Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 , 4, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzler et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0015012) in view of Agrawal et al. (US PG Pub 2012/0027567).
As to independent claim 1, Metzler et al. teaches a turbomachine (1), comprising: an electric machine (3) comprising: an electric machine housing (2); an electric stator (3b) within the housing (2); an electric rotor (3a), the rotor (3a) being within the stator (3b) and electric machine housing (2) and extending from an end of the electric machine housing (2); and a plurality of active magnetic bearing actuators (6, 9, 11, 12) configured to levitate the electric rotor (3a) within the stator (3b) and provide both radial and axial support (see paragraph [0013]) and as shown in figure 1,
Metzler et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except permanent magnets, a fluid end configured to drive or expand a fluid of 250° C or higher the fluid end comprising: a fluid end housing coupled to and hermetically sealed to the electric machine housing to define hermetically sealed interior space therein that receives a portion of the fluid; and an impeller or turbine within the fluid end housing and coupled about an end of the rotor to rotate at the same speed as the rotor.
Agrawal et al. teaches permanent magnets (see paragraph [0063]), a fluid end configured to drive or expand a fluid of 250° C or higher the fluid end (see paragraph [0004], [0012-0013], [0032]), the fluid end comprising: a fluid end housing (209) coupled to and hermetically sealed to the electric machine housing to define hermetically sealed interior space therein that receives a portion of the fluid (see paragraph [0015], [0059]); and an impeller (104) or turbine within the fluid end housing (209) and coupled about an end of the rotor (204) to rotate at the same speed as the rotor (204) as shown in figure 5, for the advantageous benefit of providing a turbomachine reliable for high temperature.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Metzler et al. by using permanent magnets, a fluid end configured to drive or expand a fluid of 250° C or higher the fluid end comprising: a fluid end housing coupled to and hermetically sealed to the electric machine housing to define hermetically sealed interior space therein that receives a portion of the fluid; and an impeller or turbine within the fluid end housing and coupled about an end of the rotor to rotate at the same speed as the rotor, as taught by Agrawal et al., to provide a turbomachine reliable for high temperature.
As to claim 2/1, Metzler et al. in view of Agrawal et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except where the impeller or turbine is an axial impeller or turbine and the fluid end housing is a volute.
However Agrawal et al. teaches the impeller or turbine is an axial impeller or turbine (see paragraph [0026]) and the fluid end housing is a volute (209) as shown in figure 5, for the advantageous benefit of providing a turbomachine reliable for high temperature.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Metzler et al. in view of Agrawal et al. by using the impeller or turbine is an axial impeller or turbine and the fluid end housing is a volute, as taught by Agrawal et al., to provide a turbomachine reliable for high temperature.
As to claim 4/1, Metzler et al. teaches where the impeller or turbine comprises a multistage impeller or turbine (see paragraph [0015]).
As to claim 13/1, Metzler et al. teaches where a first of the bearing actuators (6, 9)configured to provide axial control of the rotor position and being positioned about an end of the rotor (3a) opposite the end coupled to the impeller or turbine (5,8) as shown in figure 1.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzler et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0015012) and Agrawal et al. (US PG Pub 2012/0027567) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Bergsten (EP0276839).
As to claim 3/1, Metzler et al. in view of Agrawal et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except where the impeller or turbine is a shrouded centrifugal type and where the fluid end housing is sealed to a surface of the shroud.
However Bergsten teaches the impeller (10) or turbine is a shrouded centrifugal type (12) and where the fluid end housing (29) is sealed (28, 30, 34) to a surface of the shroud (12) as shown in figures 1 and 2, for the advantageous benefit of providing a labyrinth seal for turbomachinery which experiences a reduced differential thermal movement between rotating and stationary seal parts.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Metzler et al. in view of Agrawal et al. by using the impeller or turbine is a shrouded centrifugal type and where the fluid end housing is sealed to a surface of the shroud, as taught by Bergsten, to provide a labyrinth seal for turbomachinery which experiences a reduced differential thermal movement between rotating and stationary seal parts.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzler et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0015012) and Agrawal et al. (US PG Pub 2012/0027567) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Shiraishi (JP2016017427).
As to claim 5/1, Metzler et al. in view of Agrawal et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except comprising both an axial impeller or turbine and a centrifugal type impeller or turbine.
However Shiraishi comprising both an axial impeller or turbine (17) and a centrifugal type impeller or turbine (18) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of improving turbocharger performance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Metzler et al. in view of Agrawal et al. by using an axial impeller or turbine and a centrifugal type impeller or turbine, as taught by Shiraishi, to improve turbocharger performance.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzler et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0015012) and Agrawal et al. (US PG Pub 2012/0027567) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Osawa (JPH0650334).
