DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 12-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abedini et al. (US Publication 2022/0053486 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Abedini et al. (US Publication 2022/0053486 A1) teaches, a wireless communication method comprising: performing, by a wireless communication node with a network node, an initial access process (see paragraph 158, see figure 11, step 1108; the BS 1102 and the repeater device 1104 perform an initial access procedure and establish an RRC connection; the repeater is the network node and the base station is the wireless communication node); and identifying, by the wireless communication node, the network node according to a message from the network node in the initial access process or after the initial access process (see paragraph 159; During call 1108, the BS 1102 and the repeater device 1104 may identify the beams they will use to communicate with each other. In addition, the BS 1102 and the repeater device 1104 may exchange configuration information, capability information, and other information in some examples); wherein the network node is adopted to amplify signals between the wireless communication node and a user equipment (see paragraph 148; The repeater device 1000 may include a relay unit (RU) 1002, one or more antenna arrays (or antennas, antenna panels, and/or the like) such as a receive (Rx) array 1004 and a transmit (Tx) array 1006, and an MT unit 1008 as discussed herein. The RU 1002 includes an amplifier 1010 for amplifying signals received via the receive array 1004 and transmitting the amplified signals via the transmit array 1006).
In regards to claim 2, Abedini teaches, wherein the network node is identified based on a Random Access Channel Occasion, RO, and a Physical Random Access Channel, PRACH, preamble (see paragraph 159 for the identification as sated above; see paragraph 95; the RACH configuration identifies monitoring occasions (MOs) that specify a set of symbols (e.g., in a PRACH slot) that are scheduled by a base station for the PRACH procedure. The RACH configuration may also indicate the size of a random access response window during which the UE is to monitor for a response to a PRACH preamble. The RACH configuration may further specify that the random access response window starts a certain number of sub-frames after the end of the PRACH preamble in some examples. After obtaining the MIB, the RMSI and/or the OSI, the UE may thus perform a random access procedure for initial access to the RAN).
In regards to claim 12, Abedini teaches, transmitting, by the wireless communication node to the network node, an indication indicating that the network node is supported by the wireless communication node (see paragraph 145; The RU 910 provides relaying (e.g., reception, amplification, and transmission) functionality to permit communication of traffic (e.g., user data) from the base station 902 to reach the UE 906 and/or to enable traffic from the UE 906 to reach the base station 902).
In regards to claim 13, Abedini teaches, A wireless communication method comprising: transmitting, by a network node to a wireless communication node, a message in an initial access process or after the initial access process, to allow the wireless communication node to identify the network node according to the message (see paragraph 158, see figure 11, step 1108; the BS 1102 and the repeater device 1104 perform an initial access procedure and establish an RRC connection; the repeater is the network node and the base station is the wireless communication node); wherein the network node is adopted to amplify signals between the wireless communication node and a user equipment (see paragraph 148; The repeater device 1000 may include a relay unit (RU) 1002, one or more antenna arrays (or antennas, antenna panels, and/or the like) such as a receive (Rx) array 1004 and a transmit (Tx) array 1006, and an MT unit 1008 as discussed herein. The RU 1002 includes an amplifier 1010 for amplifying signals received via the receive array 1004 and transmitting the amplified signals via the transmit array 1006).
In regards to claim 14, Abedini teaches, wherein the network node is identified based on a Random Access Channel Occasion, RO, and a Physical Random Access Channel, PRACH, preamble (see paragraph 159 for the identification as sated above; see paragraph 95; the RACH configuration identifies monitoring occasions (MOs) that specify a set of symbols (e.g., in a PRACH slot) that are scheduled by a base station for the PRACH procedure. The RACH configuration may also indicate the size of a random access response window during which the UE is to monitor for a response to a PRACH preamble. The RACH configuration may further specify that the random access response window starts a certain number of sub-frames after the end of the PRACH preamble in some examples. After obtaining the MIB, the RMSI and/or the OSI, the UE may thus perform a random access procedure for initial access to the RAN).
