DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. The amendment filed April 6, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-12 and 19-26 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed April 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. 4. Applicant argues that Hara et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0080803 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hara, does not teach the first material and 3D object being rendered as two distinct objects.
The Applicant also argues that West et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0263511 A1), hereinafter referred to as West, only teaches a distance between a light source and depth in scene rather than a distance between a first plane object and the 3D object behind the plane. The Applicant argues West teaches a volumetric blob with depth as opposed to a semi-transparent material represented as a “first plane with an adjustable position within the virtual environment.”
Lastly, for completeness, the Applicant argues Kim et al. (Korean Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0000266 A), hereinafter referred to as Kim, only calculates the distance a light ray travels through a 3D object’s volume rather than the distance between a first plane and the outer surface of a 3D graphical object.
Examiner replies Hara does teach two distinct objects being rendered as seen in Figure 10. Under new scope given by the amendments, Hara teaches in Figure 10 a 3D graphical object 300 and a first material 306 existing in a first plane.
Furthermore, the Applicant’s arguments with respect to the limitation of the distance between a first plane and the outer surface of a 3D graphical object have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The new rejection relies on Diepstraten et al. ("Transparency in Interactive Technical Illustrations."), hereinafter referred to as Diepstraten, which teaches two distinct objects and a distance between the first material on a first plane and the surface of a 3D graphical object.
Thus, claim 1, 19, 20 and their dependents stand rejected.
5. Conclusion: The rejections set in the previous Office Action are shown to have been proper, and the claims are rejected below. New citations and parenthetical remarks can be considered new grounds of rejection and such new grounds of rejection are necessitated by the Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Therefore, the present Office Action is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-8, 19-21, 23-24, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0080803 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hara, in view of Diepstraten et al. ("Transparency in Interactive Technical Illustrations."), hereinafter referred to as Diepstraten, and Halen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0273239 A1), hereinafter referred to as Halen.
8. Regarding claim 1, Hara teaches a method of graphical rendering, comprising: obtaining a first three-dimensional (3D) graphical object (Paragraph 71 and Figure 10 teach a 3D graphical object 300);
obtaining a first material, wherein at least a portion of the first 3D graphical object is located behind the first material in a virtual environment with respect to a first viewpoint (Paragraph 71 and Figure 10 teach a first material 306 and based on Figure 10, the first 3D graphical object 300 is behind the first material 306 with respect to a first viewpoint 304 in a virtual three-dimensional space. The virtual three-dimensional space teaches a virtual environment),
and wherein the first material is associated with an adjustable density value (Paragraph 71 teaches a concentration value of the semi-transparent 3D object which can be set from 0.0 to 1.0. Thus, the concentration value is an adjustable density value) and comprises at least a first plane with an adjustable position within the virtual environment (Paragraph 71-73 teach the first material has at least a first plane since it exists in a three-dimensional space. Furthermore, it also teaches “the position of the semi-transparent model 306 can be set” which teaches an adjustable position within the virtual environment and can be seen in Figure 10.);
However, Hara is not relied upon for the below claim language: determining a distance within the virtual environment, between the first plane and an outer surface of the first 3D graphical object; determining a transparency value based, at least in part, on the adjustable density value and the determined distance; and rendering, from the first viewpoint and using a first shader, at least the portion of the first 3D graphical object in the virtual environment by applying the determined transparency value to the first material.
Diepstraten teaches determining a distance within the virtual environment, between the first plane and an outer surface of the first 3D graphical object (Section 5 Paragraph 4 teaches “the distance of each vertex to the closest silhouette edge is computed”. The silhouette edge teaches first material and the vertex teaches a vertex on the outer surface of the first 3D graphical object. Thus, this teaches determining a distance between the outer surface and first plane);
determining a transparency value based, at least in part, (Section 5 Paragraph 4 and Equation 2 teach “the minimum distance of a vertex to the silhouettes, d.sub.min, is used to calculate the alpha value for the respective vertex of the transparent object”. The alpha value teaches determining a transparency value since transparency is determined by subtracted 1 – alpha as taught in Section 4);
and rendering, from the first viewpoint and using a first shader, at least the portion of the first 3D graphical object in the virtual environment by applying the determined transparency value to the first material (Section 5 and Figure 3b teaches rendering the 3D graphical object (the ring) by applying the determined transparency value to the first material (the teacup surface) according to the camera position or viewpoint. The camera position determines the silhouette of the first material which is used in calculating the distances and then transparency; Section 6.2 teaches using a shader to render and apply transparency).
