DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities:
“A battery module, comprising a plurality of battery assemblies the plurality…” is missing a comma after “assemblies”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding et al. (CN 113764781; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet).
Ding meets the claimed,
A battery assembly ([n0006] and Fig. 2 teach a battery assembly), comprising: a battery cell configured to provide energy and has a peripheral side face ([n0030] and Fig. 4 teaches a battery cell with a peripheral side face); and a heating film attached to the peripheral side of the battery cell for heating the battery ([n0030] and Fig. 4 teaches a heating film attached to the peripheral side of the battery cell), wherein the heating film comprises a first insulating layer ([n0030] and Fig. 4 teaches a first insulating layer 2), a heating layer ([n0030] and Fig. 4 teaches a heating layer 3), and a second insulating layer that are sequentially stacked ([n0030] and Fig. 4 teaches a second insulating layer 2, and that the layers are stacked sequentially), the first insulating layer is closer to the peripheral side face of the battery cell than the second insulating layer ([n0030] and Fig. 4 teach that the first insulating layer is closer to the peripheral side face of the battery cell than the second insulating layer), and the heating layer is configured to receive a current to generate heat energy to heat the battery cell ([n0034] teaches that electrode 4 is energized to heat the heating layer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (CN 113764781; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet).
The examiner notes that this claim is directed towards a product. Product claims are not limited by the manipulation of the recited steps only the structure implied by the steps. In particular, the step being referenced in the claim is “the heating film is formed by bending a rectangular heating film and attaching the rectangular heating film to the peripheral side face of the battery cell”. Since the product of the prior art is substantially identical to that of the instant claim, the burden shifts to the Applicant to show a nonobvious difference (see MPEP 2113).
Further, Ding meets the non-step-related limitations of the claimed,
The battery assembly of claim 1, wherein the heating film is formed by bending a rectangular heating film and attaching the rectangular heating film to the peripheral side face of the battery cell ([n0030] and Fig. 2 teaches the heating film wrapping around the peripheral side face of the battery cell).
Ding does not specifically teach a central angle of more than 0° and less than or equal to 15°. However, Ding does teach that a heating film that fully wraps around the outer surface of each battery. In the case where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close, there exists a prima facie case of obviousness (See MPEP 2144.05). In this case, the central angle of, or approximately of, 0° as taught by Ding is substantially close to the claimed angle of more than 0°.
Claim(s) 2, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (CN 113764781; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet) in view of Huang (CN 109428137; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet).
Regarding Claim 2,
Ding does not specifically teach a plurality of heating sub-portions.
Wu teaches a secondary battery with a heating layer disposed between batteries.
Wu meets the claimed,
The battery assembly of claim 1, wherein the heating layer comprises a heating portion ([0045] and Fig. 6 teaches a main body portion 141 of conductive heating element 14), the heating portion comprises a plurality of heating sub-portions ([0045] and Fig. 6 teaches a main body portion 141 of conductive heating element 14), each of the plurality of heating sub-portions extends in a circumferential direction of the battery cell ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach the heating sub-portions extending in a horizontal, or circumferential, direction), and the plurality of heating sub-portions are arranged at intervals in a height direction of the battery cell ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach the heating sub-portions stacked in a height direction of the battery) and sequentially connected end to end ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach that the heating sub-portions are connected sequentially end to end through curved sections).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the heating layer components as taught by Wu in the battery heating layer as taught by Ding in order to achieve a more uniform and thorough heating of the battery.
Regarding Claim 4,
Ding does not specifically teach lead portions directly attached to the heating layer, though it does teach aluminum strips attached to the electrodes of the heating layer, which can be understood to be “lead portions”.
Wu teaches a secondary battery with a heating layer disposed between batteries.