In regards to claim 20, Abedini teaches, a wireless communication method comprising: receiving, by a wireless communication node from a network node, an identity report message comprising an identity of the network node (see paragraph 158, see figure 11, step 1108; the BS 1102 and the repeater device 1104 perform an initial access procedure and establish an RRC connection; the repeater is the network node and the base station is the wireless communication node; see paragraph 159; During call 1108, the BS 1102 and the repeater device 1104 may identify the beams they will use to communicate with each other. In addition, the BS 1102 and the repeater device 1104 may exchange configuration information, capability information, and other information in some examples); and performing, by the wireless communication node, an authentication for the network node according to the identity of the network node (see paragraph 61; the ability for a UE to communicate while moving, independent of the location of the UE, is referred to as mobility. The various physical channels between the UE and the RAN 200 are generally set up, maintained, and released under the control of an access and mobility management function (AMF), which may include a security context management function (SCMF) that manages the security context for both the control plane and the user plane functionality and a security anchor function (SEAF) that performs authentication); wherein the network node is adopted to amplify signals between the wireless communication node and a user equipment (see paragraph 148; The repeater device 1000 may include a relay unit (RU) 1002, one or more antenna arrays (or antennas, antenna panels, and/or the like) such as a receive (Rx) array 1004 and a transmit (Tx) array 1006, and an MT unit 1008 as discussed herein. The RU 1002 includes an amplifier 1010 for amplifying signals received via the receive array 1004 and transmitting the amplified signals via the transmit array 1006).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-10 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini further in view of Ko et al. (US Publication 2022/0167427 A1).
In regards to claims 3 and 15, Abedini teaches all the limitations of the parent claim as sated above.
Abedini however fails to teach, wherein the network node is identified when the wireless communication node detects the PRACH preamble with a contention free PRACH preamble index corresponding to the network node during the RO.
Ko et al. (US Publication 2022/0167427 A1) teaches, wherein the network node is identified when the wireless communication node detects the PRACH preamble with a contention free PRACH preamble index corresponding to the network node during the RO (see paragraph 344; The BS may configure a plurality of POs to the UE. In this case, the plurality of POs may have a one-to-one relationship with PRACH preambles for RO(s). When there is a mask index and an SSB/CSI-RS index for indicating an RO, an SSB/CSI-RS index applied to a RACH may be applied to a PO. A RACH slot may be mapped to POs included in a PUSCH slot having a predetermined time duration).
Abedini and Ko are both related to communications in wireless systems including those of control signals.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the random access process taught by Ko into the control signal transmission for smart repeater devices taught by Abedini. The motivation to do so would be to reduce delays caused by decoding of the DCI and thus performing a 2-step RACH more efficiently.
In regards to claims 4 and 16, Abedini teaches all the limitations of the parent claim as sated above.
Abedini however fails to teach wherein the network node is identified based on a contention-based Physical Random Access Channel, PRACH preamble, and a Random Access Radio Network Temporary Identifier, RA-RNTI.
Ko however teaches, wherein the network node is identified based on a contention-based Physical Random Access Channel, PRACH preamble, and a Random Access Radio Network Temporary Identifier, RA-RNTI (see paragraphs 224-225; if an RA-RNTI of the 4-step RACH procedure is generated based on a slot index and an OFDM symbol starting position (or starting OFDM symbol index) included in a RACH configuration table, an RNTI of the 2-step RACH procedure may be generated by applying a predetermined offset to the slot index and the OFDM symbol starting position (or starting OFDM symbol index) included in the RACH configuration table; For example, a PRACH preamble based on a short sequence may consist of at least two OFDM symbols. For PRACH preamble format A1, OFDM symbol index 0, 2, 4, 6, 8 or 10 may be used for the RA-RNTI of the 4-step RACH procedure, and OFDM symbol index 1, 3, 5, 7, 9 or 11 may not be used).
Abedini and Ko are both related to communications in wireless systems including those of control signals.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the random access process taught by Ko into the control signal transmission for smart repeater devices taught by Abedini. The motivation to do so would be to reduce delays caused by decoding of the DCI and thus performing a 2-step RACH more efficiently.
In regards to claims 5 and 17, Abedini and Ko either individually or in combination teach all the limitations of the parent clams.
Abedini however fails to teach, wherein the network node is identified when the wireless communication node receives a reply for a Random Access Response, RAR, scrambled by a RA-RNTI corresponding to the network node.
Ko however teaches, wherein the network node is identified when the wireless communication node receives a reply for a Random Access Response, RAR, scrambled by a RA-RNTI corresponding to the network node (see paragraph 239; a UE performing the 2-step RACH procedure and a UE performing the 4-step RACH procedure may each monitor an RAR. An RA-RNTI used for RAR monitoring may be determined according to the RO; see paragraph 119; When the BS receives a random access preamble from the UE, the BS transmits an RAR message (Msg2) to the UE. A PDCCH scheduling a PDSCH carrying the RAR is cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled with a random access (RA) radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (RA-RNTI) and then transmitted).
