Response to Arguments
Claims 1, 2, and 4-20 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai et al., TW 201712475 (hereinafter “Chai”), in further view of Zhang et al., US 2023/0044497 A1 (hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Chai discloses a data output apparatus (see fig. 1A, 1B, data output apparatus 100 including display device 110 and body 120) comprising:
a first connection device (fig. 3A, 3B, magnetic guide 114, guiding recess GR, and connection member 124 of display assembly 110), configured to be detachably connected to a second connection device (fig. 3C, 3D, magnetic guide 126, guiding protrusion GP, and connection member 124b of body assembly 120) of a processing apparatus to maintain a positional relationship between the data output apparatus and the processing apparatus (paragraph 27: “the second body 120 includes a body 122 and a connection assembly 124. The connecting component 124 is disposed between the body 122 and the first body 110. The connection assembly 124 includes a pivoting seat 124a and a pivotal connection 124b. In this embodiment, the pivoting seat 124a is coupled to the body 122, the pivotal connecting member 124b is pivotally connected to the pivoting seat 124a”)
a communication device, configured to receive display data sent by the processing apparatus (paragraph 23: “the processor is disposed in at least one of the first body 110 and the second body 120. For example, in some embodiments, the portable electronic device 100 can be a display (first body 110) detachable notebook computer, and the processor is disposed in the second body 120. The first body 110 and the second body 120 can be electrically coupled to each other through a wireless or wired manner, so that the second body 120 can transmit data to the first body 110 or charge the first body 110”, paragraph 31: the input device 130 of the second body 120 can transmit the user's input data to the processor located in the first body 110 through the combination of the first electrical connector 112 and the second electrical connector 126. The processor can control the display to provide the user with a display screen in the display area DR. In addition, the second body 120 can be connected to the external power source, for example, and the second body 120 can charge the first body 110 through the combination of the first electrical connector 112 and the second electrical connector 126, Paragraph 30: “the portable electronic device 100 further includes a first electrical connector 112 and a second electrical connector 126. The first electrical connector 112 is disposed in the first connection region CR1 and the second connection region CR2. One of the second electrical connectors 126 is disposed on the other of the first connection region CR1 and the second connection region CR2. When the first body 110 is connected to the second body 120, the first electrical connector 112 and the second electrical connector 126 are combined to electrically connect the first body 110 and the second body 120”); and
a display device configured to output the display data and including a first display assembly (fig. 1A, display assembly 110, paragraph 23, display assembly 110 include display on area DR, paragraph 26, “The user operates the portable electronic device 100 by viewing the display screen in the display area DR and inputting data by using the input device 130”),
wherein the first display assembly is disposed at a first portion of a first side surface of the data output apparatus, the communication device and the first connection device are disposed at a second portion of the first side surface of the data output apparatus, the second portion is coplanar with the first portion or the second portion and the first portion form a continuous curved surface (see fig. 3A-3D, annotated as in below, paragraph 28: “Please refer to FIG. 3A and FIG. 3B first. The first surface S1 of the portable electronic device 100 includes a first connection area CR1. Next, referring to FIG. 3C and FIG. 3D, the second body 120 includes a side surface SS2 , and the second body 120 is detachably coupled to the first body 110 via the side surface SS2”, Paragraph 37: in the embodiment, the first electrical connector 112 is disposed on the first surface S1 instead of the side surface SS1, so the first body 110 can be reduced in the design requirement of keeping the light and thin. The width of the side SS1 (i.e., the thickness of the first body 110 is reduced) without having to retain the width of the first electrical connector 112. In addition, the first body 110 does not have a problem that the thickness of the body on both sides of the first electrical connector 112 on the side surface SS1 is too thin, and the structural strength is lowered. In particular, since the first body 110 of the present embodiment is directly detachably connected to the second body 120 via the first surface S1, the configuration of the components of the portable electronic device 100 can achieve better space utilization. Moreover, the portable electronic device 100 can have better structural strength under light, thin and short design conditions”).
Chai does not disclose that the display device further includes a second display assembly, a position of the first display assembly being fixed relative to a position of the second display assembly.