As to claim 6/1, Metzler et al. in view of Agrawal et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except an axial position sensor about a first end of the rotor, the sensor configured to measure the axial position of the first end of the rotor; and a magnetic bearing controller communicatively coupled to a first of the bearing actuators and the axial position sensor, the controller being configured to control the axial position of the rotor relative to the electric machine housing based on a signal from the axial position sensor.
However Osawa teaches an axial position sensor (7) about a first end of the rotor (2), the sensor (7) configured to measure the axial position of the first end of the rotor (2); and a magnetic bearing controller (22) communicatively coupled to a first of the bearing actuators (6) and the axial position sensor (7), the controller (22) being configured to control the axial position of the rotor (2) relative to the electric machine housing (1) based on a signal from the axial position sensor (7) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of providing a control circuit for controlling the position in the direction of a rotary shaft through control of magnetic attractive force of the thrust magnetic bearing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Metzler et al. in view of Agrawal et al. by using an axial position sensor about a first end of the rotor, the sensor configured to measure the axial position of the first end of the rotor; and a magnetic bearing controller communicatively coupled to a first of the bearing actuators and the axial position sensor, the controller being configured to control the axial position of the rotor relative to the electric machine housing based on a signal from the axial position sensor, as taught by Osawa, to provide a control circuit for controlling the position in the direction of a rotary shaft through control of magnetic attractive force of the thrust magnetic bearing.
As to claim 7/6, Metzler et al. and Agrawal et al. in view of Osawa teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except comprising a second of the plurality of bearing actuators, the second bearing actuator configured to provide radial support of the rotor and being positioned at an opposite end of the electric machine housing from the first bearing actuator.
Osawa teaches comprising a second of the plurality of bearing actuators (3), the second bearing actuator (3) configured to provide radial support of the rotor (2) and being positioned at an opposite end of the electric machine housing (1) from the first bearing actuator (6) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of providing a control circuit for controlling the position in the direction of a rotary shaft through control of magnetic attractive force of the thrust magnetic bearing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Metzler et al. and Agrawal et al. in view of Osawa by using a second of the plurality of bearing actuators, the second bearing actuator configured to provide radial support of the rotor and being positioned at an opposite end of the electric machine housing from the first bearing actuator, as taught by Osawa, to provide a control circuit for controlling the position in the direction of a rotary shaft through control of magnetic attractive force of the thrust magnetic bearing.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzler et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0015012) and Agrawal et al. (US PG Pub 2012/0027567) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Durand (WO2019073130).
As to claim 8/1, Metzler et al. in view of Agrawal et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except comprising a heat transfer housing concentrically within and in contact with an inner surface of the electric machine housing, the heat transfer housing and electric machine housing defining a cooling fluid space therebetween, the cooling fluid space comprising a cooling fluid.
However Durand teaches a heat transfer housing (6) concentrically within and in contact with an inner surface of the electric machine housing (10), the heat transfer housing (6) and electric machine housing (10) defining a cooling fluid space (5) therebetween, the cooling fluid space (5) comprising a cooling fluid as shown in figure 5, for the advantageous benefit of improving the efficiency and increase the life span of the machine.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Metzler et al. in view of Agrawal et al by using a heat transfer housing concentrically within and in contact with an inner surface of the electric machine housing, the heat transfer housing and electric machine housing defining a cooling fluid space therebetween, the cooling fluid space comprising a cooling fluid, as taught by Durand, to improve the efficiency and increase the life span of the machine.
As to claim 9/8, Metzler et al. and Agrawal et al. in view of Durand teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except where the heat transfer housing comprises a helical channel on its outer surface that defines a portion of the cooling fluid space.
However Durand teaches the heat transfer housing (10) comprises a helical channel on its outer surface that defines a portion of the cooling fluid space (5) as shown in figure 5 and (see page 10, lines 8-12), as shown in figure 5, for the advantageous benefit of improving the efficiency and increase the life span of the machine.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Metzler et al. in view of Agrawal et al by using the heat transfer housing comprises a helical channel on its outer surface that defines a portion of the cooling fluid space, as taught by Durand, to improve the efficiency and increase the life span of the machine.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzler et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0015012) and Agrawal et al. (US PG Pub 2012/0027567) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Braun (DE102015221777) and Peng (CN217652922).
As to claim 10/1, Metzler et al. in view of Agrawal et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except comprising a sleeve between the heat transfer housing and the stator, supporting the stator, the sleeve comprising axial flow passages therethrough.
