Examiner’s Comment on Allowance
Examiner has specific suggestions on placing this Application in condition for Allowance and would like to send few proposals and have an interview with Applicant accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edge (WO 2020/092714).
Regarding Claim 1, 20-22, Edge discloses configuring, by a wireless communication element (called LMF, fig. 9 (120)) a first time period, wherein time stamps (called slots [0059]) of reference signals for a positioning measurement are restricted to be within the first time period (period: total duration where measuring occurs including many single periods; alternative: one of the many periods when periodic, one slot per period; alternative: within time of semi persistent [0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a)); and sending, by the wireless communication element, a first message to activate the first time period ([0114]: requesting measurements , time related to start time of [00112] // [0121]; i.e. explicit activation of measurements via MAC CE refers to implicit activating start time).
Regarding Claim 2, Edge discloses configuring, by the wireless communication element for a wireless communication device, the first time period, wherein time stamps of Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) for a reference signal timing difference (RSTD) measurement are restricted to be within the first time period [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 3, Edge discloses wherein the first time period is configured as a plurality of periodic time intervals [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 5, Edge discloses configuring, by the wireless communication element for a wireless communication node, a second time period, wherein time stamps of Sounding Reference Signals (SRSs) for a relative time of arrival (RTOA) measurement are restricted to be within the second time period [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 6, Edge discloses wherein the wireless communication node is a serving gNB or a neighboring gNB [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 7, Edge discloses wherein the second time period is configured as a plurality of periodic time intervals. [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 8, Edge discloses wherein the second time period is configured with a time offset value [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 9, Edge discloses wherein the second time period is configured without periodicity [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 10, Edge discloses sending, by the wireless communication element, a second message requesting a wireless communication node or a wireless communication device to provide its corresponding third time period; and receiving, by the wireless communication element from the wireless communication node or the wireless communication device, a third message including the corresponding third time period [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 11, Edge discloses wherein the fourth message further indicates a starting time stamp of the third time period [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 12, Edge discloses wherein the first time period corresponds to an individual reference Transmission Reception Point (TRP) [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 13, Edge discloses receiving, by the wireless communication node from a wireless communication device, a fourth message indicating an association relationship between a Sounding Reference signal (SRS) resource or SRS resource set and a plurality of User Equipment Transmission Timing Error Groups (UE Tx TEGs) corresponding to the wireless communication device; wherein the fourth message further indicates respective time stamps for the plurality of UETx TEGs [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 14, Edge discloses receiving, by the wireless communication element from the wireless communication device, a fifth message indicating a maximum number of the time stamps to which a single SRS resource or SRS resource set is allowed to correspond. [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 15, Edge discloses receiving, by the wireless communication element from the wireless communication device, a sixth message indicating a maximum number of the UE Tx TEGs to which a single SRS resource or SRS resource set is allowed to correspond [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 16, Edge discloses wherein a wireless communication device determines a starting time of a downlink reception from one Transmission Reception Point (TRP) according to one or more Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) resources that are associated with a same User Equipment Reception Timing Error Group (UE Rx TEG) and are received within the first time period [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 17, Edge discloses wherein a wireless communication node determines a starting time of an uplink reception from one UE according to one or more Sounding Reference signal (SRS) resources that are associated with a same Transmission Reception Point Reception Timing Error Group (TRP Rx TEG) and are received within the first time period [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 18, Edge discloses wherein a wireless communication device determines a starting time of a downlink reception from one Transmission Reception Point (TRP) according toone or more Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) resources that are associated with a same User Equipment Reception Timing Error Group (UE Rx TEG) [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 19, Edge discloses wherein a wireless communication node determines a starting time of an uplink reception from one UE according to one or more Sounding Reference signal (SRS) resources that are associated with a same Transmission Reception Point Reception Timing Error Group (TRP Rx TEG) [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 23, Edge discloses wherein the second time period is configured as a plurality of periodic time intervals, or wherein the second time period is configured to be activated only once [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Manolakos (US 2021/0185632).
Regarding Claim 1, 20-22, Manolakos discloses configuring ([0155] / [0170]), by a wireless communication element (called Location server, fig. 14 (196) = LMF [0152]) a first time period (out of many others belonging to the PRS measuring total period ([0172]: transmitting PRS until end-time, cancel or reconfiguration); eg. fig.3 : PRS Period TPRS 320; first time period = x periods between start and end time; semi persistent/aperiodic: [0113, 0114] ), wherein time stamps of reference signals for a positioning measurement are restricted to be within the first time period ([0114], fig. 3 (318a) / [0171]: i.w. within period for a period, alternative between start & end time [0172]) ;and sending, by the wireless communication element, a first message to activate the first time period ([0156, 0171]: requesting for UL signals; fig. 14(4); i.e. implicit activation).
