DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to the amendment filed 7/16/2026, for which the corresponding arguments filed on the same date have been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application, with claims 1, 9 and 17 being independent. Claims 1, 9 and 17 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled or added. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but are moot, because the new ground of rejection was caused by the amendment and does not rely on any reference applied in the new rejections for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 7/16/2026 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 17 are objected to for minor informalities and require the following or other appropriate correction:
In claim 9, line 7 and claim 17, line 8, since “the terminal” is clearly referring to the “communication terminal” included in line 2 of claim 9 and line 4 of claim 17, line 7 and line 8 should be amended, as follows: “the communication terminal”, in order to correct an apparent typographical error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8-10, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Xie, et al (US PG Publication 2024/0098694), hereafter Xie.
Regarding claim 1, Xie teaches
an information processing method, comprising:
in response to determining that a first condition is satisfied, sending, by a Multi-Universal Subscriber Identity Module (MUSIM) terminal, a first message to a network-side device of a first network, wherein the first condition comprises one of the following: the terminal needs to be assigned with a new temporary terminal identifier, or the terminal needs to change a temporary terminal identifier
([0029] There may be timing conflicts for the PO. For example, when the UE is a multi-subscriber identity module (MSIM) device (e.g., with multiple subscriptions). There may be a collision between paging occasions POs of the two subscriptions, and a subscription may miss a paging message from the base station
[0030] UE may transmit a registration request to a base station to trigger a transmission of a new TMSI to update the timing of POs for paging messages); and
the first message comprises at least one of the following:
a request message for mobility registration update
([0095] Thus, at 325, UE 115-b may initialize an additional registration procedure 330. For example, a subscription of UE 115-b may trigger an RRC registration request with type mobility registration updating based on lower layer indication. UE 115-b may change the PF and PO for monitoring for paging messages by updating the TMSI (e.g., a 5G-S-TMSI) through initializing the registration procedure 330. The registration procedure 330 may involve UE 115-b transmitting a registration request at 335. At 340, base station 105-b may transmit a registration accept including an indication of a new TMSI),
a request message for location update, or
a message capable of triggering the network-side device to update a temporary terminal identifier for the terminal and comprising neither request message for mobility registration update nor request message for location update.
Regarding claim 2, Xie teaches the method according to claim 1,
wherein the first condition further comprises at least one of the following:
the terminal camps on the first network;
the terminal has been registered with the first network;
the first network is a 5G system (5GS)
([0095] Thus, at 325, UE 115-b may initialize an additional registration procedure 330. For example, a subscription of UE 115-b may trigger an RRC registration request with type mobility registration updating based on lower layer indication. UE 115-b may change the PF and PO for monitoring for paging messages by updating the TMSI (e.g., a 5G-S-TMSI) through initializing the registration procedure 330. The registration procedure 330 may involve UE 115-b transmitting a registration request at 335. At 340, base station 105-b may transmit a registration accept including an indication of a new TMSI); or
a paging conflict occurs on the terminal
([0029] There may be a collision between paging occasions POs of the two subscriptions).
Regarding claim 8, Xie teaches the method according to claim 1,
wherein the temporary terminal identifier is used to generate a paging frame (PF) and/or a paging occasion (PO) related to the terminal
([0030] UE may transmit a registration request to a base station to trigger a transmission of a new TMSI to update the timing of Pos (paging occasions) for paging messages. In some cases, the UE may establish a connection with a base station and may receive a TMSI identifying a PO for a periodic set of POs. If the new PO satisfies the threshold timing value, the UE may monitor the new PO for the paging messages).
Regarding claim 9, Xie teaches
a Multi-Universal Subscriber Identity Module (MUSIM) communication terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the communication terminal to perform
([0006] A UE apparatus for wireless communications includes a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory that may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus
[0029] The UE is a multi-subscriber identity module (MSIM) device (e.g., with multiple subscriptions)):
in response to determining that a first condition is satisfied, sending a first message to a network-side device of a first network, wherein the first condition comprises one of the following: the terminal needs to be assigned with a new temporary terminal identifier, or the terminal needs to change a temporary terminal identifier
([0030] UE may transmit a registration request to a base station to trigger a transmission of a new TMSI to update the timing of POs for paging messages); and
the first message comprises at least one of the following:
a request message for mobility registration update
([0095] Thus, at 325, UE 115-b may initialize an additional registration procedure 330. For example, a subscription of UE 115-b may trigger an RRC registration request with type mobility registration updating based on lower layer indication. UE 115-b may change the PF and PO for monitoring for paging messages by updating the TMSI (e.g., a 5G-S-TMSI) through initializing the registration procedure 330. The registration procedure 330 may involve UE 115-b transmitting a registration request at 335. At 340, base station 105-b may transmit a registration accept including an indication of a new TMSI),
a request message for location update, or
a message capable of triggering the network-side device to update a temporary terminal identifier for the communication terminal or comprising neither request message for mobility registration update nor request message for location update.
