DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Foreign
Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f) or 365 (b) is acknowledged, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Domestic
Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C.120, 121, or 365(c) or 365 (a) of any PCT Application international application is
acknowledged, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 3/20/2025 and 7/3/2025 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by Watfa (US PG Publication 2023/0076078).
Regarding claim 1, Watfa teaches
an information processing method, comprising:
sending, by a terminal, a first message to a network-side device of a first network in a case that a first condition is satisfied
([0080] When the UE is paged, the UE will initiate a service request procedure by sending the Service Request or Control Plane Service Request message. The network shall allocate a new 5G-GUTI to the UE
([0082] Requirement to allocate a new 5G-GUTI after paging),
wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following:
a request message for mobility registration update,
a request message for location update, or
a message capable of triggering the network-side device to update a temporary terminal identifier for the terminal and comprising neither request message for mobility registration update nor request message for location update
([0080] The UE will initiate a service request procedure by sending the Service Request or Control Plane Service Request message. The network shall allocate a new 5G-GUTI to the UE); and
the first condition comprises one of the following:
the terminal needs to be assigned with a new temporary terminal identifier, or the terminal needs to change a temporary terminal identifier
([0082] Requirement to allocate a new 5G-GUTI after paging).
Regarding claim 2, Watfa teaches the method according to claim 1,
wherein the first condition further comprises at least one of the following:
the terminal camps on the first network;
the terminal has been registered with the first network
([0070] Upon receiving Registration Request message of type “initial registration” or “mobility registration update” from a UE, the AMF shall send a new 5G-GUTI to the UE in the registration procedure
(Registration update indicates previous registration with the network));
the first network is a 5G system (5GS)
([0064] The purpose of the 5G-GUTI is to provide an unambiguous identification of the UE that does not reveal the UE or the user's permanent identity in the 5G System (5GS). It can be used by the network and the UE to establish the UE's identity during signaling between them in the 5GS); or
a paging conflict occurs on the terminal.
Regarding claim 3, Watfa teaches the method according to claim 1,
wherein the network-side device comprises a core network communication device
([0072] Upon receiving Service Request message sent by the UE in response to a Paging message, the AMF shall send a new 5G-GUTI to the UE
[0124] As indicated above, although the 5G CIoT features are for 5GS, the feature relies on the re-use of E-UTRA or NB-IoT RAT connected to the 5G core (5GC)).
Regarding claim 4, Watfa teaches the method according to claim 3,
wherein the core network communication device comprises a network device configured for access and/or mobility control
([0072] The AMF (Access and Mobility Management Function – see [0064])).
Regarding claim 5, Watfa teaches the method according to claim 1,
wherein the temporary terminal identifier comprises at least one of the following: a 5G globally unique temporary identity (5G GUTI) or a globally unique temporary identity (GUTI)
([0080] The network shall allocate a new 5G-GUTI to the UE).
Regarding claim 6, Watfa teaches the method according to claim 2,
wherein the terminal has been registered with the first network comprises:
the terminal is in a mobility management registered (MM-REGISTERED) state on the first network
([0070] Upon receiving Registration Request message of type “initial registration” or “mobility registration update” from a UE, the AMF shall send a new 5G-GUTI to the UE in the registration procedure
(Mobility registration update indicates previous registration with the network)).
Regarding claim 7, Watfa teaches the method according to claim 1,
wherein the request message for mobility registration update comprises a request message for mobility and periodic registration update
([0071] Upon receiving Registration Request message of type “periodic registration update” from a UE, the AMF (Access and Mobility Management Function – see [0064]) should send a new 5G-GUTI to the UE in the registration procedure).
Regarding claim 8, Watfa teaches the method according to claim 1,
wherein the temporary terminal identifier is used to generate a paging frame (PF) and/or a paging occasion (PO) related to the terminal
([0080] When the UE is paged, the UE will initiate a service request procedure by sending the Service Request or Control Plane Service Request message. After the completion of the procedure, and before the release of the NAS connection, the network shall allocate a new 5G-GUTI to the UE).