Abedini and Ko are both related to communications in wireless systems including those of control signals.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the random access process taught by Ko into the control signal transmission for smart repeater devices taught by Abedini. The motivation to do so would be to reduce delays caused by decoding of the DCI and thus performing a 2-step RACH more efficiently.
In regards to claims 6 and 18, Abedini and Ko either individually or in combination teach all the limitations of the parent clams.
Abedini however fails to teach, wherein the network node is identified when the wireless communication node receives a reply for an RAR scrambled by the RA-RNTI with an offset corresponding to the network node.
Ko however teaches, Ko teaches, wherein the network node is identified when the wireless communication node receives a reply for an RAR scrambled by the RA-RNTI with an offset corresponding to the network node (see paragraph 229; when the 2-step RACH procedure and the 4-step RACH procedure share the same RO, a slot index indicated by the RACH configuration may be used to generate the RA-RNTI of the 4-step RACH procedure, and a specific offset may be applied to the slot index indicated by the RACH configuration to generate the 2-step RACH RNTI).
Abedini and Ko are both related to communications in wireless systems including those of control signals.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the random access process taught by Ko into the control signal transmission for smart repeater devices taught by Abedini. The motivation to do so would be to reduce delays caused by decoding of the DCI and thus performing a 2-step RACH more efficiently.
In regards to claims 7-9 and 19 Abedini teaches all the limitations of the parent claims as stated above.
Abedini however fails to teach, wherein the network node is identified based on a content of a message of a scheduled transmission and wherein the scheduled transmission is a scheduled transmission after a successful initial access process, or a data payload sent together with a preamble and wherein the network node is identified when the wireless communication node receives an indication corresponding to the network node in an identity field.
Ko however teaches, wherein the network node is identified based on a content of a message of a scheduled transmission and wherein the scheduled transmission is a scheduled transmission after a successful initial access process, or a data payload sent together with a preamble (see paragraphs 126-127 and figure 12; The operations of transmitting Msg1 and Msg3 in the 4-step RACH procedure may be performed as one operation in the 2-step RACH procedure where the UE transmits one message (message A (MsgA)) including a PRACH and a PUSCH. The operations in which the BS transmits Msg2 and Msg4 in the 4-step RACH procedure may be performed as one operation in the 2-step RACH procedure where the BS transmits one message (message B (MsgB)) including an RAR and contention resolution information; That is, in the 2-step RACH procedure, the UE may combine Msg1 and Msg3 of the 4-step RACH procedure into one message (e.g., MsgA) and transmit the one message to the BS (1201); the PUSCH implies the identity of the network node since the PUSCH is destined for the BS) and wherein the network node is identified when the wireless communication node receives an indication corresponding to the network node in an identity field (see paragraph 128; in the 2-step RACH procedure, the BS may combine Msg2 and Msg4 of the 4-step RACH procedure into one message (e.g., MsgB) and transmit the one message to the UE (S1203)) or in an establishment cause field in the content of the message.
Abedini and Ko are both related to communications in wireless systems including those of control signals.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the random access process taught by Ko into the control signal transmission for smart repeater devices taught by Abedini. The motivation to do so would be to reduce delays caused by decoding of the DCI and thus performing a 2-step RACH more efficiently.
In regards to claim 10, Abedini teaches all the limitations of the parent claim as stated above.
Abedini however fails to teach, wherein the network node is identified based on an indication corresponding to the network node in a higher layer message received from the network node
Ko however teaches, wherein the network node is identified based on an indication corresponding to the network node in a higher layer message received from the network node (see paragraph 383; it may be regulated that information on whether the embodiments are applied or information on rules related to the embodiments is transmitted from the BS to the UE in a predefined signal such as physical layer signaling or higher layer signaling).
Abedini and Ko are both related to communications in wireless systems including those of control signals.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the random access process taught by Ko into the control signal transmission for smart repeater devices taught by Abedini. The motivation to do so would be to reduce delays caused by decoding of the DCI and thus performing a 2-step RACH more efficiently.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 11, the cited prior art fails to teach, wherein the higher layer message is a registration request, and a connection between the network node and the wireless communication node is released when the wireless communication node receives a registration rejection from a core network.
Prior art Wang et al. (US Publication 2024/0137820 A1) teaches, in figure 8, a protocol stack for relaying.
Conclusion
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466