Response to an Amendment
This office action is a response to a communication made on 07/15/2026.
Claims 1, 5, 11 and 15 are currently amended.
Claim 16 is new.
Claims 2, 6-10 and 12 are canceled.
Claims 1, 3-5 and 11, 13-16 are pending for this application
Response to Arguments
Applicant: Applicant’s arguments see remarks on page 7-11, filed 07/15/2026, applicant argues that, “Luo, Yihang, and Li, whether taken alone or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest "using the candidate identifier as an object of a target service in an operating system of the first electronic device, the target service being used to display identifiers corresponding to applications of the first electronic device and the candidate identifier that corresponds to the application of the second electronic device, the candidate identifier being configured to trigger execution of the corresponding application on the second electronic device," as recited in amended claim 1.
Examiner: Applicant's arguments filed 07/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagree.
Luo teaches using the candidate identifier as an object of a target service in an operating system of the first electronic device, the target service being used to display identifiers corresponding to applications of the first electronic device because ¶0030, Fig. 4, and ¶0064, teaches first input with regard to a target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier) and display area (i.e. target service) of the screen projection content, and target identifier is used for indicating a target object (i.e. candidate identifier as an object of a target service)…target identifier( for example an identifier 13 of a video application 11), so that display area (i.e. target service) being used to display the identifier (i.e. display identifier) of an application. the first electronic device 01 receives a first input from a user with regard to a target identifier and a display area (i.e. target service) of the screen projection content. The target identifier is used for indicating a target object (i.e. candidate identifier as an object of a target service), ¶0195, teaches the second electronic device may play the video file (that is, the target object as candidate identifier) on the interface of the call between the second electronic device and the third electronic device (that is, a call interface displayed by the second electronic device) according to the control instruction, so that the user and the user of the third electronic device can watch the video file simultaneously.
Luo also teaches the candidate identifier being configured to trigger execution of the corresponding application on the second electronic device because ¶0090, teaches the user may trigger the first electronic device to run a first application to display the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier). Therefore, after step 203, the first electronic device may transmit the target identifier to the second electronic device in response to the first input. In this way, the second electronic device can receive the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier) and determine the target object according to the target identifier to transmit the target object to the third electronic device, ¶0115, teaches during use of the second electronic device by the user, the user may trigger the foreground of the second electronic device to run a second application, and may provide an input with regard to a user identifier in the interface of the second application,¶0191, teaches since the user may trigger the second electronic device to transmit the screen projection content to the first electronic device when the user needs to share the target object with a user of the third electronic device, the second electronic device may receive the control instruction transmitted by the first electronic device and may directly share the target object with the user of the third electronic device according to the control instruction.
Claims 4 and 14 depend from claims 1 and 11 respectively. Accordingly, the arguments for claims 4 and 14 are not persuasive for the same reasons set forth for claims 1 and 11. For further clarification, please see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 11, 13 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo (US 2023/0120442 A1) in view of Yihang (CN 112558833A), and further in view of Li et al. (US 2013/0139095 A1), hereinafter “Li”. An English translation has been added with this application.
With respect to claim 1, Luo in view of Yihang, and further in view of Li discloses a processing method comprising:
in response to establishing the transmission channel between the first electronic device and the second electronic device (¶0028, ¶0036 and ¶0080 teaches user A uses an electronic device A to perform an audio and video call (i.e. transmission channel) with an electronic device B of a user B, which explicitly teaches establishing the transmission channel between first and second device… in response to first input in regard to target identifier first device sending target object to second device… the first electronic device may establish a wireless connection with the second electronic device), obtaining a candidate identifier based on the transmission channel (¶0028 and ¶0092, teaches when multiple devices are performing in audio or video transmission, then target object (i.e. candidate identifier) is video file which is playing or receiving through the second device),
using the candidate identifier as an object of a target service in an operating system of the first electronic device, the target service being used to display identifiers corresponding to applications of the first electronic device (¶0030, Fig. 4, and ¶0064, teaches first input with regard to a target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier) and display area (i.e. target service) of the screen projection content, and target identifier is used for indicating a target object (i.e. candidate identifier as an object of a target service)…target identifier( for example an identifier 13 of a video application 11), so that display area (i.e. target service) being used to display the identifier (i.e. display identifier) of an application. the first electronic device 01 receives a first input from a user with regard to a target identifier and a display area (i.e. target service) of the screen projection content. The target identifier is used for indicating a target object (i.e. candidate identifier as an object of a target service), ¶0195, teaches the second electronic device may play the video file (that is, the target object as candidate identifier) on the interface of the call between the second electronic device and the third electronic device (that is, a call interface displayed by the second electronic device) according to the control instruction, so that the user and the user of the third electronic device can watch the video file simultaneously), the candidate identifier being configured to trigger execution of the corresponding application on the second electronic device (¶0090, teaches the user may trigger the first electronic device to run a first application to display