Braun teaches a sleeve (180) between the heat transfer housing (120) and the stator, supporting the stator (140) a shown in figure 2, for the advantageous benefit of providing a housing arrangement of the kind that is simple and inexpensive to produce.
Peng teaches the sleeve (71) comprising axial flow passages (941) therethrough as shown in figures 7, 8, for the advantageous benefit of providing uniform heat dissipation and high efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Metzler et al. in view of Agrawal et al by using a sleeve between the heat transfer housing and the stator, supporting the stator, the sleeve comprising axial flow passages therethrough, as taught by Braun and Peng, to provide a housing arrangement of the kind that is simple and inexpensive to produce and provide uniform heat dissipation and high efficiency .
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzler et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0015012) and Agrawal et al. (US PG Pub 2012/0027567) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoneyama (JPH07103191).
As to claim 11/1, Metzler et al. in view of Agrawal et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except comprising an insulative washer clamped between the impeller or turbine and the rotor.
However Yoneyama teaches an insulative washer (3c) clamped between the impeller (1) or turbine and the rotor (2a) as shown in figure 1-2, for the advantageous benefit of preventing torque fluctuation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Metzler et al. in view of Agrawal et al by using an insulative washer clamped between the impeller or turbine and the rotor, as taught by Yoneyama, to prevent torque fluctuation.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzler et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0015012) and Agrawal et al. (US PG Pub 2012/0027567) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Hovermann (DE102016202886).
As to claim 14/1, Metzler et al. in view of Agrawal et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except comprising a paddles in a gap between the rotor and the stator and coupled to the rotor to rotate with the rotor, the paddles configured to drive flow of fluid through the gap.
Hovermann teaches a paddles (18) in a gap between the rotor (7) and the stator (18) and coupled to the rotor (7) to rotate with the rotor (7), the paddles (18) configured to drive flow of fluid through the gap as shown in figure 3, for the advantageous benefit of achieving cooling operation the inner side space of the closed electric machine.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Metzler et al. in view of Agrawal et al by using a paddles in a gap between the rotor and the stator and coupled to the rotor to rotate with the rotor, the paddles configured to drive flow of fluid through the gap, as taught by Hovermann, to achieve cooling operation the inner side space of the closed electric machine.
Claim(s) 15, 17, 21-23 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal et al. (US PG Pub 2012/0027567) in view of Metzler et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0015012)
As to independent claim 15, Agrawal et al. teaches a method, comprising: operating a fluid end of a turbomachine to drive a 250° C or hotter fluid with an impeller (104) or to drive a turbine of the turbomachine with the fluid (see paragraph [0004], [0012-0013], [0032]); rotating a permanent magnet rotor of an electric machine of the turbomachine at the same speed as the impeller or turbine (see paragraph [0063]), the fluid end having a housing sealed to a housing of the electric machine to define a hermetically sealed space therein that receives a portion of the fluid (see paragraph [0015], [0059]) and shown in figure 5;
However Agrawal et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except levitating the rotor within a stator of the electric machine with a plurality of active magnetic bearing actuators while controlling the axial position of the impeller or turbine.
Metzler et al. teaches levitating the rotor (3a) within a stator (3b) of the electric machine with a plurality of active magnetic bearing actuators (6, 9) while controlling the axial position of the impeller or turbine (5, 8) a shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of improving axial in-line turbomachine.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Agrawal et al. by using levitating the rotor within a stator of the electric machine with a plurality of active magnetic bearing actuators while controlling the axial position of the impeller or turbine, as taught by Metzler et al., to improve axial in-line turbomachine.
As to claim 17/15, Agrawal et al. teaches comprising circulating a cooling fluid between the housing of the electric machine (146) and the stator (150) as shown in figure 2.
As to claim 21/15, Agrawal et al. in view of Metzler et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except comprising providing axial support to the rotor with a first of the bearing actuators positioned about an end of the rotor opposite the impeller or turbine.
However Metzler et al. teaches axial support to the rotor (3a) with a first of the bearing actuators (6, 9) positioned about an end of the rotor (3a) opposite the impeller or turbine (5, 8) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of improving axial in-line turbomachine.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Agrawal et al. by using axial support to the rotor with a first of the bearing actuators positioned about an end of the rotor opposite the impeller or turbine, as taught by Metzler et al., to improve axial in-line turbomachine.
