Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edge (WO 2020/092714).
Regarding Claim 1, 20-22, Edge discloses configuring, by a wireless communication element (called LMF, fig. 9 (120)) a first time period, wherein time stamps (called slots [0059]) of reference signals for a positioning measurement are restricted to be within the first time period (period: total duration where measuring occurs including many single periods; alternative: one of the many periods when periodic, one slot per period; alternative: within time of semi persistent [0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a)); and sending, by the wireless communication element, a first message to activate the first time period ([0114]: requesting measurements , time related to start time of [00112] // [0121]; i.e. explicit activation of measurements via MAC CE refers to implicit activating start time).
Regarding Claim 2, Edge discloses configuring, by the wireless communication element for a wireless communication device, the first time period, wherein time stamps of Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) for a reference signal timing difference (RSTD) measurement are restricted to be within the first time period [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 3, Edge discloses wherein the first time period is configured as a plurality of periodic time intervals [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 4, Edge discloses wherein the first time period is configured with a time offset value [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 5, Edge discloses configuring, by the wireless communication element for a wireless communication node, a second time period, wherein time stamps of Sounding Reference Signals (SRSs) for a relative time of arrival (RTOA) measurement are restricted to be within the second time period [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 6, Edge discloses wherein the wireless communication node is a serving gNB or a neighboring gNB [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 7, Edge discloses wherein the second time period is configured as a plurality of periodic time intervals. [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 8, Edge discloses wherein the second time period is configured with a time offset value [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 9, Edge discloses wherein the second time period is configured without periodicity [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 10, Edge discloses sending, by the wireless communication element, a second message requesting a wireless communication node or a wireless communication device to provide its corresponding third time period; and receiving, by the wireless communication element from the wireless communication node or the wireless communication device, a third message including the corresponding third time period [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 11, Edge discloses wherein the fourth message further indicates a starting time stamp of the third time period [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 12, Edge discloses wherein the first time period corresponds to an individual reference Transmission Reception Point (TRP) [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 13, Edge discloses receiving, by the wireless communication node from a wireless communication device, a fourth message indicating an association relationship between a Sounding Reference signal (SRS) resource or SRS resource set and a plurality of User Equipment Transmission Timing Error Groups (UE Tx TEGs) corresponding to the wireless communication device; wherein the fourth message further indicates respective time stamps for the plurality of UETx TEGs [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 14, Edge discloses receiving, by the wireless communication element from the wireless communication device, a fifth message indicating a maximum number of the time stamps to which a single SRS resource or SRS resource set is allowed to correspond. [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 15, Edge discloses receiving, by the wireless communication element from the wireless communication device, a sixth message indicating a maximum number of the UE Tx TEGs to which a single SRS resource or SRS resource set is allowed to correspond [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 16, Edge discloses wherein a wireless communication device determines a starting time of a downlink reception from one Transmission Reception Point (TRP) according to one or more Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) resources that are associated with a same User Equipment Reception Timing Error Group (UE Rx TEG) and are received within the first time period [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 17, Edge discloses wherein a wireless communication node determines a starting time of an uplink reception from one UE according to one or more Sounding Reference signal (SRS) resources that are associated with a same Transmission Reception Point Reception Timing Error Group (TRP Rx TEG) and are received within the first time period [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 18, Edge discloses wherein a wireless communication device determines a starting time of a downlink reception from one Transmission Reception Point (TRP) according toone or more Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) resources that are associated with a same User Equipment Reception Timing Error Group (UE Rx TEG) [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Regarding Claim 19, Edge discloses wherein a wireless communication node determines a starting time of an uplink reception from one UE according to one or more Sounding Reference signal (SRS) resources that are associated with a same Transmission Reception Point Reception Timing Error Group (TRP Rx TEG) [(fig. 9 (120), 0059, 0107-0108; 0109, 00111, 0112 (start time), 0113 (configuration transmitted), [0121]; fig. 9 (4-5, 7-9a), 0114, 00112, 0121].
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Manolakos (US 2021/0185632).
