DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 8-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11976768. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the elements currently claimed are included in one of the three independent claims of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication No 2005/0023002 to Zamora et al. (Zamora).
With regard to claim 1, Zamora discloses a system (Zamora, title, abstract) for reinforcement of a tubular structure (112, fig. 5, abstract) having a degraded section (the portion of tubular structure 112 having unwanted openings 114/114 as shown in fig. 5 and described in paragraph 0023), the system comprising:
a. a flexible sleeve (100, fig. 5, paragraph 0023) having a length between a first end and a second end (shown in fig. 5 the first and second ends being located on opposite sides of damaged section of 112 having unwanted perforations 114);
b. a flexible tube (216, fig. 8, paragraph 0040) having a length between a first end and a second end (shown in fig. 8), wherein the first end of the tube is coupled with the second end of the flexible sleeve (shown in fig. 8) such that an interior of the flexible sleeve may be accessed through the flexible tube (as described in paragraph 0042 wherein the sleeve is expanded by pumping fluid through the flexible tube 216); and
c. a curable fill (paragraph 0042 citing “curable resin” as the fluid pumped into sleeve to expand the sleeve within the tubular structure), configured to enter the flexible sleeve via the flexible tube (paragraph 0042) and cure within the flexible sleeve (paragraph 0042);
wherein the flexible tube is configured to support the flexible sleeve at a position within the tubular structure corresponding with the degraded section (as shown in fig. 5) until at least a portion of the fill cures and fixes the sleeve in place within the tubular structure (paragraph 0044).
With regard to claim 4, Zamora discloses the system of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the sleeve is at least partially permeable (paragraph 0019 disclosing a braided sleeve with openings to receive the resin, making the braided sleeve permeable).
With regard to claim 5, Zamora discloses the system of claim 1 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the sleeve comprises a non-permeable segment (paragraph 0042 disclosing a non-permeable layer provided to the permeable braided sleeve portion in a preferred embodiment).
With regard to claim 6, Zamora discloses the system of claim 5 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the non-permeable segment has a length equal or greater than a length of the degraded section (shown in fig. 5).
With regard to claim 7, Zamora discloses the system of claim 1 as set forth above, and furth discloses wherein the first end of the flexible sleeve is closed (shown in fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No 2005/0023002 to Zamora et al. (Zamora) in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0028881 to Smith (Smith).
With regard to claims 2 and 3, Zamora fails to disclose wherein the sleeve comprises an inner layer and an outer layer and wherein the inner layer comprises a carbon fiber sleeve and the outer layer comprises a glass fiber sleeve.
Smith discloses the use of sleeves to repair a pipe (Smith, abstract), an analogous field of endeavor to Zamora.
Smith further discloses inner and outer layers (12/22, paragraphs 0051 and 0054) that are either carbon or glass fibers (paragraph 0058). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the device of Zamora with a sleeve as taught by Smith having an inner carbon fiber layer and an outer glass fiber sleeve in order to test various configurations of the device of Zamora in the two layer arrangement of Smith in order to conduct quality control testing of the hose to determine suitability for its field of intended use.
Conclusion
/DAVID R DEAL/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3753