Wu meets the claimed,
The battery assembly of claim 2, wherein the heating layer further comprises a first lead portion and a second lead portion ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach a first connecting portion 142 and a second connecting portion 143), the first lead portion is electrically connected to one end of the heating portion ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach that first connecting portion 142 is electrically connected to main body 141), the second lead portion is electrically connected to another end of the heating portion away from the first lead portion ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach that second connecting portion 143 is connected to the other end of main body 141), and the first lead portion is spaced apart from the second lead portion ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach that the first connecting portion 142 and second connecting portion 143 are spaced apart from each other).
Since it has been established that it would have been obvious to use the heating layer of Wu with Ding, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further use the structure of the heating portion as taught by Wu for use in the battery heating layer as taught by Ding.
Regarding Claim 6,
Ding does not particularly teach exposed lead portions relative to the insulating layer.
Wu teaches a secondary battery with a heating layer disposed between batteries.
Wu meets the claimed,
The battery assembly of claim 4, wherein the first lead portion is exposed from the second insulating layer ([0048] teaches that the first connecting part 142 is connected to the top cover plate 131, which means that first connecting part 142 would have to be exposed from the second insulating layer), and the second lead portion is exposed from the second insulating layer ([0048] teaches that the second connecting part 143 is connected to the top cover plate 131,).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further use the structure of the heating portion as taught by Wu for use in the battery heating layer as taught by Ding.
The resulting combination of Ding and Wu yields a set of connecting portions (lead portions) as per Wu, that are kept within an insulating layer as per Ding, but also connected to a top cover plate, which means the connecting portions must extend past the insulating layer.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (CN 113764781; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet) in view of Wu (CN 109428137; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet) and Yu et al. (CN 107170925; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet).
Regarding Claim 5,
Ding meets the claimed,
The battery assembly of claim 4, further comprising a first end face and a second end face (Fig. 2 and Fig. 4 teach that the battery cells have a first end face and a second end face), wherein the first end face is located at one of two opposite ends of the battery cell and is connected to the battery cell (Fig. 2 and Fig. 4 teach a first end face at one end of the battery), and the second end face is located at the other of the two opposite ends of the battery cell and is connected to the battery cell (Fig. 2 and Fig. 4 teach a second end face at the other end of the battery);
Ding does not teach lead portions nor sub-portions to the lead portions as attached to the heating layer or heating portion. However, Ding does teach aluminum strips connected to the heating layer, which may be understood to be some form of a lead portion, and are themselves connected to control external, however, it is not explicitly taught to be a lead portion, nor is there a particular teaching of a sub-portion.
Wu teaches a secondary battery with a heating layer disposed between batteries.
Wu meets the claimed,
[…] and the first lead portion comprises a first lead sub-portion ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach a first lead sub-portion just below first connecting portion 142) and a second lead sub-portion ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach a tab that sticks out as first connecting portion 142) that is connected to the first lead sub-portion in a bending manner ([0048] and Figs. 5 and 6 teach that the first connecting part 142 is connected to the top cover plate 131, which means that first connecting part 142 must be bent with respect to the section below it), one end of the first lead sub-portion away from the second lead sub-portion is electrically connected to the heating portion ([0048] and Fig. 6 teach that the end of the first connecting part 142 away from the second lead sub-portion is connected to the main body 141), the first lead sub-portion is arranged on the peripheral side face ([0048] and Fig. 6 teach that the section just below first connecting portion 142 is on the peripheral side face), and the second lead sub-portion is connected to the first lead sub-portion in a bending manner, and is attached to the first end face ([0048] teaches that the first connecting part 142 is connected to the top cover plate 131, which means that first connecting part 142 must be bent with respect to the section below it); and the second lead portion comprises a third lead sub-portion ([0048] and Fig. 6 teach a section below second connecting portion 143) and a fourth lead sub-portion ([0048] and Fig. 6 teach second connecting portion 143) that is connected to the third lead sub-portion in a bending manner ([0048] teaches that the second connecting part 143 is connected to the top cover plate 131, which means that second connecting part 143 must be bent with respect to the section below it), one end of the third lead sub-portion away from the fourth lead sub-portion is electrically connected to the heating portion ([0048] and Fig. 6 teach that the end of the second connecting part 143 away from the third lead sub-portion is connected to the main body 141), the third lead sub-portion is arranged on the peripheral side face ([0048] and Fig. 6 teach that the section just below second connecting portion 143 is on the peripheral side face).
