DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 6 be found allowable, claim 13 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the ball striking surface" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the adhesive" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the mechanical fasteners" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the polymeric material" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-8, 11, and 13-16 are also considered to be indefinite due to them depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Takechi (USPN 8876630) in view of Kumamoto et al. (USPN 8864603).
Regarding claim 1, Takechi discloses a club head 1 having a ball striking plate 11, a rear cavity 14, a frame 10, and a covering element 20. The ball striking plate has a front surface and a rear surface opposite the front surface. The rear cavity is partially bounded by the rear surface of the ball striking plate. The frame extends rearwardly from a perimeter of the ball striking plate and forms a cup-like configuration. The covering element extends from the frame and extends over the rear surface of the ball striking plate. The covering element also includes a center portion, heel-side portion, and toe-side portion wherein the surface features form a highly contoured topographical exterior surface (See Figures 1 and 4). The covering element is further affixed to the rear surface of the ball striking plate. The covering element shows a minimum and maximum height but does not explicitly disclose a maximum to minimum height ratio. Kumamoto et al. discloses a club head having a covering element attached to the rear surface of a ball striking plate. Figure 10 shows the covering element having a minimum height and a maximum height. The maximum height is equal to the sum of A1y and T1y wherein the minimum height is equal to T2y. A1y is .5mm to 5mm, T1y is .3mm to 1mm, and T2y is .5mm to 2mm. Based on the values, the maximum height is 0.8mm to 6mm and the minimum height is 0.5mm to 2mm. The applicant discloses the maximum height being greater than 5mm and the minimum height being 1mm (See Paragraph 96). Applicant does not disclose why the maximum to minimum height ratio is critical to attain the invention. Further, Kumamoto et al. discloses a range in which would overlap that of the applicant’s range as Kumamoto et al. discloses the maximum height capable of being 5mm and the minimum height being 1mm. In light of the above, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found the maximum to height ratio to be an obvious choice of design.
Regarding claim 3, Takechi discloses the toe side smaller than the heel side (See Figures 1 and 9).
Regarding claim 5, Takechi discloses the covering element within a cavity encompassed by the frame (See Figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Takechi discloses majority of the covering element extending over the majority of the rear surface of the ball striking plate (See Figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, Takechi discloses the surface features being vertical slopes (See Figures 3).
Regarding claim 8, Takechi discloses the covering element affixed to the rear surface by adhesive implied by Takechi noting that it is adhered to the rear surface (See Column 4, lines 43 through 48).
Regarding claim 9, Takechi discloses the adhesive being a liquid-type noting the use of glue (See Column 8, lines 24 through 33).
Regarding claim 11, Takechi discloses the covering element formed of a silicone material (See Column 5, lines 24 though 30 and 52 through 56).
Regarding claim 13, see the above regarding claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, Takechi discloses the covering element visually forming Majority of the rear cavity (See Figures 1, 3, and 9).
Claim 2 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over the prior art applied to claim 1 above in view of Imamoto et al. (USPN 7232381).
Regarding claim 2, the prior art applied to claim 1 above does not disclose the frame having a U-shaped cross-section. Imamoto et al. discloses club head having a covering element therein wherein the frame is U-shaped (See Figure 6). Imamoto et al. notes that the surfaces are curved to eliminate any gaps (See Column 3, lines 6 though 14). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the frame cross-section of a U-shape, as taught by Imamoto et al., in order to eliminate gaps.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 10, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 9199141. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of US Patent 9199141 does not claim a frame, covering element having a topographical surface, and the cover element having a maximum-minimum height ratio. Though not in claim 1 of US Patent 9199141, claims 6, 10, and 11 claim these limitations. In light of the above, one having ordinary skill in the art would having found claim 1 of the instant application to be obvious over claims 1, 6, 10, and 11 of US Patent 9199141.
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711