DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, in page 13, Applicant argues that “Kuo and Koyanagi, whether taken alone or in combination, do not disclose or suggest that "a coupling current signal is generated by coupling between the first antenna and the second antenna when one of the first antenna and the second antenna is in a working state, and the decoupling signal is a current signal with the same amplitude and opposite phase of the coupling current signal, to cancel the coupling current signal," as recited in amended claim 1” and similarly with respect to independent claim 10. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Koyanagi et al. teaches “mutual coupling impedance occurs between the antenna elements, and the high-frequency current flows into one of the antenna elements flowing into the remaining antenna element as an induction current. This resultantly deteriorates radiation performance of the antenna” in Par. 0047, and “the first connection circuit is controlled so as to cancel mutual coupling impedance existing between the first antenna element and the second antenna element at a first frequency band; and wherein the second connection circuit is controlled so as to cancel mutual coupling impedance existing between the first passive element and the second passive element at a second frequency band” in Par. 0015, and since the decoupling signal from the decoupling circuit 108, 111 have substantially the same amplitude and opposite phase as disclosed in Par. 0089, 0090, it is clear that the coupling current signal which is the mutual coupling between the first and second antennas is canceled as shown in the rejection below. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7 & 10-14, 16 & 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al. US Patent Application Publication 2023/0378635 and Koyanagi et al. US Patent Application Publication 2012/0306718.
Regarding Claim 1, Kuo et al. teaches a dual-antenna electronic device (Figs. 1, 6) comprising:
a first antenna (11 Fig. 6 Par. 0039);
a second antenna (12 Fig. 6 Par. 0042); and
a decoupling circuit (13, L2, C5, L1, C1 Fig. 6 Par. 0040, 0044), wherein:
the first antenna and the second antenna have a plurality of operating frequency bands (Par. 0007, 0040),
the decoupling circuit is configured to generate a decoupling signal (Par. 0019, 0021, 0028, 0041) corresponding to a current operating frequency band based on the current operating frequency band of the first antenna and/or the second antenna to cancel a coupling signal between the first antenna and the second antenna (“a low pass filter (LPF) can include the second inductive element L2 and the fifth capacitive element C5 to improve an isolation between the first antenna structure and the second antenna structure, and the fourth capacitive element C4 can be used as a DC block to prevent a DC signal generated by the proximity sensing circuit P from flowing into the system through the first feeding element S1” Par. 0041, “inductive elements and capacitive elements (the first inductive element L1, the first capacitive element C1, the second inductive element L2 and the fifth capacitive element C5) can further form a low pass filter, so as to improve the isolation between the first antenna structure and the second antenna structure, that is, to reduce mutual interference between signals generated by the two antenna structures” Par. 0044); and
a coupling current signal is generated by coupling between the first antenna and the second antenna when one of the first antenna and the second antenna is in a working state (“so as to improve the isolation between the first antenna structure and the second antenna structure, that is, to reduce mutual interference between signals generated by the two antenna structures” Par. 0031, 0044, also see Par. 0004).
Kuo et al. is silent on the decoupling signal is a current signal with the same amplitude and opposite phase of the coupling current signal, to cancel the coupling current signal.
However, Koyanagi et al. teaches “A first connection circuit (108) is controlled so as to cancel mutual coupling impedance existing between a first antenna element (106) and a second antenna element (107) at a first frequency band, thereby lessening deterioration of coupling between the antenna elements. A second connection circuit (111) is controlled so as to cancel mutual coupling impedance existing between a first passive element (109) and a second passive element (110) at a second frequency band, thereby lessening deterioration of coupling between the passive elements” (Abstract); “mutual coupling impedance occurs between the antenna elements, and the high-frequency current flows into one of the antenna elements flowing into the remaining antenna element as an induction current. This resultantly deteriorates radiation performance of the antenna” in Par. 0047, and “the first connection circuit is controlled so as to cancel mutual coupling impedance existing between the first antenna element and the second antenna element at a first frequency band; and wherein the second connection circuit is controlled so as to cancel mutual coupling impedance existing between the first passive element and the second passive element at a second frequency band” in Par. 0015, and “Although the electric current flowing into the first antenna element 106 and the electric current flowing into the second antenna element 107 have substantially the same amplitude, they are opposite in phase to each other. When the first feeding section 104 is excited, the amount of electric currents flowing around the second feeding section 105 becomes smaller. This shows that coupling deterioration is lessened” Par. 0089; and “Although the electric current flowing into the first passive element 109 and the electric current flowing into the second passive element 110 have substantially the same amplitude, they are opposite in phase to each other” Par. 0090.
