 will be described. An engine 120 can be turned off because both the high voltage requirements and the low voltage requirements are met by respective energy storages 130, 140. A generator 150 is operated as a motor to spin the engine 120 during frequent restarts. A low-voltage engine starter 160 may be used infrequently with the generator 160 whenever the high-voltage energy storage 130 cannot deliver enough power to the generator 150 for spinning the engine 120 during engine start. For example, in an implementation of this embodiment where ultracapacitors are used for energy storage, the low voltage starter 160 is used at the beginning of the day when the ultracapacitors are empty. The engine 120 may be any internal combustion engine that would be used to produce enough power to provide traction for propelling the vehicle.)
Regarding claim 2: Moran discloses: The energy recovery system of claim 1,
Moran further discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause distribution of energy from the internal energy storage device based on an acceleration indicator obtained from the vehicle. ([0008] a hybrid-electric vehicle has all or part of the vehicle propulsion power supplied by an electric motor and has an on board electric energy storage to assist the primary power unit during vehicle acceleration power requirements. The energy storage unit can be charged from available excess primary power and/or braking regeneration energy supplied from the electric motor/generator during electromagnetic braking deceleration.)
Regarding claim 3: Moran discloses: The energy recovery system of claim 2,
Moran further discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to prevent distribution of energy from the internal energy storage device to the propulsion shaft of the vehicle responsive to the acceleration indicator indicating a negative acceleration of the vehicle. ([0008] a hybrid-electric vehicle has all or part of the vehicle propulsion power supplied by an electric motor and has an on board electric energy storage to assist the primary power unit during vehicle acceleration power requirements. The energy storage unit can be charged from available excess primary power and/or braking regeneration energy supplied from the electric motor/generator during electromagnetic braking deceleration.)
Regarding claim 4: Moran discloses: The energy recovery system of claim 1,
Moran further discloses: wherein the internal energy storage device is a super capacitor. ([0009] The major hybrid-electric drive components are an internal combustion engine mechanically coupled to an electric power generator, an energy storage device such as a battery or an ultracapacitor pack, and an electrically powered traction motor mechanically coupled to the vehicle propulsion system)
Regarding claim 5: Moran discloses: The energy recovery system of claim 1,
Moran further discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause distribution of energy from the internal energy storage device to the non-propulsion battery and to prevent distribution of energy from the internal energy storage device to the propulsion shaft of the vehicle responsive to the energy level of the non-propulsion battery being below a first threshold. ([0036] When the generator spins the engine 120 during startup, the Stop-Start or Idle-Stop control computer, at step 450 monitors the power required by the generator to keep the engine 120 spinning. When the required generator 150 power drops below a cranking power threshold the engine state, at step 460, is defined as running and, at step 470, the Stop-Start or Idle-Stop control computer commands the generator inverter/controller 155 to switch from the motor mode (power negative) back into the generator mode (power positive). At step 455 in a fail-safe control the engine spinning is stopped after a maximum allowed spin time and a fault code is set at step 456.)
Regarding claim 6: Moran discloses: The energy recovery system of claim 5,
Moran further discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause distribution of energy from the internal energy storage device to the propulsion shaft of the vehicle responsive to the energy level of the non-propulsion battery being above the first threshold. ([0036] When the generator spins the engine 120 during startup, the Stop-Start or Idle-Stop control computer, at step 450 monitors the power required by the generator to keep the engine 120 spinning. When the required generator 150 power drops below a cranking power threshold the engine state, at step 460, is defined as running and, at step 470, the Stop-Start or Idle-Stop control computer commands the generator inverter/controller 155 to switch from the motor mode (power negative) back into the generator mode (power positive). At step 455 in a fail-safe control the engine spinning is stopped after a maximum allowed spin time and a fault code is set at step 456.)