Annotated Diagram using Wu Fig. 6.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further use the structure of the heating portion as taught by Wu for use in the battery heating layer as taught by Ding.
Ding/Wu does not teach a lead sub-portion attached to the second end face.
Yu teaches a battery unit with an electric heating device.
Yu meets the claimed,
[…] and is attached to the second end face ([0052], Fig. 1, and Fig. 2 teach that the heating portion can have its lead sticking out the opposite end of the battery and would thus be attached to the second end face).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the arrangement of the leads as taught by Yu in the heating device as taught by Ding/Wu in order to simplify the wiring and avoid tangling wires (See Yu [0056]).
Claim(s) 7, 9, 13-14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (CN 113764781; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet) in view of Yoon (US 2023/0280409).
Regarding Claim 7, Ding meets the claimed,
A battery module, comprising a plurality of battery assemblies ([n0030] and Fig. 2 teach multiple battery assemblies in a larger battery module) […] and each of the plurality of battery assemblies comprising a battery cell and a heating film ([n0030] and Fig. 2 teaches that each battery assembly comprises a battery cell and a heating film 10), wherein the battery cell is configured to provide energy and has a peripheral side face ([n0030] and Fig. 4 teaches a battery cell with a peripheral side face); and the heating film is attached to the peripheral side face of the battery cell for heating the battery cell ([n0030] and Fig. 4 teaches a heating film attached to the peripheral side of the battery cell), wherein the heating film comprises a first insulating layer ([n0030] and Fig. 4 teaches a first insulating layer 2), a heating layer ([n0030] and Fig. 4 teaches a heating layer 3), and a second insulating layer that are sequentially stacked ([n0030] and Fig. 4 teaches a second insulating layer 2, and that the layers are stacked sequentially), the first insulating layer is closer to the peripheral side face of the battery cell than the second insulating layer ([n0030] and Fig. 4 teach that the first insulating layer is closer to the peripheral side face of the battery cell than the second insulating layer), and the heating layer is configured to receive a current to generate heat energy to heat the battery cell ([n0034] teaches that electrode 4 is energized to heat the heating layer).
Ding does not specifically teach the battery assemblies being electrically connected to one another via series or parallel connection, though the examiner notes that this is common practice in the formation of battery modules.
Yoon teaches a plurality of batteries in a battery module.
Yoon meets the claimed,
[…] the plurality of battery assemblies being electrically connected to one another at least one of series connection or parallel connection ([0004] teaches that a plurality of battery cells is typically connected in series and/or parallel).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to connect all the batteries in series or parallel connection as taught by Yoon in order to obtain a higher total capacity.
Regarding Claim 9,
The examiner notes that this claim is directed towards a product. Product claims are not limited by the manipulation of the recited steps only the structure implied by the steps. Since the product of the prior art is substantially identical to that of the instant claim, the burden shifts to the Applicant to show a nonobvious difference (see MPEP 2113).
Further, Ding meets the non-step-related limitations of the claimed,
The battery assembly of claim 1, wherein the heating film is formed by bending a rectangular heating film and attaching the rectangular heating film to the peripheral side face of the battery cell ([n0030] and Fig. 2 teaches the heating film wrapping around the peripheral side face of the battery cell).
Ding does not specifically teach a central angle of more than 0° and less than or equal to 15°. However, Ding does teach that a heating film that full wraps around the outer surface of each battery. In the case where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close, there exists a prima facie case of obviousness (See MPEP 2144.05). In this case, the central angle of, or approximately of, 0° as taught by Ding is substantially close to the claimed angle of more than 0°.