In this particular case, providing the decoupling signal to be a current signal with the same amplitude and opposite phase of the coupling current signal is common and well known in the antenna art as evident by Koyanagi et al. in order to cancel the coupling current signal / mutual coupling between the two antennas (Par. 0015, 0090).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the decoupling signal of Kuo et al. as a current signal with the same amplitude and opposite phase of the coupling current signal based on the teachings of Koyanagi et al. as a result effect in order to improve antenna performance by canceling the coupling current signal / mutual coupling between the two antennas.
Regarding Claim 2, Kuo et al. as modified teaches wherein: the first antenna and the second antenna are mirror-symmetrically distributed in the electronic device (Fig. 6), and a distance between the first antenna and the second antenna is less than a preset distance (distance between 11 and 12 less than preset distance of substrate B as seen in Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 3, Kuo et al. as modified teaches wherein: the decoupling circuit is one of a plurality of decoupling circuits (L2, 13, L1 / C5, C1 Fig. 6 Par. 0040, 0044 / Koyanagi et al. 108, 201, 202 & 111, 203, 204 Figs. 3, 6a, 6b as modified in claim 1 above), each matching one of the plurality of operating frequency bands, respectively (Par. 0028, 0031, 0040, 0044), wherein: each of the plurality of decoupling circuits is configured to generate the decoupling signal corresponding to a matching operating frequency band to cancel the coupling signal between the first antenna and the second antenna (Par. 0028, 0031, 0040, 0044).
Regarding Claim 4, Kuo et al. as modified teaches wherein: the decoupling circuit includes a first decoupling circuit (C5, C1 Fig. 6 Par. 0044 Koyanagi et al. 108, 201, 202 Figs. 3, 6a, 6b as modified in claim 1 above) and a second decoupling circuit (L2, 13, L1 Fig. 6 Par. 0040, 0044 / Koyanagi et al. 111, 203, 204 Figs. 3, 6a, 6b as modified in claim 1 above), the current operating frequency band includes a first operating frequency band and/or a second operating frequency band, the first operating frequency band being different from the second operating frequency band (Par. 0040); the first decoupling circuit that matches the current first operating frequency band being used to cancel the coupling signal corresponding to the first operating frequency band between the first antenna and the second antenna, and/or the second decoupling circuit that matches the current second operating frequency band being used to cancel the coupling signal corresponding to the second operating frequency band between the first antenna and the second antenna (Par. 0028, 0031, 0041, 0044).
Regarding Claim 5, Kuo et al. as modified teaches wherein: the second decoupling circuit includes two first decoupling sub-circuits (L2, L1 Fig. 6 Par. 0040, 0044) and a second decoupling sub-circuit (13 Fig. 6 Par. 0040, 0044), the second decoupling sub-circuit being respectively connected to the two first decoupling sub-circuits (Fig. 6), each first decoupling sub-circuit being coupled to the first antenna or the second antenna respectively (Fig. 6) to generate the coupling signal between the two first decoupling sub-circuits, the second decoupling sub-circuit being used to cancel the coupling signal generated by the second decoupling sub-circuit (Par. 0041, 0044).
Regarding Claim 7, Kuo et al. as modified teaches wherein: the first antenna includes a first branch (112 Fig. 6) and a second branch (111 Fig. 6), and the second antenna includes a third branch (122 Fig. 6) and a fourth branch (121 Fig. 6), wherein: the first branch and the third branch have a third operating frequency band (Par. 0025, additionally, both having same operating frequency is implied since they have the same length as seen in Fig. 6), the second brand and the fourth have a fourth operating frequency band (Par. 0024, additionally, both having same operating frequency is implied since they have the same length as seen in Fig. 6), the third operating frequency band being different from the fourth operating frequency band (different operating frequency is implied since 112 and 122 have a different length than 111 and 121 as seen in Fig. 6), and the decoupling circuit is connected to the second branch and the fourth branch respectively (Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 10, Kuo et al. teaches a dual-antenna electronic device (Figs. 1, 6) comprising:
obtaining a current operating frequency band (Par. 0007, 0040) of a first antenna (11 Fig. 6 Par. 0039) and/or a second antenna (12 Fig. 6 Par. 0042) in the electronic device; and
based on the current operating frequency band, generating, by a decoupling circuit (13, L2, C5, L1, C1 Fig. 6 Par. 0040, 0044), a decoupling signal (Par. 0019, 0021, 0028, 0041) corresponding to the current operating frequency band to cancel a coupling signal between the first antenna and the second antenna (“a low pass filter (LPF) can include the second inductive element L2 and the fifth capacitive element C5 to improve an isolation between the first antenna structure and the second antenna structure, and the fourth capacitive element C4 can be used as a DC block to prevent a DC signal generated by the proximity sensing circuit P from flowing into the system through the first feeding element S1” Par. 0041, “inductive elements and capacitive elements (the first inductive element L1, the first capacitive element C1, the second inductive element L2 and the fifth capacitive element C5) can further form a low pass filter, so as to improve the isolation between the first antenna structure and the second antenna structure, that is, to reduce mutual interference between signals generated by the two antenna structures” Par. 0044), wherein:
the first antenna and the second antenna have a plurality of operating frequency bands (Par. 0007, 0040); and
a coupling current signal is generated by coupling between the first antenna and the second antenna when one of the first antenna and the second antenna is in a working state (“so as to improve the isolation between the first antenna structure and the second antenna structure, that is, to reduce mutual interference between signals generated by the two antenna structures” Par. 0031, 0044, also see Par. 0004).