Regarding claim 10, Xie teaches the communication terminal according to claim 9,
wherein the first condition further comprises at least one of the following:
the communication terminal camps on the first network;
the communication terminal has been registered with the first network;
the first network is a 5G system (5GS)
([0095] Thus, at 325, UE 115-b may initialize an additional registration procedure 330. For example, a subscription of UE 115-b may trigger an RRC registration request with type mobility registration updating based on lower layer indication. UE 115-b may change the PF and PO for monitoring for paging messages by updating the TMSI (e.g., a 5G-S-TMSI) through initializing the registration procedure 330. The registration procedure 330 may involve UE 115-b transmitting a registration request at 335. At 340, base station 105-b may transmit a registration accept including an indication of a new TMSI); or
a paging conflict occurs on the communication terminal
([0029] There may be a collision between paging occasions POs of the two subscriptions).
Regarding claim 16, Xie teaches the communication terminal according to claim 9,
wherein the temporary terminal identifier is used to generate a paging frame (PF) and/or a paging occasion (PO) related to the communication terminal
([0030] UE may transmit a registration request to a base station to trigger a transmission of a new TMSI to update the timing of Pos (paging occasions) for paging messages. In some cases, the UE may establish a connection with a base station and may receive a TMSI identifying a PO for a periodic set of POs. If the new PO satisfies the threshold timing value, the UE may monitor the new PO for the paging messages).
Regarding claim 17, Xie teaches
a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium has a program or instructions stored thereon, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by a processor of a Multi-Universal Subscriber Identity Module (MUSIM) communication terminal, causes the processor of the communication terminal to perform
([0008] A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications at a UE is described. The code may include instructions executable by a processor to):
in response to determining that a first condition is satisfied, sending a first message to a network-side device of a first network, wherein the first condition comprises one of the following: the terminal needs to be assigned with a new temporary terminal identifier, or the terminal needs to change a temporary terminal identifier
([0030] UE may transmit a registration request to a base station to trigger a transmission of a new TMSI to update the timing of POs for paging messages); and
the first message comprises at least one of the following:
a request message for mobility registration update
([0095] Thus, at 325, UE 115-b may initialize an additional registration procedure 330. For example, a subscription of UE 115-b may trigger an RRC registration request with type mobility registration updating based on lower layer indication. UE 115-b may change the PF and PO for monitoring for paging messages by updating the TMSI (e.g., a 5G-S-TMSI) through initializing the registration procedure 330. The registration procedure 330 may involve UE 115-b transmitting a registration request at 335. At 340, base station 105-b may transmit a registration accept including an indication of a new TMSI),
a request message for location update, or
a message capable of triggering the network-side device to update a temporary terminal identifier for the communication terminal or comprising neither request message for mobility registration update nor request message for location update.
Regarding claim 18, Xie teaches the non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 17,
wherein the first condition further comprises at least one of the following:
the communication terminal camps on the first network;
the communication terminal has been registered with the first network;
the first network is a 5G system (5GS)
([0095] Thus, at 325, UE 115-b may initialize an additional registration procedure 330. For example, a subscription of UE 115-b may trigger an RRC registration request with type mobility registration updating based on lower layer indication. UE 115-b may change the PF and PO for monitoring for paging messages by updating the TMSI (e.g., a 5G-S-TMSI) through initializing the registration procedure 330. The registration procedure 330 may involve UE 115-b transmitting a registration request at 335. At 340, base station 105-b may transmit a registration accept including an indication of a new TMSI); or
a paging conflict occurs on the communication terminal
([0029] There may be a collision between paging occasions POs of the two subscriptions).
Regarding claim 19, Xie teaches
a chip, comprising a processor and a communication interface, wherein the communication interface is coupled to the processor, and the processor is configured to run a program or instructions to implement the steps of the information processing method according to claim 1
(([0006] A UE apparatus for wireless communications includes a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory that may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus).