In similar field of endeavor of display device, Zhang discloses the concept of display assembly including front and back screens, that the display device further includes a second display assembly, a position of the first display assembly being fixed relative to a position of the second display assembly (see Zhang, annotated fig. 9 below, paragraphs 164-175, display device including a front facing screen A and a back facing screen C with position fixed relative to each other and facing opposite directions, screen C being configured to display additional information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of additional back facing screen, such as disclosed by Zhang, into the display device of Chai, to constitute the display device further includes a second display assembly, a position of the first display assembly being fixed relative to a position of the second display assembly, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow display system to display additional information to viewer at opposite side and improve user experience.
Regarding claim 2, Chai in view of Zhang discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the second display assembly is disposed at a second side surface of the data output apparatus, the first side surface being opposite to the second side surface, the first display assembly and the second display assembly facing opposite directions (see combination as made in rejection of claim 1, and Zhang, fig. 9, the first display assembly and second display assembly are respectively disposed on a front facing first side surface and a back facing second side surface, the first side surface and second side surface facing opposite directions).
Regarding claim 6, Chai in view of Zhang discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein:
the first communication device is configured to receive electrical power transmitted by the second connection device after the first connection device is connected to the second connection device (Chai, paragraph 31: the input device 130 of the second body 120 can transmit the user's input data to the processor located in the first body 110 through the combination of the first electrical connector 112 and the second electrical connector 126. The processor can control the display to provide the user with a display screen in the display area DR. In addition, the second body 120 can be connected to the external power source, for example, and the second body 120 can charge the first body 110 through the combination of the first electrical connector 112 and the second electrical connector 126).
Regarding claim 7, Chai in view of Zhang discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein:
the first connection device is configured to be magnetically connected to the second connection device (Chai, paragraph 34, “Referring to FIG. 3A , in the embodiment, the first body 110 of the portable electronic device 100 includes a first magnetic guide 114 corresponding to the first connection region CR1 . In addition, referring to FIG. 3C, the second body 120 includes a second magnetic guide 128 corresponding to the second connection region CR2. Specifically, the first magnetic guide 114 and the second magnetic guide 128 have, for example, different polarities and may be attracted to each other. The first magnetic guide 114 is attracted to the second magnetic guide 128 to guide the first connection region CR1 to the second connection region CR2 such that the first body 110 is coupled to the second body 120. In the present embodiment, the first magnetic guiding member 114 and the second magnetic guiding member 128 are, for example, magnets or electromagnets, and the invention is not limited thereto”).
Regarding claim 8, Chai discloses a data output system comprising:
a data output apparatus (see fig. 1A, 1B, data output apparatus 100 including display device 110 and body 120) including:
a first connection device (fig. 3A, 3B, magnetic guide 114, guiding recess GR, and connection member 124 of display assembly 110);
a first communication device (fig. 3A, 3B, first electrical connector 112); and
a display device including a first display assembly (); and
a processing apparatus including a second connection device (fig. 3C, 3D, magnetic guide 126, guiding protrusion GP, and connection member 124b of body assembly 120), a second communication device (fig. 3C, 3D, second electrical connector 126), and a processing device (paragraph 23: “the processor is disposed in at least one of the first body 110 and the second body 120. For example, in some embodiments, the portable electronic device 100 can be a display (first body 110) detachable notebook computer, and the processor is disposed in the second body 120. The first body 110 and the second body 120 can be electrically coupled to each other through a wireless or wired manner, so that the second body 120 can transmit data to the first body 110 or charge the first body 110”);
wherein:
the first connection device and the second connection device are configured to be detachably connected to each other to maintain a positional relationship between the data output apparatus and the processing apparatus (paragraph 27: “the second body 120 includes a body 122 and a connection assembly 124. The connecting component 124 is disposed between the body 122 and the first body 110. The connection assembly 124 includes a pivoting seat 124a and a pivotal connection 124b. In this embodiment, the pivoting seat 124a is coupled to the body 122, the pivotal connecting member 124b is pivotally connected to the pivoting seat 124a”);
the processing device is configured to generate display data (paragraph 31: the input device 130 of the second body 120 can transmit the user's input data to the processor located in the first body 110 through the combination of the first electrical connector 112 and the second electrical connector 126. The processor can control the display to provide the user with a display screen in the display area DR);
