DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9, 14-16, 21-28, 31-32, 37-38, and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kazushige et al. (EP1792881A1).
In re claim 1, Kazushige discloses a multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body (4 – Figure 1, ¶19) including a capacitance forming portion (portion of 4 where 10 and 12 exist – Figure 1, ¶19) including a dielectric layer (10 – Figure 1) and an internal electrode (12 – Figure 1) alternately disposed in a first direction (vertical direction – Figure 1), and cover portions (portion of 4 above and below 10, 12 – Figure 1) disposed on both end surfaces of the capacitance forming portion in the first direction (Figure 1), respectively, and including a first surface and a second surface (top and bottom surfaces of 4 – Figure 1) opposing each other in the first direction, a third surface and a fourth surface (left and right surfaces of 4 – Figure 1), connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction, and a fifth surface and a sixth surface (surfaces of 4 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1), connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (Figure 1);
external electrodes (6, 8 – Figure 1, ¶19) disposed on the third and fourth surfaces of the body, respectively (Figure 1); and
side margin portions (portions of 4 disposed on either side of 12 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1) disposed on the fifth and sixth surfaces of the body (Figure 1), respectively, wherein at least one of the capacitance forming portion, the cover portions, or the side margin portions includes a secondary phase including gallium (Ga) (22 – Figure 2, Figure 3, ¶41-45, ¶28; The grain boundary phases contain gallium. As defined by [¶95] of the Specification of the Instant Application, a secondary phase is defined by a particle, grain, or segregation having a different composition rom a perovskite-based dielectric grain.).
In re claim 2, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses wherein the secondary phase further includes silicon (Si) (¶13, ¶15).
In re claim 3, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses wherein at least one of the dielectric layer (10 – Figure 1), the capacitance forming portion (portion of 4 where 10 and 12 exist – Figure 1), the cover portions (portion of 4 above and below 12 – Figure 1), or the side margin portions (portions of 4 disposed on either side of 12 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1) includes a plurality of grains (20 – Figure 3, ¶41) and a grain boundary (22 – Figure 3, ¶42) disposed between adjacent grains (Figure 3), and the secondary phase is disposed at least one triple point at which three or more grain boundaries meet (See Figure 3. The Measuring Point shown in Figure 3 is a triple point.).
In re claim 4, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 3, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses wherein at least one grain among the plurality of grains includes gallium (Ga) (¶43; The second sub-ingredient, Ga, can be in the dielectric particle.).
In re claim 5, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses wherein at least one of the dielectric layer (10 – Figure 1), the capacitance forming portion (portion of 4 where 10 and 12 exist – Figure 1), the cover portions (portion of 4 above and below 12 – Figure 1), or the side margin portions (portions of 4 disposed on either side of 12 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1) includes a plurality of grains (20 – Figure 3, ¶41) and a grain boundary (22 – Figure 3, ¶42) disposed between adjacent grains (Figure 3) and including gallium (Ga) (¶43, ¶28).
In re claim 8, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses wherein the number of moles of gallium (Ga) relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in one of the side margin portions (portions of 4 disposed on either side of 12 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1) is 0.1 moles or more (Table 1: Sample 22; Note that Ga exists throughout the entire dielectric layer.).
In re claim 9, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses wherein the number of moles of gallium (Ga) relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in one of the side margin portions (portions of 4 disposed on either side of 12 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1) is 3.0 moles or less (Table 1: Sample 22; Note that Ga exists throughout the entire dielectric layer.).
In re claim 14, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses wherein 0 < MG and 0 ≤ AG ≤ MG are satisfied, in which MG is the number of moles of gallium (Ga) relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in one of the side margin portions (portions of 4 disposed on either side of 12 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1) and AG is the number of moles of gallium (Ga) relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in the capacitance forming portion (portion of 4 where 10 and 12 exist – Figure 1) (¶41-45, ¶28; Note that Ga exists throughout the entire dielectric layer, including the margin portions.).
In re claim 15, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses wherein 0 < MG and 0 ≤ DG ≤ MG are satisfied, in which MG is the number of moles of gallium (Ga) relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in one of the side margin portions (portions of 4 disposed on either side of 12 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1) and DG is the number of moles of gallium (Ga) relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in the dielectric layer (10 – Figure 1) (¶41-45, ¶28; Note that Ga exists throughout the entire dielectric layer, including the margin portions.).
In re claim 16, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses wherein 0 < MG and 0 ≤ CG ≤ MG are satisfied, in which MG is the number of moles of gallium (Ga) relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in one of the side margin portions (portions of 4 disposed on either side of 12 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1) and CG is the number of moles of gallium (Ga) relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in one of the cover portions (portion of 4 above 12 – Figure 1) (¶41-45, ¶28; Note that Ga exists throughout the entire dielectric layer, including the margin portions and cover portions.).