Regarding claim 20, Xie teaches
a computer program product, wherein the program product is stored in a non-volatile storage medium, and the program product is executed by at least one processor to implement the steps of the information processing method according to claim 1
([0008] A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications at a UE is described. The code may include instructions executable by a processor to).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie, in view of Ly, et al (US PG Publication 2022/0240213), hereafter Ly.
Regarding claim 3, Xie teaches the method according to claim 1.
Xie does not teach
wherein the network-side device comprises a core network communication device.
In the same field of endeavor, Ly teaches
wherein the network-side device comprises a core network communication device
([0317] UE communicates its support of multi-SIM functionalities to the core network using the newly proposed registration requests
[0469] The UE may also include these parameters within e.g. a mobility registration update or a periodic registration update procedure, after the UE has determined a potential paging collision exists between the POs of the two SIMs and is requesting a new temporary identifier (and associate PO) from the CN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Xie, which includes Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, to include Ly’s teaching of Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, for the benefit of enhancing cellular systems to support the use of multi-Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) User Equipments (UEs) (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 4, Xie, in view of Ly, teaches the method according to claim 3.
Ly further teaches
wherein the core network communication device comprises a network device configured for access and/or mobility control
([0469] The UE may also include these parameters within e.g. a mobility registration update or a periodic registration update procedure, after the UE has determined a potential paging collision exists between the POs of the two SIMs and is requesting a new temporary identifier (and associate PO) from the CN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Xie, in view of Ly, which includes Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, to include Ly’s teaching of Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, for the benefit of enhancing cellular systems to support the use of multi-Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) User Equipments (UEs) (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 5, Xie teaches the method according to claim 1.
Xie does not teach
wherein the temporary terminal identifier comprises at least one of the following: a 5G globally unique temporary identity (5G GUTI) or a globally unique temporary identity (GUTI).
In the same field of endeavor, Ly teaches
wherein the temporary terminal identifier comprises at least one of the following: a 5G globally unique temporary identity (5G GUTI) or a globally unique temporary identity (GUTI)
([0317] UE communicates its support of multi-SIM functionalities to the core network using the newly proposed registration requests
[0467] The registration request may also include an identifier for the other SIM, e.g. IMSI or 5G-GUTI, to inform the core network that the UE supports multiple SIMs and possibly provide certain network optimizations relating the registrations of the multiple SIMs. With the multi-SIM indicator and the identifier of the other SIM, the core network may be able to assign a temporary identifier for the current SIM whose paging occasion aligns with the paging occasion of the other SIM as described above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Xie, which includes Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, to include Ly’s teaching of Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, for the benefit of enhancing cellular systems to support the use of multi-Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) User Equipments (UEs) (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 6, Xie teaches the method according to claim 2.
Xie does not teach
wherein the terminal has been registered with the first network comprises:
the terminal is in a mobility management registered (MM-REGISTERED) state on the first network
In the same field of endeavor, Ly teaches
wherein the terminal has been registered with the first network comprises:
the terminal is in a mobility management registered (MM-REGISTERED) state on the first network
([0369] Another enhancement for both 5G and LTE systems to support multiple SIMs is through the introduction of a MUSIM registration or attach procedure in which a UE may register multiple SIMs in the same registration or attach request
[0370] Since SIM1 is the primary SIM, the EMM state for SIM1 in the MME will be set to EMM-REGISTERED if the attach is successful).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Xie, which includes Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, to include Ly’s teaching of Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, for the benefit of enhancing cellular systems to support the use of multi-Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) User Equipments (UEs) (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 7, Xie teaches the method according to claim 1.
Xie does not teach
wherein the request message for mobility registration update comprises a request message for mobility and periodic registration update.
In the same field of endeavor, Ly teaches
wherein the request message for mobility registration update comprises a request message for mobility and periodic registration update
([0317] UE communicates its support of multi-SIM functionalities to the core network using the newly proposed registration requests
[0469] The UE may also include these parameters within e.g. a mobility registration update or a periodic registration update procedure, after the UE has determined a potential paging collision exists between the POs of the two SIMs and is requesting a new temporary identifier (and associate PO) from the CN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Xie, which includes Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, to include Ly’s teaching of Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, for the benefit of enhancing cellular systems to support the use of multi-Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) User Equipments (UEs) (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 11, Xie teaches the communication terminal according to claim 9.
