Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the correspondence on 10/14/2025. Applicant’s argument, filed on 10/14/2025 has been entered and carefully considered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
The application filed on 03/15/2024 is a CON of PCT/CN2021/119379 filed on 09/18/2021.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Examiner’s Note
Claims 1-12 refer to "A video transmission method”, Claims 13-19 refer to " A video transmission method”, and, Claim 20 refers to "An electronic device”. Claims 13-20 are similarly rejected in light of rejection of claims 1-12, any obvious combination of the rejection of claims 1-12, or the differences are obvious to the ordinary skill in the art. It is well known in the art that encoding and decoding are reverse processes of video coding method/system. Examiner request to keep the scope of the independent claims similar to advance the prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nanda (US 20110154144 A1) in view of Xu et al. (US 20190159038 A1), hereinafter Xu, further in view of Cipolli et al. (US 20070206673 A1), hereinafter Cipoll, further in view of Nakagawa (US 20100174953 A1)i.
Regarding claim 1, Nanda discloses a video transmission method, wherein the method comprises (Fig. 4): generating, by an encoder, a video frame, wherein the video frame comprises image blocks ([0071], [0051]), and each of the image blocks is sent; and sending, by the encoder, wherein the frame comprises a request for feedback information from the decoder (Fig. 18).
Nanda discloses all the elements of claim 1 but Nanda does not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section sent within a respective specified period; a target frame to a decoder at an end moment of a corresponding specified period.
However, Xu from the same or similar endeavor teaches a respective specified period; a target frame to a decoder at an end moment of a corresponding specified period ([0151]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nanda to incorporate the teachings of Xu to improve link restoration accuracy (Xu, [0012]). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
Nanda in view of Xu discloses all the elements of claim 1 but they do not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section a plurality of image blocks; plurality of image blocks is sent.
However, Cipolli from the same or similar endeavor teaches a plurality of image blocks; plurality of image blocks is sent ([0067]-[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nanda in view of Xu to incorporate the teachings of Cipolli resilient transmission (Cipolli, Abstract). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
Nanda in view of Xu further in view of Cipolli further in view of Yang discloses all the elements of claim 1 but they do not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section in response to a first image block in the plurality of image blocks being completely sent.
However, Nakagawa from the same or similar endeavor teaches in response to a first image block in the plurality of image blocks being completely sent ([0045], Fig. 3, Fig. 5-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nanda in view of Xu further in view of Cipolli to incorporate the teachings of Nakagawa to improve transmission and reception (Nakagawa, [0036]). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
Regarding claim 2, Nanda in view of Xu further in view of Cipolli further in view of Nakagawa discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the target frame is a probe frame, the probe frame indicates the decoder to feed back a status of an image block of the video frame received by the decoder, and the feedback information represents a status of the video frame received by the decoder; or the target frame is a synchronization frame, the synchronization frame indicates the decoder to perform synchronization processing on the received video frame, and the feedback information represents a synchronization status of the decoder for the received video frame (Nanda, Fig. 4, Fig. 18, Xu, [0151], Cipolli, [0007]-[0008], [0215]).
Regarding claim 3, Nanda in view of Xu further in view of Cipolli further in view of Nakagawa discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the target frame is a medium access control (MAC) frame (Nanda, Fig. 4, Fig. 18, [0059], [0078], Xu, [0151], Cipolli, [0007]-[0008], [0215]).
Regarding claim 4, Nanda in view of Xu further in view of Cipolli further in view of Nakagawa discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein when the target frame is a probe frame, the target frame is one of a control frame, a data frame, or a management frame; or when the target frame is a synchronization frame, the target frame is one of a data frame or a management frame (Nanda, Fig. 4, Fig. 18, [0059], [0078], Xu, [0151], Cipolli, [0007]-[0008], [0215]).