Regarding claim 7: Moran discloses: The energy recovery system of claim 6,
Moran further discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause distribution of energy from the internal energy storage device to the propulsion shaft of the vehicle and to prevent distribution of energy from the internal energy storage device to the non-propulsion battery responsive to the energy level of the non-propulsion battery being above a second threshold, wherein the second threshold is indicating a higher energy level than the first threshold. ([0040] at step 720, a determination is made that the states of charge (SOC's), step 722 and step 724, of the high and low voltage vehicle energy storage systems 130, 140 are above minimum operating thresholds to sustain the accessory power requirements if the engine is turned off. If the SOC's are above the minimum operating thresholds, at step 360 the engine 120 is turned off as described by the flow diagram in FIG. 4. If the SOC's are below the minimum operating thresholds, at step 730 a low SOC warning indicator is set and at step 735 a determination is made if an override is set. If the override is not on the control passes back to the start at step 710. If the override is on for testing, maintenance, or emergency purposes, control passes to step 360 where the engine 120 is turned off as described by the flow diagram in FIG. 4. The engine turn off sequence at step 360 includes the optional step of continuing to spin the engine 120 to drive the PTO accessories 180 with the fuel cut off. [0041]
At step 770, a check is made for any condition that would require an engine restart. First, at steps 772, 774, a determination is made as to whether either of the SOC's of the vehicle high voltage or low voltage energy storage systems 130, 140 drops below minimum restart thresholds. The restart thresholds are significantly below the operating thresholds so as to prevent an oscillation of the Stop-Start cycles. If the SOC's are above the thresholds a determination is made at step 775 as to whether the Run Silent mode is still selected. If the Run Silent mode is still selected control passes back to step 770. If the Run Silent mode has been cancelled the control passes to restart the engine at step 410.)
Regarding claim 8: Moran discloses: The energy recovery system of claim 7,
Moran further discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause distribution of energy from the internal energy storage device to the non-propulsion battery and to the propulsion shaft of the vehicle responsive to the energy level of the non-propulsion battery being between the first and second thresholds. ([0040] at step 720, a determination is made that the states of charge (SOC's), step 722 and step 724, of the high and low voltage vehicle energy storage systems 130, 140 are above minimum operating thresholds to sustain the accessory power requirements if the engine is turned off. If the SOC's are above the minimum operating thresholds, at step 360 the engine 120 is turned off as described by the flow diagram in FIG. 4. If the SOC's are below the minimum operating thresholds, at step 730 a low SOC warning indicator is set and at step 735 a determination is made if an override is set. If the override is not on the control passes back to the start at step 710. If the override is on for testing, maintenance, or emergency purposes, control passes to step 360 where the engine 120 is turned off as described by the flow diagram in FIG. 4. The engine turn off sequence at step 360 includes the optional step of continuing to spin the engine 120 to drive the PTO accessories 180 with the fuel cut off. [0041] At step 770, a check is made for any condition that would require an engine restart. First, at steps 772, 774, a determination is made as to whether either of the SOC's of the vehicle high voltage or low voltage energy storage systems 130, 140 drops below minimum restart thresholds. The restart thresholds are significantly below the operating thresholds so as to prevent an oscillation of the Stop-Start cycles. If the SOC's are above the thresholds a determination is made at step 775 as to whether the Run Silent mode is still selected. If the Run Silent mode is still selected control passes back to step 770. If the Run Silent mode has been cancelled the control passes to restart the engine at step 410.)
Regarding claim 9: Moran discloses: The energy recovery system of claim 1,
Moran further discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to provide a recuperation indication to the vehicle indicating that the vehicle is to operate at an enforced energy recuperation mode. ([0036] When the generator spins the engine 120 during startup, the Stop-Start or Idle-Stop control computer, at step 450 monitors the power required by the generator to keep the engine 120 spinning. When the required generator 150 power drops below a cranking power threshold the engine state, at step 460, is defined as running and, at step 470, the Stop-Start or Idle-Stop control computer commands the generator inverter/controller 155 to switch from the motor mode (power negative) back into the generator mode (power positive). At step 455 in a fail-safe control the engine spinning is stopped after a maximum allowed spin time and a fault code is set at step 456.)
Regarding claim 10: Moran discloses: The energy recovery system of claim 5,
Moran further discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to provide the recuperation indication to the vehicle responsive to the energy level of the non-propulsion battery being below a minimum threshold, wherein the minimum threshold is below the first threshold. ([0030] At step 310, a determination is made as to whether the necessary conditions for turning off the engine 120 and keeping it turned off are met. First, because Stop-Start operation is not technically necessary to operate the vehicle, at step 320, a determination is made as to whether the Stop-Start or Idle-Stop function is enabled. Second, because the states of charge (SOC's) of the vehicle energy storage systems 130, 140 must be above minimum operating thresholds to sustain the accessory power requirements during a vehicle Stop-Start or Idle-Stop cycle, at steps 330, 340, a determination is made as to whether the states of charge (SOC's) of the vehicle energy storage systems 130, 140 must be above minimum operating thresholds to sustain the accessory power requirements during a vehicle Stop-Start or Idle-Stop cycle.)