Regarding Claim 13,
Ding meets the claimed,
The battery module of claim 7, further comprising a mounting assembly (Fig. 2 teaches a mounting assembly), wherein the mounting assembly comprises a first mounting member (Fig. 2 teaches a first mounting member) and a second mounting member spaced apart from the first mounting member (Fig. 2 teaches a bottom mounting member spaced apart from the top mounting member), the plurality of battery assemblies are arranged in an array between the first mounting member and the second mounting member (Fig. 2 and [n0030] teaches battery 20 between the top mounting member and bottom mounting member), and the first mounting member and the second mounting member are both configured to fix the plurality of battery assemblies (Fig. 2 teaches that the mounting members have grooves built in to accommodate the battery assemblies).
Regarding Claim 14,
Ding meets the claimed,
The battery module of claim 13, wherein the first mounting member defines a plurality of first grooves arranged in an array (Fig. 2 teaches a plurality of first grooves arranged in an array on the first mounting member), the second mounting member defines a plurality of second grooves arranged in an array (Fig. 2 teaches a plurality of second grooves arranged in an array on the second mounting member), the plurality of first grooves and the plurality of second grooves are arranged in one-to-one correspondence in a height direction of the battery cell (Fig. 2 teaches that each groove corresponds to another groove on the other mounting member in a height direction of the battery cell), and the plurality of first grooves and the plurality of second grooves are cooperatively configured to fix the plurality of battery assemblies (Fig. 2 teaches that the two sets of grooves are cooperatively configured to fix the plurality of battery assemblies).
Regarding Claim 18,
Ding meets the claimed,
An electricity-consumption apparatus ([n0002] teaches that the battery pack and heating film is to be used in an electric vehicle), comprising: an apparatus body ([n0002] teaches that the battery pack and heating film is to be used in an electric vehicle, and an electric vehicle is necessarily an apparatus body); and a battery module configured to power the apparatus body and comprising a plurality of battery assemblies ([n0030] and Fig. 2 teach multiple battery assemblies in a larger battery module), […] and each of the plurality of battery assemblies comprises a battery cell and a heating film ([n0030] and Fig. 2 teaches that each battery assembly comprises a battery cell and a heating film 10); wherein the battery cell is configured to provide energy and has a peripheral side face ([n0030] and Fig. 4 teaches a battery cell with a peripheral side face); and wherein the heating film is attached to the peripheral side face of the battery cell for heating the battery cell ([n0030] and Fig. 4 teaches a heating film attached to the peripheral side of the battery cell), wherein the heating film comprises a first insulating layer ([n0030] and Fig. 4 teaches a first insulating layer 2), a heating layer ([n0030] and Fig. 4 teaches a heating layer 3), and a second insulating layer that are sequentially stacked ([n0030] and Fig. 4 teaches a second insulating layer 2, and that the layers are stacked sequentially), the first insulating layer is closer to the peripheral side face of the battery cell than the second insulating layer ([n0030] and Fig. 4 teach that the first insulating layer is closer to the peripheral side face of the battery cell than the second insulating layer), and the heating layer is configured to receive a current to generate heat energy to heat the battery cell ([n0034] teaches that electrode 4 is energized to heat the heating layer).
Ding does not specifically teach the battery assemblies being electrically connected to one another via series or parallel connection, though the examiner notes that this is common practice in the formation of battery modules.
Yoon teaches a plurality of batteries in a battery module.
Yoon meets the claimed,
[…] wherein the plurality of battery assembles are electrically connected to one another in at least one of series connection or parallel connection ([0004] teaches that a plurality of battery cells is typically connected in series and/or parallel).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to connect all the batteries in series or parallel connection as taught by Yoon in order to obtain a higher capacity.
Claim(s) 8, 10, 12, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (CN 113764781; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet) in view of Yoon (US 2023/0280409) and further in view of Wu et al. (CN 109428137; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet).
Regarding Claim 8,
Ding/Yoon does not particularly teach a specific heating portion with heating sub-portions.
Wu teaches a secondary battery with a heating layer disposed between batteries.