the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier). Therefore, after step 203, the first electronic device may transmit the target identifier to the second electronic device in response to the first input. In this way, the second electronic device can receive the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier) and determine the target object according to the target identifier to transmit the target object to the third electronic device, ¶0115, teaches during use of the second electronic device by the user, the user may trigger the foreground of the second electronic device to run a second application, and may provide an input with regard to a user identifier in the interface of the second application,¶0191, teaches since the user may trigger the second electronic device to transmit the screen projection content to the first electronic device when the user needs to share the target object with a user of the third electronic device, the second electronic device may receive the control instruction transmitted by the first electronic device and may directly share the target object with the user of the third electronic device according to the control instruction);
obtaining a trigger instruction for a target identifier, the target identifier belonging to a first electronic device (¶0030-¶0031, teaches the first electronic device 01 receives (i.e. obtain) a first input (i.e. instruction) from a user with regard to a target identifier…the user may trigger the first electronic device to display the screen projection content and may directly provide an input with regard to the target identifier));
in response to the target identifier indicating that a target application corresponding to the target identifier belongs to a second electronic device (¶0009, ¶0030 and ¶0036 teaches the sharing apparatus (i.e. target application) is a second sharing apparatus…receiving first input (i.e. instruction) from a user with regard to a target identifier… in response to first input in regard to target identifier first device sending target object to second device);
obtaining display data through the transmission channel, the display data being screen-recording data of the second electronic device for the running target application (¶0028, ¶0047 and ¶0050, teaches transmission channel as audio video call between users…the screen projection content (i.e. screen recording data) includes first display data and first audio data. The first display data is display data corresponding to a real-time display interface of the second electronic device…the first electronic device may display the screen projection content (i.e. display the screen projection content would be obtaining display data while audio or video transmission) with a first display parameter on a display screen of the first electronic device according to the first display data); and
displaying the display data in a target area (¶0030, teaches the first electronic device 01 receives a first input from a user with regard to a target identifier and a display area of the screen projection content).
However, Luo remain silent on sending a call request through a transmission channel with the second electronic device to cause the second electronic device to run the target application.
Yihang discloses sending a call request through a transmission channel with the second electronic device to cause the second electronic device to run the target application (page-4, II. 10-11 and II. 46-48, teaches in response to the first input, send a projection request of the target application indicated by the target first identifier to the second electronic device… when the second electronic device runs the target application in the foreground, the projection request may be a screen projection request, and the corresponding projection content may be the projection content, and the projection content is used to indicate the real-time display screen of the target application, page-6, II. 18-20, teaches the first electronic device may first establish a projection connection with the second electronic device, so as to be able to communicate with the second electronic device data transmission (i.e. transmission channel) of projected content).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Luo’s user A uses an electronic device A to perform an audio and video call with an electronic device B of a user B with sending a call request through a transmission channel with the second electronic device to cause the second electronic device to run the target application of Yihang, in order to ensure the second device only runs apps when properly instructed and ensure both devices coordinate on the same task (Yihang).
Luo ¶0058, teaches the target object (i.e. candidate identifier) may include …an object in the second electronic device. However, Luo in view of Yihang remain silent on the candidate identifier corresponding to an application of the second electronic device, the candidate identifier that corresponds to the application of the second electronic device.
Li discloses the candidate identifier corresponding to an application of the second electronic device (¶0021, teaches after the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier) is determined, the electronic device can download an application corresponding to the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier) from the server, ¶0034, teaches when the application corresponding to the target identifier is completed downloading, the application corresponding to the target icon 240 is stored in the electronic device, that is, the application corresponding to the target icon 240 is changed from a first application to a second application, ¶0054, teaches After the identifier-determining unit 432 determines the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier)…the local application-interface can be used to display second identifiers of the second applications stored in the electronic device for user),
the candidate identifier that corresponds to the application of the second electronic device ((¶0021, teaches after the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier) is determined, the electronic device can download an application corresponding to the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier) from the server, ¶0034, teaches when the application corresponding to the target identifier is completed downloading, the application corresponding to the target icon 240 is stored in the electronic device, that is, the application corresponding to the target icon 240 is changed from a first application to a second application, ¶0054, teaches After the identifier-determining unit 432 determines the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier)…the local application-interface can be used to display second identifiers of the second applications stored in the electronic device for user).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Luo’s the first electronic device transmits the target object (i.e. candidate identifier) to the second electronic device with the candidate identifier corresponding to an application of the second electronic device of Li, in order to increase efficiency, improve candidate experience and enhance data security (Li).