Regarding claim 11: Moran discloses: The energy recovery system of claim 1,
Moran further discloses: further comprising the at least one non-propulsion battery. ([0009] The major hybrid-electric drive components are an internal combustion engine mechanically coupled to an electric power generator, an energy storage device such as a battery or an ultracapacitor pack, and an electrically powered traction motor mechanically coupled to the vehicle propulsion system. The vehicle has accessories that can be powered from the energy storage and vehicle operation does not require that the engine be running for stopping, standing, coasting, or startup acceleration. Alternatively, vehicle accessories may be mounted as engine PTO's that can be powered by spinning the engine by means of the mechanically coupled electric power generator/motor with electrical power supplied by the energy storage.)
Regarding claim 12: Moran discloses: The energy recovery system of claim 11,
Moran further discloses: further comprising at least two non-propulsion batteries, wherein a first non-propulsion battery is configured for providing power to vehicle propulsion support functions and a second non-propulsion battery is configured for providing power to vehicle comfort control; the least one non-propulsion battery is a battery configured with a nominal voltage below 30 V. ([0008] The energy storage unit can be charged from available excess primary power and/or braking regeneration energy supplied from the electric motor/generator during electromagnetic braking deceleration. In this invention the energy storage unit also supplies power to operate vehicle accessory subsystems such as the heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, hydraulic system for steering and equipment actuators, compressed air system for brakes and air bag suspensions, and various 12 volt and 24 volt standard accessories)
Regarding claim 13: Moran discloses: The energy recovery system of claim 1,
Moran further discloses: wherein the KERS comprises an electrical motor. ([0008] a hybrid-electric vehicle has all or part of the vehicle propulsion power supplied by an electric motor and has an on board electric energy storage to assist the primary power unit during vehicle acceleration power requirements. The energy storage unit can be charged from available excess primary power and/or braking regeneration energy supplied from the electric motor/generator during electromagnetic braking deceleration.)
Regarding claim 14: Moran discloses: The energy recovery system of claim 13,
Moran further discloses: wherein the KERS further comprises a flywheel arrangement. ([0037] he energy storage can be ultracapacitors, batteries, flywheels, or other device that stores and supplies electrical energy;)
Regarding claim 15: Moran discloses: The energy recovery system of claim 1,
Moran further discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause distribution of energy based on an acceleration indicator obtained from the vehicle and to prevent distribution of energy to the propulsion shaft of the vehicle responsive to the acceleration indicator indicating negative acceleration of the vehicle; the internal energy storage device is a super capacitor; the processing circuitry is further configured to cause distribution of energy of the internal energy storage device to the non-propulsion battery and to prevent distribution of energy of the internal energy storage device to the propulsion shaft of the vehicle responsive to the energy level of the non-propulsion battery being below a first threshold, and to cause distribution of energy of the internal energy storage device to the propulsion shaft of the vehicle responsive to the energy level of the non-propulsion battery being above the first threshold; the processing circuitry is further configured to cause distribution of energy of the internal energy storage device to the propulsion shaft of the vehicle and to prevent distribution of energy of the internal energy storage device to the non-propulsion battery of the vehicle responsive to the energy level of the non-propulsion battery being above a second threshold, wherein the second threshold indicating a higher energy level than the first threshold, and to cause distribution of energy of the internal energy storage device to the non-propulsion battery and to the propulsion shaft of the vehicle responsive to the energy level of the non-propulsion battery being between the first and second thresholds; the processing circuitry is further configured to provide a recuperation indication to the vehicle indicating that the vehicle is to operate at an enforced energy recuperation mode, and to provide the recuperation indication to the vehicle responsive to the energy level of the non-propulsion battery being below a minimum threshold, wherein the minimum threshold is below the first threshold; the energy recovery system further comprising at least two non-propulsion battery, wherein a first non-propulsion battery is configured for providing power to vehicle propulsion control and a second non-propulsion battery is configured for providing power to vehicle comfort control, at least one non-propulsion battery is a battery configured with a nominal voltage below 30 V; the KERS comprises an electrical motor and a flywheel arrangement. ([0040] at step 720, a determination is made that the states of charge (SOC's), step 722 and step 724, of the high and low voltage vehicle energy storage systems 130, 140 are above minimum operating thresholds to sustain the accessory power requirements if the engine is turned off. If the SOC's are above the minimum operating thresholds, at step 360 the engine 120 is turned off as described by the flow diagram in FIG. 4. If the SOC's are below the minimum operating thresholds, at step 730 a low SOC warning indicator is set and at step 735 a determination is made if an override is set. If the override is not on the control passes back to the start at step 710. If the override is on for testing, maintenance, or emergency purposes, control passes to step 360 where the engine 120 is turned off as described by the flow diagram in FIG. 4. The engine turn off sequence at step 360 includes the optional step of continuing to spin the engine 120 to drive the PTO accessories 180 with the fuel cut off. [0041] At step 770, a check is made for any condition that would require an engine restart. First, at steps 772, 774, a determination is made as to whether either of the SOC's of the vehicle high voltage or low voltage energy storage systems 130, 140 drops below minimum restart thresholds. The restart thresholds are significantly below the operating thresholds so as to prevent an oscillation of the Stop-Start cycles. If the SOC's are above the thresholds a determination is made at step 775 as to whether the Run Silent mode is still selected. If the Run Silent mode is still selected control passes back to step 770. If the Run Silent mode has been cancelled the control passes to restart the engine at step 410.)