As to independent claim 22, Agrawal et al. teaches a turbomachine, comprising: an electric machine comprising a rotor (120) and a stator (150) in a housing (146); a fluid end configured to drive or expand a fluid of 250° C or higher see paragraph [0004], [0012-0013], [0032]), the fluid end comprising an impeller or turbine (148) in a housing (146), the impeller or turbine (146) coupled to the rotor (120) to rotate at the same speed as the rotor (120) and the housing of the fluid end is hermetically sealed to the housing of the electric machine and configured to receive a portion of the fluid(see paragraph [0015], [0059]) and as shown in figure 3;
However Agrawal et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except an active magnetic bearing system supporting the rotor.
Metzler et al. teaches active magnetic bearing system (6,9,11,12) supporting the rotor (3a) s shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of improving axial in-line turbomachine.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Agrawal et al. by using an active magnetic bearing system supporting the rotor, as taught by Metzler et al., to improve axial in-line turbomachine.
As to claim 23/22, Agrawal et al. teaches where the impeller or turbine (108) is not an unshrouded centrifugal impeller or turbine as shown in figure 3.
As to claim 26/22, Agrawal et al. in view of Metzler et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except where the active magnetic bearing system comprises an axial bearing actuator about an end of the rotor opposite to the rotor or turbine.
However Metzler et al. teaches the active magnetic bearing system comprises an axial bearing actuator (6, 9) about an end of the rotor (3a) opposite to the rotor or turbine as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of improving axial in-line turbomachine.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Agrawal et al. by using the active magnetic bearing system comprises an axial bearing actuator about an end of the rotor opposite to the rotor or turbine, as taught by Metzler et al., to improve axial in-line turbomachine.
Claim(s) 16, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal et al. (US PG Pub 2012/0027567) and Metzler et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0015012) as applied in claims 15, 22 above, and further in view of Osawa (JPH0650334).
As to claim 16/15, Agrawal et al. in view of Metzler et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except comprising: sensing an axial position of the rotor about with an axial position sensor about the end of the rotor; and controlling the position of the impeller or turbine with a first of the bearing actuators relative to the fluid end based on a signal from the axial position sensor.
However Osawa teaches sensing an axial position of the rotor (2) about with an axial position sensor (7) about the end of the rotor (2); and controlling the position of the impeller or turbine (5) with a first of the bearing actuators (6) relative to the fluid end based on a signal from the axial position sensor (7) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of providing a control circuit for controlling the position in the direction of a rotary shaft through control of magnetic attractive force of the thrust magnetic bearing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Agrawal et al. in view of Metzler et al. by using an sensing axial position of the rotor about with an axial position sensor about the end of the rotor; and controlling the position of the impeller or turbine with a first of the bearing actuators relative to the fluid end based on a signal from the axial position sensor, as taught by Osawa, to provide a control circuit for controlling the position in the direction of a rotary shaft through control of magnetic attractive force of the thrust magnetic bearing.
As to claim 24/22, Agrawal et al. in view of Metzler et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except comprising an axial rotor position sensor about an end of the rotor opposite the impeller or turbine.
Howeer Osawa teaches an axial rotor position sensor (7) about an end of the rotor (2) opposite the impeller or turbine (5) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of providing a control circuit for controlling the position in the direction of a rotary shaft through control of magnetic attractive force of the thrust magnetic bearing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Agrawal et al. in view of Metzler et al. by using an axial rotor position sensor about an end of the rotor opposite the impeller or turbine, as taught by Osawa, to provide a control circuit for controlling the position in the direction of a rotary shaft through control of magnetic attractive force of the thrust magnetic bearing.
As to claim 26/22, Agrawal et al. in view of Metzler et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except where the active magnetic bearing system comprises an axial bearing actuator about an end of the rotor opposite to the rotor or turbine.
However Metzler et al. teaches the active magnetic bearing system comprises an axial bearing actuator (6, 9) about an end of the rotor (3a) opposite to the rotor or turbine as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of improving axial in-line turbomachine.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Agrawal et al. by using the active magnetic bearing system comprises an axial bearing actuator about an end of the rotor opposite to the rotor or turbine, as taught by Metzler et al., to improve axial in-line turbomachine.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal et al. (US PG Pub 2012/0027567) and Metzler et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0015012) as applied in claim 17 above, and further in view of Durand (WO2019073130).
As to claim 18/17, Agrawal et al. in view of Metzler et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except where circulating a cooling fluid between the housing of the electric machine and the stator comprises circulating the cooling fluid through passages defined between the housing of the electric machine and an internal heat transfer housing concentrically within the electric machine housing.