the second communication device is configured to transmit the display data to the first communication device; the first communication device is configured to receive display data (Paragraph 30: “the portable electronic device 100 further includes a first electrical connector 112 and a second electrical connector 126. The first electrical connector 112 is disposed in the first connection region CR1 and the second connection region CR2. One of the second electrical connectors 126 is disposed on the other of the first connection region CR1 and the second connection region CR2. When the first body 110 is connected to the second body 120, the first electrical connector 112 and the second electrical connector 126 are combined to electrically connect the first body 110 and the second body 120”); and
the display device is configured to output the display data (fig. 1A, display assembly 110, paragraph 23, display assembly 110 include display on area DR, paragraph 26, “The user operates the portable electronic device 100 by viewing the display screen in the display area DR and inputting data by using the input device 130”),
wherein the first display assembly is disposed at a first portion of a first side surface of the data output apparatus, the communication device and the first connection device are disposed at a second portion of the first side surface of the data output apparatus, the second portion is coplanar with the first portion or the second portion and the first portion form a continuous curved surface (see fig. 3A-3D, annotated as in below, paragraph 28: “Please refer to FIG. 3A and FIG. 3B first. The first surface S1 of the portable electronic device 100 includes a first connection area CR1. Next, referring to FIG. 3C and FIG. 3D, the second body 120 includes a side surface SS2 , and the second body 120 is detachably coupled to the first body 110 via the side surface SS2”, Paragraph 37: in the embodiment, the first electrical connector 112 is disposed on the first surface S1 instead of the side surface SS1, so the first body 110 can be reduced in the design requirement of keeping the light and thin. The width of the side SS1 (i.e., the thickness of the first body 110 is reduced) without having to retain the width of the first electrical connector 112. In addition, the first body 110 does not have a problem that the thickness of the body on both sides of the first electrical connector 112 on the side surface SS1 is too thin, and the structural strength is lowered. In particular, since the first body 110 of the present embodiment is directly detachably connected to the second body 120 via the first surface S1, the configuration of the components of the portable electronic device 100 can achieve better space utilization. Moreover, the portable electronic device 100 can have better structural strength under light, thin and short design conditions”).
Chai does not disclose that the display device further includes a second display assembly, a position of the first display assembly being fixed relative to a position of the second display assembly.
In similar field of endeavor of display device, Zhang discloses the concept of display assembly including front and back screens, that the display device further includes a second display assembly, a position of the first display assembly being fixed relative to a position of the second display assembly (see Zhang, annotated fig. 9 below, paragraphs 164-175, display device including a front facing screen A and a back facing screen C with position fixed relative to each other and facing opposite directions, screen C being configured to display additional information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of additional back facing screen, such as disclosed by Zhang, into the display device of Chai, to constitute the display device further includes a second display assembly, a position of the first display assembly being fixed relative to a position of the second display assembly, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow display system to display additional information to viewer at opposite side and improve user experience.
Regarding claim 9, Chai in view of Zhang discloses the system according to claim 8, wherein the second display assembly is disposed at a second side surface of the data output apparatus, the first side surface being opposite to the second side surface, the first display assembly and the second display assembly facing opposite directions (see combination as made in rejection of claim 1, and Zhang, fig. 9, the first display assembly and second display assembly are respectively disposed on a front facing first side surface and a back facing second side surface, the first side surface and second side surface facing opposite directions).
Regarding claim 20, Chai in view of Zhang discloses the system according to claim 8, wherein: the first connection device is configured to be magnetically connected to the second connection device (Chai, paragraph 34, “Referring to FIG. 3A , in the embodiment, the first body 110 of the portable electronic device 100 includes a first magnetic guide 114 corresponding to the first connection region CR1 . In addition, referring to FIG. 3C, the second body 120 includes a second magnetic guide 128 corresponding to the second connection region CR2. Specifically, the first magnetic guide 114 and the second magnetic guide 128 have, for example, different polarities and may be attracted to each other. The first magnetic guide 114 is attracted to the second magnetic guide 128 to guide the first connection region CR1 to the second connection region CR2 such that the first body 110 is coupled to the second body 120. In the present embodiment, the first magnetic guiding member 114 and the second magnetic guiding member 128 are, for example, magnets or electromagnets, and the invention is not limited thereto”).