In re claim 21, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses wherein the secondary phase further includes at least one of magnesium (Mg), aluminum (Al), vanadium (V), manganese (Mn), zirconium (Zr), barium (Ba), or a rare earth element (¶29).
In re claim 22, Kazushige discloses a multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body (4 – Figure 1, ¶19) including a capacitance forming portion (portion of 4 where 10 and 12 exist – Figure 1, ¶19) including a dielectric layer (10 – Figure 1) and an internal electrode (12 – Figure 1) alternately disposed in a first direction (vertical direction – Figure 1), and cover portions (portion of 4 above and below 10, 12 – Figure 1) disposed on both end surfaces of the capacitance forming portion in the first direction (Figure 1), respectively, and including a first surface and a second surface (top and bottom surfaces of 4 – Figure 1) opposing each other in the first direction, a third surface and a fourth surface (left and right surfaces of 4 – Figure 1), connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction, and a fifth surface and a sixth surface (surfaces of 4 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1), connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (Figure 1);
external electrodes (6, 8 – Figure 1, ¶19) disposed on the third and fourth surfaces of the body, respectively (Figure 1); and
side margin portions (portions of 4 disposed on either side of 12 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1) disposed on the fifth and sixth surfaces of the body (Figure 1), respectively,
wherein 0 < MG and 0 ≤ AG ≤ MG are satisfied, in which MG is the number of moles of gallium (Ga) relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in one of the side margin portions (portions of 4 disposed on either side of 12 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1) and AG is the number of moles of gallium (Ga) relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in the capacitance forming portion (portion of 4 where 10 and 12 exist – Figure 1) (¶41-45, ¶28; Note that Ga exists throughout the entire dielectric layer, including the margin portions.).
In re claim 23, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 22, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses cover portions (portions of 4 above topmost 12 and below bottommost 12 – Figure 1) on both end surfaces of the capacitance forming portion in the first direction, respectively (Figure 1).
In re claim 24, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 22, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses at least one of the capacitance forming portion and the side margin portions includes a secondary phase including gallium (Ga) (22 – Figure 2, Figure 3, ¶41-45, ¶28; The grain boundary phases contain gallium. As defined by [¶95] of the Specification of the Instant Application, a secondary phase is defined by a particle, grain, or segregation having a different composition rom a perovskite-based dielectric grain.).
In re claim 25, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 24, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses wherein the secondary phase further includes silicon (Si) (¶13, ¶15).
In re claim 26, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 24, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses wherein at least one of the capacitance forming portion (portion of 4 where 10 and 12 exist – Figure 1) and the side margin portions (portions of 4 disposed on either side of 12 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1) includes a plurality of grains (20 – Figure 3, ¶41) and a grain boundary (22 – Figure 3, ¶42) disposed between adjacent grains (Figure 3), and the secondary phase is disposed at least one triple point at which three or more grain boundaries meet (See Figure 3. The Measuring Point shown in Figure 3 is a triple point.).
In re claim 27, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 26, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses wherein at least one grain among the plurality of grains includes gallium (Ga) (¶43; The second sub-ingredient, Ga, can be in the dielectric particle.).
In re claim 28, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 24, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses at least one of the capacitance forming portion (portion of 4 where 10 and 12 exist – Figure 1) and the side margin portions (portions of 4 disposed on either side of 12 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1) includes a plurality of grains (20 – Figure 3, ¶41) and a grain boundary (22 – Figure 3, ¶42) disposed between adjacent grains (Figure 3) and including gallium (Ga) (¶43, ¶28).
In re claim 31, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 22, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses wherein the number of moles of gallium (Ga) relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in one of the side margin portions (portions of 4 disposed on either side of 12 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1) is 0.1 moles or more (Table 1: Sample 22; Note that Ga exists throughout the entire dielectric layer.).
In re claim 32, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 31, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses wherein the number of moles of gallium (Ga) relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in one of the side margin portions (portions of 4 disposed on either side of 12 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1) is 3.0 moles or less (Table 1: Sample 22; Note that Ga exists throughout the entire dielectric layer.).
In re claim 37, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 33, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses wherein 0 < MG and 0 ≤ DG ≤ MG are satisfied, in which MG is the number of moles of gallium (Ga) relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in one of the side margin portions (portions of 4 disposed on either side of 12 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1) and DG is the number of moles of gallium (Ga) relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in the dielectric layer (10 – Figure 1) (¶41-45, ¶28; Note that Ga exists throughout the entire dielectric layer, including the margin portions.).