Kuo et al. does not explicitly teach a decoupling method implemented by a dual-antenna electronic device; the decoupling signal is a current signal with the same amplitude and opposite phase of the coupling current signal, to cancel the coupling current signal.
However, Koyanagi et al. teaches “A first connection circuit (108) is controlled so as to cancel mutual coupling impedance existing between a first antenna element (106) and a second antenna element (107) at a first frequency band, thereby lessening deterioration of coupling between the antenna elements. A second connection circuit (111) is controlled so as to cancel mutual coupling impedance existing between a first passive element (109) and a second passive element (110) at a second frequency band, thereby lessening deterioration of coupling between the passive elements” (Abstract); “mutual coupling impedance occurs between the antenna elements, and the high-frequency current flows into one of the antenna elements flowing into the remaining antenna element as an induction current. This resultantly deteriorates radiation performance of the antenna” in Par. 0047, and “the first connection circuit is controlled so as to cancel mutual coupling impedance existing between the first antenna element and the second antenna element at a first frequency band; and wherein the second connection circuit is controlled so as to cancel mutual coupling impedance existing between the first passive element and the second passive element at a second frequency band” in Par. 0015, and “Although the electric current flowing into the first antenna element 106 and the electric current flowing into the second antenna element 107 have substantially the same amplitude, they are opposite in phase to each other. When the first feeding section 104 is excited, the amount of electric currents flowing around the second feeding section 105 becomes smaller. This shows that coupling deterioration is lessened” Par. 0089; and “Although the electric current flowing into the first passive element 109 and the electric current flowing into the second passive element 110 have substantially the same amplitude, they are opposite in phase to each other” Par. 0090.
Additionally, the method steps disclosed therein are deemed as being obvious in the assembly and operation of the prior art applied, and are immaterial to the patentability of the device itself.
In this particular case, providing the decoupling signal to be a current signal with the same amplitude and opposite phase of the coupling current signal is common and well known in the antenna art as evident by Koyanagi et al. in order to cancel the coupling current signal / mutual coupling between the two antennas (Par. 0015, 0090). Additionally, since the prior art of record herein is construed as teaching or suggesting all of the elements as recited in the methods, the claim is deemed unpatentable.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the decoupling signal of Kuo et al. as a current signal with the same amplitude and opposite phase of the coupling current signal based on the teachings of Koyanagi et al. as a result effect in order to improve antenna performance by canceling the coupling current signal / mutual coupling between the two antennas; and that Kuo et al. and Koyanagi et al. teach the decoupling method implemented by a dual-antenna electronic device.
Regarding Claim 11, Kuo et al. as modified teaches wherein: the first antenna and the second antenna are mirror-symmetrically distributed in the electronic device (Fig. 6), and a distance between the first antenna and the second antenna is less than a preset distance (distance between 11 and 12 less than preset distance of substrate B as seen in Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 12, Kuo et al. as modified teaches wherein: the decoupling circuit is one of a plurality of decoupling circuits (L2, 13, L1 / C5, C1 Fig. 6 Par. 0040, 0044 / Koyanagi et al. 108, 201, 202 & 111, 203, 204 Figs. 3, 6a, 6b as modified in claim 10 above), each matching one of the plurality of operating frequency bands, respectively (Par. 0028, 0031, 0040, 0044, wherein: each of the plurality of decoupling circuits is configured to generate the decoupling signal corresponding to a matching operating frequency band to cancel the coupling signal between the first antenna and the second antenna (Par. 0028, 0031, 0040, 0044).