Claims 4, 5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai in view of Zhang, as applied in claims 1 and 8 above, and in further view of Ramasarma et al., US 20140191981 A1 (hereinafter “Ramasarma”).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Chai in view of Zhang discloses the device according to claim 1.
Chai in view of Zhang does not disclose (from claim 4) wherein:
a display principle of the first display assembly is different from a display principle of the second display assembly and
(from claim 5) the first display assembly includes a first display unit and a light-emitting unit, and light emitted by the light-emitting unit passes through the first display unit to output the display data; and
the second display assembly includes a second display unit, and the second display unit displays the display data by reflecting light of an environment where the data output apparatus is located.
In similar field of display device, Ramasarma discloses that single display system may comprises two different display units operating under different display principles, with a first display unit being an emissive type of display with light-emitting unit to output light from display unit, such as organic light emitting display, the emissive type of display consumes more power, (paragraphs, 5, 75, 144, “the first display 605 may be an emissive or a transmissive display, such as an OLED-based display or an LCD-based display, whereas the second display may be a lower power display”) and a second display unit being a reflective display by reflecting light from environment, the reflective type of display consumes less power (paragraph 12, 40, 72, 75, “the second display may, for example, be a reflective display that consumes less power than the first display. For example, the second display may be a bi-stable reflective display, such as a bi-stable interferometric modulator (IMOD) display. In some other implementations, the second display may be another type of IMOD display, such as an analog IMOD (AIMOD) display, also known as a multi-state IMOD display, or a single-mirror IMOD (SM-IMOD) display.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of the display system including multiple types of display unit operating under different display principles and having different power consumptions, such as disclosed by Ramasarma, into display system with multiple display panels of Chai in view of Zhang, such that different display assembly of Chai in view of Zhang is made of different display type, to constitute (from claim 4) wherein: a display principle of the first display assembly is different from a display principle of the second display assembly and (from claim 5) the first display assembly includes a first display unit and a light-emitting unit, and light emitted by the light-emitting unit passes through the first display unit to output the display data; and the second display assembly includes a second display unit, and the second display unit displays the display data by reflecting light of an environment where the data output apparatus is located, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow the display system to include variety of different display types in order to facilitate displaying image under different power consumption requirements, while achieving the intended function of displaying image based on input image signal.
Regarding claim 11, Chai in view of Zhang discloses the system according to claim 8.
Chai in view of Zhang does not disclose in particular wherein: an electrical power consumption of the first display assembly when outputting the display data is larger than an electrical power consumption of the second display assembly when outputting the display data.
In similar field of display device, Ramasarma discloses that single display system may comprises two different display units operating under different display principles, with a first display unit being an emissive type of display with light-emitting unit to output light from display unit, such as organic light emitting display, the emissive type of display consumes more power, (paragraphs, 5, 75, 144, “the first display 605 may be an emissive or a transmissive display, such as an OLED-based display or an LCD-based display, whereas the second display may be a lower power display”) and a second display unit being a reflective display by reflecting light from environment, the reflective type of display consumes less power (paragraph 12, 40, 72, 75, “the second display may, for example, be a reflective display that consumes less power than the first display. For example, the second display may be a bi-stable reflective display, such as a bi-stable interferometric modulator (IMOD) display. In some other implementations, the second display may be another type of IMOD display, such as an analog IMOD (AIMOD) display, also known as a multi-state IMOD display, or a single-mirror IMOD (SM-IMOD) display.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of the display system including multiple types of display unit operating under different display principle and having different power consumptions, such as disclosed by Ramasarma, into display system with multiple display panels of Chai in view of Zhang, such that different display assemblies of Chai in view of Zhang is made of different display type, to constitute wherein: an electrical power consumption of the first display assembly when outputting the display data is larger than an electrical power consumption of the second display assembly when outputting the display data, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow the display system to include variety of different display types in order to facilitate displaying image under different power consumption requirements, while achieving the intended function of displaying image based on input image signal.