Regarding claim 9, Watfa teaches
a communication terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor
([0270] The memory 1230 may store the control information or the data included in a signal obtained by the UE 1200. The memory 1230 may be connected to the processor 1210 and store at least one instruction or a protocol or a parameter for the proposed function, process, and/or method. The memory 1230 may include read-only memory (ROM) and/or random access memory (RAM) and/or hard disk and/or CD-ROM and/or DVD and/or other storage devices),
causes the communication terminal to perform:
sending a first message to a network-side device of a first network in a case that a first condition is satisfied
([0080] When the UE is paged, the UE will initiate a service request procedure by sending the Service Request or Control Plane Service Request message. The network shall allocate a new 5G-GUTI to the UE
([0082] Requirement to allocate a new 5G-GUTI after paging),
wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following:
a request message for mobility registration update,
a request message for location update, or
a message capable of triggering the network-side device to update a temporary terminal identifier for the communication terminal or comprising neither request message for mobility registration update nor request message for location update
([0080] The UE will initiate a service request procedure by sending the Service Request or Control Plane Service Request message. The network shall allocate a new 5G-GUTI to the UE); and
the first condition comprises one of the following:
the communication terminal needs to be assigned with a new temporary terminal identifier, or the communication terminal needs to change a temporary terminal identifier
([0082] Requirement to allocate a new 5G-GUTI after paging).
Regarding claim 10, Watfa teaches the communication terminal according to claim 9,
wherein the first condition further comprises at least one of the following:
the communication terminal camps on the first network;
the communication terminal has been registered with the first network
([0070] Upon receiving Registration Request message of type “initial registration” or “mobility registration update” from a UE, the AMF shall send a new 5G-GUTI to the UE in the registration procedure
(Registration update indicates previous registration with the network));
the first network is a 5G system (5GS)
([0064] The purpose of the 5G-GUTI is to provide an unambiguous identification of the UE that does not reveal the UE or the user's permanent identity in the 5G System (5GS). It can be used by the network and the UE to establish the UE's identity during signaling between them in the 5GS); or
a paging conflict occurs on the communication terminal.
Regarding claim 11, Watfa teaches the communication terminal according to claim 9,
wherein the network-side device comprises a core network communication device
([0072] Upon receiving Service Request message sent by the UE in response to a Paging message, the AMF shall send a new 5G-GUTI to the UE
[0124] As indicated above, although the 5G CIoT features are for 5GS, the feature relies on the re-use of E-UTRA or NB-IoT RAT connected to the 5G core (5GC)).
Regarding claim 12, Watfa teaches the communication terminal according to claim 11,
wherein the core network communication device comprises a network device configured for access and/or mobility control
([0072] The AMF (Access and Mobility Management Function – see [0064])).
Regarding claim 13, Watfa teaches the communication terminal according to claim 9,
wherein the temporary terminal identifier comprises at least one of the following:
a 5G globally unique temporary identity (5G GUTI) or a globally unique temporary identity (GUTI)
([0080] The network shall allocate a new 5G-GUTI to the UE).
Regarding claim 14, Watfa teaches the communication terminal according to claim 10,
wherein the terminal has been registered with the first network comprises:
the communication terminal is in a mobility management registered (MM-REGISTERED) state on the first network
([0070] Upon receiving Registration Request message of type “initial registration” or “mobility registration update” from a UE, the AMF shall send a new 5G-GUTI to the UE in the registration procedure
(Mobility registration update indicates previous registration with the network)).
Regarding claim 15, Watfa teaches the method according to claim 9,
wherein the request message for mobility registration update comprises a request message for mobility and periodic registration update
([0071] Upon receiving Registration Request message of type “periodic registration update” from a UE, the AMF (Access and Mobility Management Function – see [0064]) should send a new 5G-GUTI to the UE in the registration procedure).