In re claim 38, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 23, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses wherein 0 < MG and 0 ≤ CG ≤ MG are satisfied, in which MG is the number of moles of gallium (Ga) relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in one of the side margin portions (portions of 4 disposed on either side of 12 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1) and CG is the number of moles of gallium (Ga) relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in one of the cover portions (portion of 4 above 12 – Figure 1) (¶41-45, ¶28; Note that Ga exists throughout the entire dielectric layer, including the margin portions and cover portions.).
In re claim 43, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 24, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses wherein the secondary phase further includes at least one of magnesium (Mg), aluminum (Al), vanadium (V), manganese (Mn), zirconium (Zr), barium (Ba), or a rare earth element (¶29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazushige et al. (EP1792881A1).
In re claim 6, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Kazushige does not explicitly disclose wherein an atomic percentage of gallium (Ga) included in the secondary phase is 0.2 at% or more. However, Kazushige discloses that the concentration of the second sub-ingredient in the boundary phase is a balance between capacity-temperature characteristics and densification (¶66). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the amount of the second sub-ingredient, such as Ga, in the boundary phase, and thus secondary phase, to achieve a desired balance between capacity-temperature characteristics and densification, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claim 29, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 24, as explained above. Kazushige does not explicitly disclose wherein an atomic percentage of gallium (Ga) included in the secondary phase is 0.2 at% or more. However, Kazushige discloses that the concentration of the second sub-ingredient in the boundary phase is a balance between capacity-temperature characteristics and densification (¶66). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the amount of the second sub-ingredient, such as Ga, in the boundary phase, and thus secondary phase, to achieve a desired balance between capacity-temperature characteristics and densification, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 12-13 and 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazushige et al. (EP1792881A1) in view of Kim et al. (US Publication 2022/0199326).
In re claim 12, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Kazushige does not disclose wherein the side margin portions further include tin (Sn).
Kim discloses the dielectric grains (10a – Figure 5, ¶38) of the dielectric layer (111 – Figure 4, ¶38) and margin portion (114, 115 – Figure 3, ¶90) include tin (Sn) (¶49-50; Note that the double-core structure grains are included throughout the component body.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate crystal grain structure of Kim to suppress the diffusion of rare earth doping elements into the crystal grain.
In re claim 13, Kazushige in view of Kim discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 12, as explained above. Kazushige does not disclose wherein the number of moles of tin (Sn) relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in one of the side margin portions is 0.1 moles or more and 5.0 moles or less. However, Kazushige discloses adjusting the amount of Sn can create a balance between a dielectric constant improving effect and a diffusion suppressing effect (¶60). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the amount of the Sn in the core-shell structure, to achieve a desired balance between a dielectric constant improving effect and a diffusion suppressing effect, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claim 35, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 22, as explained above. Kazushige does not disclose wherein the side margin portions further include tin (Sn).
Kim discloses the dielectric grains (10a – Figure 5, ¶38) of the dielectric layer (111 – Figure 4, ¶38) and margin portion (114, 115 – Figure 3, ¶90) include tin (Sn) (¶49-50; Note that the double-core structure grains are included throughout the component body.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate crystal grain structure of Kim to suppress the diffusion of rare earth doping elements into the crystal grain.
In re claim 36, Kazushige in view of Kim discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 35, as explained above. Kazushige does not disclose wherein the number of moles of tin (Sn) relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in one of the side margin portions is 0.1 moles or more and 5.0 moles or less. However, Kazushige discloses adjusting the amount of Sn can create a balance between a dielectric constant improving effect and a diffusion suppressing effect (¶60). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the amount of the Sn in the core-shell structure, to achieve a desired balance between a dielectric constant improving effect and a diffusion suppressing effect, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 17-18 and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazushige et al. (EP1792881A1) in view of Park et al. (US Publication 2019/0115153).
In re claim 17, Kazushige discloses The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses the side margin portions (portions of 4 disposed on either side of 12 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1) include gallium (Ga) (¶41-45, ¶28). Kazushige does not disclose wherein, based on cross-sections of the side margin portions in the first and second directions, the side margin portions are in contact with the external electrode, and a region falling within 10 μm in a direction facing the side margin portions from an interface on which the side margin portions and the external electrode are in contact includes gallium (Ga).
Park discloses the side margin portions (113, 114 – Figure 2, ¶45) are in contact with the external electrode (131, 132 – Figure 1, ¶44) having a thickness of 10 μm to 20 μm (¶183, Claim 8).
The combination of Kazushige and Park discloses wherein, based on cross-sections of the side margin portions in the first and second directions, the side margin portions are in contact with the external electrode, and a region falling within 10 μm in a direction facing the side margin portions from an interface on which the side margin portions and the external electrode are in contact includes gallium (Ga).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a side margin portion having a desired thickness to create a balance between miniaturization per user specifications and mechanical strength.