With respect to claim 11, Luo discloses a first electronic device comprising:
one or more processors (Fig. 11, processor 110) configured to:
in response to establishing the transmission channel between the first electronic device and the second electronic device (¶0028, ¶0036 and ¶0080 teaches user A uses an electronic device A to perform an audio and video call (i.e. transmission channel) with an electronic device B of a user B, which explicitly teaches establishing the transmission channel between first and second device… in response to first input in regard to target identifier first device sending target object to second device… the first electronic device may establish a wireless connection with the second electronic device), obtaining a candidate identifier based on the transmission channel (¶0028 and ¶0092, teaches when multiple devices are performing in audio or video transmission, then target object (i.e. candidate identifier) is video file which is playing or receiving through the second device),
use the candidate identifier as an object of a target service in an operating system of the first electronic device, the target service being used to display identifiers corresponding to applications of the first electronic device (¶0030, Fig. 4, and ¶0064, teaches first input with regard to a target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier) and display area (i.e. target service) of the screen projection content, and target identifier is used for indicating a target object (i.e. candidate identifier as an object of a target service)…target identifier( for example an identifier 13 of a video application 11), so that display area (i.e. target service) being used to display the identifier of an application. the first electronic device 01 receives a first input from a user with regard to a target identifier and a display area (i.e. target service) of the screen projection content. The target identifier is used for indicating a target object (i.e. candidate identifier as an object of a target service), ¶0195, teaches the second electronic device may play the video file (that is, the target object as candidate identifier) on the interface of the call between the second electronic device and the third electronic device (that is, a call interface displayed by the second electronic device) according to the control instruction, so that the user and the user of the third electronic device can watch the video file simultaneously), the candidate identifier being configured to trigger execution of the corresponding application on the second electronic device (¶0090, teaches the user may trigger the first electronic device to run a first application to display the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier). Therefore, after step 203, the first electronic device may transmit the target identifier to the second electronic device in response to the first input. In this way, the second electronic device can receive the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier) and determine the target object according to the target identifier to transmit the target object to the third electronic device, ¶0115, teaches during use of the second electronic device by the user, the user may trigger the foreground of the second electronic device to run a second application, and may provide an input with regard to a user identifier in the interface of the second application,¶0191, teaches since the user may trigger the second electronic device to transmit the screen projection content to the first electronic device when the user needs to share the target object with a user of the third electronic device, the second electronic device may receive the control instruction transmitted by the first electronic device and may directly share the target object with the user of the third electronic device according to the control instruction);;
in response to a target application corresponding to a target identifier of the first electronic device belonging to a second electronic device ((¶0009, ¶0030 and ¶0036 teaches the sharing apparatus (i.e. target application) is a second sharing apparatus…receiving first input (i.e. instruction) from a user with regard to a target identifier… in response to first input in regard to target identifier first device sending target object to second device), generate a call request in response to a trigger instruction for the target identifier (¶0030-¶0031 and ¶0038, teaches the first electronic device 01 receives (i.e. obtain) a first input (i.e. instruction) from a user with regard to a target identifier…the user may trigger the first electronic device to display the screen projection content and may directly provide an input with regard to the target identifier…first device receives request transmitted by second device);
obtain display data through the transmission channel, the display data being screen-recording data of the second electronic device for the running target application (¶0028, ¶0047 and ¶0050, teaches transmission channel as audio video call between users…the screen projection content (i.e. screen recording data) includes first display data and first audio data. The first display data is display data corresponding to a real-time display interface of the second electronic device…the first electronic device may display the screen projection content (i.e. display the screen projection content would be obtaining display data while audio or video transmission) with a first display parameter on a display screen of the first electronic device according to the first display data); and
a display configured to display the display data (Fig. 11, display unit 106, ¶0030, teaches the first electronic device 01 receives a first input from a user with regard to a target identifier and a display area of the screen projection content).
However, Luo remain silent on sending a call request through a transmission channel with the second electronic device to cause the second electronic device to run the target application.