Claims 10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai in view of Zhang, as applied in claim 8 above, and in further view of Shi, CN 216118566 U (hereinafter “Shi”).
Regarding claim 10, Chai in view of Zhang discloses the system according to claim 8, wherein: the display device is a first display device (see rejection of claim 8, Chai, fig. 1A, display device 110 is a first display device);
Chai in view of Zhang does not disclose in particular the processing apparatus further includes a second display device; when the first connection device is connected to the second connection device, an orientation of a display area of the first display assembly is consistent with an orientation of a display area of the second display device.
In similar field of endeavor of display system with multiple displays, Shi discloses a display device with processing apparatus having a main body (fig. 5, main body 51 and 53), the processing apparatus itself comprising a primary display unit (corresponding to the claimed second display device, fig. 5, display 5111), with auxiliary display unit (corresponding to the claimed first display device / first display assembly, fig. 5, display 512 with first display assembly 5121) connected to the processing apparatus, wherein an orientation of a display area of the secondary display unit (first display assembly) is consistent with an orientation of a display area of the second display device (second display device), see Shi, paragraphs 76-88, annotated figure 5 below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of the processing apparatus itself include a second display device, the processing apparatus attachable with a first display device including a first display assembly configurable to have same orientation with the second display device, such as disclosed by Shi, into the system of Chai in view of Zhang with multiple detachable display devices, such that the system of comprises a processing apparatus with screen and is additionally attachable other screens, to constitute the processing apparatus further includes a second display device; when the first connection device is connected to the second connection device, an orientation of a display area of the first display assembly is consistent with an orientation of a display area of the second display device, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow the display system to include variety of different display type in order to facilitate displaying image under different viewing conditions, while achieving the intended function of displaying image based on input image signal.
Regarding claims 12-15, Chai in view of Zhang discloses the system according to claim 8, and (from claim 13) wherein the display device is a first display device (see rejection of claim 8, Chai, fig. 1A, display device 110 is a first display device).
Chai in view of Zhang does not disclose in particular:
(from claim 12:) the processing apparatus further includes:
a first body and a second body connected to each other through a connection member, the first body and the second body being configured to change a relative positional relationship; and
an attitude determination device configured to determine the relative positional relationship; and
the processing device is further configured to control display of the display device through the second communication device based on the relative positional relationship;
(from claim 13:)
the processing apparatus further includes a second display device disposed at the first body;
(from claim 14:)
the relative positional relationship includes that the second display device faces away from the second body, or the first body and the second body satisfy a coplanarity condition;
when the first connection device is connected to the second connection device, an orientation of a display area of the first display assembly is consistent with an orientation of a display area of the second display device; and
the processing device is further configured to control the first display assembly to display the display data through the second communication device.
(from claim 15:)
the relative positional relationship includes that the second display device faces the second body;
when the first connection device is connected to the second connection device, an orientation of a display area of the second display assembly is opposite to an orientation of a display area of the second display device; and
the processing device is further configured to control the second display assembly to display the display data through the second communication device.
