DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I and Species A in the reply filed on 09/16/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the examination of the non-elected Group II and Species B would not result in a serious examination burden. This is not found persuasive for the reasons stated on p. 3, 1st para of Office Action of 07/16/2026. More specifically, the inventions require a different field of search. For example, with respect to species restriction, Species II requires the apparatus to removing deposit from an “outer side of the tip” (claim 12), and a guide member (claim 13) which are not required by Species I. With respect to Group II, which is a method that requires “ionize the measurement target sample introduced from the sample introduction portion by a hydrogen flame” while Group I apparatus that is configured to use a “hydrogen flame”, but “hydrogen flame” is not required. Therefore, the argument is not persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-14 and claim 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species and invention, respectively, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 09/16/2026.
Claims 1-11 are being examined herein.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/15/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“detection unit being configured to detect an electric current or light generated due to ions that are produced by the sample ionization unit” in claim 1, line 3;
“removal unit configured to remove deposits of the measurement target sample accumulated on a tip of the sample introduction portion on a side of the hydrogen flame” in claim 1, lines 9-10.
In this instant invention, the corresponding structure for
“detection unit being configured to detect an electric current or light generated due to ions that are produced by the sample ionization unit” is an ion collector and amplifier circuit (para. 0045), and equivalents thereof.
“removal unit configured to remove deposits of the measurement target sample accumulated on a tip of the sample introduction portion on a side of the hydrogen flame” is a supply unit for supplying a gas inside of nozzle in a flame ionization detector and a pressure regulating valve for regulating the supply unit (paras. 0038 and 0081) and equivalents thereof.
The examiner notes that “removal unit” in claims 6 and 7 and their dependent claims is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112 (f) because the claims has recited sufficient structure for the removal unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the supply for a gas to ionize …" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyai et al. (US 20130333443 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Miyai teaches a hydrogen flame ionization detector (Fig. 2) comprising:
a sample ionization unit (combustion block 2 and nozzle 3) provided with a sample introduction portion (nozzle 3) for introducing a measurement target sample, the sample ionization unit being configured to ionize the measurement target sample introduced from the sample introduction portion by using a hydrogen flame (para. 0024);
a detection unit (collector electrode 7 and acquisition circuit 8) disposed on the sample ionization unit, the detection unit being configured to detect an electric current or light generated due to ions that are produced by the sample ionization unit (para. 0018); and
a removal unit (purge gas supply, purge gas pump, exhaust gas supply and calculation device 9)(paras. 0024 and 0034-36 and Fig. 2) configured to remove deposits of the measurement target sample accumulated on a tip of the sample introduction portion on a side of the hydrogen flame (para. 0035).
Regarding claim 2, Miyai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1. Miyai further teaches wherein the removal unit removes the deposits before the deposits solidify (interpreted as an intended use. The removal unit meets the structural limitation of the intended use. Para. 0034, a user can start purge process before deposits solidity).
Regarding claim 3, Miyai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 2. Miyai further teaches wherein the removal unit removes the deposits when a predetermined time has elapsed since a completion of ionization processing of the measurement target sample (interpreted as an intended use. The removal unit meets the structural limitation of the intended use. A timer is not positively recited. Para. 0034, a user can control the timing of the purge process).
Regarding claim 4, Miyai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1. Miyai further teaches wherein the removal unit removes the deposits accumulated on at least one of an inner side of the tip of the sample introduction portion .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyai et al. (US 20130333443 A1) in view of Rubey et al. (US 5846293 A).
Regarding claim 5, Miyai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1.
Miyai further teaches wherein the removal unit (purge gas supply, purge gas pump, exhaust gas supply and calculation device 9) removes the hydrogen deposits in the FID by having calculation device 9 to control the supply of purge gas to the FID through paths 100 and 5 (paras. 0004, 0034-0036). Miyai does not teach the purge gas flow rate and pressure in the sample introduction portion that enables the removal of the deposits. Therefore, Miyai fails to teach the removal unit removes the deposits by increasing an inner pressure of the sample introduction portion to be higher than the inner pressure of the sample introduction portion set to perform the ionization processing of the measurement target sample.