Yihang discloses sending a call request through a transmission channel with the second electronic device to cause the second electronic device to run the target application (page-4, II. 10-11 and II. 46-48, teaches in response to the first input, send a projection request of the target application indicated by the target first identifier to the second electronic device… when the second electronic device runs the target application in the foreground, the projection request may be a screen projection request, and the corresponding projection content may be the projection content, and the projection content is used to indicate the real-time display screen of the target application, page-6, II. 18-20, teaches the first electronic device may first establish a projection connection with the second electronic device, so as to be able to communicate with the second electronic device data transmission (i.e. transmission channel) of projected content).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Luo’s user A uses an electronic device A to perform an audio and video call with an electronic device B of a user B with sending a call request through a transmission channel with the second electronic device to cause the second electronic device to run the target application of Yihang, in order to ensure the second device only runs apps when properly instructed and ensure both devices coordinate on the same task (Yihang).
Luo ¶0058, teaches the target object (i.e. candidate identifier) may include …an object in the second electronic device. However, Luo in view of Yihang remain silent on the candidate identifier corresponding to an application of the second electronic device, the candidate identifier that corresponds to the application of the second electronic device.
Li discloses the candidate identifier corresponding to an application of the second electronic device (¶0021, teaches after the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier) is determined, the electronic device can download an application corresponding to the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier) from the server, ¶0034, teaches when the application corresponding to the target identifier is completed downloading, the application corresponding to the target icon 240 is stored in the electronic device, that is, the application corresponding to the target icon 240 is changed from a first application to a second application, ¶0054, teaches After the identifier-determining unit 432 determines the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier)…the local application-interface can be used to display second identifiers of the second applications stored in the electronic device for user),
the candidate identifier that corresponds to the application of the second electronic device ((¶0021, teaches after the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier) is determined, the electronic device can download an application corresponding to the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier) from the server, ¶0034, teaches when the application corresponding to the target identifier is completed downloading, the application corresponding to the target icon 240 is stored in the electronic device, that is, the application corresponding to the target icon 240 is changed from a first application to a second application, ¶0054, teaches After the identifier-determining unit 432 determines the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier)…the local application-interface can be used to display second identifiers of the second applications stored in the electronic device for user).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Luo’s the first electronic device transmits the target object (i.e. candidate identifier) to the second electronic device with the candidate identifier corresponding to an application of the second electronic device of Li, in order to increase efficiency, improve candidate experience and enhance data security (Li).
with respect to claims 3 and 13, Luo in view of Yihang, and further in view of Li discloses the method, an operating system, and a first electronic device according to claims 1, 6 and 11, further comprising, before obtaining the trigger instruction for the target identifier:
in response to establishing the transmission channel between the first electronic device and the second electronic device (Luo, ¶0028, teaches user A uses an electronic device A to perform an audio and video call (i.e. transmission channel) with an electronic device B of a user B), determining a candidate identifier corresponding to the second electronic device (Luo, ¶0058, teaches the target object (i.e. candidate identifier) may include …an object in the second electronic device, ¶0195, teaches the second electronic device may play the video file (that is, the target object as candidate identifier) on the interface of the call between the second electronic device and the third electronic device (that is, a call interface displayed by the second electronic device) according to the control instruction, Li, ¶0021, teaches after the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier) is determined, the electronic device can download an application corresponding to the target identifier (i.e. candidate identifier) from the server, ¶0034, teaches when the application corresponding to the target identifier is completed downloading, the application corresponding to the target icon 240 is stored in the electronic device, that is, the application corresponding to the target icon 240 is changed from a first application to a second application), the candidate identifier including the target identifier (Luo, ¶0088, teaches the first electronic device transmits the target object to the second electronic device in response to the first input in a case that the target object (i.e. candidate identifier) is stored in the first electronic device, ¶0111, teaches if the user needs to play the video file (that is, the target object) in the first electronic device, the user may directly provide an input with regard to the target identifier in the first electronic device); and
using the candidate identifier as an object of the target service in the operating system, the target service being used to display an identifier of an application (Luo, ¶0030, teaches the first electronic device 01 receives a first input from a user with regard to a target identifier and a display area (i.e. target service) of the screen projection content. The target identifier is used for indicating a target object (i.e. candidate identifier), ¶0195, teaches the second electronic device may play the video file (that is, the target object as candidate identifier) on the interface of the call between the second electronic device and the third electronic device (that is, a call interface displayed by the second electronic device) according to the control instruction, so that the user and the user of the third electronic device can watch the video file simultaneously).