Hara and Diepstraten are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering semi-transparent objects. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of graphical rendering of a first material and 3D graphical object taught by Hara with the determining the transparency based on the distance taught by Diepstraten in order to accurately blend and render transparent and opaque objects together (Diepstraten Abstract and Section 4).
However, Hara and Diepstraten is not relied upon for the below claim language: determining a transparency value based, at least in part, on the adjustable density value.
Halen teaches determining a transparency value based, at least in part, on the adjustable density value (Paragraph 47 teaches the transmitted light through an object or transparency of an object is based on the transmission coefficient. Thus, the adjustable density determines the transparency value).
Hara, Diepstraten, and Halen are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering semi-transparent objects. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of determining the transparency value based on a distance taught by Hara in view of Diepstraten with the density value also affecting the transparency taught by Halen in order to render visually correct results like shadows for transparent objects (Halen Paragraphs 2-4).
9. Regarding claim 2, Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Hara is not relied upon for the below claim language: the method wherein the first 3D graphical object is further associated with a second material, and wherein the rendering of at least a portion of the first 3D graphical object in the virtual environment further comprises: blending between the first material and the second material according to the determined transparency value.
Diepstraten further teaches the method wherein the first 3D graphical object is further associated with a second material, and wherein the rendering of at least a portion of the first 3D graphical object in the virtual environment further comprises: blending between the first material and the second material according to the determined transparency value (Section 4 teaches the 3D graphical object is associated with an opaque material since it is an opaque object. It also teaches that “transparency values have to be computed for a correct blending between transparent and opaque objects.” This teaches blending the first and second material according to the determined transparency value; Section 5 teaches determining the alpha value or transparency which is used for “blending between transparent and opaque objects” and can be seen in Figure 3(b)).
Hara, Diepstraten, and Halen are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering semi-transparent objects. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of graphical rendering of a first material and 3D graphical object taught by Hara in view of Halen with the determining the transparency based on the distance taught by Diepstraten in order to accurately blend and render transparent and opaque objects together (Diepstraten Abstract and Section 4).
10. Regarding claim 4, Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen teaches the limitations of claim 1. Hara further teaches the method wherein the first plane comprises a horizontal plane, and wherein the adjustable position comprises an adjustable height within the virtual environment (Paragraph 71 teaches a semitransparent model 306 which can be considered the first 3D graphical object associated with a semi-transparent material. Since the semi-transparent model using one or more polygons exists in a three-dimensional space, it has at least a first horizontal plane associated with it; Paragraph 77 and Figure 13 teach the 3D graphical object can move in the three-dimensional space. Thus, it has an adjustable position or height).
11. Regarding claim 6, Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen teaches the limitations of claim 1. Hara further teaches the method wherein the first material comprises a semi-transparent material (Paragraph 71 teaches object 306 is a semi-transparent model with concentration values deciding its transmittance or density. Thus, the first material comprises a semi-transparent material).
12. Regarding claim 7, Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen teaches the limitations of claim 6. Hara further teaches the method wherein the first material comprises at least one of: fog, mist, water, cloud, dust, or particles (Paragraph 83 teaches a simulation of fog in a three-dimensional space. The fog is a first material; Paragraph 102 teaches the various embodiments can be combined, thus the semi-transparent model 306 in Figure 10 can be fog as shown in Figure 26).
13. Regarding claim 8, Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen teaches the limitations of claim 1. Hara further teaches the method wherein the rendering of the first 3D graphical object in the virtual environment further comprises a single pass rendering operation that renders both opaque and non-opaque materials in the virtual environment (Paragraphs 82-85 teach calculating the transparency through a single light source and viewpoint. This can be considered a single pass rendering by calculating the fog or transparency of the materials through one viewpoint, a single pass, and storing the values into a texture buffer. The Applicant does not define what a single pass rendering operation is so under the broadest reasonable interpretation, rendering the graphical object through a single viewpoint can be considered the single pass rendering operation; Paragraphs 87-89 teach rendering the image data according to the concentration map or fog value. The opaque objects like the character, building, tree and the non-opaque materials like the fog are rendered in the virtual environment).
14. Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is the device (Hara Abstract teaches a device using a memory and processor to render an object in a virtual three-dimensional space) claim of claim 1 and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set forth with respect to claim 1.
15. Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is the non-transitory computer-readable medium (Hara Abstract teaches a device using a memory and processor to render an object in a virtual three-dimensional space) claim of claim 1 and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set forth with respect to claim 1.