Wu meets the claimed,
The battery module of claim 7, wherein the heating layer comprises a heating portion ([0045] and Fig. 6 teaches a main body portion 141 of conductive heating element 14), the heating portion comprises a plurality of heating sub-portions ([0045] and Fig. 6 teaches a main body portion 141 of conductive heating element 14), each of the plurality of heating sub-portions extends in a circumferential direction of the battery cell ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach the heating sub-portions extending in a horizontal, or circumferential, direction), and the plurality of heating sub-portions are arranged at intervals in a height direction of the battery cell ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach the heating sub-portions stacked in a height direction of the battery) and sequentially connected end to end ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach that the heating sub-portions are connected sequentially end to end through curved sections).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the heating layer components as taught by Wu in the battery heating layer as taught by Ding/Yoon in order to achieve a more uniform and thorough heating of the battery.
Regarding Claim 10,
Ding/Yoon does not specifically teach lead portions directly attached to the heating layer, though it does teach aluminum strips attached to the electrodes of the heating layer, which can be understood to be “lead portions”.
Wu teaches a secondary battery with a heating layer disposed between batteries.
Wu meets the claimed,
The battery module of claim 8, wherein the heating layer further comprises a first lead portion and a second lead portion ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach a first connecting portion 142 and a second connecting portion 143), the first lead portion is electrically connected to one end of the heating portion ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach that first connecting portion 142 is electrically connected to main body 141), the second lead portion is electrically connected to another end of the heating portion away from the first lead portion ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach that second connecting portion 143 is connected to the other end of main body 141), and the first lead portion is spaced apart from the second lead portion ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach that the first connecting portion 142 and second connecting portion 143 are spaced apart from each other).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further use the structure of the heating portion as taught by Wu for use in the battery heating layer as taught by Ding/Yoon.
Regarding Claim 12,
Ding/Yoon does not particularly teach exposed lead portions relative to the insulating layer.
Wu teaches a secondary battery with a heating layer disposed between batteries.
Wu meets the claimed,
The battery module of claim 10, wherein the first lead portion is exposed from the second insulating layer ([0048] teaches that the first connecting part 142 is connected to the top cover plate 131, which means that first connecting part 142 would have to be exposed from the second insulating layer), and the second lead portion is exposed from the second insulating layer ([0048] teaches that the second connecting part 143 is connected to the top cover plate 131, which means that second connecting part 143 would have to be exposed from the second insulating layer).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further use the structure of the heating portion as taught by Wu for use in the battery heating layer as taught by Ding/Yoon.
Regarding Claim 19,
Ding/Yoon does not particularly teach a specific heating portion with heating sub-portions.
Wu teaches a secondary battery with a heating layer disposed between batteries.
Wu meets the claimed,
The electricity-consumption apparatus of claim 18, wherein the heating layer comprises a heating portion ([0045] and Fig. 6 teaches a main body portion 141 of conductive heating element 14), the heating portion comprises a plurality of heating sub-portions ([0045] and Fig. 6 teaches a main body portion 141 of conductive heating element 14 separated into multiple horizontal elements constituting heating sub-portions), each of the plurality of heating sub-portions extends in a circumferential direction of the battery cell ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach the heating sub-portions extending in a horizontal, or circumferential, direction), and the plurality of heating sub-portions are arranged at intervals in a height direction of the battery cell ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach the heating sub-portions stacked in a height direction of the battery) and sequentially connected end to end ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach that the heating sub-portions are connected sequentially end to end through curved sections).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the heating layer components as taught by Wu in the battery heating layer as taught by Ding/Yoon in order to achieve a more uniform and thorough heating of the battery.
Regarding Claim 20,
The examiner notes that this claim is directed towards a product. Product claims are not limited by the manipulation of the recited steps only the structure implied by the steps. Since the product of the prior art is substantially identical to that of the instant claim, the burden shifts to the Applicant to show a nonobvious difference (see MPEP 2113).