With respect to claims 5 and 15, Luo in view of Yihang, and further in view of Li discloses the method, an operating system, and a first electronic device according to claims 1, 6 and 11, wherein obtaining the display data through the transmission channel includes:
creating a service, the service being used to monitor transmission data of a port (Luo, ¶0038, teaches the screen projection request is used for requesting to project (i.e. service) a real-time display interface (i.e. monitor transmission data of the port) of the second electronic device 02 onto the first electronic device 01 for display, ¶0099, teaches the first electronic device may open the video file (that is, the target object), and display the first window on the call interface according to a second display parameter to play the video file); and
creating the port, the port being configured for the second electronic device to provide the screen-recording data based on the port (Luo, ¶0038, teaches the screen projection request is used for requesting to project (i.e. service) a real-time display interface (i.e. port) of the second electronic device 02 onto the first electronic device 01 for display).
With respect to claim 16, Luo in view of Yihang, and further in view of Li discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the target service includes at least one of a start menu, a desktop management program and a folder (Luo, ¶0028, teaches the interface includes a thumbnail of all files (for example, all music files, all movie files, and so on) in the electronic device A. In this way, the user can provide an input with regard to the thumbnail of the movie A into the thumbnail of all of the files (i.e. folder), and can provide an input with regard to a “Share” option on the interface, so that the electronic device A can transmit the movie A to the electronic device B, ¶0058, teaches the target object may include any one of a video file, an audio file, and a document file, an object in the first electronic device, or an object in the second electronic device, ¶0067, teaches the first application may be a file management application (i.e. desktop management program), for example, a “file manager” application).
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Yihang in view of Li, and further in view of Moy (US 8775850B2).
With respect to claims 4 and 14, Luo in view of Yihang, and further in view of Li discloses the method, an operating system, and a first electronic device according to claims 1, 6 and 11, wherein sending the call request through the transmission channel with the second electronic device to cause the second electronic device to run the target application in response to the target identifier indicating that the target application corresponding to the target identifier belongs to the second electronic device (Luo, ¶0028, teaches user A uses an electronic device A to perform an audio and video call (i.e. transmission channel) with an electronic device B of a user B, ¶0039, teaches the first electronic device and the second electronic device may be in screen projection connection in a case that the screen projection request transmitted by the second electronic device is received, to display the screen projection content, the user may provide an input with regard to the target identifier and the display area of the screen projection content to quickly trigger the second electronic device to transmit the target object to the third electronic device, Yihang, page-4, II. 10-11 and II. 46-48, teaches in response to the first input, send a projection request of the target application indicated by the target first identifier to the second electronic device… when the second electronic device runs the target application in the foreground, the projection request may be a screen projection request, and the corresponding projection content may be the projection content, and the projection content is used to indicate the real-time display screen of the target application, page-6, II. 18-20, teaches the first electronic device may first establish a projection connection with the second electronic device, so as to be able to communicate with the second electronic device data transmission (i.e. transmission channel) of projected content) includes:
obtaining a connection status in response to the target identifier indicates that the target application corresponding to the target identifier belongs to the second electronic device (Luo, ¶0039, teaches the first electronic device and the second electronic device may be in screen projection connection in a case that the screen projection request transmitted by the second electronic device is received, to display the screen projection content, the user may provide an input with regard to the target identifier and the display area of the screen projection content to quickly trigger the second electronic device to transmit the target object to the third electronic device); and
sending the call request based on the transmission channel with the second electronic device to cause the second electronic device to run the target application (Yihang, page-4, II. 10-11 and II. 46-48, teaches in response to the first input, send a projection request of the target application indicated by the target first identifier to the second electronic device… when the second electronic device runs the target application in the foreground, the projection request may be a screen projection request, and the corresponding projection content may be the projection content, and the projection content is used to indicate the real-time display screen of the target application, page-6, II. 18-20, teaches the first electronic device may first establish a projection connection with the second electronic device, so as to be able to communicate with the second electronic device data transmission (i.e. transmission channel) of projected content).
However, Luo in view of Yihang, and further in view of Li remain silent on establishing the transmission channel with the second electronic device in response to the connection status indicating that the transmission channel between the first electronic device and the second electronic device is not established.
Moy discloses establishing the transmission channel with the second electronic device in response to the connection status indicating that the transmission channel between the first electronic device and the second electronic device is not established (Col-10, II. 66-67 and Col-11, II. 11-18, teaches portable computing device send confirmation request over communication channel to the electronic device to establish a connection… however; If the portable computing device does not receive a confirmation (i.e. connection status indication) from the electronic device, then a connection will not be established).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Luo’s the first electronic device may establish a wireless connection with the second electronic device in view of Yihang’s in view of Li’s system with the connection status indicates that the transmission channel between the first electronic device and the second electronic device is not established of Moy, in order to maintain efficiency, conserver resources and avoid communication errors (Moy, Col-6, II. 54-55, Col-11, II. 11-13).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2458
/UMAR CHEEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458