Regarding Claim 13, Kuo et al. as modified teaches wherein: the decoupling circuit includes a first decoupling circuit (C5, C1 Fig. 6 Par. 0044 Koyanagi et al. 108, 201, 202 Figs. 3, 6a, 6b as modified in claim 10 above) and a second decoupling circuit (L2, 13, L1 Fig. 6 Par. 0040, 0044 / Koyanagi et al. 111, 203, 204 Figs. 3, 6a, 6b as modified in claim 10 above), the current operating frequency band includes a first operating frequency band and/or a second operating frequency band (Par. 0040), the first operating frequency band being different from the second operating frequency band; the first decoupling circuit that matches the current first operating frequency band being used to cancel the coupling signal corresponding to the first operating frequency band between the first antenna and the second antenna, and/or the second decoupling circuit that matches the current second operating frequency band being used to cancel the coupling signal corresponding to the second operating frequency band between the first antenna and the second antenna (Par. 0028, 0031, 0041, 0044).
Regarding Claim 14, Kuo et al. as modified teaches wherein: the second decoupling circuit includes two first decoupling sub-circuits (L2, L1 Fig. 6 Par. 0040, 0044) and a second decoupling sub-circuit (13 Fig. 6 Par. 0040, 0044), the second decoupling sub-circuit being respectively connected to the two first decoupling sub-circuits (Fig. 6), each first decoupling sub-circuit being coupled to the first antenna or the second antenna respectively (Fig. 6) to generate the coupling signal between the two first decoupling sub-circuits, the second decoupling sub-circuit being used to cancel the coupling signal generated by the second decoupling sub-circuit (Par. 0041, 0044).
Regarding Claim 16, Kuo et al. as modified teaches wherein: the first antenna includes at least a first branch (112 Fig. 6) and a second branch (111 Fig. 6), and the second antenna includes at least a third branch and a fourth branch, wherein: the first branch and the third branch have a third operating frequency band (Par. 0025, additionally, both having same operating frequency is implied since they have the same length as seen in Fig. 6), the second brand and the fourth have a fourth operating frequency band (Par. 0024, additionally, both having same operating frequency is implied since they have the same length as seen in Fig. 6), the third operating frequency band being different from the fourth operating frequency band (different operating frequency is implied since 112 and 122 have a different length than 111 and 121 as seen in Fig. 6), and the decoupling circuit is connected to the second branch and the fourth branch respectively (Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 20, Kuo et al. as modified teaches wherein:
the decoupling circuit is composed of a microstrip, an inductor, and a capacitor connected in parallel (Koyanagi et al. Figs. 2c, 6b as modified above); and
one of the microstrip, the inductor, and the capacitor is configured to be connected to the first antenna and the second antenna based on the current operating frequency band (Koyanagi et al. Figs. 2c, 6b as modified above).
Regarding Claim 21, Kuo et al. as modified teaches wherein: the first antenna is a first inverted F antenna (PIFA antenna Fig. 6 Par. 0039) including a first radiating unit (111, 112 Fig. 6 Par. 0040), a first feeding unit connected to the first radiating unit (S1, 2 Fig. 6 Par. 0040), and a first grounding unit connected to the first radiating unit (ground seen in Fig. 6), the second antenna is a second inverted F antenna (PIFA antenna Fig. 6 Par. 0039) including a second radiating unit (121, 122 Fig. 6 Par. 0038), a second feeding unit connected to the second radiating unit (S2, 3 Fig. 6 Par. 0035), and a second grounding unit connected to the second radiating unit (ground seen in Fig. 6), the first feeding unit and the second feeding unit are isolated by the first grounding unit and the second grounding unit (Fig. 6), and the decoupling circuit is connected between the first radiating unit and the second radiating unit (Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 22, Kuo et al. as modified teaches wherein: the decoupling circuit includes a first decoupling circuit (C5, C1 Fig. 6 Par. 0044 Koyanagi et al. 108, 201, 202 Figs. 3, 6a, 6b as modified in claim 1 above) and a second decoupling circuit (L2, 13, L1 Fig. 6 Par. 0040, 0044 / Koyanagi et al. 111, 203, 204 Figs. 3, 6a, 6b as modified in claim 1 above), the current operating frequency band includes a first operating frequency band and a second operating frequency band different from the first operating frequency band (Par. 0040); the first decoupling circuit that matches the current first operating frequency band being used to cancel the coupling signal corresponding to the first operating frequency band between the first antenna and the second antenna, and the second decoupling circuit that matches the current second operating frequency band being used to cancel the coupling signal corresponding to the second operating frequency band between the first antenna and the second antenna (Par. 0028, 0031, 0041, 0044); and the second decoupling circuit is not connected to the first antenna and the second antenna (Koyanagi et al. 111, 203, 204 Figs. 3, 6a, 6b as modified in claim 1 above is not connected to second antenna 107).