In similar field of endeavor of display system with multiple displays, Shi discloses (see annotated figures below)
(from claim 12:) the processing apparatus further includes:
a first body (fig. 2, 3, 5, first body 21/31/51) and a second body (fig. 2, 3, 5, second body (fig. 2, 3, 5, second body 23/33/53) connected to each other through a connection member (fig. 2, 3, 5, connection member 52 connecting first body and second body), the first body and the second body being configured to change a relative positional relationship (paragraphs 49, first body and second body can rotate relative to each other, to place display device into different display mode) ; and
an attitude determination device configured to determine the relative positional relationship; and the processing device is further configured to control display of the display device through the second communication device based on the relative positional relationship (paragraphs 49, first body and second body can rotate relative to each other, to place display device into different display mode, paragraph 50, “For example, when a user is in a meeting, the first display device and the second display device can be buckled, the electronic equipment is in a fully closed state, and the user can take notes on the electronic ink screen of the second size while the user is in the meeting, For another example, when a user is at rest for entertainment, the first display device and the second display device may both be turned on, and the first display device and the second display device may be rotated to the same horizontal plane, at which time the electronic device is in a fully turned-on state, and the user may view a movie on a screen formed by combining the OLED display screen of the first size and the OLED display screen of the second size. the second size electronic ink screen may also be used for message reminders (e.g., notifications, calendars, to-do items, etc.) when the user is not using the electronic device”, fig. 2, 3, 4, 5, paragraphs 52-85 disclose different embodiments of detecting angle between the first body and the second body of the processing apparatus, and adjusting display state of primary and auxiliary display based on change of relative positional relationship between the first body and second body)
(from claim 13:)
the processing apparatus further includes a second display device disposed at the first body (fig. 1-5, paragraphs 34, 41, 43, 47, 53, 77, the first body 11/21/31/41/51 further includes a primary display corresponding to the claimed second display device);
(from claim 14:)
the relative positional relationship includes that the second display device faces away from the second body, or the first body and the second body satisfy a coplanarity condition;
when the first connection device is connected to the second connection device, an orientation of a display area of the first display assembly is consistent with an orientation of a display area of the second display device; and
the processing device is further configured to control the first display assembly to display the display data through the second communication device (see fig. 5, paragraphs 77-85, annotated figure below, the clam-shell shaped laptop when in open mode configured to display data through first display assembly on auxiliary display).
(from claim 15:)
the relative positional relationship includes that the second display device faces the second body;
when the first connection device is connected to the second connection device, an orientation of a display area of the second display assembly is opposite to an orientation of a display area of the second display device; and
the processing device is further configured to control the second display assembly to display the display data through the second communication device see fig. 3, paragraphs 52-64, annotated figure below, the clam-shell shaped laptop when in closed mode configured to display data through second display assembly on auxiliary display).
Both Chai in view of Zhang and Shi discloses display apparatus with multiple configurable display panels, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of processing apparatus with configurable primary display and double-sided auxiliary display, such as disclosed by Shi, into the display system of Chai in view of Zhang, such that the processing apparatus of Chai in view of Zhang further comprises rotatable primary display, with communication interfaces of Chai in view of Zhang further providing support for double-sided auxiliary display and the display system capable of changing display states based on folding/unfolding of displays, to constitute: (from claim 12:) the processing apparatus further includes: a first body and a second body connected to each other through a connection member, the first body and the second body being configured to change a relative positional relationship; and an attitude determination device configured to determine the relative positional relationship; and the processing device is further configured to control display of the display device through the second communication device based on the relative positional relationship; (from claim 13:) the display device is a first display device; and the processing apparatus further includes a second display device disposed at the first body; (from claim 14:) the relative positional relationship includes that the second display device faces away from the second body, or the first body and the second body satisfy a coplanarity condition; when the first connection device is connected to the second connection device, an orientation of a display area of the first display assembly is consistent with an orientation of a display area of the second display device; and the processing device is further configured to control the first display assembly to display the display data through the second communication device; (from claim 15:) the relative positional relationship includes that the second display device faces the second body; when the first connection device is connected to the second connection device, an orientation of a display area of the second display assembly is opposite to an orientation of a display area of the second display device; and the processing device is further configured to control the second display assembly to display the display data through the second communication device, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow the display system to include variety of different display types in order to facilitate displaying image under different viewing conditions, while achieving the intended function of displaying image based on input image signal.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai in view of Zhang in view of Shi, as applied in claim 13 above, and in further view of Imana, US 20160216931 A1 (hereinafter “Imana”).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Chai in view of Zhang in view of Shi discloses (from claim 16:) the system according to claim 13, wherein: the processing apparatus is configured to be in:
a first mode, in which the second display device is in a display state, and the processing device transmits electrical power and the display data to the first display device through the second communication device based on a first transmission mode; or
a second mode, in which the second display device is in a non-display state, and the processing device transmits electrical power and the display data to the first display device through the second communication device based on a second transmission mode different from the first transmission mode; and
(see combination of Chai in view of Zhang in view of Shi as made in rejection of claims 12-15 above, different display modes turning on different display areas of the first and second display device, Shi, paragraph 50, “For example, when a user is in a meeting, the first display device and the second display device can be buckled, the electronic equipment is in a fully closed state, and the user can take notes on the electronic ink screen of the second size while the user is in the meeting, For another example, when a user is at rest for entertainment, the first display device and the second display device may both be turned on, and the first display device and the second display device may be rotated to the same horizontal plane, at which time the electronic device is in a fully turned-on state, and the user may view a movie on a screen formed by combining the OLED display screen of the first size and the OLED display screen of the second size. the second size electronic ink screen may also be used for message reminders (e.g., notifications, calendars, to-do items, etc.) when the user is not using the electronic device”, Shi, fig. 5, paragraphs 77-85, the clam-shell shaped laptop when in fully open mode corresponding to the first mode, fig. 3, paragraphs 52-64, the clam-shell shaped laptop when in closed mode corresponding to the second mode).