16. Regarding claim 21, Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen teaches the limitations of claim 19. The claim is similar in scope to claim 2. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 2 applies herein.
17. Regarding claim 23, Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen teaches the limitations of claim 19. The claim is similar in scope to claim 8. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 8 applies herein.
18. Regarding claim 24, Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen teaches the limitations of claim 20. The claim is similar in scope to claim 2. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 2 applies herein.
19. Regarding claim 26, Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen teaches the limitations of claim 20. The claim is similar in scope to claim 8. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 8 applies herein.
20. Claim(s) 3, 22, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0080803 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hara, in view of Diepstraten et al. ("Transparency in Interactive Technical Illustrations."), hereinafter referred to as Diepstraten, and Halen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0273239 A1), hereinafter referred to as Halen, as applied to claim 2, 21, and 24 above, and further in view of Miura (Japanese Patent Application No. 3642593 B2).
21. Regarding claim 3, Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen teaches the limitations of claim 2.
However, Hara is not relied upon for the below claim language: the rendering of at least a portion of the first 3D graphical object in the virtual environment further comprises, for one or more rendered pixels of the first 3D graphical object: (a) computing, for a first ray emanating from the first viewpoint and terminating at a respective rendered pixel of the first 3D graphical object, a first intersection point between the first ray and the first plane; (b) computing a second intersection point between the first ray and the outer surface of the first 3D graphical object, wherein the second intersection point is behind the first plane with respect to the first viewpoint; (c) determining a first distance between the first intersection point and the second intersection point; (d) determining based, at least in part, on the first distance and the adjustable density value of the first material, a first transparency value to apply to the first material at the second intersection point; and (e) rendering a portion of the first 3D graphical object at the second intersection point based, at least in part, on the determined first transparency value, the first material, and a portion of the second material corresponding to the first 3D graphical object at the second intersection point.
Diepstraten teaches wherein the rendering of at least a portion of the first 3D graphical object in the virtual environment further comprises, for one or more rendered pixels of the first 3D graphical object(Section 5 Paragraph 4 and Equation 2 teach “the minimum distance of a vertex to the silhouettes, d.sub.min, is used to calculate the alpha value for the respective vertex of the transparent object”. The distance d.sub.min teaches a first distance and the vertex teaches the second intersection point. The alpha value teaches determining a transparency value since transparency is determined by subtracted 1 – alpha as taught in Section 4. The transparency value is also the transparency value to apply to the first material at the respective vertex);
and (e) rendering a portion of the first 3D graphical object at the second intersection point based, at least in part, on the determined first transparency value, the first material, and a portion of the second material corresponding to the first 3D graphical object at the second intersection point (Section 5 and Figure 3b teaches rendering the first 3D graphical object (the ring) and the second material corresponding to the ring by applying the determined transparency value to the first material (the teacup surface) according to the camera position or viewpoint. Rendering the 3D graphical object includes rendering the portion at the second intersection point based on the transparency value, first material, and second material. The camera position determines the silhouette of the first material which is used in calculating the distances and then transparency; Section 6.2 teaches using a shader to render and apply transparency; Section 4 teaches the 3D graphical object is associated with an opaque material since it is an opaque object. Thus, the 3D graphical object has a corresponding second material which is an opaque material).
Hara and Diepstraten are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering semi-transparent objects. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of graphical rendering of a first material and 3D graphical object taught by Hara with the determining the transparency based on the distance taught by Diepstraten in order to accurately blend and render transparent and opaque objects together (Diepstraten Abstract and Section 4).
However, Hara and Diepstraten are not relied upon for the below claim language: (a) computing, for a first ray emanating from the first viewpoint and terminating at a respective rendered pixel of the first 3D graphical object, a first intersection point between the first ray and the first plane; (b) computing a second intersection point between the first ray and the outer surface first 3D graphical object, wherein the second intersection point is behind the first plane with respect to the first viewpoint; (c) determining a first distance between the first intersection point and the second intersection point; (d) determining based, at least in part, on the adjustable density value of the first material, a first transparency value to apply to the first material at the second intersection point.
Halen teaches (d) determining based, at least in part, on the adjustable density value (Paragraph 59 teaches the transparent objects like 614 and 610 have a transmission coefficient. Paragraph 53 teaches the transmission coefficient of the object represents the amount of light transmitted through the object. This teaches the density of the first material; Paragraph 53 teaches the lighting information value for an object comprises of a brightness component that corresponds to the transmission coefficient. Paragraph 58 then teaches this lighting information can be set to a value to create a particular effect. Thus, the transmission coefficient or density is adjustable) of the first material, a first transparency value to apply to the first material at the second intersection point (Paragraph 47 teaches the transmitted light through an object or transparency of an object is based on the transmission coefficient. Thus, the adjustable density determines the transparency value. The transparency value is applied to the first material).
