DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the sensor carrier is connected to the first inner surface of the flexible membrane” (claim 1), and the “the sensor carrier is connected to the flexible membrane” (claim 5) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The drawings only show the claimed, “sensor carrier” (ref. # 39) connected to the “base” (ref. # 17), via ref. # 57 shown in Figure 6, or connected to the “side wall” (ref. # 21), via “connecting part” (ref. # 45). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, in line 7, the claimed, “the load receiving end” lacks antecedent basis in the claim. The claim should be amended to recite, –the first load receiving end–, for consistency throughout the claim.
Further regarding claim 1, in line 15, the claimed, “the inner wall” lacks antecedent basis in the claim.
Even further regarding claim 1, the claim should be amended to end in a “.”.
Regarding claim 7, the claimed, “the third sensor part” and “the fourth sensor part” lack antecedent basis in the claims.
Regarding claim 8, the claimed, “the sensor carrier part” lacks antecedent basis in the claim. The claim should be amended to recite, –the sensor carrier–, for consistency throughout the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 6–9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakano et al. (US Pub. # 2012/0180575), hereinafter referred to as Sakano.
Regarding claim 1, Sakano teaches, “A load cell (Fig. 1; abstract) having a first load receiving end and a second opposing end, and having a central axis extending from the first load receiving end to the second opposing end (upper and lower end of load cell in z-direction), the load cell comprising:- a first load receiving end comprising a flexible membrane that is adapted to yield upon application of a load to the membrane, the flexible membrane having a first inner surface and a first outer surface (Fig. 1, ref. # 12, 14), - a second opposing end comprising a base providing a counterforce to the load receiving end and/or the flexible membrane (ref. # 24), - at least one rigid side wall extending from the flexible membrane to the base, the side wall having a second inner surface and a second outer surface (ref. # 10), - a first inner volume defined by the first inner surface and the second inner surface (area between 10, 12, and 20), - a sensor carrier being arranged at a predefined distance from the flexible membrane and having a first sensor surface facing the first inner surface of the flexible membrane, where the sensor carrier is connected to the first inner surface of the flexible membrane and/or to the second inner surface of the inner wall (ref. # 20), - a first sensor part arranged on the first inner surface of the flexible membrane (ref. # 18), - a second sensor part arranged on the first sensor surface of the sensor carrier (ref. # 22), - where in an unloaded condition the first sensor part is arranged at a first distance from the second sensor part, and in a loaded condition the first sensor part is arranged at a second distance from the second sensor part, where the first distance is different from the second distance (see load state in Fig. 1 vs Fig. 5),”
Regarding claim 3, Sakano teaches, “wherein the first sensor part and the second sensor part are arranged in a central position of the load cell (Fig. 1, ref. # 14, 18, 22).”
Regarding claim 4, Sakano teaches, “wherein the sensor carrier is connected to the base (Fig. 1, ref. # 10, 20).”
Regarding claim 6, Sakano teaches, “wherein the flexible membrane has an annular shape and is attached to a first end of the first side wall, and/or wherein the flexible membrane comprises a load application part arranged in a central area of second outer surface of the flexible membrane (Fig. 1–2, ref. # 10, 12, 14, 16).”
Regarding claim 7, Sakano teaches, “wherein the first sensor part, the second sensor part, the third sensor part and/or the fourth sensor part have an annular, circular, round and/or cylindric shape (Fig. 1, 2).”
Regarding claim 8, Sakano teaches, “wherein the sensor carrier part is arranged to be stationary relative to the side wall and/or the base, and/or relative to the flexible membrane (Fig. 1, 5; ref. # 10, 22).”
Regarding claim 9, Sakano teaches, “wherein the load cell is a capacitive load cell and/or the first sensor part, the second sensor part, or any subsequent sensor parts are capacitive sensors (abstract).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakano (US Pub. # 2012/0180575) in view of Okada et al. (US Pub. # 2019/0113407), hereinafter referred to as Okada.
Regarding claim 2, Sakano does not appear to teach, “wherein the load cell further comprises a third sensor part arranged on the first inner surface of the flexible membrane, and a fourth sensor part arranged on the first sensor surface of the sensor carrier.” However, Okada teaches the deficiencies of Sakano (Fig. 1, ref. # C1 and C2). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sakano’s invention to include wherein the load cell further comprises a third sensor part arranged on the first inner surface of the flexible membrane, and a fourth sensor part arranged on the first sensor surface of the sensor carrier.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Sakano’s invention for at least the purpose of ensuring a most accurate detection of force along the surface of the sensor.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakano (US Pub. # 2012/0180575) in view of Okada (US Pat. # 5856620), hereinafter referred to as Okada ‘620’.
Regarding claim 5, Sakano does not appear to teach, “wherein the sensor carrier is connected to the base and/or the flexible membrane and/or the side wall via at least one connecting part.” However, Okada ‘620’ teaches the deficiencies of Sakano (Fig. 2, ref. # 30). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sakano’s invention to include wherein the sensor carrier is connected to the base and/or the flexible membrane and/or the side wall via at least one connecting part.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Sakano’s invention for at least the purpose of elastically supporting the outside edges of the sensor carrier, ensuring more accurate detection results with decreased variance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO–892 form. The references cited herewith teach load cell sensing devices with configurations similar to the present application.
/RYAN D WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852