In re claim 18, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Kazushige does not disclose wherein the side margin portions include a first side margin portion disposed on the fifth surface of the body, and a second side margin portion disposed on the sixth surface of the body, wherein at least one of the first and second side margin portions has an average size in the third direction of 20 μm or less.
Park discloses wherein the side margin portions (113, 114 – Figure 2) include a first side margin portion (113 – Figure 2) disposed on the fifth surface of the body (Figure 2), and a second side margin portion (114 – Figure 2) disposed on the sixth surface of the body (Figure 2), wherein at least one of the first and second side margin portions has an average size in the third direction of 20 μm or less (¶183, Claim 8).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a side margin portion having a desired thickness to create a balance between miniaturization per user specifications and mechanical strength.
In re claim 39, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 22, as explained above. Kazushige further discloses the side margin portions (portions of 4 disposed on either side of 12 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 1) include gallium (Ga) (¶41-45, ¶28). Kazushige does not disclose wherein, based on cross-sections of the side margin portions in the first and second directions, the side margin portions are in contact with the external electrode, and a region falling within 10 μm in a direction facing the side margin portions from an interface on which the side margin portions and the external electrode are in contact includes gallium (Ga).
Park discloses the side margin portions (113, 114 – Figure 2, ¶45) are in contact with the external electrode (131, 132 – Figure 1, ¶44) having a thickness of 10 μm to 20 μm (¶183, Claim 8).
The combination of Kazushige and Park discloses wherein, based on cross-sections of the side margin portions in the first and second directions, the side margin portions are in contact with the external electrode, and a region falling within 10 μm in a direction facing the side margin portions from an interface on which the side margin portions and the external electrode are in contact includes gallium (Ga).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a side margin portion having a desired thickness to create a balance between miniaturization per user specifications and mechanical strength.
In re claim 40, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 22, as explained above. Kazushige does not disclose wherein the side margin portions include a first side margin portion disposed on the fifth surface of the body, and a second side margin portion disposed on the sixth surface of the body, wherein at least one of the first and second side margin portions has an average size in the third direction of 20 μm or less.
Park discloses wherein the side margin portions (113, 114 – Figure 2) include a first side margin portion (113 – Figure 2) disposed on the fifth surface of the body (Figure 2), and a second side margin portion (114 – Figure 2) disposed on the sixth surface of the body (Figure 2), wherein at least one of the first and second side margin portions has an average size in the third direction of 20 μm or less (¶183, Claim 8).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a side margin portion having a desired thickness to create a balance between miniaturization per user specifications and mechanical strength.
Claim(s) 19 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazushige et al. (EP1792881A1) in view of Lee et al. (US Publication 2020/0402717).
In re claim 19, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Kazushige does not disclose wherein the number of pores per unit area of 150 μm2 of one of the side margin portions is 30 or less.
Lee discloses reducing the number of pores in the margin portions improves the reliability of the component for moisture resistance (¶79).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to reduce the number of pores in the margin portions to improve the moisture reliability of the device, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claim 41, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 22, as explained above. Kazushige does not disclose wherein the number of pores per unit area of 150 μm2 of one of the side margin portions is 30 or less.
Lee discloses reducing the number of pores in the margin portions improves the reliability of the component for moisture resistance (¶79).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to reduce the number of pores in the margin portions to improve the moisture reliability of the device, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 20 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazushige et al. (EP1792881A1) in view of Naito et al. (US Publication 2011/0038096)
In re claim 20, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Kazushige does not disclose wherein the secondary phase further includes at least one of lithium (Li), sodium (Na), potassium (K), rubidium (Rb), or cesium (Cs).
Naito discloses the secondary phase further includes at least one of lithium (Li), sodium (Na), potassium (K), rubidium (Rb), or cesium (Cs) (¶50, ¶68).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate lithium in the secondary phase to provide for a highly moisture resistant dielectric ceramic (¶7 – Naito).
In re claim 42, Kazushige discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 24, as explained above. Kazushige does not disclose wherein the secondary phase further includes at least one of lithium (Li), sodium (Na), potassium (K), rubidium (Rb), or cesium (Cs).
Naito discloses the secondary phase further includes at least one of lithium (Li), sodium (Na), potassium (K), rubidium (Rb), or cesium (Cs) (¶50, ¶68).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate lithium in the secondary phase to provide for a highly moisture resistant dielectric ceramic (¶7 – Naito).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) a ratio of an atomic percentage of gallium (Ga) relative to an atomic percentage of silicon (Si) included in the secondary phase, is 3.94% or more.
Claims 10-11 and 33-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) wherein the secondary phase further includes tin (Sn).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takahashi et al. (US Publication 2020/0105438) [¶39]
Moon et al. (US Publication 2019/0189345) [¶28, ¶31]
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848