(from claim 17) the second transmission mode includes that the processing device transmits the electrical power to the first display device through the second communication device in response to a status change of the display data, and transmits the display data after the status change to at least one of the first display assembly or the second display assembly.
(Shi, paragraph 50, “Of course, the second size electronic ink screen may also be used for message reminders (e.g., notifications, calendars, to-do items, etc.) when the user is not using the electronic device”, second size electronic ink screen corresponding to the claimed first display device, updating electronic ink screen based on message notification constitute status change of display data and requires transmit electrical power signal).
Chai in view of Zhang in view of Shi only does not disclose in particular (from claim 16) an electrical power consumption of the processing apparatus in the first mode is greater than an electrical power consumption of the processing apparatus in the second mode.
Shi discloses, however, the claimed second device may be implement as an LCD/LED/OLED display device, while the claimed first device may be implemented as an e-ink display device (Shi, paragraphs 20, 21, 41, 50, 63, first type of LED display used as the claimed second display device and second type of electronic ink display used as the claimed first display device).
In similar field of endeavor of display system with multiple displays, Imana discloses a primary display screen may be made of LCD or LED display type, and an auxiliary display screen may be made of an electronic ink type, wherein an electrical power consumption of the primary display screen is greater than an electrical power consumption of the auxiliary display screen (paragraphs 14, 15, 38, “primary display screen 116 can correspond to, for example, a liquid crystal display (LCD) or light emitting diode (LED) display that illuminates in order to display content thereon. … secondary display screen 117 can correspond to an electronic paper type display, such as an e-ink or bi-stable display that mimic conventional paper in the manner in which content is displayed. … In an embodiment, secondary display screen 117, which may be an e-ink display screen, has a significantly lower power consumption rate than primary display screen 116 of e-reading device 110 which may be an LCD or LED display screen, thus allowing a user to engage in lengthy, immersive periods of e-reading, such as for e-books, without having to interrupt the reading experience to re-charge e-reading device 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of driving e-ink screen with lower power consumption, such as disclosed by Imana, into the system of Chai in view of Zhang in view of Shi, such that the system of Chai in view of Zhang in view of Shi having different display panel type (e-ink for the first display device, and LED/LCD for the second display device) operating under display modes are powered with different power consumptions, to constitute an electrical power consumption of the processing apparatus in the first mode is greater than an electrical power consumption of the processing apparatus in the second mode, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow the display system to include variety of different display type in order to facilitate displaying image under different power consumption requirements, while achieving the intended function of displaying image based on input image signal.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai in view of Zhang, as applied in claim 8 above, and in further view of Imana, US 20160216931 A1 (hereinafter “Imana”).
Regarding claim 18, Chai in view of Zhang discloses the system according to claim 8, wherein: the display device is a first display device (see rejection of claim 8, Chai, fig. 1A, display device 110 is a first display device).
Chai in view of Zhang does not disclose in particular the processing apparatus further includes a second display device configured to display the display data; and an electrical power consumption of the second display device is greater than an electrical power consumption of the first display device.