Regarding claim 16: Moran discloses: an energy recovery system of claim 1 connected to the propulsion shaft.
Moran further discloses: A vehicle comprising a non-propulsion battery for providing power to the vehicle, a propulsion shaft, a propulsion source coupled to the propulsion shaft, and ([0008] a hybrid-electric vehicle has all or part of the vehicle propulsion power supplied by an electric motor and has an on board electric energy storage to assist the primary power unit during vehicle acceleration power requirements. The energy storage unit can be charged from available excess primary power and/or braking regeneration energy supplied from the electric motor/generator during electromagnetic braking deceleration.)
Regarding claim 17: Moran discloses: The vehicle of claim 16,
Moran further discloses: wherein the propulsion source is selectively connected to the propulsion shaft by a controllable disconnect, the KERS is connected to the propulsion shaft downstream from the propulsion source and the controllable disconnect; preferably, the vehicle further comprises a vehicle processing circuitry configured to cause the controllable disconnect to disconnect the propulsion source from the propulsion shaft responsive to obtaining a recuperation indication indicating that the vehicle is to operate at an enforced energy recuperation mode. ([0040] at step 720, a determination is made that the states of charge (SOC's), step 722 and step 724, of the high and low voltage vehicle energy storage systems 130, 140 are above minimum operating thresholds to sustain the accessory power requirements if the engine is turned off. If the SOC's are above the minimum operating thresholds, at step 360 the engine 120 is turned off as described by the flow diagram in FIG. 4. If the SOC's are below the minimum operating thresholds, at step 730 a low SOC warning indicator is set and at step 735 a determination is made if an override is set. If the override is not on the control passes back to the start at step 710. If the override is on for testing, maintenance, or emergency purposes, control passes to step 360 where the engine 120 is turned off as described by the flow diagram in FIG. 4. The engine turn off sequence at step 360 includes the optional step of continuing to spin the engine 120 to drive the PTO accessories 180 with the fuel cut off. [0041] At step 770, a check is made for any condition that would require an engine restart. First, at steps 772, 774, a determination is made as to whether either of the SOC's of the vehicle high voltage or low voltage energy storage systems 130, 140 drops below minimum restart thresholds. The restart thresholds are significantly below the operating thresholds so as to prevent an oscillation of the Stop-Start cycles. If the SOC's are above the thresholds a determination is made at step 775 as to whether the Run Silent mode is still selected. If the Run Silent mode is still selected control passes back to step 770. If the Run Silent mode has been cancelled the control passes to restart the engine at step 410.)
Regarding claim 18: Moran discloses: A method of distributing energy of an internal energy storage device of an energy recovery system according to claim 1
Moran further discloses: when comprised in a vehicle, the method comprising: obtaining an energy level of a non-propulsion battery connected to the energy recovery system, and distributing energy from the internal energy storage device to a propulsion shaft of the vehicle and/or to the non-propulsion battery based on the energy level of the non-propulsion battery. [0040] at step 720, a determination is made that the states of charge (SOC's), step 722 and step 724, of the high and low voltage vehicle energy storage systems 130, 140 are above minimum operating thresholds to sustain the accessory power requirements if the engine is turned off. If the SOC's are above the minimum operating thresholds, at step 360 the engine 120 is turned off as described by the flow diagram in FIG. 4. If the SOC's are below the minimum operating thresholds, at step 730 a low SOC warning indicator is set and at step 735 a determination is made if an override is set. If the override is not on the control passes back to the start at step 710. If the override is on for testing, maintenance, or emergency purposes, control passes to step 360 where the engine 120 is turned off as described by the flow diagram in FIG. 4. The engine turn off sequence at step 360 includes the optional step of continuing to spin the engine 120 to drive the PTO accessories 180 with the fuel cut off. [0041] At step 770, a check is made for any condition that would require an engine restart. First, at steps 772, 774, a determination is made as to whether either of the SOC's of the vehicle high voltage or low voltage energy storage systems 130, 140 drops below minimum restart thresholds. The restart thresholds are significantly below the operating thresholds so as to prevent an oscillation of the Stop-Start cycles. If the SOC's are above the thresholds a determination is made at step 775 as to whether the Run Silent mode is still selected. If the Run Silent mode is still selected control passes back to step 770. If the Run Silent mode has been cancelled the control passes to restart the engine at step 410.)