However, Rubey teaches a method for removing deposits in an inlet of gas chromograph column that includes increasing gas flow by increasing gas pressure in the inlet after a processing run (col. 3 , lns. 26-35, claims 7 and 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of the calculation device 9 of the removal unit taught by Miyai to including increasing purge gas flow by increasing gas/inner pressure of the sample introduction portion to be higher than the inner pressure of the sample introduction portion set to perform the ionization processing of the measurement target sample as taught by Rubey in order to remove deposit after a sample run with a reasonable expectation of success (Rubey, col. 3, lns. 26-35) (MPEP 2143)(I)(G).
Regarding claim 6, modified Miyai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 5.
Miyai further teaches wherein the removal unit includes
a supply unit (purge gas supply and exhaust gas supply)(para. 0035) configured to supply a gas to an inside of the sample introduction portion (para. 0024 and 0035), and
a controller (calculation device 9, which is computer, para. 0027) configured to control the supply unit (para. 0034 and 0036).
Modified Miyai further teaches the controller (calculation device 9) configured to control the supply unit so that the inner pressure of the sample introduction portion becomes higher than the inner pressure of the sample introduction portion set to perform the ionization processing of the measurement target sample (modified Miyai as applied to claim 5, teaches the controller method includes increasing gas/inner pressure to increase purge flow for removal of deposit. See also Rubey, col. 3, lns. 26-35).
Regarding claim 7, modified Miyai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 5.
Miyai further teaches wherein the removal unit includes
a supply unit (purge gas supply and exhaust gas supply) configured to supply a gas to an inside of the sample introduction portion (para. 0024 and 0035), and
a controller (calculation device 9, which is computer, para. 0027) configured to control the supply unit (para. 0034 and 0036, the calculation device 9 is configured to start and end the purge process).
Modified Miyai teaches the controller unit configured control the supply unit, so that a flow rate of the gas supplied to the inside of the sample introduction portion per unit time becomes greater than a flow rate of the gas supplied to the inside of the sample introduction portion per unit time set to perform the ionization processing of the measurement target sample (modified Miyai as applied to claim 5, teaches the controller method includes increasing purge flow rate for removal of deposit. See also Rubey, col. 3, lns. 26-35).
Regarding claim 8, modified Miyai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 6. Miyai further teaches wherein the supply unit is equipped with a gas supply unit (purge gas supply and exhaust gas supply) different from the supply unit (fuel/combustion gas supply)(Fig. 2) for a gas to ionize the measurement target sample (para. 0024-0025).
Regarding claim 9, modified Miyai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 6. With regard to the limitation “the gas is a gas to ionize the measurement target sample” the gas is not positively recited, and thus not a part of the invention. Since the limitation is directed to the gas, the limitation does not further structurally limit the invention.
Regarding claim 10, modified Miyai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 9. Miyai further teaches wherein the sample ionization unit (combustion block 2 and nozzle 3) is provided with a space surrounding the tip of the sample introduction portion (Fig. 2), and wherein the supply unit (purge gas supply and exhaust gas supply) includes at least one of a sample supply unit (exhaust gas supply) configured to supply a carrier gas together with the measurement target sample to the sample introduction portion, a fuel gas supply unit (fuel/combustion gas supply) configured to supply a fuel gas to the sample introduction portion (Fig. 2), and a make-up gas supply unit configured to supply a make-up gas to the sample introduction portion (), wherein the hydrogen flame ionization detector further comprises an auxiliary gas supply unit (auxiliary combustion gas supply) to supply an auxiliary gas to the space.
Regarding claim 11, modified Miyai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 10. Miyai further teaches wherein the auxiliary gas supply unit (auxiliary combustion gas supply) supplies the auxiliary gas to an outer periphery of the tip of the sample introduction portion (Fig. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kuwahara (Showa 49-87385)(JP) teaches a hydrogen ionization detector comprises a sample introduction nozzle, a detection unit and a removal unit for in-situ removal of combustion product deposits.
/M.L.C./ Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758