Xie does not teach
wherein the network-side device comprises a core network communication device.
In the same field of endeavor, Ly teaches
wherein the network-side device comprises a core network communication device
([0317] UE communicates its support of multi-SIM functionalities to the core network using the newly proposed registration requests
[0469] The UE may also include these parameters within e.g. a mobility registration update or a periodic registration update procedure, after the UE has determined a potential paging collision exists between the POs of the two SIMs and is requesting a new temporary identifier (and associate PO) from the CN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Xie, which includes Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, to include Ly’s teaching of Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, for the benefit of enhancing cellular systems to support the use of multi-Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) User Equipments (UEs) (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 12, Xie, in view of Ly, teaches the communication terminal according to claim 11.
Ly further teaches
wherein the core network communication device comprises a network device configured for access and/or mobility control
([0469] The UE may also include these parameters within e.g. a mobility registration update or a periodic registration update procedure, after the UE has determined a potential paging collision exists between the POs of the two SIMs and is requesting a new temporary identifier (and associate PO) from the CN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Xie, in view of Ly, which includes Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, to include Ly’s teaching of Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, for the benefit of enhancing cellular systems to support the use of multi-Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) User Equipments (UEs) (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 13, Xie teaches the communication terminal according to claim 9.
Xie does not teach
wherein the temporary terminal identifier comprises at least one of the following:
a 5G globally unique temporary identity (5G GUTI) or a globally unique temporary identity (GUTI).
In the same field of endeavor, Ly teaches
wherein the temporary terminal identifier comprises at least one of the following:
a 5G globally unique temporary identity (5G GUTI) or a globally unique temporary identity (GUTI)
([0317] UE communicates its support of multi-SIM functionalities to the core network using the newly proposed registration requests
[0467] The registration request may also include an identifier for the other SIM, e.g. IMSI or 5G-GUTI, to inform the core network that the UE supports multiple SIMs and possibly provide certain network optimizations relating the registrations of the multiple SIMs. With the multi-SIM indicator and the identifier of the other SIM, the core network may be able to assign a temporary identifier for the current SIM whose paging occasion aligns with the paging occasion of the other SIM as described above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Xie, which includes Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, to include Ly’s teaching of Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, for the benefit of enhancing cellular systems to support the use of multi-Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) User Equipments (UEs) (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 14, Xie teaches the communication terminal according to claim 10.
Xie does not teach
wherein the terminal has been registered with the first network comprises:
the communication terminal is in a mobility management registered (MM-REGISTERED) state on the first network.
In the same field of endeavor, Ly teaches
wherein the terminal has been registered with the first network comprises:
the communication terminal is in a mobility management registered (MM-REGISTERED) state on the first network
([0369] Another enhancement for both 5G and LTE systems to support multiple SIMs is through the introduction of a MUSIM registration or attach procedure in which a UE may register multiple SIMs in the same registration or attach request
[0370] Since SIM1 is the primary SIM, the EMM state for SIM1 in the MME will be set to EMM-REGISTERED if the attach is successful).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Xie, which includes Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, to include Ly’s teaching of Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, for the benefit of enhancing cellular systems to support the use of multi-Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) User Equipments (UEs) (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 15, Xie teaches the method according to claim 9.
Xie does not teach
wherein the request message for mobility registration update comprises a request message for mobility and periodic registration update.
In the same field of endeavor, Ly teaches
wherein the request message for mobility registration update comprises a request message for mobility and periodic registration update
([0317] UE communicates its support of multi-SIM functionalities to the core network using the newly proposed registration requests
[0469] The UE may also include these parameters within e.g. a mobility registration update or a periodic registration update procedure, after the UE has determined a potential paging collision exists between the POs of the two SIMs and is requesting a new temporary identifier (and associate PO) from the CN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Xie, which includes Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, to include Ly’s teaching of Multi-SIM UE requesting of temporary identifier, for the benefit of enhancing cellular systems to support the use of multi-Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) User Equipments (UEs) (see [0002]).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art Not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li, et al (US PG Publication 2021/0127256), hereafter Li, teaches the two SIM cards work in the LTE standard. If the first SIM card determines to receive the paging message in a future time period (for example, the first time period), the information input module may send a notification to the resource scheduling module, to notify the resource scheduling module that the first SIM card needs to receive the paging message in the first time period.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK E DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641