Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kei Akune by JP 2015186310.
With respect to claim 1, 12-13 Akune teaches a wireless charging device comprising: a power transmitter (see coil 111) that wirelessly transmits (see space between coils Fig. 1: see non-contact supply) power to a power receiver (121) included in an electric moving body (see object/vehicle see 171); a moving mechanism (see linear actuators or position changing mechanism 165) that moves the power transmitter; a detection unit (see sensor for coils sensing when object stops at specific position) detecting that detects a stop position of the moving body; an acquisition unit that acquires information (see acquisition function, see code corresponding to vehicle type) indicating a type of the moving body; an identification unit that identifies an attachment position (see coordinate data of the secondary coil position) of the power receiver based on the type; and a charge control unit (160) that controls the moving mechanism based on the stop position and the attachment position to bring the power transmitter close to the power receiver.
With respect to claim 2 Akune teaches the identification unit acquires power receiving position information (see code and information in database with coordinate data identifying the position of the secondary coil) in which the type is associated with a relative position of the power receiver when a predetermined portion of the moving body of the type is used as a reference (the coordinates of Akune are associated with a relative position as the coordinates define a space of the body where the connector is found), and identifies the relative position associated with the type in the power receiving position information as the attachment position (see specific coil position of each database entry).
With respect to claim 3 Akune teaches the charge control unit sets the stop position (see flow diagram shown in Fig. 11) as a position of the predetermined portion (portion with the coil) of the moving body being stopped, and moves the power transmitter to a position separated by a predetermined distance (space between coils close enough for induction however do not contact) from the relative position indicated by the attachment position when the stop position is used as a reference.
With respect to claim 6 Akune teaches wherein the moving mechanism is configured to be capable of moving the power transmitter along a first direction parallel (see surge X) to a ground on which the moving mechanism is installed and a power transmission surface of power of the power transmitter, a second direction (sway Y direction or Z direction) orthogonal to the ground, and a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction.
Claims 1-3, 6 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bell et al. (US 20160052414)
With respect to claim 1, and 12-13 Bell teaches a wireless charging device comprising: a power transmitter (see 52: Fig. 1) that wirelessly transmits (see transmission waves Fig. 1) power to a power receiver (34) included in an electric moving body (see vehicle); a moving mechanism (102: paragraph 0021) that moves the power transmitter; a detection unit (see sensor detecting tires 160) detecting that detects a stop position (stopped tires) of the moving body; an acquisition unit (see control unit 54) that acquires information (paragraph 0040-42) indicating a type of the moving body; an identification unit that identifies an attachment position (see 54 including table of positions paragraph 0040 relative to tires) of the power receiver based on the type; and a charge control unit (see 54 controlling 102) that controls the moving mechanism (paragraph 0048-52) based on the stop position and the attachment position to bring the power transmitter close to the power receiver.
With respect to claim 2 Bell teaches the identification unit acquires power receiving position information (paragraph 0040-42) in which the type is associated with a relative position (position of coil relative to tire position) of the power receiver when a predetermined portion of the moving body of the type is used as a reference (X,Y distance relative to tire position), and identifies the relative position associated with the type in the power receiving position information as the attachment position (position for specific vehicle type identified).
With respect to claim 3 Bell teaches the charge control unit sets the stop position (see tire positions on tire pads 104: Fig. 2) as a position of the predetermined portion of the moving body being stopped, and moves the power transmitter (see 54 controlling 102 to move coils into charging position) to a position separated by a predetermined distance (wireless power transmission gap) from the relative position indicated by the attachment position when the stop position is used as a reference.