Regarding Claim 2, Manolakos discloses configuring, by the wireless communication element for a wireless communication device, the first time period, wherein time stamps of Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) for a reference signal timing difference (RSTD) measurement are restricted to be within the first time period [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 3, Manolakos discloses wherein the first time period is configured as a plurality of periodic time intervals [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 5, Manolakos discloses configuring, by the wireless communication element for a wireless communication node, a second time period, wherein time stamps of Sounding Reference Signals (SRSs) for a relative time of arrival (RTOA) measurement are restricted to be within the second time period [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 6, Manolakos discloses wherein the wireless communication node is a serving gNB or a neighboring gNB [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 7, Manolakos discloses wherein the second time period is configured as a plurality of periodic time intervals [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 8, Manolakos discloses wherein the second time period is configured with a time offset value [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 9, Manolakos discloses wherein the second time period is configured without periodicity [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 10, Manolakos discloses sending, by the wireless communication element, a second message requesting a wireless communication node or a wireless communication device to provide its corresponding third time period; and receiving, by the wireless communication element from the wireless communication node or the wireless communication device, a third message including the corresponding third time period [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 11, Manolakos discloses wherein the fourth message further indicates a starting time stamp of the third time period [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 12, Manolakos discloses wherein the first time period corresponds to an individual reference Transmission Reception Point (TRP) [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 13, Manolakos discloses receiving, by the wireless communication node from a wireless communication device, a fourth message indicating an association relationship between a Sounding Reference signal (SRS) resource or SRS resource set and a plurality of User Equipment Transmission Timing Error Groups (UE Tx TEGs) corresponding to the wireless communication device; wherein the fourth message further indicates respective time stamps for the plurality of UETx TEGs [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 14, Manolakos discloses receiving, by the wireless communication element from the wireless communication device, a fifth message indicating a maximum number of the time stamps to which a single SRS resource or SRS resource set is allowed to correspond. [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 15, Manolakos discloses receiving, by the wireless communication element from the wireless communication device, a sixth message indicating a maximum number of the UE Tx TEGs to which a single SRS resource or SRS resource set is allowed to correspond [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 16, Manolakos discloses wherein a wireless communication device determines a starting time of a downlink reception from one Transmission Reception Point (TRP) according to one or more Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) resources that are associated with a same User Equipment Reception Timing Error Group (UE Rx TEG) and are received within the first time period [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 17, Manolakos discloses wherein a wireless communication node determines a starting time of an uplink reception from one UE according to one or more Sounding Reference signal (SRS) resources that are associated with a same Transmission Reception Point Reception Timing Error Group (TRP Rx TEG) and are received within the first time period [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 18, Manolakos discloses wherein a wireless communication device determines a starting time of a downlink reception from one Transmission Reception Point (TRP) according toone or more Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) resources that are associated with a same User Equipment Reception Timing Error Group (UE Rx TEG) [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 19, Manolakos discloses wherein a wireless communication node determines a starting time of an uplink reception from one UE according to one or more Sounding Reference signal (SRS) resources that are associated with a same Transmission Reception Point Reception Timing Error Group (TRP Rx TEG) [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 23, Manolakos discloses wherein the second time period is configured as a plurality of periodic time intervals, or wherein the second time period is configured to be activated only once [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not found persuasive.
Applicant is arguing the feature of “configuring, by a wireless communication element, a first time period, wherein time stamps of reference signals for a positioning measurement are restricted to be within the first time period.” However, the Examiner submits that Edge discloses configuring, by a wireless communication element (called LMF, fig. 9 (120)) a first time period, wherein time stamps (called slots [0059]) of reference signals for a positioning measurement are restricted to be within the first time period (period: total duration where measuring occurs including many single periods; alternative: one of the many periods when periodic, one slot per period; alternative: within time of semi persistent [0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a)). Furthermore, Examiner submits that Manolakos discloses configuring ([0155] / [0170]), by a wireless communication element (called Location server, fig. 14 (196) = LMF [0152]) a first time period (out of many others belonging to the PRS measuring total period ([0172]: transmitting PRS until end-time, cancel or reconfiguration); eg. fig.3 : PRS Period TPRS 320; first time period = x periods between start and end time; semi persistent/aperiodic: [0113, 0114] ), wherein time stamps of reference signals for a positioning measurement are restricted to be within the first time period ([0114], fig. 3 (318a) / [0171]: i.w. within period for a period, alternative between start & end time [0172].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANKUR JAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649