Further, Ding meets the non-step-related limitations of the claimed,
The battery assembly of claim 1, wherein the heating film is formed by bending a rectangular heating film and attaching the rectangular heating film to the peripheral side face of the battery cell ([n0030] and Fig. 2 teaches the heating film wrapping around the peripheral side face of the battery cell).
Ding does not specifically teach a central angle of more than 0° and less than or equal to 15°. However, Ding does teach that a heating film that full wraps around the outer surface of each battery. In the case where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close, there exists a prima facie case of obviousness (See MPEP 2144.05). In this case, the central angle of, or approximately of, 0° as taught by Ding is substantially close to the claimed 0° as claimed.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (CN 113764781; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet) in view of Yoon (US 2023/0280409) and Wu et al. (CN 109428137; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet) and further in view of Yu et al. (CN 107170925; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet).
Ding meets the claimed,
The battery module of claim 10, further comprising a first end face and a second end face (Fig. 2 and Fig. 4 teach that the battery cells have a first end face and a second end face), wherein the first end face is located at one of two opposite ends of the battery cell and is connected to the battery cell (Fig. 2 and Fig. 4 teach a first end face at one end of the battery), and the second end face is located at the other of the two opposite ends of the battery cell and is connected to the battery cell (Fig. 2 and Fig. 4 teach a second end face at the other end of the battery);
Ding does not teach lead portions nor sub-portions to the lead portions as attached to the heating layer or heating portion. However, Ding does teach aluminum strips connected to the heating layer, which may be understood to be some form of a lead portion, and are themselves connected to control external, however, it is not explicitly taught to be a lead portion, nor is there a particular teaching of a sub-portion.
Wu teaches a secondary battery with a heating layer disposed between batteries.
Wu meets the claimed,
[…] and the first lead portion comprises a first lead sub-portion ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach a first lead sub-portion just below first connecting portion 142) and a second lead sub-portion ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach a tab that sticks out as first connecting portion 142) that is connected to the first lead sub-portion in a bending manner ([0048] teaches that the first connecting part 142 is connected to the top cover plate 131, which means that first connecting part 142 must be bent with respect to the section below it), one end of the first lead sub-portion away from the second lead sub-portion is electrically connected to the heating portion ([0048] and Fig. 6 teach that the end of the first connecting part 142 away from the second lead sub-portion is connected to the main body 141), the first lead sub-portion is arranged on the peripheral side face ([0048] and Fig. 6 teach that the section just below first connecting portion 142 is on the peripheral side face), and the second lead sub-portion is connected to the first lead sub-portion in a bending manner, and is attached to the first end face ([0048] teaches that the first connecting part 142 is connected to the top cover plate 131, which means that first connecting part 142 must be bent with respect to the section below it); and the second lead portion comprises a third lead sub-portion ([0048] and Fig. 6 teach a section below second connecting portion 143) and a fourth lead sub-portion ([0048] and Fig. 6 teach second connecting portion 143) that is connected to the third lead sub-portion in a bending manner ([0048] teaches that the second connecting part 143 is connected to the top cover plate 131, which means that second connecting part 143 must be bent with respect to the section below it), one end of the third lead sub-portion away from the fourth lead sub-portion is electrically connected to the heating portion ([0048] and Fig. 6 teach that the end of the second connecting part 143 away from the third lead sub-portion is connected to the main body 141), the third lead sub-portion is arranged on the peripheral side face ([0048] and Fig. 6 teach that the section just below second connecting portion 143 is on the peripheral side face).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further use the structure of the heating portion as taught by Wu for use in the battery heating layer as taught by Ding.
Ding/Yoon/Wu does not teach a lead sub-portion attached to the second end face.
Yu teaches a battery unit with an electric heating device.
Yu meets the claimed,
[…] and is attached to the second end face ([0052], Fig. 1, and Fig. 2 teach that the heating portion can have its lead sticking out the opposite end of the battery and would thus be attached to the second end face).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the arrangement of the leads as taught by Yu in the heating device as taught by Ding/Yoon/Wu in order to simplify the wiring and avoid tangling wires (See Yu [0056]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (CN 113764781; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet) in view of Yoon (US 2023/0280409), and further in view of Nakasho et al. (US 2005/0046393).
