DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 1,192,361 to Wistrom in view of U.S. Patent No. 3,678,627 to Dixon.
Regarding claim 14, Wistrom discloses a seal for a door bottom having a seal pan (fig. 1: 5 & 6), a pressure member (1) in the seal pan, a sealing strip (10) attached to a bottom of the seal pan, and a dampening material (rubber 9, lines 48-50) disposed in the seal pan. However, another seal is not disclosed. Dixon discloses a seal for a door having a first damping component (fig. 1: 4) comprising a plurality of shaped surfaces (see shaped surface such as 4, 4A) and a second damping component (6 & 6A) at least partially enclosed by the first damping component. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wistrom by adding such a seal in order to protect and seal more edges of the door as it is closed.
Regarding claim 15, the first damping component only partially surrounds the second component such that when a door compresses the seal, the first component does not completely surround the second component.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 1,192,361 to Wistrom in view of U.S. Patent No. 3,678,627 to Dixon further in view of U.S. Patent Application No. US 2016/0186483 to Kroeger.
Regarding claim 19, Wistrom in view of Dixon do not disclose a low friction fabric cover on the bottom of the sealing strip. Kroeger discloses such a material (claim 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wistrom in view of Dixon by adding such a cover in order to better protect the strip.
Claim Objections
Claims 16, 17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not disclose the structural limitations of these claims combined with the limitations of the claims from which they depend from.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues the restriction of claim 21. They Applicant should note that the independent claim 14 is drawn to a seal which is a sub combination which may be used separately from the combination claim 21, which is a seal and a door slab having outer skins and curved constrainment sheet. The seal of claim14 may be used in doors or entryways having structure different than that of claim 21.
Regarding the rejection of claim 14, the Applicant argues Wistrom does not have a pan creating an internal cavity that houses other components. However, as recited in the above rejection, the portion pointed to as being a pan, has an internal space with various components withing. The Applicant argues that Wistrom does not teach the limitations of the instant application and is contradicted by Wistrom’s text and drawings but does not specify how. The Applicant should note that Wistrom need not specifically refer to the components with the same names as the Applicant uses in the claims of the instant application. The components of Wistrom are structurally the same as those claimed by the Applicant, structurally. Therefore, they meet the limitations of the application. The Applicant argues the use of the Dixon reference of not having a seal pan, a pressure member, etc. However, these limitations are met by Wistrom and Dixon combined. Dixon need not disclose all these limitations. Dixon is used to teach additional seals. Regarding the rejections of claim 15, the Applicant argues the same argument as that of claim 14 which is addressed above. The arguments of amended claims 16, 17 and 20 are convincing in light of the recent claim amendments.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BASIL S KATCHEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633