With respect to claim 6 Bell teaches wherein the moving mechanism is configured to be capable of moving the power transmitter along a first direction parallel (X direction) to a ground on which the moving mechanism is installed and a power transmission surface of power of the power transmitter, a second direction (Y direction or Z direction) orthogonal to the ground, and a third direction (z direction or Y direction) orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell in view of Widmer et al. (US 20150073642)
With respect to claim 4 Bell teaches the charging device however does not teach the use of a beacon. Widmer teaches the known use of a sensor that transmits a beacon signal and detects a direction from a position where the beacon signal (paragraph 0119) is transmitted to a position where the beacon signal is received, the wireless charging device being installed side by side with other one or more wireless charging devices (see for example Fig. 1) having a same configuration as that of the wireless charging device, wherein the moving body (vehicle) includes a receiving circuit (see Fig. 3) that receives the beacon signal, and the detection unit detects the stop position based on the direction detected by the sensor (paragraph 0128-129) and by the sensor included in one of the other one or more wireless charging devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Bell to include the use of a beacon signal as seen in Widmer for the benefit of accurate position and communicating with the vehicle.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell in view Bell et al. (US 20150336464)
With respect to claim 5 Bell teaches the charging device, however, does not teach the distance measuring unit. Bell 64 teaches a distance measuring sensor (ultrasonic) that detects a distance (paragraph 0021) to an object present in a predetermined stop area, wherein the detection unit detects the stop position based on the distance detected by the distance measuring sensor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Bell to include the known use of a distance measuring for the predictable result to accurately place and measure the location of the object.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell in view of Kei Akune (JP 2015186310).
With respect to claim 7 Bell teaches the rotational movement of 150 however it does not teach the first axis parallel to the first direction and a second axis parallel to the second direction. Akune teaches wherein the moving mechanism (see Fig. 1) is further configured to be capable of rotating (see roll, yaw and pitch) the power transmitter about a first axis parallel to the first direction and a second axis parallel to the second direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Bell to include movement seen in Akune for the benefit of finely adjusting the position for increased efficiency.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell in view of Raedy (US 20150137801).
With respect to claim 8 Bell teaches charging system, however, does not teach the use of a guide unit. Raedy teaches (paragraph 0048-50) the use of guide unit that determines whether or not the stop position (see feedback to user to be in a zone or to stop) is within a predetermined stop area and guides the moving body to be stopped again within the stop area in a case where the stop position is outside the stop area. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Bell to include a guide as seen in Raedy for the benefit of correcting misalignment of the vehicle.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell in view Seong et al. (US 20170259680).
With respect to claim 9 Bell teaches the charge control system, however, does not teach the determining the power transmitter is close to the position where the power transmission is allowed. Seong teaches the determining the power transmitter is within a position allowed for power transmission (paragraph 0129, 164-167). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Bell to include the use of a system to check whether or not to allow transmission to ensure efficient power transfer is achieved prior to high power transmission.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell in view of Mouftah (US 20180336551).
With respect to claim 10 Bell teaches the charger system, however, does not teach the system utilizes a token exchange. Authentication by token is known method of secure or identifying communication. Mouftah teaches (paragraph 0120-126) the known use of authentication with a moving body by a provider. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Bell to include the include the known use of token authentication for the benefit of increased security.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell in view in view of Mouftah (US 20180336551) in view of Perper et al. (US 20110276448)
With respect to claim 11 Bell as modified above, the charging system, however, does not teach the use of a measurement unit. Perper teaches the a measurement unit (102) that measures an amount of power transmitted from the power transmitter (paragraph 0028-31) to the power receiver, wherein the charge control unit further outputs, in a case where completion of power reception of power by the power receiver is detected (see start and stop times paragraph 0042), information in which identification information of the wireless charging device (paragraph 0041-42: see for example location ID), identification information of the provider, identification information of the moving body (see vehicle ID or VIN, and information on the amount of power measured by the measurement unit from start to completion of power transmission of the power are associated with each other (see fleet billing paragraph 0063). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Bell to include the known use of information and data management of Perper for the benefit to inform the amount of power delivered in a session and bill the user accordingly.
Conclusion
MICHAEL FIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/MICHAEL R. FIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836