Regarding claim 5, Nanda in view of Xu further in view of Cipolli further in view of Nakagawa discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the control frame comprises a short probe frame; the data frame comprises a quality of service (QoS) null frame or a QoS data frame; and the management frame comprises an action no acknowledgement frame or an acknowledgement frame (Nanda, Fig. 4, Fig. 18, [0059], [0078], Xu, [0151], Cipolli, [0007]-[0008], [0082]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 6, Nanda in view of Xu further in view of Cipolli further in view of Nakagawa discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein when the target frame is a probe frame, a frame header of the MAC frame carries a private value, and the private value indicates the encoder to request the feedback information from the decoder (Nanda, Fig. 4, Fig. 18, [0059], [0078], Xu, [0151], Cipolli, [0007]-[0008], [0082]-[0085]).
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nanda in view of Xu further in view of Cipolli further in view of Nakagawa further in view of Yang et al. (US 20240373484 A1), hereinafter Yang.
Regarding claim 7, Nanda in view of Xu further in view of Cipolli further in view of Nakagawa discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the target frame is a control frame, and a control field of a frame header of the control frame is set to the private value (Nanda, Fig. 4, Fig. 18, [0059], [0078], Xu, [0151], Cipolli, [0007]-[0008], [0082]-[0085]).
Nanda in view of Xu further in view of Cipolli discloses all the elements of claim 1 but they do not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section the target frame is a data frame, and a high-throughput control (HTC) field of a frame header of the data frame is set to the private value; or the target frame is a management frame, and an HTC field of a frame header of the management frame is set to the private value, or a first field in a payload of the management frame is set to the private value.
However, Yang from the same or similar endeavor teaches the target frame is a data frame, and a high-throughput control (HTC) field of a frame header of the data frame is set to the private value; or the target frame is a management frame, and an HTC field of a frame header of the management frame is set to the private value, or a first field in a payload of the management frame is set to the private value ([0258]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nanda in view of Xu further in view of Cipolli further in view of Nakagawa to incorporate the teachings of Yang for operation between multiple links (Yang, [0005]). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
Regarding claim 8, Nanda in view of Xu further in view of Cipolli further in view of Nakagawa further in view of Yang discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein when the target frame is a synchronization frame, a data part of the MAC frame carries indication information, and the indication information indicates the decoder to perform synchronization processing on the received video frame (Nanda, Fig. 4, Fig. 18, [0059], [0078], Xu, [0151], Cipolli, [0007]-[0008], [0082]-[0085], Yang, [0258]).
Regarding claim 9, Nanda in view of Xu further in view of Cipolli further in view of Nakagawa further in view of Yang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein when the encoder does not receive the feedback information, the method further comprises: resending, by the encoder, the target frame to the decoder (Nanda, Fig. 4, Fig. 18, [0059], [0078], [0083], [0087], [0095]-[0097], Xu, [0151], Cipolli, [0007]-[0008], [0082]-[0085], [0099]-[0102], Yang, [0258]).
Regarding claim 10, Nanda in view of Xu further in view of Cipolli further in view of Nakagawa further in view of Yang discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein a rate at which the encoder resends the target frame to the decoder is less than a first rate, and the first rate is a rate at which the encoder sends the target frame to the decoder in response to the first image block being completely sent at the end moment of the corresponding specified period (Nanda, Fig. 4, Fig. 18, [0059], [0077]-[0079], [0083], [0087], [0095]-[0097], Xu, [0151], Cipolli, [0007]-[0008], [0082]-[0085], [0099]-[0102], [0189], [0197], Yang, [0258], Nakagawa, [0045], Fig. 3, Fig. 5-8).
Regarding claim 11, Nanda in view of Xu further in view of Cipolli further in view of Nakagawa further in view of Yang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a rate at which the encoder sends the target frame to the decoder is set to at least one of the following: an expected rate collected by a system, a rate at which the target frame is successfully sent recently, or a mapping value of the rate at which the target frame is successfully sent recently (Nanda, Fig. 4, Fig. 18, [0059], [0077]-[0079], [0083], [0087], [0095]-[0097], Xu, [0151], Cipolli, [0007]-[0008], [0082]-[0085], [0099]-[0102], [0189], [0197], Yang, [0258]).
Regarding claim 12, Nanda in view of Xu further in view of Cipolli further in view of Nakagawa further in view of Yang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the image block comprises a tile or a slice segment (Cipolli, [0159], [0194]-[0195]).
Regarding claim 13-20, See Examiner’s Note.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mohammad J Rahman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487