DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 14, line 6, the phrase “pin number” should be changed to - -pin number.- -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sol (US 2019/0304289).
Regarding claim 1, Sol discloses a method for determining if a detected presence in proximity but outside of a controlled space P for transitory use is authorized for entry into that controlled space for transitory use, wherein the method comprises steps of:
(a) setting up authorization (paragraphs 11, 13, and 14) for at least one user DP or for at least one user-device DPD to enter the controlled space P for transitory use by linking identity-information of the at least one user or by linking identity-information of the at least one user-device with an identifier (DL, VC, 12) of the controlled space for transitory use in a database 50, 60 (p. 37-p. 40);
(b) an end-user or an end-user-device being in proximity to a presence-identifier to enable communication between the presence-identifier and the end-user or to enable communication between the presence-identifier and the end-user-device (p. 103);
(c) receiving at a computer-server 50, 60, or at a monitoring-device identifying information of the end-user or identifying information of the end-user-device (p. 37);
(d) verifying whether or not the identifying information of the end-user or the identifying information of the end-user-device matches the identity-information of the at least one user or matches the identify-information of the at least one user-device and
matches to the identifier of the controlled space for transitory use; and wherein, if the step (d) verification matches per a rule set (p. 66).
Regarding claim 2, Sol discloses wherein the database 50, 60, is in at least
intermittent communication with at least one of: the computer-server, the monitoring-
device, or the at least one user-device DPD (p. 38-39, figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Sol discloses wherein the monitoring-device 12 is configured
to monitor the controlled space for transitory use (figure 1, abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Sol discloses wherein the step (a) also comprises linking
identifying-information of the monitoring-device with the identity-information of the at
least one user DP or with the identity-information of the at least one user-device and with the identifier (DL, VC, 12) of the controlled space P for transitory use in the database 50, 60 (figure 1, p. 37-p.40).
Regarding claim 5, Sol discloses wherein the step (d) verification also considers the identifying-information of the monitoring-device (p. 66).
Regarding claim 6, Sol discloses wherein the presence-identifier is implemented in a form factor selected from one or more of: the monitoring-device 12, a different monitoring-device, a displayed QR code, a QR code reader, a displayed
barcode, a barcode reader, a RFID tag, a RFID reader, a NFC tag, a NFC reader, a
biometric reader, a fingerprint reader, a motion detector, an alphanumeric code input
means, a keypad, a numeric code input means, a displayed phone number, a displayed
code, a displayed alphanumeric code, a displayed numeric code, a displayed short form
code, a displayed long form code, a displayed message for use in TEXT or SMS
messaging, a sign, a placard, a tag, a label, a sticker, an antenna, a camera, a speaker, a
microphone, a lock DL, an electronic lock, an electronic device, a computing device, or a
computer (figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Sol discloses wherein a form of communication between the presence-identifier (DL, VC, 12) and the end-user or a form of communication between the presence-identifier and the end-user-device, with respect to the step (b), is determined, at least in part, by what form factor the presence-identifier is implemented in (p. 103).
Regarding claim 8, Sol discloses wherein with respect to the step (b), a form of communication between the presence-identifier and the end-user or a form of
communication between the presence-identifier and the end-user-device is selected from one or more of the following communication formats: RFID interaction between the end-user-device and the presence-identifier; NFC interaction between the end-user-device and the presence-identifier (p. 31); QR code interaction between the end-user-device with a QR code reader and the presence-identifier with a displayed QR code; QR code interaction between the end-user-device with a displayed QR code and the presence-identifier with a QR code reader; biometric reading of the end-user by a camera or a microphone of the presence-identifier; or receiving an alpha-numeric code at the presence-identifier (p. 31).
Regarding claim 9, Sol discloses wherein the presence-identifier (DL, VC) is located externally of the controlled space for transitory use (figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Sol discloses wherein information pertaining to the controlled space for transitory use that is identified in the database 50, 60, by its identifier also comprises identification of the monitoring-device or identification of the presence-identifier as being linked to that identifier in the database (p. 37-p. 40, figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Sol discloses wherein the presence-identifier is in at least in intermittent communication with the computer-server 50, 60, or with the monitoring-device (p. 39).