In similar field of endeavor of detachable device, Imana discloses a base processing apparatus for detachable device may itself comprises a primary display screen (corresponding to the claimed second display device), the base processing apparatus with primary screen may be attached with accessory display device comprising a secondary display screen (corresponding to the claimed first display device), an electrical power consumption of the primary display screen is greater than an electrical power consumption of the secondary display screen (paragraphs 14, 15, 38, “FIG. 1A illustrates an e-reading device 110, in one embodiment configured for operation of a primary display screen 116 and having means for electrically coupling to an attachable/detachable accessory device. In the example of FIG. 1, e-reading device 110 comprises an electronic personal display device, shown by way of example as e-reading device 110. The terms e-reading device, computing device and electronic personal display device are used interchangeably herein. In some implementations, primary display screen 116 can correspond to, for example, a liquid crystal display (LCD) or light emitting diode (LED) display that illuminates in order to display content thereon. … FIG. 1B illustrates an embodiment of attachable/detachable device accessory cover 130 that includes a secondary display screen 117. In an embodiment, secondary display screen 117 can correspond to an electronic paper type display, such as an e-ink or bi-stable display that mimic conventional paper in the manner in which content is displayed. Typically, e-ink displays are more suited to e-reading under extreme ambient lighting conditions, such as very bright daylight or in near-darkness at bedtime, for long, immersive periods, resulting is less eye strain as compared to reading, for example, on an LCD display screen. Examples of such electronic paper display technologies include electrophoretic displays, electro-wetting displays, and electro-fluidic displays. … receiving a request to electrically couple a detachable accessory cover 130 at the e-reading device 110, the detachable accessory cover 130 including a secondary display screen 117. In an embodiment, secondary display screen 117, which may be an e-ink display screen, has a significantly lower power consumption rate than primary display screen 116 of e-reading device 110 which may be an LCD or LED display screen, thus allowing a user to engage in lengthy, immersive periods of e-reading, such as for e-books, without having to interrupt the reading experience to re-charge e-reading device 110.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of the processing apparatus itself include a second display device, the processing apparatus attachable with a first display device with lower power consumption than the second display device, such as disclosed by Imana, into the system of Chai in view of Zhang, such that the system comprises a processing apparatus with screen and is additionally attachable with low power consumption e-ink screen, to constitute the processing apparatus further includes a second display device configured to display the display data; and an electrical power consumption of the second display device is greater than an electrical power consumption of the first display device, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow the display system to include variety of different display types in order to facilitate displaying image under different power consumption requirements, while achieving the intended function of displaying image based on input image signal.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai in view of Zhang, as applied in claim 8 above, and in further view of Fujimori, US 20220239877 A1 (hereinafter “Fujimori”).
Regarding claim 19, Chai in view of Zhang discloses the system according to claim 8, wherein: the processing device is a first processing device (see rejection of claim 8, Chai, fig. 1A, body 120 is a first processing device);
Chai in view of Zhang does not disclose in particular the data output apparatus further includes a second processing device configured to perform conversion processing on the display data to obtain target data, a data amount of the target data being less than a data amount of the display data; and
at least one of the first display assembly or the second display assembly is configured to display the target data.
In similar field of endeavor of display art, Fujimori discloses data output apparatus further includes a second processing device configured to perform conversion processing on the display data to obtain target data, a data amount of the target data being less than a data amount of the display data; and displaying the target data (paragraphs 6, 7, 62-70, 88-92, convert received image data by downscaling and reducing resolution to generate a target data such as a thumbnail image, and displaying the target data, “The display apparatus has a first mode in which the display apparatus displays an image based on received image data on a display surface at a display size corresponding to the resolution of the image data, and a second mode in which the display apparatus generates converted image data that is the received image data having reduced resolution and displays an image based on the generated converted image data on the display surface at a display size corresponding to the resolution of the converted image data.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of display device further including processing device to convert received image data by downscaling and reducing resolution to generate a target data and displaying the target data, such as disclosed by Fujimori, into the display system of Chai in view of Zhang, to constitute particular the data output apparatus further includes a second processing device configured to perform conversion processing on the display data to obtain target data, a data amount of the target data being less than a data amount of the display data; and at least one of the first display assembly or the second display assembly is configured to display the target data, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would facilitate displaying image in various resolutions with increased versatility of display system, while achieving the intended function of displaying image based on input image signal.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PEIJIE SHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622