Ding/Yoon does not specifically teach a plurality of electrical connectors disposed in grooves.
Nakasho teaches a battery charger with specific mechanisms to slot batteries into a set of grooves and create an electric circuit.
Nakasho meets the claimed,
The battery module of claim 14, wherein the mounting assembly further comprises a plurality of first electrical connectors ([0041] and Fig. 5 teach terminals 6) and a plurality of second electrical connectors ([0041] and Fig. 6 teach terminals 7), each of the plurality of first electrical connectors is disposed in one of the plurality of first grooves and is configured to be electrically connected to the heating film ([0041] and Fig. 5 teach terminals 6 are disposed inside the first grooves), and each of the plurality of second electrical connectors is disposed in one of the plurality of second grooves and is configured to be electrically connected to one end of the heating film away from the plurality of first electrical connectors ([0041] and Fig. 6 teach terminals 7 are disposed in a plurality of second grooves).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the electrical connectors as taught by Nakasho in the battery module as taught by Ding/Yoon in order to provide a stable electrical current through which the heating layer can be powered.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (CN 113764781; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet) in view of Yoon (US 2023/0280409) and Nakasho et al. (US 2005/0046393), and further in view of Fujita et al. (US 2020/0179800).
Ding/Yoon does not specifically teach a plurality of electrical connectors disposed in grooves, nor electrical connection portions.
Nakasho meets the claimed,
The battery module of claim 15, wherein each of the plurality of first electrical connectors comprise a first electrical connection portion ([0041] and Fig. 5 teach terminals 6 that conducts electricity) […] and each of the plurality of second electrical connectors comprises a second electrical connection portion ([041] and Fig. 6 teach terminals 7 that conduct electricity).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further use the structure of the electrical connectors as taught by Nakasho in the battery module as taught by Ding/Yoon.
Ding/Yoon/Nakasho does not particularly teach an abutting portion that protrudes towards a center axis of the first groove.
Fujita teaches a battery charging set up for a game controller.
Fujita meets the claimed,
[…] and a first abutting portion, the first electrical connection portion is disposed on a side wall of the first groove, and the first abutting portion protrudes from a side wall of the first electrical connection portion towards a center axis of the first groove ([206] and Fig. 8(a) and Fig. 8(b) teach an abutting portion that protrudes from a side wall of a groove); […] and a second abutting portion, the second electrical connection portion is disposed on a side wall of the second groove, and the second abutting portion protrudes from a side wall of the second electrical connection portion towards a center axis of the second groove ([206] and Fig. 8(a) and Fig. 8(b) teach an abutting portion that protrudes from a side wall of a groove towards a central axis of that groove).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the abutting portion of the electrical connectors as taught by Fujita in order to better create an electrical circuit with the heating film when the battery assemblies are placed within the battery module.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (CN 113764781; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet) in view of Yoon (US 2023/0280409), Nakasho et al. (US 2005/0046393), and Fujita et al. (US 2020/0179800), and further in view of Wu et al. (CN 109428137; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet) and Yu et al. (CN 107170925; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet).
Ding meets the claimed,
The battery module of claim 16, wherein each of the plurality of battery assemblies further comprises a first end face and a second end face (Fig. 2 and Fig. 4 teach that the battery cells have a first end face and a second end face), the first end face is located at one of two opposite ends of the battery cell and is connected to the battery cell (Fig. 2 and Fig. 4 teach a first end face at one end of the battery), and the second end face is located at the other of the two opposite ends of the battery cell and is connected to the battery cell (Fig. 2 and Fig. 4 teach a second end face at the other end of the battery); […] and each of the plurality of battery assemblies is disposed between the first mounting member and the second mounting member (Fig. 2 and [n0030] teaches battery 20 between the top mounting member and bottom mounting member),
Ding/Yoon/Nakasho/Fujita does not specifically teach a heating portion with separate lead portions where lead portions are connected in a bending manner, nor specifically that the abutting members are electrically connected to the first lead.