Regarding claim 16, Watfa teaches the communication terminal according to claim 9,
wherein the temporary terminal identifier is used to generate a paging frame (PF) and/or a paging occasion (PO) related to the communication terminal
([0080] When the UE is paged, the UE will initiate a service request procedure by sending the Service Request or Control Plane Service Request message. After the completion of the procedure, and before the release of the NAS connection, the network shall allocate a new 5G-GUTI to the UE).
Regarding claim 17, Watfa teaches
a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium has a program or instructions stored thereon, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by a processor of a communication terminal
([0270] The memory 1230 may store the control information or the data included in a signal obtained by the UE 1200. The memory 1230 may be connected to the processor 1210 and store at least one instruction or a protocol or a parameter for the proposed function, process, and/or method. The memory 1230 may include read-only memory (ROM) and/or random access memory (RAM) and/or hard disk and/or CD-ROM and/or DVD and/or other storage devices),
causes the processor of the communication terminal to perform:
sending a first message to a network-side device of a first network in a case that a first condition is satisfied
([0080] When the UE is paged, the UE will initiate a service request procedure by sending the Service Request or Control Plane Service Request message. The network shall allocate a new 5G-GUTI to the UE
([0082] Requirement to allocate a new 5G-GUTI after paging),
wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following:
a request message for mobility registration update,
a request message for location update, or
a message capable of triggering the network-side device to update a temporary terminal identifier for the communication terminal or comprising neither request message for mobility registration update nor request message for location update
([0080] The UE will initiate a service request procedure by sending the Service Request or Control Plane Service Request message. The network shall allocate a new 5G-GUTI to the UE); and
the first condition comprises one of the following:
the communication terminal needs to be assigned with a new temporary terminal identifier, or the communication terminal needs to change a temporary terminal identifier
([0082] Requirement to allocate a new 5G-GUTI after paging).
Regarding claim 18, Watfa teaches the non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 17,
wherein the first condition further comprises at least one of the following:
the communication terminal camps on the first network;
the communication terminal has been registered with the first network
([0070] Upon receiving Registration Request message of type “initial registration” or “mobility registration update” from a UE, the AMF shall send a new 5G-GUTI to the UE in the registration procedure
(Registration update indicates previous registration with the network));
the first network is a 5G system (5GS)
([0064] The purpose of the 5G-GUTI is to provide an unambiguous identification of the UE that does not reveal the UE or the user's permanent identity in the 5G System (5GS). It can be used by the network and the UE to establish the UE's identity during signaling between them in the 5GS); or
a paging conflict occurs on the communication terminal.
Regarding claim 19, Watfa teaches
a chip, comprising a processor and a communication interface, wherein the communication interface is coupled to the processor, and the processor is configured to run a program or instructions to implement the steps of the information processing method according to claim 1
([0266] The processor 1210 and the transceiver 1220 and the memory 1230 may be implemented as a single chip
[0270] The memory 1230 may store the control information or the data included in a signal obtained by the UE 1200. The memory 1230 may be connected to the processor 1210 and store at least one instruction or a protocol or a parameter for the proposed function, process, and/or method. The memory 1230 may include read-only memory (ROM) and/or random access memory (RAM) and/or hard disk and/or CD-ROM and/or DVD and/or other storage devices).
Regarding claim 20, Watfa teaches
a computer program product, wherein the program product is stored in a non-volatile storage medium, and the program product is executed by at least one processor to implement the steps of the information processing method according to claim 1
([0270] The memory 1230 may store the control information or the data included in a signal obtained by the UE 1200. The memory 1230 may be connected to the processor 1210 and store at least one instruction or a protocol or a parameter for the proposed function, process, and/or method. The memory 1230 may include read-only memory (ROM) and/or random access memory (RAM) and/or hard disk and/or CD-ROM and/or DVD and/or other storage devices).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee, et al (US PG Publication 2021/0105837), hereafter Lee, teaches 5G GUTI re-allocation.
Li, et al (US PG Publication 2018/0227872), hereafter Li, teaches supporting mobility management using GUTI.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK E DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641