However Durand teaches circulating a cooling fluid between the housing of the electric machine (10) and the stator (2) comprises circulating the cooling fluid through passages (5) defined between the housing of the electric machine (10) and an internal heat transfer housing (6) concentrically within the electric machine housing (10) as shown in figure 5, for the advantageous benefit of improving the efficiency and increase the life span of the machine.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Agrawal et al. in view of Metzler et al. by using a circulating cooling fluid between the housing of the electric machine and the stator comprises circulating the cooling fluid through passages defined between the housing of the electric machine and an internal heat transfer housing concentrically within the electric machine housing, as taught by Durand, to improve the efficiency and increase the life span of the machine.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal et al. (US PG Pub 2012/0027567), Metzler et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0015012) and Durand (WO2019073130) as applied in claim 18 above, and further in view of Braun (DE102015221777) and Peng (CN217652922).
As to claim 19/18, Agrawal et al., Metzler et al. in view of Durand teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except comprising circulating a working fluid between the stator and the internal heat transfer housing through passages in a sleeve concentrically within the internal heat transfer housing and the stator.
However Braun teaches circulating a working fluid between the stator (140) and the internal heat transfer housing (120) in a sleeve (180) concentrically within the internal heat transfer housing (120) and the stator(140) as shown in figure 2, for the advantageous benefit of providing a housing arrangement of the kind that is simple and inexpensive to produce.
Peng teaches the sleeve (71) comprising axial flow passages (941) therethrough as shown in figures 7, 8, for the advantageous benefit of providing uniform heat dissipation and high efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Agrawal et al., Metzler et al. in view of Durand by using a circulating working fluid between the stator and the internal heat transfer housing through passages in a sleeve concentrically within the internal heat transfer housing and the stator, as taught by Braun and Peng, to provide a housing arrangement of the kind that is simple and inexpensive to produce and provide uniform heat dissipation and high efficiency .
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal et al. (US PG Pub 2012/0027567), Metzler et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0015012), Durand (WO2019073130) as applied in claim 18 above, and further in view of Li (CN201982321).
As to claim 20/18, Agrawal et al., Metzler et al. in view of Durand teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except comprising thermally insulating the impeller or turbine from a portion of the rotor with a ceramic washer clamped between the impeller or turbine and the rotor.
However Li teaches comprising thermally insulating the impeller or turbine (7) from a portion of the rotor with a ceramic washer clamped between the impeller or turbine and the rotor (5) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of preventing the electric pump external surface oxidized, rusted and electric motor water inlet fault.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Agrawal et al., Metzler et al. in view of Durand by using thermally insulating the impeller or turbine from a portion of the rotor with a ceramic washer clamped between the impeller or turbine and the rotor, as taught by Li, to prevent the electric pump external surface oxidized, rusted and electric motor water inlet fault.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal et al. (US PG Pub 2012/0027567), Metzler et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0015012) as applied in claim 22 above, and further in view of Braun (DE102015221777) and Peng (CN217652922).
As to claim 25/22, Agrawal et al. in view of Metzler et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except comprising: a heat transfer housing concentrically within and in contact with an inner circumference of the housing of the electric machine and defining a cooling fluid space between the heat transfer housing and the housing of the electric machine; and a sleeve concentrically within and in contact with an inner circumference of the heat transfer housing and defining axial passages therethrough, the sleeve in contact with and supporting the stator in the housing of the electric machine.
However Braun teaches a heat transfer housing (120) concentrically within and in contact with an inner circumference of the housing of the electric machine (110) and defining a cooling fluid space between the heat transfer housing (120) and the housing (110) of the electric machine; and a sleeve (180) concentrically within and in contact with an inner circumference of the heat transfer housing (120), the sleeve (180) in contact with and supporting the stator (140) in the housing of the electric machine (110) as shown in figures 1-2, for the advantageous benefit of providing a housing arrangement of the kind that is simple and inexpensive to produce.
Peng teaches the sleeve (71) comprising axial flow passages (941) therethrough as shown in figures 7, 8, for the advantageous benefit of providing uniform heat dissipation and high efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Agrawal et al. in view of Metzler et al. by using a heat transfer housing concentrically within and in contact with an inner circumference of the housing of the electric machine and defining a cooling fluid space between the heat transfer housing and the housing of the electric machine; and a sleeve concentrically within and in contact with an inner circumference of the heat transfer housing and defining axial passages therethrough, the sleeve in contact with and supporting the stator in the housing of the electric machine, as taught by Braun and Peng, to provide a housing arrangement of the kind that is simple and inexpensive to produce and provide uniform heat dissipation and high efficiency .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSE A GONZALEZ QUINONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 January 15, 2024