Regarding claim 19: Moran discloses: The method of claim 18,
Moran further discloses: wherein distributing energy from the internal energy storage device comprises distributing energy from the internal energy storage device to the non-propulsion battery and to prevent distribution of energy from the internal energy storage device to the propulsion shaft of the vehicle responsive to the energy level of the non-propulsion battery being below a first threshold; preferably, distributing energy from the internal energy storage device further comprises distributing energy from the internal energy storage device to the propulsion shaft of the vehicle responsive to the energy level of the non-propulsion battery being above the first threshold. [0040] at step 720, a determination is made that the states of charge (SOC's), step 722 and step 724, of the high and low voltage vehicle energy storage systems 130, 140 are above minimum operating thresholds to sustain the accessory power requirements if the engine is turned off. If the SOC's are above the minimum operating thresholds, at step 360 the engine 120 is turned off as described by the flow diagram in FIG. 4. If the SOC's are below the minimum operating thresholds, at step 730 a low SOC warning indicator is set and at step 735 a determination is made if an override is set. If the override is not on the control passes back to the start at step 710. If the override is on for testing, maintenance, or emergency purposes, control passes to step 360 where the engine 120 is turned off as described by the flow diagram in FIG. 4. The engine turn off sequence at step 360 includes the optional step of continuing to spin the engine 120 to drive the PTO accessories 180 with the fuel cut off. [0041] At step 770, a check is made for any condition that would require an engine restart. First, at steps 772, 774, a determination is made as to whether either of the SOC's of the vehicle high voltage or low voltage energy storage systems 130, 140 drops below minimum restart thresholds. The restart thresholds are significantly below the operating thresholds so as to prevent an oscillation of the Stop-Start cycles. If the SOC's are above the thresholds a determination is made at step 775 as to whether the Run Silent mode is still selected. If the Run Silent mode is still selected control passes back to step 770. If the Run Silent mode has been cancelled the control passes to restart the engine at step 410.)
Regarding claim 20: Moran discloses: The method of claim 19,
Moran further discloses: further comprising, responsive to the energy level of the non-propulsion battery being above a second threshold indicating a higher energy level than the first threshold: distributing energy from the internal energy storage device to the propulsion shaft of the vehicle, and preventing distribution of energy from the internal energy storage device to the propulsion shaft of the vehicle; preferably, distributing energy from the internal energy storage device further comprises distributing energy from the internal energy storage device to the non-propulsion battery and to the propulsion shaft of the vehicle responsive to the energy level of the non-propulsion battery being between the first and second thresholds. [0040] at step 720, a determination is made that the states of charge (SOC's), step 722 and step 724, of the high and low voltage vehicle energy storage systems 130, 140 are above minimum operating thresholds to sustain the accessory power requirements if the engine is turned off. If the SOC's are above the minimum operating thresholds, at step 360 the engine 120 is turned off as described by the flow diagram in FIG. 4. If the SOC's are below the minimum operating thresholds, at step 730 a low SOC warning indicator is set and at step 735 a determination is made if an override is set. If the override is not on the control passes back to the start at step 710. If the override is on for testing, maintenance, or emergency purposes, control passes to step 360 where the engine 120 is turned off as described by the flow diagram in FIG. 4. The engine turn off sequence at step 360 includes the optional step of continuing to spin the engine 120 to drive the PTO accessories 180 with the fuel cut off. [0041] At step 770, a check is made for any condition that would require an engine restart. First, at steps 772, 774, a determination is made as to whether either of the SOC's of the vehicle high voltage or low voltage energy storage systems 130, 140 drops below minimum restart thresholds. The restart thresholds are significantly below the operating thresholds so as to prevent an oscillation of the Stop-Start cycles. If the SOC's are above the thresholds a determination is made at step 775 as to whether the Run Silent mode is still selected. If the Run Silent mode is still selected control passes back to step 770. If the Run Silent mode has been cancelled the control passes to restart the engine at step 410.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant' s disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
/ATTICUS A CAMERON/ /JASON HOLLOWAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658 Examiner, Art Unit 3658A