Regarding claim 12, Sol discloses wherein the identifying information of the end-user or the identifying information of the end-user-device is received at the presence-identifier prior to the method executing the step (c), wherein with the respect to the step (c), the identifying information of the end-user or the identifying information of the end-user-device is sent from the presence-identifier to the computer-server or to the monitoring-device (p. 37, p. 38).
Regarding claim 13, Sol discloses wherein prior to the execution of the step (c), the identifying information of the end-user or the identifying information of the end-user-device is communicated from the end-user or from the end-user-device to the presence-identifier in one or more of the following communication formats: RFID interaction between the end-user-device and the presence-identifier; NFC interaction between the end-user-device and the presence-identifier (p. 31); QR code interaction between the end-user-device with a QR code reader and the presence-identifier with a displayed QR code; QR code interaction between the end-user-device with a displayed QR code and the presence-identifier with a QR code reader; biometric reading from the end-user by a camera or a microphone of the presence-identifier; or receiving an alpha-numeric code at the presence-identifier (p. 31).
Regarding claim 14, Sol discloses wherein with respect to the step (c), the identifying information of the end-user or the identifying information of the end-user-device is communicated to the computer-server 50, 60, or to the monitoring-device in a content format that comprises one or more of: at least one word or at least one number in a human natural language (p. 103); an alpha-numeric code, an alpha-numeric string, a numeric code, a numeric string, or a pin number (p. 103).
Regarding claim 15, Sol discloses wherein with respect to the step (c), the identifying information of the end-user or the identifying information of the end-user-device is received at the computer-server or at the monitoring-device by one or more of the following communication forms: from a TEXT message (p. 43, p. 58), from a SMS message, from a phone call, from an email, from a mobile app, from a mobile phone notification, from a web portal, or from a web app (p. 43, p. 58).
Regarding claim 16, Sol discloses wherein the at least one action taken is selected from one or more of:
(i) communicating a message from the computer-server 50, 60, or from the monitoring-device to at least one of:
the at least one user DP (p. 37, p. 38),
the end-user,
the at least one user-device (p. 43, p. 58),
the end-user-device,
a tenant subscriber of the controlled space for transitory use,
a property manager of the controlled space for transitory use,
an owner of a property with the controlled space for transitory use,
a monitoring company of the property or of the controlled space for transitory
use,
a tenant-subscriber-web-portal,
a tenant-subscriber-mobile-app,
a tenant-subscriber-wallet-pass;
a facility web portal for the facility, or
a facility-mobile-app associated with the facility;
(ii) upon the monitoring-device, of the controlled space for transitory use, detecting entry into the controlled space for transitory use, after a successful verification from the step (d), communicating a welcome-message from the computer-server or from the monitoring-device to the end-user or to the end-user-device (p. 103);
(iii) displaying or logging an authorized disposition event to the facility web portal, to the facility-mobile-app, to the tenant-subscriber-web-portal, to the tenant-
subscriber-mobile-app or to the tenant-subscriber-wallet-pass (p. 103); or
(iv) authorizing a configuration for one or more monitoring-device(s) associated with the controlled space for transitory use (p. 11, p. 13, p. 14).
Regarding claim 17, Sol discloses wherein the message pertains to a presence detected at the presence-identifier being authorized or that a detected entry into the controlled space for transitory use, from the monitoring-device, is authorized (p. 39, p. 103).
Regarding claim 18, Sol discloses wherein, if the step (d) verification matches
per the rule set or if the step (d) verification matches a contextual signature, then the at
least one action is taken (p. 66).
Regarding claim 19, Sol discloses wherein if the step (d) verification is successful, then the computer-server causes a communication to the end-user or to the end-user-device; wherein the communication includes content or provides a link to the content; wherein the content comprises one or more of: a photo, a still image, video, or audio; wherein the photo, the still image, the video, and/or the audio are from at least one sensor of the presence-identifier or are from at least one sensor of the monitoring-device of the controlled space for transitory use (p. 53).
Regarding claim 20, Sol discloses wherein if the step (d) verification is unsuccessful, then the computer-server causes a communication to the end-user or to the end-user-device; wherein the communication includes content or provides a link to the content; wherein the content comprises one or more of: a photo, a still image, video, or audio; wherein the photo, the still image, the video, and/or the audio are from at least one sensor of the presence-identifier or are from at least one sensor of the monitoring-device of the controlled space for transitory use (p. 89, p. 100).