Hara, Diepstraten, and Halen are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering semi-transparent objects. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of determining the transparency value based on a distance taught by Hara in view of Diepstraten with the density value also affecting the transparency taught by Halen in order to render visually correct results like shadows for transparent objects (Halen Paragraphs 2-4).
However, Hara, Diepstraten, and Halen are not relied upon for the below claim language: (a) computing, for a first ray emanating from the first viewpoint and terminating at a respective rendered pixel of the first 3D graphical object, a first intersection point between the first ray and the first plane; (b) computing a second intersection point between the first ray and the outer surface of the first 3D graphical object, wherein the second intersection point is behind the first plane with respect to the first viewpoint; (c) determining a first distance between the first intersection point and the second intersection point.
Miura teaches (a) computing, for a first ray emanating from the first viewpoint and terminating at a respective rendered pixel of the first 3D graphical object, a first intersection point between the first ray and the first plane (Paragraph 37 and Figure 6 teach a ray from viewpoint 22 terminating a pixel L of the first 3D graphical object 42. Point K teaches the first intersection point between the first ray and the first plane. Point I also teaches another first intersection point);
(b) computing a second intersection point between the first ray and the outer surface of the first 3D graphical object, wherein the second intersection point is behind the first plane with respect to the first viewpoint (Paragraph 37 and Figure 6 teach a second intersection point L between the first ray and the outer surface of the first 3D graphical object 42. The second intersection point L is behind the first plane where the first intersection point K is on. The second intersection point is also behind the first plane with respect to the first viewpoint 22. J also teaches another second intersection point for the ray that the first intersection point I is on.);
(c) determining a first distance between the first intersection point and the second intersection point (Paragraph 37 and Figure 6 teach a first distance L4 between the first intersection point and second intersection point. L3 also teaches another first distance between a first and second intersection point);
Hara, Diepstraten, Halen, and Miura are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering semi-transparent objects. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of determining the transparency value based on a distance taught by Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen with the distance determined between the first and second intersection points taught by Miura in order to accurately reflect the depth of an object and quality of the displayed image (Miura Paragraph 37).
22. Regarding claim 22, Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen teaches the limitations of claim 21. The claim is similar in scope to claim 3. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 3 applies herein.
23. Regarding claim 25, Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen teaches the limitations of claim 24. The claim is similar in scope to claim 3. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 3 applies herein.
24. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0080803 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hara, in view of Diepstraten et al. ("Transparency in Interactive Technical Illustrations."), hereinafter referred to as Diepstraten, and Halen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0273239 A1), hereinafter referred to as Halen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Deering (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0174376 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Hara, Diepstraten, and Halen are not relied upon for the below claim language: the method wherein the first plane further comprises a rotatable and scalable plane within the virtual environment.
Deering teaches the method wherein the first plane further comprises a rotatable and scalable plane within the virtual environment (Paragraph 38 teaches you can render an object with any combination of rotation and scaling of the object. Thus, the object consists of a rotatable and scalable plane within a virtual environment. This can be combined with Hara where Hara Paragraph 72 and Figure 10 teach the first material with a first plane exists in a three-dimensional virtual environment).
Hara, Diepstraten, and Halen are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering semi-transparent objects. Deering is considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering three-dimensional objects in a scene. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of rendering a semi-transparent first material taught by Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen with the rotatable and scalable plane taught by Deering in order to render complex three-dimensional objects and scenes that are injected into a virtual world space with any desired placement of the object (Deering Paragraph 4 and 38).
25. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0080803 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hara, in view of Diepstraten et al. ("Transparency in Interactive Technical Illustrations."), hereinafter referred to as Diepstraten, and Halen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0273239 A1), hereinafter referred to as Halen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (Korean Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0000266 A), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding claim 9, Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen teach the limitations of claim 1. Hara further teaches an adjustable density (Paragraph 71 teaches a concentration value of the semi-transparent 3D object which can be set from 0.0 to 1.0. Thus, the concentration value is an adjustable density value).
However, Hara, Diepstraten, and Halen are not relied upon for the below claim language: the method wherein determining the transparency value further comprises applying the Beer-Lambert law to the first material based on one or more of: an absorptivity of the first material, the distance between the first plane and the first 3D graphical object, and the adjustable density value for the first material.