Claims 8, 9, 17 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al. US Patent Application Publication 2023/0378635 and Koyanagi et al. US Patent Application Publication 2012/0306718 as applied to claims 1 & 10 above, and further in view of Tsai et al. US Patent Application Publication 2023/0163457.
Regarding Claim 8, Kuo et al. as modified teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as shown in the rejection above.
Kuo et al. as modified is silent on wherein: the electronic device has two sets of dual-antennas, each set of dual-antenna including the first antenna, the second antenna, and the decoupling circuit.
However, Tsai et al. teaches two sets of dual-antennas (antennas 110, 120, 310, 320 Fig. 24 Par. 0180), each set of dual-antenna including the first antenna (antennas 110, 310 Fig. 24 Par. 0180), the second antenna (antennas 120, 320 Fig. 24 Par. 0180), and the decoupling circuit (130, 420 Fig. 24 Par. 0180).
In this particular case, providing the electronic device with two sets of dual-antennas, each set of dual-antenna including the first antenna, the second antenna, and the decoupling circuit is common and well known in the antenna art as evident by Tsai et al. in order to obtain an a Multiple-Input-Multiple-Output (MIMO) multi-antenna system capable of increased data transmission rate within a small space while still having good antenna radiation efficiency (Par. 0003, 0103, 0180, 0187).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the electronic device of Kuo et al. as modified with two sets of dual-antennas, each set of dual-antenna including the first antenna, the second antenna, and the decoupling circuit based on the teachings of Tsai et al. as a result effect in order to obtain an a Multiple-Input-Multiple-Output (MIMO) multi-antenna system capable of increased data transmission rate within a small space while still having good antenna radiation efficiency.
Regarding Claim 9, Kuo et al. as modified teaches further comprising: a controller (P Fig. 6 Par. 0033), the controller being configured to control the first antenna or the second antenna to be in a working state based on signal reception strength of the electronic device and/or signal direction of a wireless signal (“the proximity sensing circuit P is connected to the third radiating branch 13 to use the radiating element 1 as a sensor pad to sense whether a human body is near the antenna module M1, such that a radiation power of the antenna module M1 can be adjusted to reduce the specific absorption rate (SAR)” Par. 0033).
Regarding Claim 17, Kuo et al. as modified teaches the method of claim 10 as shown in the rejection above.
Kuo et al. as modified is silent on wherein: the electronic device has at least two sets of dual-antennas, each set of dual-antenna including the first antenna, the second antenna, and the decoupling circuit.
However, Tsai et al. teaches two sets of dual-antennas (antennas 110, 120, 310, 320 Fig. 24 Par. 0180), each set of dual-antenna including the first antenna (antennas 110, 310 Fig. 24 Par. 0180), the second antenna (antennas 120, 320 Fig. 24 Par. 0180), and the decoupling circuit (130, 420 Fig. 24 Par. 0180).
In this particular case, providing the electronic device with two sets of dual-antennas, each set of dual-antenna including the first antenna, the second antenna, and the decoupling circuit is common and well known in the antenna art as evident by Tsai et al. in order to obtain an a Multiple-Input-Multiple-Output (MIMO) multi-antenna system capable of increased data transmission rate within a small space while still having good antenna radiation efficiency (Par. 0003, 0103, 0180, 0187).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the electronic device of Kuo et al. as modified with two sets of dual-antennas, each set of dual-antenna including the first antenna, the second antenna, and the decoupling circuit based on the teachings of Tsai et al. as a result effect in order to obtain an a Multiple-Input-Multiple-Output (MIMO) multi-antenna system capable of increased data transmission rate within a small space while still having good antenna radiation efficiency.
Regarding Claim 18, Kuo et al. as modified teaches further comprising: controlling the first antenna or the second antenna to be in a working state based on signal reception strength of the electronic device and/or signal direction of a wireless signal (“the proximity sensing circuit P is connected to the third radiating branch 13 to use the radiating element 1 as a sensor pad to sense whether a human body is near the antenna module M1, such that a radiation power of the antenna module M1 can be adjusted to reduce the specific absorption rate (SAR)” Par. 0033).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 19, the prior of record, when taken alone or in combination, does not fairly teach nor render obvious the limitations “wherein each of an open end of the first radiating unit and an open end of the second radiating unit is folded in half to form a U-shaped radiating unit, and the decoupling circuit is connected to the open end of the first radiating unit and the open end of the second radiating unit” as required by the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL M BOUIZZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845