Regarding claim 21, Sol discloses a method for determining whether a detected event from a monitoring-device of a controlled space P for transitory use is determined to be authorized or unauthorized for entry into that controlled space for transitory use, wherein the method comprises steps of:
(a) detecting the detected event by the monitoring-device (DL,VC, 12), wherein the monitoring-device generates detection-information that pertains to the detected event (P. 38, P. 98, P. 103);
(b) determining whether the detected event is authorized or unauthorized (P. 11, P. 13, P. 14) by the method executing at least one of the following determination means:
(i) per a rule set of the monitoring-device, if the monitoring-device (DL,VC, 12) is running the rule set when the monitoring-device detects the detected event (P. 98, P. 103),
(ii) per a rule of a computer-server 50, 60, after at least some of the detected-information is sent from the monitoring device to the computer-server (P. 38, P. 39), or
(iii) per a communication from an end-user or an end-user-device after at least
some portion of the detected-information is sent to the end-user device from
the computer-server (P. 38, P. 39).
Regarding claim 22, Sol discloses wherein the communication for the step (b) (iii) is responsive to a notice to provide end-user-feedback from the computer-server 50, 60 (P. 40).
Regarding claim 23, Sol discloses wherein if the detected event is determined to be authorized (P. 11, P. 13, P. 14), then the method comprises a further step of taking at least one action (p. 37-p. 40); or optionally if the detected event is determined to be unauthorized, then then the method comprises a further step of taking at least one different action.
Regarding claim 24, Sol discloses wherein only the rule set of the step (b)(i) is required (p. 98, p. 103) to determine if the detected event is authorized or unauthorized (p. 11, p. 13, p. 14).
Regarding claim 25, Sol discloses wherein the rule set of the step (b)(i) and the rule of the step (b)(ii) are both required to determine if the detected event is authorized or unauthorized (p. 98, p. 103, p. 38, p.39).
Regarding claim 26, Sol discloses wherein the rule set of the step (b)(i), the rule of the step (b)(ii), and the communication of the step (b)(iii) are all required to determine
if the detected event is authorized or unauthorized (p. 98, p. 103, p. 38, p.39).
Regarding claim 27, Sol discloses wherein only the rule of the step (b)(ii) is required to determine if the detected event is authorized or unauthorized (p. 38, p. 39).
Regarding claim 28, Sol discloses wherein both the rule of the step (b)(ii) and the
communication of the step (b)(iii) are required to determine if the detected event is
authorized or unauthorized (p. 38, p. 39).
Regarding claim 29, Sol discloses wherein only the communication of the step (b)(iii) is required to determine if the detected event is authorized or unauthorized (p. 38, p. 39).
Regarding claim 30, Sol discloses wherein when two or more of the step (b) determination means are sequentially executed by the method, it is a last of the executed determination means that determines if the detected event is authorized or unauthorized (figures 10A-10B).
Regarding claim 31, Sol discloses wherein if the last of the executed determination means differs from the immediately preceding executed determination means, it is the last of the executed determination means that determines if the detected event is authorized or unauthorized (figures 10A-10B).
Regarding claim 32, Sol discloses wherein if the last of the executed determination means differs from any of the preceding executed determination means, it is the last of the executed determination means that determines if the detected event is authorized or unauthorized (figures 10A-10B).
Regarding claim 33, Sol discloses wherein after the step (a), the monitoring-device (DL, VC, 12) sends the at least some of the detection-information to the computer-server 50, 60 (p. 51).
Regarding claim 34, Sol discloses wherein after the step (b)(i), the monitoring-device communicates the at least some of the detection-information to the computer-server 50, 60 (p. 51).
Regarding claim 35, Sol discloses wherein after the step (b)(ii), the computer-server 50, 60, communicates the at least some portion of the detection-information to the end-user device (p. 41, p. 43).
Regarding claim 36, Sol discloses wherein the detection-information comprises at least an image taken by the monitoring-device (p. 53, p. 100).
Regarding claim 37, Sol discloses wherein the at least the image is selected from one or more of: a photograph, a still image, video, or streaming video (p. 53, p. 100).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Minsley, Friedli, Camargo, and Rojas disclose access control systems.
/ANH V LA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
ANH V. LA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2685
Al
January 7, 2026