Regarding Claim 1, 20-22, Manolakos discloses configuring ([0155] / [0170]), by a wireless communication element (called Location server, fig. 14 (196) = LMF [0152]) a first time period (out of many others belonging to the PRS measuring total period ([0172]: transmitting PRS until end-time, cancel or reconfiguration); eg. fig.3 : PRS Period TPRS 320; first time period = x periods between start and end time; semi persistent/aperiodic: [0113, 0114] ), wherein time stamps of reference signals for a positioning measurement are restricted to be within the first time period ([0114], fig. 3 (318a) / [0171]: i.w. within period for a period, alternative between start & end time [0172]) ;and sending, by the wireless communication element, a first message to activate the first time period ([0156, 0171]: requesting for UL signals; fig. 14(4); i.e. implicit activation).
Regarding Claim 2, Manolakos discloses configuring, by the wireless communication element for a wireless communication device, the first time period, wherein time stamps of Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) for a reference signal timing difference (RSTD) measurement are restricted to be within the first time period [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 3, Manolakos discloses wherein the first time period is configured as a plurality of periodic time intervals [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 4, Manolakos discloses wherein the first time period is configured with a time offset value [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 5, Manolakos discloses configuring, by the wireless communication element for a wireless communication node, a second time period, wherein time stamps of Sounding Reference Signals (SRSs) for a relative time of arrival (RTOA) measurement are restricted to be within the second time period [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 6, Manolakos discloses wherein the wireless communication node is a serving gNB or a neighboring gNB [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 7, Manolakos discloses wherein the second time period is configured as a plurality of periodic time intervals [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 8, Manolakos discloses wherein the second time period is configured with a time offset value [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 9, Manolakos discloses wherein the second time period is configured without periodicity [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 10, Manolakos discloses sending, by the wireless communication element, a second message requesting a wireless communication node or a wireless communication device to provide its corresponding third time period; and receiving, by the wireless communication element from the wireless communication node or the wireless communication device, a third message including the corresponding third time period [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 11, Manolakos discloses wherein the fourth message further indicates a starting time stamp of the third time period [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 12, Manolakos discloses wherein the first time period corresponds to an individual reference Transmission Reception Point (TRP) [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 13, Manolakos discloses receiving, by the wireless communication node from a wireless communication device, a fourth message indicating an association relationship between a Sounding Reference signal (SRS) resource or SRS resource set and a plurality of User Equipment Transmission Timing Error Groups (UE Tx TEGs) corresponding to the wireless communication device; wherein the fourth message further indicates respective time stamps for the plurality of UETx TEGs [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 14, Manolakos discloses receiving, by the wireless communication element from the wireless communication device, a fifth message indicating a maximum number of the time stamps to which a single SRS resource or SRS resource set is allowed to correspond. [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 15, Manolakos discloses receiving, by the wireless communication element from the wireless communication device, a sixth message indicating a maximum number of the UE Tx TEGs to which a single SRS resource or SRS resource set is allowed to correspond [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 16, Manolakos discloses wherein a wireless communication device determines a starting time of a downlink reception from one Transmission Reception Point (TRP) according to one or more Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) resources that are associated with a same User Equipment Reception Timing Error Group (UE Rx TEG) and are received within the first time period [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 17, Manolakos discloses wherein a wireless communication node determines a starting time of an uplink reception from one UE according to one or more Sounding Reference signal (SRS) resources that are associated with a same Transmission Reception Point Reception Timing Error Group (TRP Rx TEG) and are received within the first time period [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 18, Manolakos discloses wherein a wireless communication device determines a starting time of a downlink reception from one Transmission Reception Point (TRP) according toone or more Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) resources that are associated with a same User Equipment Reception Timing Error Group (UE Rx TEG) [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 19, Manolakos discloses wherein a wireless communication node determines a starting time of an uplink reception from one UE according to one or more Sounding Reference signal (SRS) resources that are associated with a same Transmission Reception Point Reception Timing Error Group (TRP Rx TEG) [0113-0114, 0152, 0155-0156, 0170-0172, Fig. 3, Fig. 14].
Conclusion
/ANKUR JAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649