Kim teaches the method wherein determining the transparency value further comprises applying the Beer-Lambert law to the first material based on one or more of: an absorptivity of the first material, the distance between the first plane and the first 3D graphical object, and the adjustable density value for the first material (Paragraph 175 teaches using Beer-Lambert’s law to generate the opacity or transparency value of a volume. It teaches Beer-Lambert’s law in Equation 5 relies on the distance ‘t' and density ‘d’. The distance ‘t’ is the distance traveled through the volume which can be considered a distance between an entry point or first plane of the volume and an exit point of the volume which is the first 3D graphical object. Since the Applicant uses ‘one or more of’ only one of the listed requirements need to be taught in the prior art. Thus, the distance and density are taught. The adjustable density is taught through combination with Hara; Paragraph 178 and Equation 6 teach calculating the absorption of the volume or first material. Paragraph 181 teaches that using Beer-Lambert’s law in Equation 5 and the absorption in Equation 6 can then determine the opacity or transparency of the object).
Hara, Diepstraten, Halen, and Kim are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of rendering semi-transparent objects. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of rendering a semi-transparent object taught by Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen with the Beer-Lambert Law taught by Kim in order to enable rendering of clouds or fine dust which are commonly found difficult to express in three dimensions (Kim Paragraph 171).
26. Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0080803 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hara, in view of Diepstraten et al. ("Transparency in Interactive Technical Illustrations."), hereinafter referred to as Diepstraten, and Halen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0273239 A1), hereinafter referred to as Halen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0029341 A1), hereinafter referred to as Liu.
27. Regarding claim 10, Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Hara, Diepstraten, and Halen are not relied upon for the below claim language: the method wherein the virtual environment comprises an extended reality (XR) virtual environment.
Liu teaches the method wherein the virtual environment comprises an extended reality (XR) virtual environment (Paragraph 3 teaches rendering objects in virtual reality which is an extended reality virtual environment; Paragraph 47 teaches rendering object volumes through their density or opacity).
Hara, Diepstraten, and Halen are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering semi-transparent objects. Liu is considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering three-dimensional objects in a scene. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of rendering semi-transparent objects taught by Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen with the extended reality virtual environment taught by Liu in order to increase the performance of rendering transparent objects and effects in virtual reality simulators (Liu Paragraph 4-5).
28. Regarding claim 11, Hara in view of Diepstraten, Halen, and Liu teaches the limitations of claim 10. However, Hara, Diepstraten, and Halen are not relied upon for the below claim language: the method wherein the virtual environment further comprises a system-level layer, upon which one or more application-level layers may be rendered.
Liu teaches the method wherein the virtual environment further comprises a system-level layer, upon which one or more application-level layers may be rendered (Paragraph 31 teaches the user equipment which may be a virtual reality device renders a target scene from the server. The target scene rendered can be considered the application-level layer. The device hardware can be considered the system-level layer; Paragraph 69 teaches the device runs using a CPU and GPU to execute instructions. This can be considered the system-level layer).
Hara, Diepstraten, and Halen are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering semi-transparent objects. Liu is considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering three-dimensional objects in a scene. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of rendering semi-transparent objects taught by Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen with the application and system-level layers taught by Liu in order to increase the performance of rendering transparent objects and effects in virtual reality simulators (Liu Paragraph 4-5).
29. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0080803 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hara, in view of Diepstraten et al. ("Transparency in Interactive Technical Illustrations."), hereinafter referred to as Diepstraten, and Halen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0273239 A1), hereinafter referred to as Halen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Watanabe (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0319099 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Hara, Diepstraten, and Halen fail to teach the method wherein determining the transparency value is further based, at least in part, on a current value of a time-of-day variable for the virtual environment.
Watanabe teaches the method wherein determining the transparency value is further based, at least in part, on a current value of a time-of-day variable for the virtual environment (Paragraph 43 and Equation 2 teaches the transparency of each voxel T.sub.i is determined based on a variable d.sub.i which is associated with a time. Paragraph 59 teaches the d.sub.i variable is associated with a date and time. Thus, the variable d.sub.i can be considered the current value for that date and time).
Hara, Diepstraten, Halen, and Watanabe are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of rendering semi-transparent objects. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of rendering semi-transparent objects taught by Hara in view of Diepstraten and Halen with the time-of-day variable affect the transparency taught by Watanabe in order to improve the visibility of voxels based on numerical data like sensor data (Watanabe Paragraph 5).
Conclusion
30. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE YERA AHN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615