Wu teaches a secondary battery with a heating layer disposed between batteries.
Wu meets the claimed,
[…] the heating layer comprises a heating portion ([0045] and Fig. 6 teaches a main body portion 141 of conductive heating element 14), a first lead portion, and a second lead portion ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach a first connecting portion 142 and a second connecting portion 143), the first lead portion comprises a first lead sub-portion ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach a first lead sub-portion just below first connecting portion 142) and a second lead sub-portion that is connected to the first lead sub-portion in a bending manner ([0045] and Fig. 6 teach a tab that sticks out as first connecting portion 142), one end of the first lead sub-portion away from the second lead-portion is electrically connected to the heating portion ([0048] teaches that the first connecting part 142 is connected to the top cover plate 131, which means that first connecting part 142 must be bent with respect to the section below it), the first lead sub-portion is arranged on the peripheral side face ([0048] and Fig. 6 teach that the end of the first connecting part 142 away from the second lead sub-portion is connected to the main body 141), and the second lead sub-portion is arranged on the first end face ([0048] and Fig. 6 teach that the section just below first connecting portion 142 is on the peripheral side face); the second lead portion comprises a third lead sub-portion ([0048] teaches that the first connecting part 142 is connected to the top cover plate 131, which means that first connecting part 142 must be bent with respect to the section below it) and a fourth lead sub-portion ([0048] teaches that the second connecting part 143 is connected to the top cover plate 131, which means that second connecting part 143 must be bent with respect to the section below it) that is connected to the third lead sub-portion in a bending manner ([0048] and Fig. 6 teach that the end of the second connecting part 143 away from the third lead sub-portion is connected to the main body 141), one end of the third lead sub-portion away from the fourth lead sub-portion is electrically connected to the heating portion ([0048] and Fig. 6 teach that the section just below second connecting portion 143 is on the peripheral side face [0048] and Fig. 6 teach that the section just below second connecting portion 143 is on the peripheral side face), the third lead sub-portion is arranged on the peripheral side face ([0048] teaches that the second connecting part 143 is connected to the top cover plate 131, which means that second connecting part 143 must be bent with respect to the section below it).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the heating layer components as taught by Wu in the battery heating layer as taught by Ding/Yoon/Nakasho/Fujita in order to achieve a more uniform and thorough heating of the battery.
Ding/Yoon/Nakasho/Fujita/Wu does not specifically teach the fourth lead sub-portion being arranged on the second end face.
Yu teaches a battery unit with an electric heating device.
Yu meets the claimed,
[…] and the fourth lead sub-portion is arranged on the second end face ([0052], Fig. 1, and Fig. 2 teach that the heating portion can have its lead sticking out the opposite end of the battery and would thus be attached to the second end face).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the arrangement of the leads as taught by Yu in the heating device as taught by Ding/Wu in order to simplify the wiring and avoid tangling wires (See Yu [0056]).
Ding/Yoon/Nakasho/Fujita/Wu/Yu, as recited for the rejection of Claim 16, does not teach that the abutting portion is specifically connected to the first lead sub-portion of the heating film.
However, Fujita further meets the claimed,
[…] the first abutting portion is electrically connected to the first lead sub-portion of the heating film ([206] and Fig. 8(a) and Fig. 8(b) teach an abutting portion 17a attached to terminal 17), and the second abutting portion is electrically connected to the third lead sub-portion of the heating film ([206] and Fig. 8(a) and Fig. 8(b) teach an abutting portion 17a attached to terminal 17).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further use the structure of the abutting portion as taught by Fujita, including its pertinent location on a terminal, to make it electrically connected to the heating portion as taught by Ding/Yoon/Nakasho/Fujita/Wu/Yu in order to better create an electrical circuit with the heating film when the battery assemblies are placed within the battery module.
Conclusion
/A.Y.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744